The man is not smart. He thought living for a long time without papers would make him a whiteman. He refused to visit home during all the 42 years that is why he never thought about papers. What is he going to do in Ghana now? If it had been in Germany he would have been deported long time ago.
DotCom 10 months ago
Your comment is sad. You have no idea what others go through. If you can’t express any sympathy, better not comment at all.
Kay 10 months ago
The man was just negligent a former accounting student shd have known better.
Concerned Ghanaian 10 months ago
Does not matter whether negligent or not his is a British citizen. He should have lobbied his local MP in the first instance to take this up with the home office. The home office in UK have become emboldened because of the migrant crisis over the last 6 years but this man has contributed positively to the UK and for so long. There is no way his case won’t be admonished with him being regularised. Good luck and for once we are talking about a very studious Ghanaian who has integrity….
Bush Atorny (a.k.a. Kwaemu Advocate) 10 months ago
>Does not matter whether negligent or not his is a British citizen.
Oh really? Has he got a British passport then or he's still on our blessed Ghanaian passport and assuming to be British? [See 2nd paragraph of article].
Jah Lives 10 months ago
You are wrong in your assumptions.You do not become a British citizen by virtue of having lived in the UK for a long time.You become a British citizen by birth or through naturalisation.
It is important to understand that i ... read full comment
You are wrong in your assumptions.You do not become a British citizen by virtue of having lived in the UK for a long time.You become a British citizen by birth or through naturalisation.
It is important to understand that if you are living in the UK legitimately and have paid national insurance ,you are entitled to services such as the free use of the NHS.
WELL SAID 10 months ago
Well said
Well said
Omane 10 months ago
@Jah..... You are right, but this chap, although he has been naive, he was actually born in the Gold Coast in 1950. So, by virtue of his birth, he was British. The laws have changed over the years but he cannot be deported. He will definitely get what he wants. Lawyers are there to keep govt jobsworth on their toes.
Kweku Tsin 10 months ago
He was a British Subject NOT a British Citizen during Gold Coast Era. Besides, he went to Britain as a Ghanaian Citizen in 1977, ten years after independence. So, your argument does not hold water.
Omane 10 months ago
@Kweku, T he term "British Subject" was applicable to all Brits at the time irrespective of being born in Gold Coast, Hong Kong or Edinburgh. Jah, made a point about circumstance of birth in terms citizenship, hence my comment. Personally, I cannot comprehend how that man can be so naive about immigration laws. My own elder brother moved to the UK in 1960. He did not bother to naturalise until 1992. You and Jah are the only ones who seems to know what they are talking about.
Kweku Tsin 10 months ago
Once again. we were not British Citizens under colonialism. It was a master and servant relationship. ..Colonialism is defined as an act of political and economic domination involving the control of a country and its people by settlers from a foreign power.
Omane 10 months ago
@Kwaku, the topic is not about pros and cons of colonialism. Your perception are not facts. Just type into your browser.... When did Britain start using the term "British Citizen"? you will get a definitive answer. OK! Then, come back!
Ritz 10 months ago
REALLY??? Hmmm just listen to yourself.
Aku Wele RAMBO 10 months ago
I'm not sure he was naive... He knew what was at stake and thought that over time, because his accent has changed and has children, he's qualified to be British.
Daddy pls come back home. We miss you wai... You've enjoyed s ... read full comment
I'm not sure he was naive... He knew what was at stake and thought that over time, because his accent has changed and has children, he's qualified to be British.
Daddy pls come back home. We miss you wai... You've enjoyed some... Its OK come back home.
Basic Math 10 months ago
That's exactly what makes him naive, the assumption that longevity confers automatic citizenship.
Jay 10 months ago
This is absolutely misleading you don't become a citizen of any foreign nation without application.
You can stay for 100 years in UK if you don't apply to be citizens no one will force to make you one.the man educated iletra ... read full comment
This is absolutely misleading you don't become a citizen of any foreign nation without application.
You can stay for 100 years in UK if you don't apply to be citizens no one will force to make you one.the man educated iletrate.he should AV known better
Assey 10 months ago
Exactly. Spot on
Foli Foli 10 months ago
Fa ma nyame people. You think that the UK is like Ghana? They are serious about life issues. Nonsense people!
Tijani 10 months ago
It does matter. Living in a country for a long time without acquiring the necessary documentation does make you a citizen of that country. Even a shithole country Ghana is telling people who have been living in the country long before independence that they are not Ghanaians
Ocloo Samuel 10 months ago
go over your post and do necessary correction. You message isn't clear.
