You are here: HomeNews2013 05 27Article 275183

Ghana lacks transparency - Dr. Antwi-Danso

Read Comments Comments (42)

• KANIA 10 years ago

THE NDC GOVT IS TOO CORRUPT>

• EEEEEHHHHHUUUUUUUOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!! 10 years ago

WHY SHOULD WE BRING TRANSPARENCY INTO THE GOVERNMENT TO STOP US FROM CURRUPTION. WHAT THEN WOULD WE EAT? HOW THEN COULD WE GET MONEY TO RIDE IN POSH CARS AND LIVE IN FANCY MANSIONS? HOW CAN WE DIFFERENTIATE OURSELVES FROM THE ...

• GHANA BA NANA BA 10 years ago

..who wears the cap to throw the stone?
    With corrupt of corruption upon corruption? It is up to the brain wash leaders in the 'Executive, Judiciary and Legislature'. ALMIGHTY GOD(ALLAH) to descend upon HIS people, GHANA. AME ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• BlindMan 10 years ago

We often TALK of it as if it's a third person's disease, it lives in us, and Vladimir might have it too!
    Our World is IMPERFECT, and those among us with that quality is insignificant, if non-existed. We are today, living mo ...

• Evans 10 years ago

Ghana is full of CORRUPT IDOITS POLITICAL HI-JACKERS. That is why elections are always rigged to allow wrong people to rule ... With this state, we shall never see the light of economic prosperity, and eventually, a society o ...

• JAMREAH 10 years ago

DR ANTWI-DANSO YOU MUST FORM SOCIAL AWARENESS AND EDUCATION FORUM TO START TEACHING GHANAIANS WHAT IT TAKES TO BE PEACEFUL,DISCIPLINE,AND GIVE THEM VALUE AND VIRTUE.POLITICIANS ARE BRINING WAR TO GHANA.CLERGY AND CHIEFS ARE L ...

• WHAT GOOD IS IT? 10 years ago

These are some of the problems with African so-called educated. they only itemize problems without suggesting solutions. who doesn't know that African leaders are thieves? What we need is solutions to problems. To me, this wr ...

• TribalistRacistEvillBigot ..TKN 10 years ago

Mahama is the God/President Fantis+Northerners+Nzemas+Ewes+Ga Adangbe+Others+Good other Akans are good people but the evil NPPians the evilashanti akyem akans are so so evil bad and satanic people in Ghana, NPPians should nev ...

NPP loser! Fantis+Northerners+Nzemas+Ewes+Ga Adangbe+Others+Good other Akans are good people but the evil NPPians the evilashanti akyem akans are so so evil bad and satanic people in Ghana, NPPians should never be allowed int ...

• KANIA 10 years ago

Foolish pple like you shall always stay and die in poverty for being a sychophant.

• TKN 10 years ago

Loser Tribalistic biggot racist NPPian, the so called KANIA you can not even feed your brothers and sisters making them prostitutes allover the world and involving in Cocaine business with Nana Akufo Ado the sour loser, that ...

Northerners rulling us ashantis and the akyems it pains paa, pepeni our president/God it pains paaa, the ayigbe peoples fault voting for NDC, we shall insult and insult the trokosi ayigbe people, but they are intelligent than ...

• Sam Baidoo 10 years ago

God will clean up Ghana, we are ashamed of what is going, gaining independance that early, very worrying.

• Prof Lungu 10 years ago

Sorry!

God Will Not Clean Up Ghana for You!

• Bonsu 10 years ago

THE TRUTH REMAINS, WHATEVER.
    THE HIGHEST COURT OF GHANA (SC) WILL BE LOOKING FOR THE TRUTH IN THE EVIDENCE NOT ACADEMIC.
    BAWUMIA STANDS FOR THE TRUTH AND HIS RELIGION, BRAVO, INSHA ALLAH.
    NANA AND BAWUMIA LEADERSHIP IS WHA ...

• Prof Lungu 10 years ago

Hoping we can stop all that abstract contemplation and posturing!

Let's try linking abstract ideas to concrete measures....

Transparency and accountability are achievable through a strong, Ghana-centered FOI bill coupl ...

• Shamu 10 years ago

You should have known better that, NPP is the most wicked party that lack transparency. The sort of development that was started during Rawlings time, they either changed them to worse or even abadon a lot of them. Those that ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

Shamu, our problem is probably the West. A very undisciplined country like ours doesn't need democracy. It needs guys like Rawlings, an army officer to keep whipping everyone every day.

• Kwasi (Worcester.US) 10 years ago

Shamu,
    You are entitled to your opinion but
    the selection and the use of words must be guarded.Why this foolish Doctor again?Pls. note, the difference
    between you and the foolish Doctor
    is about thousand miles.You must kn ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

BRIBERY & CORRUPTION:THE CANCER OF AFRICA,IS WHAT HE IS TALKING ABOUT.
    ALL GHANAIANS ARE INVOLVED:FROM MAHAMA TO THE CHILD BEING BORN TODAY,PERIOD.
    IF GHANA DOES NOR FIND ANY MEANS OF CURBING IT,WE WOULD ALWAYS BE SPINNING ...

