Is Free SHS doing more harm than good? - What the data shows

Read Comments Comments (102)

• dashiki 10 months ago

This is the sort of analysis required.not some roadside discussion.
    Thank you eduwatch

• dashiki 10 months ago

based on this, the necessary corrections and adjustments can be made.
    my suggestion for the feeding is for the fda to go to some selected schools and conduct an assessment of the food quality. it could even be some independe ...

• Blue 10 months ago

Factors accounting for 'increased' enrollment.

1. 'Free' SHS policy

2. Elimination of cut-off point in admissions. Previously there was cut off BECE aggregate of 30 (I stand for correction on the figure). So students w ...

• Apraku 10 months ago

When you read through the whole data and information to the end, you will conclude that FSHS hasn't benefited any Ghanaian. Does the data reflects the true opinion from Ghanaians?

• OSABARIMA MENSA 10 months ago

Your understanding of data is not up to the required standard. If more of our youngsters are getting free education, you should be for it. Knowledge is power.

• HEAVILY SKEWED STATS 10 months ago

There was only one president between 2017-2018. How come you compare Kufour and Mahama in the same year. Put educated people to handle our affairs, fools,

• Apraku 10 months ago

OSABARIMA MENSA !!!

l don't think it's a big challenge for me to understand what is written of black on white. Maybe you didn't understand the question which l posed. This Ghanaweb is very mischevious platform. They trying ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE ( OFIE P33) 10 months ago

MAHAMA’S NAME WAS ON UK NEWS PAPERS FRONT PAGE FOR CORRUPTION!!!! ARREST HIM!!!
    MOBILE MONEY INTEROPERABILITY
    WAS GOING TO COST GHANA $1.5
    BILLION BY MAHAMA AND HIS
    CORRUPT NDC. BAWUMIA DID IT FOR A PALTRY $4 MILLION. H ...

• Jay 10 months ago

Are they getting any good knowledge? As far as we know, free SHS is producing the dumbest group of shs graduands ever recorded in this country. Lazy to the core, uninspired, non-innovative, unintelligent and driven to look fo ...

• M.T 10 months ago

Elimination of cut off point is not bad. It's better to educate a failed JHS school student up to the SHS school level than to leave them behind. Even though those students likely go to fail at the WASSCE, they have learned i ...

• M.T 10 months ago

Imagine a Ghana where everyone has atleast educated up to the high school level verses the situation 10 years. This is the vision Akufo-Ado saw that many didn't see. No time to list the benefits of that. But think and you ca ...

• Joe Wise 10 months ago

You are very smart bro, I and my best friends failed our form four exams in 1983 despite that we were among the top ten students in the class, I myself was number one followed by other good students, but we all failed, the f ...

• Kenneth 10 months ago

On point number 3: I think private schools haven't lost out at all it is now a segmented market, a preserve for the rich and the people in power. All our ministers and the directors in most of thr ministeries and state enterp ...

• P Djamgbe 10 months ago

We, the youth of Ghana want LGBTQ+ in the government! Some of us like to POUND TRUMU occasionally and we want to do it legally here in this country!!!! Ghana says YES to LGBTQ my brothers and sisters!!!!

• Jon Yonny 10 months ago

These data is credible and they speak about progress made and challenges. This is why it was morally wrong and act of wickedness for president Mahama who had been beneficiary to fight against it. To me and those who come fro ...

• Yaw wontumi 10 months ago

You’re insensitive to say that like you don’t reason if this is how Nkrumah of blessed memory implemented the free shs do you think we would have got the presidents and the engineers and many more as you are saying Nkruma ...

• Kalika 10 months ago

Honestly, the data presented tells me nothing. I was expecting to see:
    1. increase in enrolment compared to the population increase in that age group
    2. School dropout rates based on affordability
    3. The outcome of the int ...

• Omanhene 10 months ago

Yes, the FSH was a laudable idea, but little did the architects of the program firgot to think about the following: (1) Infrastructure (classrooms, dormitories, libraries, science & sports facilities)
    (2) How to employ the ...

