You are here: HomeSports2013 01 21Article 262708

Jerry Akaminko is an apology of a defender

Read Comments Comments (50)

• Ikemens 11 years ago

The half fit Ayew is better than the fully fit unknowns. There is a clear proof for people to see. Appiah will regret leaving Ayew behind unless the supernatural intervenes for him.

• J.O 11 years ago

Mali beat us when Ayew was playing in the last tournament,

• Don Pee 11 years ago

The whole team was down after the Zambian loss. Come on we are in 2013.

• Chang 11 years ago

I guess the whole team was down too when Zambia beat us in Zambia. The Ayews were in the team

• yaw o 11 years ago

deda ayew is good by all standards but there is nothing good an indiscipline can provide to a team. we should encourage team spirit and no one including messi is bigger than a TEAM. i would drop him for the world cup if he sh ...

• SENANU SEGBEFIA 11 years ago

I AGREE YAW, IF THE AYEWS ARE ARROGANT ABND UNDISCIPLINED THEY SHOULD BE LEFT OUT. THEY OR THEIR FAMILY ARE NOT BIGGER THAN TH GREAT NATION GHANA!!! EVEN THE ADEBAYORS AND TOURES, AS WELL AS DROGBAS ARE PLAYING FOR THEIR NATI ...

• Kwarko Afriyie 11 years ago

YOU WILL BE ASHAME AT LAST. LEAVE THE COACH ALONE TO DO HIS JOB. IF YOU HAVE ANYTHING TO SAY WAIT FOR THE END OF THE GROUP STAGES PLEASE AND STAND BEHIND THEM.

• wilson 11 years ago

there is hope. i agree that akaminko is not up to the task but i strongly believe derek boateng failed us. he was not combative. he seemed not fit enough or perhaps age has caught up with him. it is obvious that this is the l ...

• fan 11 years ago

Why are ghanians soo ungreatul? Will ghanaians learn how to appreciate our players? Do u think all the player doesn't want to win as well? Is about time we have to learn and think deep.

• MC, K'Bu 11 years ago

I couldn't agree with you Fan.. The writer of this article, Raymond felt like writing to condemn and he just did justice to that... What he should know is that FOOTBALL or soccer has changed a lot. So that "fear and spirit" e ...

• Abrewa Nana 11 years ago

Good you said black stars are slow starters in every tournament and if you do recall Ivory coast beat Ghana 3 to zero in Angola, yet we managed a second place.
    Tell me which tournament in your lifetime had you seen black st ...

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

Only God knows why HE allow satan to create a blackman. We seem to not like ourselves enough but rather suck the foreigners ass.

U WILL DIE VERY EARLY BECOS OF YOUR MAGNUM STUPIDITY. GO AHEAD N POISON PPL. I WILL BE THR LA ...

• POW, The Prince of Walewale 11 years ago

Will you for God sake stop cussing? Somebody expresses his or her view on a subject and this is your response b'cos you don't agree with it? So, why do you ask all the time about primitivity if you don't behave any better?

• MC, K'Bu 11 years ago

You see, it is not a Blackman thing only as he ignorantly put it, POW, so allow his ignoramus to lead him...Even Jesus said it to the Jews so how would he rate the Israelites... Just read this in MARK 6:4&6...For those who do ...

• Abrewa Nana 11 years ago

First son of the devil has nothing good to contribute to human society but to destroy.
    I can't agree enough with you, after the pain and anguish your mother went through to bring you on this earth, your dumbo believe your da ...

• don aristotle 11 years ago

thanks abrewa nana,dont be angry,i can realise that your heart is beating so fast. all we need to do is wish the stars well but akaminko should be on the bench for jonathan to take his place. atsu was silent in the game and i ...

• Kofi, China 11 years ago

Who is Raymond Yeboah? Where were you when Ghana was looking for a coach? Or is it that your job is to bring people down? What do you wish to achieve with this write up? The way we have been behaving/misbehaving has been affe ...

Kofi, don't worry yourself about this Raymond Yeboah guy. He's never written or said anything sensible in his life time as a journalist. Sometimes I wonder if he really went to the school of journalism. He's worse off.

• Mr.N 11 years ago

Got that right my half brother

What are you doing here early this morning? Lol

• bob m 11 years ago

Why single out Akaminko for blame? If you watched the match you would have noticed that the BS were lucky we did not lose the match in the first half. If akaminko had excelled, they would have praised AA for discovering him. ...

• LATO NEW YORK 11 years ago

Look this tournament is ours to win. in 1982 we drew with Libya 2-2, drew 0-0 with Roger Miller's Cameroon.beat Algeria 3-2 and Libya in the the finals on penalties to win the cup.
    stop blaming Akaminko. what happened to th ...