• KWAA 10 years ago

Because fact is they are corrupt.There is no one honest person in Ghana,from the the President to the "truckpusher" everybody is corrupt in Ghana.
    It is so frustrating to travel to Ghana,the corruption starts at the Airport ...

• NDC SUPPORTER IN SOUTH LONDON. 10 years ago

I agree with Dr. Antwi-Danso on the notion of transperancy in Ghana. A typical example is what is being followed in the Supreme Court-THERE WAS NO TRANSPERANCY IN THE 2012 ELECTIONS HENCE THE POLITICAL SQUABLE IN THE COURT.DR ...

• MADMAN 10 years ago

VERY SOON WE ARE GOING TO PICK UP ARMS AGAIST ALL POLITICIENCES IN THE COUNTRY,

• DODOWA 10 years ago

Sometimes it feels as if these so called elites operate in a bubble. They talk as if they've lost their minds. The lack of transparency in governance is not only akin to Ghana; it is universal. Graft, corruption and our inabi ...

• SPEEDY GONZALIS 10 years ago

Ff there is a law and those who enacted the law are the first to break it, then we need more than just stating that there is lack of transparency. The truth is that Ghanaians are just using the word Democracy , transparency, ...

• Fire Burn U 10 years ago

I concur

• Bonsu 10 years ago

NO NO NO
    THE TRUST IMPOSED ON THEM IN THE GHANA CONSTITUTION DEMANDS THE TRUTH, NOTHING ELSE BUT THE TRUTH.
    THE POWERFUL TRUTH IS WHAT WILL REMAIN FOR EVER TO JUDGE THE SC JUDGES.

• DODOWA 10 years ago

“TRUTH” has been so maligned and immolated by politicians it has become a cliché. The average person sees “Truth” as threadbare and rightly treats utterances from our corrupt leaders with contempt. Truth has become g ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

For how long to we have to keep yelling for draft legislation promoting access to information? We have been talking about Freedom of Information Bill until our voices are becoming faint.

If a country like Ghana critically ...

• John Kpeglo 10 years ago

Where were these academic gurus all these years? In Addis Ababa or Philopine? Talk talk talk!

• F.Adu Dwamena. Italy. 10 years ago

A good one there Doc.Lack of transparency in the system of governance in Ghana creats room for people in the public service to corrupt themselves.

• KK_D 10 years ago

Dear Folks,
    Is it that RESEARCH in Ghana is just TELLING THE PEOPLE (POPULACE) WHAT THEY KNOW ALREADY? For heaven's sake, who does not know that there is lack of transparency in Ghana. CORRUPTION is rife in Ghana and sinking ...

• kodjo brenya 10 years ago

Ghanaian and African leadership will nor embrace transparency because the average African is uncivilised and anytime he is in leadership position, remembers the village he or she comes from and wants to do everything to retur ...

• Alhaji Mohammed- germany 10 years ago

T B Joshua, the Nigerian conman and sakawa prophet has now packaged his " new improved anointing water " for people to buy, and has now released it to the Ghanaian market. But have Ghanaians not learnt their lessons ? This wa ...

• Watchman 10 years ago

Too much tribalism. No Accountability.
    "What Is In It For Me" Brigade are "Having their cake and eat it" The Akans and the Gas are being held hostages.

• Justman 10 years ago

SAY IT LOUD. GHANA IS CORRUPT.!!!!!!
    PULL THE BULL BY THE HORN AND STOP BEATING ABOUT THE BUSH.

• EWOTSIGE 10 years ago

EVERY MINISTRY NEED ONE JOURNALIST TO EXPOSE ALL THE CORRUPT, UNDERGROUND DEALINGS.ROADS&TRANSPORT, RNERGY, WORKS & HOUSING MORE IMPORTANTLY.

• VICTOR 10 years ago

Dr. Danso, I would have been very happy if you have had the courage to mention Kufour as the cause of the rampact corruptions in the country.If there is anything that this ugly black and weak libido man would be remember for, ...

• km agyin 10 years ago

Our legislators are failing us by not passing the right to information bill. There can be no transparency and genuine democracy without this bill. We call on the President and Parliament to pass this bill now!

• joejay 10 years ago

u always open ur mouf wide n say wateva... everyday gov't gov't...today dis tomoro dat... wat abt u ursef..is gov't d onli ppl in d country... massa go away with ur book long tin... we don taya u ppl

• Lorgo Ligri 10 years ago

Have you realized people seek transparency only when they're not in power? Once they have that same authority...your guess is as good as mine...the loud mouths get kaput and will secretly try to exterminate any one who tries ...