• Okyere J. 10 months ago

Kufour time is 300,000 +
    Mahama time is 800,000+
    Akuffo Addo time is 1,400,000.
    What's the difference in between kufour and Mahama and what's the difference between Mahama and Akuffo Addo?
    This is data, let's analyze it ...

• All is not fine 10 months ago

What FSHS? Go to the various schools to see how students are suffering due to insufficiency of accomodations and feeding and the worse of all is spending 2 months in school, 4 months at homes.

• SEDINAM TAMAKLOE WOULD HAVE DONE A BETTER JOB 10 months ago

...managinig the free ShS!

• Yaw Wontumi 10 months ago

Akuffo addo is just too ugly. A laughing akuffo addo looks like a Congo mountain ape. Why did Ghanaians voted for this old idiot of an ape. Dzimakpla akuffo addo. Evil wicked wizard akuffo addo.

• Mahama has a 24hrs problem! 10 months ago

Have you noticed Mahamas face these days. It looks like soneine having 24hrs constipation!

• DrVegas 10 months ago

I am in the United States of America. The richest country on earth but I cannot say that All is fine with their public school education system. A little bit of something is better than nothing. Be grateful that our children a ...

• Yaw 10 months ago

Bring your children to come and school in Ghana.

• Sika mpe dede 10 months ago

DrVegas, thank you for adding your opinion. I however expected you to say what you see in the US the richest country as you said. How many boarding high schools have you seen in the US? You can only see the nice cars, buildin ...

• Kofi Adu 10 months ago

Look I am also in the US. Their education is not all that perfect. Nothing is perfect in this world. The problem with the education in Ghana is the boarding system. That is the mistake of the Akuffo Addo administration. They ...

• Stephen Donkor: New York. 10 months ago

IS GHANAWEB IN GHANA TO HELP DEVELOP OUR DEMOCRACY?

Ghanaweb is actually one of the biggest problem Ghana has. They have embarked on unabated campaigns of different possible means to sabotage this government. It didn’t ...

• Des 10 months ago

HOW CAN YOU INTRIDUCE FREE SHS AND OPEN YOUR BOARDERS WITH STUPID THING CALLED ECOWAS, ? THEY COME HERE AND DON'T GO BACK TO THEIR COUNTRY ANYMORE, THEY BUY YOUR LAND IN THE VILLAGES AND THEN START PRODUCING CHILDREN, AND THE ...

• Sam 10 months ago

The country itself is a HARM to us, and note there is nothing FREE in Ghana. They are all scam

• CAN SOMEONE TELL ME WHY NONE OF JDMs CHILDREN HAS EVER BEEN TO A UNIVERSITY BË ! 10 months ago

This is someone who despite all the resources at his disposal none of his 12 children has ever stepped foot on a University Campus.

If Mahama could not encourage just 1 of his children to go to the University you think h ...

• Daddy will take care of me! 10 months ago

He has stolen more than enough of the Ghanaian taxpayers money to give his children a comfortable life far away in Dubai from the dredges of life in Ghana. So why should he encourage his children to go to Univ. Daddy will tak ...

• Mb 10 months ago

Stupid you. If you have evidence that he has stolen take him to court and close that your rabies-infested mouth. Foolish tribal bigots. Your useless and corrupt Npp gov't is stealing left and right and you haven't seen that a ...

• Where Did He Get Money For the Dubai Lifestyle! 10 months ago

We knew he was a messenger at the Japanese Information Service at Accra before he became an MP. I dont think being a messenger paid him enough to be able to finance the lifestyle of his children in Dubai. If not for the Ghana ...

• N. Asante 10 months ago

When did you ever here someone during the era you speak of become messenger? Haba, what buffoonery is this?

• N. Asante 10 months ago

When did you ever hear of someone during the era you speak of become messenger with college degrees? This is no discourse!

• Moshe 10 months ago

The data analysis missed one important issue, that is the cost of EXTRA CLASSES by parents/guardians of students after the few weeks spent in school and the long months stayed at home. Many parents have to pay for extra tuiti ...