• all to blame not Akaminko alone? 11 years ago

If you play an attacking minded player like Kwadwo Asamoah as left back,what do you expect? In most cases,he goes on attack and remains there,creating a loop hole for the Leopards to exploit.Derick Boateng was not at his best ...

• frankie 11 years ago

Do you mean Annan instead of Aful? Your analysis is right on the money. The midfield was leaking and that created much dificulty for the defence.Ghana is a possessive,midfield dormination soccer country by default, and once t ...

• Eric 11 years ago

Senseless criticism from Richmond Yeboah. Were u expecting us to beat Congo by 10 goals to nothing?

• J.O 11 years ago

Be objective. You don't know what you are talking about.

• okonjo 11 years ago

THIS WRITER IS NOTHING SHOT OF A VERY BIG FOOL

• k k b k 11 years ago

who is dat jerry?is he a family of J.J(N D C)pls cn someone tell dat foolist defender call jerry dat we nt in a politition game ok.

• Abongo 11 years ago

You are sick. Which game were you watching. Ghana created more chances than congo. That is what count.

• Kofi Asante 11 years ago

I have enjoyed this article and share your sentiments. By leaving out very experienced and tested players, AA took an unnecessary Gamble,but we live to see.

• Kenneth Osei-Afriyie 11 years ago

People should be far reaching and honest in their assessments. But quite frankly, Jerry Akaminko appeared to have been overawed by the occasion. Among other things, he was panicking right from the start. He was laying off way ...

• Nii Ansah 11 years ago

This is a terrible rejoinder!

• RAS-VULTURE 11 years ago

Did the writer think Ghana currently have better players than the rest of the AFRICA? The era where Ghana and Nigerians only have top players playing in the top leagues in Europe is far gone.

He should search the team she ...

• KOO 11 years ago

This writer is a fool.Ghanaians are never supportive of anything good except in dirty politics where they can enjoy free money at the expense of the tax payers. Why do some Ghanaians think we are the only country that has to ...

• Kwasi 11 years ago

Stop your PR; Abedi with his prowess in soccer did nothing for BS. His arrogant children have the same attitude. Players like Messi, Inniesta, respect their coaches. Ayews can go to hell; Appiah is what he can with the talent ...

• Tanga star in Egypt. 11 years ago

can you tell me what you and your stupid father did for Ghana? Abedi was apart of the team who won the cup in 1982 in Libya, and Dede the was the first player to lead Ghana to win the under 20 world cup 2009 in Egypt.You donk ...

• abc 11 years ago

leave Appiah alone, those pigs receiving money from the Ayews to mount a media campaign against the Coach should be ashamed of themselves......The Black Stars will succeed without the Ayew boys...they can go play for France o ...

• Tanga star in Egypt. 11 years ago

ashawo son the Ayews are great, we thank God. God knows Appiah bad intention that is why He did not give him son like Ayews. You can go to hell with that your stupid Appiah.

• koo Tee 11 years ago

you are a liar please be fair in your judgement.Kwasi has really done well,NO POLITICS HERE!!!

• Egya-K 11 years ago

The Ghanaian team is not as bad as you guys make it appear. We will bring the trophy home with a little bit of work on the team structure. Criticize constructively.

• bimbi 11 years ago

Let's be honest to admit that DR. Congo team was equally good contrary to the pre-match expectation. Their strike or whatever whatever didn't affect them negatively any how it may even have helped them since they had rested m ...

• D'Max, USA 11 years ago

This writer is so stupid and blind to make such judgemental utterances. Who does he think he is a super coach or what? You better shut your beak and follow what's going on in this tournament. This is the time to show how patr ...

• sir kaka 11 years ago

you are a disgrace to journalism.why do you single out one player if you understand the ethics of journalism and the game.stomach journalist because of 50 dollar.is he the first player to commit penalty stupid foolish foolis ...

• bluddd 11 years ago

how much was Richmond paid?? Too many hungry journos who write to condemn players. They played as a unit and even AA said in his press briefing that der ws tactical indiscipline in the team, meaning a midfielder had to cover ...

• pablo aimar 11 years ago

jerry akamiko should not play the next match because he don't have any expenrence vorsah and boye should play defense..they sould bench jerry ..annan have to play next match that is all i want to talk

• Katakyie 11 years ago

What is wrong with this Raymond? Have you ever played football before? Why do you describe a player this way? Shame!

• your Moda 11 years ago

kwasiatic writer , write something sensible next tym.....kiss my ass

• BELLER 11 years ago

kwesi appiah is useless coach GHANA CHEAP THINGS COST

• your Moda 11 years ago

see this kwasia too aaahhhhh.....internet cost is cheap so u are all exhibiting ya stupidity and ya sheer ignorance...write something sensible cos Akaminko is a top player!!

• Kobby 10 years ago

Akaminko best defender.