You are here: HomeNewsRegional2013 01 27Article 263310

Swedruman Council of chiefs ban night market at Swedru market

Read Comments Comments (17)

• MATIGARI 11 years ago

BANISHMENT IS A VERY SERIOUS VIOLATION OF A PERSON'S RIGHT UNDER THE CONSTITUTION OF GHANA. IF PAA KWESI HAD DONE ANYTHING CRIMINAL OR WRONGFULLY VIOLATED ANY TRADITIONAL NORMS, CUSTOMES OR PRACTICES. HE SHOULD RATHER BE HEAR ...

• DONDO 11 years ago

Too young to know Nana, who does he listen to. Nana has he own advice and that is the bottle and whatever the bottle says goes. Things are better now.
    Remember Nana was made a chief very young, left with onthing after the de ...

• ABU 11 years ago

NANA IS FURTHER CREATING POVERTY AND CRIMINALITY BY HIS BANISHMENT ORDER.NONE CAN BE BANISHED NO LONGER IN GHANA,AND PEOPLE MUST DEMAND AND FIGHT FOR THEIR RIGHTS.THE CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS SUPERCEDE ANY AUTHORITY TODAY IN ...

• nana 11 years ago

nana please talk about wee smokers and how the youth will get a job.swedru boy and girls are suffering.all what they do is 419.

• tico 11 years ago

Think and plan the way forward of swedru and stop selling all the lands.
    His excellency John Mahama we need a new chief ooo !! or else ...........!!!

• There Is 11 years ago

The Swedruhene Council of chiefs had declear the new Mandela Market open, which means a new market is in operational. However, these market operate without facilities such as, electricty or lighting systems, uncompleted pavem ...

• U turn .!! 11 years ago

IS SWEDRU PART OF GHANA?.. THIS SO CALLED NANA BOTWE MAN SHOULD KEEP HIS MOUTH SHUT. HIS INEPT LEADERSHIP HAS MADE SWEDRU A 419,WEE SMOKING HEADQUARTERS(YOUTH),AND ASHAWO RESIDENCE. THIS TOWN HAS GOT NOTHING TO BOAST OF. POOR ...

• DONDO 11 years ago

Nana thats is very wrong, why are deniel people of swedru the live we lead in swedru. We always have night markets and remember what you used to do, you let the men out to collect money, food and drink.
    Been a friend, I advi ...

• Truth-Be-Told USA 11 years ago

African Traditional Beliefs...not capitalism, foreign religions and community robbery!

Let the christians stay at home and watch their Nigerian DVDs showing white boy's religions defeating black man's science of Nature...a ...

• Big Joe . belaruss, ukraine , russia 11 years ago

So is AGONA SWEDRU alive. No no no . its unimaginable . Swedru used to be market leader of Central Region as far as far back as 1960's,70's and 80s.YES SWEDRU the key supply source for most district in c/r .Traders traveled ...

• ABU 11 years ago

You don't ban the night trading activities but attacking the miscreants to eliminate their nefarious activities.Banning the trade will impoverish the folks and creat further hardships .

• Haruna 11 years ago

we need more of these wise initiatives to save agona swedru

• Balotelli 11 years ago

we need competent and wise initiative, to save swedru.. Even the palace he(Nana Botwe) lives in is built of "ATAKWAME'.. This Nana Botwe man and the entire council of elders are useless and vision less and doesn't have any b ...

• COACH 11 years ago

DO WE REALLY HAVE CHIEFS AT SWEDRU. WHERE IS THE TUFUHENE, THE ANKOBEAHENE, DABWEHENE AND RECENTLY REINSTATED GYASEHENE? WHAT BENEFIT HAS THE CITIZENS GAINED FROM THEIR THURSDAY MEETING FOR THE PAST FIFTEEN YEARS OF MEETINGS. ...

• Nana 11 years ago

Such a decision should be made by the councel not the chiefs. If what the writer is saying is true the Swedrumanhene is using excessive power as he is retaliating based on the comments that some market women had made against ...

• Prof ! 11 years ago

Prez Mahama was in Swedru last August for the Akwambo festival, and he ask the Chief and the council of alders what Swedru man wants the Government to do for them, and this Chief said, he wants the cemetery to be fenced and a ...