• Citizen 1 10 months ago

Iam a parent and a teacher at SHS. I think whatever the cost you are talking about FSHS policy is till better.

• Me - Me 10 months ago

This is a clear indication that measuring success by mere numbers is biased and flawed. We look at qualitative factors as well. NPP Bawumia and Adum Twum the will also point enrolment increment, as basis for success but not q ...

• Abusua 10 months ago

How free is this education? For all you know the people are pocketing the greater share of the money while telling us that they are using all this money on the children when they don't have text books and you have to buy past ...

• maapa o 10 months ago

free indeed. what about academic quality? what about feeding quality? what about accommodation? mass production of student who cannot even reason like the president and his bawulier...

• Rather 10 Literates than 1 Harvard Graduate! 10 months ago

We would rather have 10 literate Ghanaians who can read and do basic Arithmetic than deny them that basic right for 1 Harvard Graduate!

• DIV-STRONG 10 months ago

Increase in enrollment may largely be due to increase in the population of Ghana.
    I wish this data may be given out. What was the total population when Mahama was leaving office. What is the population now?
    What is the pe ...

• Silas 10 months ago

Make sure that in any future discussions regarding the state of the economy and the availability of electricity factor in this population growth and its influence on current conditions!

• Okponglo Guy 10 months ago

How much would each parent spend if there was no free SHS times the number of students enrolled nationwide could settle this debate. For example, if parents would spend 3000 a year, multiply that by enrollment and we will al ...

• They Would Have ended up at the Univ of Nsawam! 10 months ago

And if those extra 300,000 children has not been forced into classrooms. They would have ended on the streets breaking jaws and heads with majority of them being taken care of by the taxpayer in prison 20yrs from now. Have yo ...

• AK 10 months ago

The NDC politics on FSHS cost them 2016 and 2020 elections and they have not learnt their lessons but continue to attack the FSHS concept for political expediency through some NDC infested CSOs. This is going to cost them the ...

• Owusu 10 months ago

The analysis is incomplete as it didn't mention the cost of extra tuition fee parents pay because of the long breaks and decline in the quality of teaching. Parents who can afford should be asked to pay for their children.

• FSHS turned drunkard fathers to church going boyfriends! 10 months ago

It also helped some fathers to stop drinking akpeteshie because they were forced to pay school fees. That is very good.

• AK 10 months ago

Extra classes existed before FSHS so why attribute it to FSHS. In any case the contact hours of tutor student has been increased to cure the problem of double track due to limited days per term

• Kofi Illinois 10 months ago

In as much as free education policy is good the quality of education matters a lot. Because of free SHS students who failed BECE miserably with even aggravate 40 are going to SHS. What the hell are you going to do in SHS with ...

• HALF A LOAF IS BETTER THAN NONE! 10 months ago

Without free SHS they could have been heading to Nsawam. And you think Nsawam Prison comes cheap to the taxpayer.? You will pay for their feeeding, hospital bills, rent, water and electricity bill, pay for the police to escor ...

• AVS Ltd 10 months ago

Not necessarily. Some people never stepped in a classroom but are successful carpenters, masons, farmers, fishermen, traders, etc. On the other hand, there are some people with good education but are thieves and criminals. It ...

• Kofi Illinois 10 months ago

Lol, massa, it is sad to say that if someone doesn't go to SHS means they are going to prison. Not everyone is academically inclined to go to school. What's the point of wasting 3 years in SHS if such a person can successful ...

• HALF A LOAF IS BETTER THAN NONE! 10 months ago

Rather a half-baked education for the Ghanaian child rather than none at all!

• Agya 10 months ago

The longest my kid sister had stayed in school is 2months and she'll be going to form 3.
    I bought text books and almost every week we send money.
    Aside the extra classes , we've spent more than we paying fees.

• AK 10 months ago

Before FSHS we're you not buying textbooks. Just criticizing for criticizing sake

• Citizen 1 10 months ago

Then take her to one of the private SHS in the country

• Joy 10 months ago

Free SHS is good initiative. But nana addo what is on your neck is corruption. You and your guys has stolen too much from Ghana coffers to enriched your selves than foolish mahama who want s come back to steal than you. Thi ...

• Vote 4 Mahama is the end of free school 10 months ago

in Ghana as we know it

• Jigsaw 10 months ago

Getting education at all cost is far better than being illiterate.

• Col Q 10 months ago

Enrollment has increased (population increase and lowering of entering grades)!
    However, massive insufficiency of infrastructure, lack of textbooks and teaching equipment, inadequate teaching and training facilities and time ...

• Bra kofi 10 months ago

Critiquing the analysis referencing the first diagram, the last years of both Kuffour and Mahama. Academic year in Ghana overlaps eg. 2010-2011. Mahama academic term was never 2017-2018. His term ended in 2017 7th January. It ...

• AGATAPORE(SANDEMA) 10 months ago

What is the performance of these students at the tertiary level? Try the analysis for that. What is the average GPA of Nana Addo SHS graduates in the Universities versus Mahama SHS graduates in the Universities?

• Bra kofi 10 months ago

If your kids won't study hard to pass, don't generalize it. Check the outstanding performances of Science and maths quiz students. Check the data from waec since it establishment, there is always a failure rate.

• Donkomi 10 months ago

Inspite of all the challenges facing FSHS, it's better than the progressively free SHS. No one felt the progressively free SHS but free SHS currently going on is being felt and palpable in all four corners of the country.

• Rob 10 months ago

Negative analysis

• De worshipper 10 months ago

Why no mention was made on massive infrastructures that has gone on and still on going in all SHSs and Tvets and new SHS has been built plus some of the E-Blocks converted into boarding schools. There is no SHS or tvet that h ...

• Truthfully 10 months ago

The analysis on cost is flawed. The question is what caused the increase in cost when tuition, feeding, boarding, etc were free? It was the doing of parents because they believed NDC's propaganda and allowed themselves for so ...

• AK 10 months ago

Before FSHS the issue of giving provisions and paying extra tuition existed so how can you attribute these to be caused by FSHS. Even before FSHS the illegal collection of moneys for items from parents existed so how can you ...

• OSAFO KANTANKA 10 months ago

Nobody is saying Free SHS is bad. The way it was done is dishonest and disgraceful. We should have offered it to parents we know they can’t afford it. This government is so lazy to implement means testing for all students ...

• AK 10 months ago

It's simple any parent who feels like paying should opt for a private school. If you allow some to pay and others not to pay then it ceases to be FSHS you are opting for a scholarship scheme. This has been done before and it ...

• Maame Abenah 10 months ago

Even when the data shows that school enrollment has increased after the introduction of the Free SHS, still Mahama and the NDC will not have a clue.

• Truthfully 10 months ago

Some of us we like the 'free for all' manner Free SHS was implemented. It was brilliant. Is it not in Ghana here that any thing meant for the poor ends up been hijacked by the rich and influential people? Examples are Cocoa s ...

• Captain 10 months ago

Only the SHS students and their parents and guardians knows either is good or bad.
    Nothing quality is cheap or free.
    We should stop being opportunistic.
    Why most of us send our wards to expensive basic schools if not for q ...

• Test 2 10 months ago

AKUFO ADDO AND HIS CORRUPT THIEVERY NPP MAFIA GOVT TREATING ALL GHANAIANS LIKE FOOLS AND ILLETERATES
    HOW.CAN YOU ROAM AROUND THE WESTERN WORLD CRYING FOR YOUR LOANS TO BE FORGIVEN OR PAYMENTS TO BE POSTPONED YOU DO NOT HAVE ...

• Bawku Mango 10 months ago

Aaaooo!!! Kwame Nkrumah where are you ???? Hmmm

• Sowee 10 months ago

Nana Addo will be remembered in years,Nkrumah started it only in the north with Ghana populations of about 5 millions people,Nana Addo started it about 7 years ago with Ghana populations of about 30 million plus,is the amount ...

• Kwame Peter 10 months ago

Fellow Ghanaians,FSHS is the best thing to happen to this country after independence and for this reason John Mahama and his NDC party should not be allowed anywhere near Jubilee House now and in the near future to go and sto ...

• maxwell 10 months ago

You are an idiot. What do you know about education

• Mello 10 months ago

Everything in the free shs is below standard, the NDC is coming to make it better. Yakagbemei Npp.

• Republic Gift 10 months ago

What is this stupid article trying to achieve? Without the FSHS, parents will still pay tuition and boarding fees in addition to these extraneous expenses.. Are parents being ungrateful?

• Vandal 10 months ago

I wish it had come in my time.90s .like I wld have bn a medical doctor.I had an aggregate 8 but didn't get Achimota. I gal in my church had 12 from a government school but gained admission at Achimota..30 sef dey go school

• Elephant Farmer 10 months ago

Data shows that Independence Square structures need maintenance. Last event with the Mask and Madam from Belgium. The money parents pay for SHS is more expensive than at the time Atta Mills was in power. Petrol and Diesel wer ...

• Nene 10 months ago

You can tickle yourself and laugh ghanaweb and your paymasters. The parents and students plus their benefactors who would have been struggling to pay the fees know the benefit of free shs. It will surely reflect in the 2024 e ...

• J0eY l0nD0N 10 months ago

Another idiot , if your party is in power and yet are not able to pay GHweb, but a party in opposition,is able to, then you are a fool for following such a party in power.

• Eric 10 months ago

From the data,everything shows a chunk of government expenditure goes into FSHS.How can you be feeding over a million of your population with a suffering economy.High school in the US is free because the govt spends on only t ...

• Sam Fante warrior. 10 months ago

Useless free SHS, it's only good for dumb children and villagers.

• GPS 10 months ago

Free education is good but kids sit under trees, and drink dirty water is bad. Stop galamsey and corruption. Water is life. Keep our waters clean

• Gslow 10 months ago

Continue to tickle yourself and laugh.

• Kwaku US 10 months ago

The problem of Ghana is those so called professionals, academics and so forth, because anything that does not bring money into their pockets and is good for the poor is not laudable.

• The Voltarian 10 months ago

EduWatch is an NPP sponsored organization. This analysis is not credible.

• ABASS Amogobo 10 months ago

NPP is full of deceo

• Kojois 10 months ago

Only stupid minded person will comments negatively on this. Those who are making ugly noise if not education where will them be today. Poor to live in Africa where every progress is backward.

• Genuwine 10 months ago

Edu watch , you can do better next time ,Your data provided should give us more details , for example you are taking about the cost parents spent on each child forgetting prices of goods and services have been increased due ...

• Cici 10 months ago

Ghanaians should wean themselves off political narcotics. Let's have a sensible debate about this. The free education is good but not feasible in the present form. The best is free day shs as done in advanced countries. Educa ...

• Rich 10 months ago

Who's behind this Education Watch, those who don't the progress of this nation call Ghana. They need money to buy houses in Dubai, send their Children to advance Universities outside Africa and filled their pockets with taxp ...

• Kofi 10 months ago

Bogus post with propaganda research work.
    What's your objective?
    Why did you use Edu Watch for the costs, but not from the SHS Secretariat? Edu Watch has been providing misleading information because they are vehemently op ...

• Ye de owuo ka 10 months ago

There is no doubt about it; education is far better than money. Indeed, acquisition of knowledge has proven to be more beneficial to mankind than any other related choice towards effective development or improvement of gener ...

• Is good only measured by quantity 10 months ago

The author failed to understand that good is always measured both quantitatively and qualitatively. Rather he solely focused on quantitative. Focus should be on the quality of its graduates, the impact on society etc. it’s ...

• WEBSITE DESIGN 10 months ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - eCommerce/Online shop Websites
    PRICE: 1,500gh. Call us today. 0501796870 for more info. GHGF5 ...

• Tygar 10 months ago

Free shs is a scam just like national cathedral been the most expensive hole in the world