Also mind your language. Ghana isn't a shithole is you portray it.
Ghanaman 10 months ago
Even in Ghana, if you have stayed here as a foreigner for any number of years, will you automatically become a Ghanaian without applying for citizenship? Absolutely not! No country in this world can make you a citizen by force automatically, without your formal request by application, no matter how long you have stayed there for because they cannot decide for you. If this man, for 50 years, could not be bothered to apply for citizenship, then he has only himself to blame.
ONLY FOOLS ABANDON THEIR HOME 10 months ago
YOU LEAVE YOUR MOM FOR 42 FUCKING YEARS AND YOU THOUGHT SOMEONE'S HOME WAS YOUR HOME
Foli Foli 10 months ago
You become a citizen of Ghana after staying illegally for 10 years and above.
Ghanaman 10 months ago
Foli foli, even if that is so, UK is not Ghana and they have their own laws
Babangida Casagrande 10 months ago
It’s so sad, he should have known better, he is lying any immigrant knows his legal status you waited until your mom died before knowing your legal status? Fanti warriors siblings
Very paradoxical 10 months ago
A signature of our cousins, the canoe users. They always feel too comfy in foreign lands and never return to their ancestral homes.
Borga 10 months ago
No! he is right.
The story does not add up.
No! he is right.
KOFI 10 months ago
Hey DotCom, i have no sympathy for this man. We should stop this reckless living and get real.
Even, the young Asian walking on the streets of the UK know that they have moved to a different country and there are some laws ... read full comment
Hey DotCom, i have no sympathy for this man. We should stop this reckless living and get real.
Even, the young Asian walking on the streets of the UK know that they have moved to a different country and there are some laws there. Included in these laws are regularising your stay.
Context: In 1977 and the years following, it was very easy to regularise your stay in the Uk. Asians came to this country after him and others but they had the sense to regularise their stay.
My friend, i know not less than 10 Ghanaians in the UK today that i have advised to do something about their stay and they have out rightly rejected my suggestions.
Look at the Caribbeans who were brought here decades ago but were living in ghettos and never regularised their stay. You will not here Asians who even came after the Wind Rush period crying foolishly that they don't have papers.
What is wrong with us at all?
truth be told 10 months ago
MASA, after getting married to British women on two different occasions, he could have gotten the needed documents as British citizen!
Basic Math 10 months ago
Whatever people go through doesn't not negate the fac that the man was negligent and behaved like an informed illiterate. How on earth can you live all these years in the UK without applying for indefinite leave to remain? NOTHING justifies his actions. Anyone who has ever lived in the UK even for a month knows you need indefinite leave to remain to consider the country home.
Yawa 10 months ago
Nothing sad about his comment. We use our emotions in Ghana hence the sorry state of the country. The mam failed to do the right thing and now wants sympathy.
Nii moi 10 months ago
He id right. There are a lot of people like thst is the UK. The behaviour is more white than the whites, I have come a cross more
£EARN, TRAIN, START MAKING REAL MONEY IN 3WKS 10 months ago
Last year's investors in this skill are reaping now, 162 already sold this month.Dont be left out, take control of your finances with our smartphone repair course(the first & best worldwide). In just three weeks, gain valuable skills to start earning on your terms. Join thousands around the world(check reviews) who changed their lives after JUST three weeks training with our books. Invest in yourself today with Chukky Oparandu's guide-book on Amazon(Search Chukky Oparandu on Amazon website). Act fast, before the current price ends. Break free from unemployment – start your journey to self-sufficiency now! #SmartphoneRepair #SkillsForSuccess #FinancialIndependence. The French translated version would be out this May worldwide!
Kabokabo 10 months ago
Which passport is he holding now?
Before applying for a staying permit you must have a valid passport. In his case after 42years outside Ghana soil l don't know whether lawfully he is still a Ghanaian.
Never served Ghana.
... read full comment
Before applying for a staying permit you must have a valid passport. In his case after 42years outside Ghana soil l don't know whether lawfully he is still a Ghanaian.
Never served Ghana.
Never paid a toll boot.
Never paid tax.
Never did a communal labour
Never paid utilities bills
For the past 42 years.
Even in exile you married a British instead of a Ghanaian.
You bought a house in Britain instead of Ghana.
Now your mother is dead and what are you going to do in Ghana?
A good lesson to learn. No condition is permanent.
Omane 10 months ago
@Kwadwo, am afraid you are spewing a lot of absolute tosh! Do you know the difference between "Jus Soli and Jus Sanguinis"?. Bugger your ignorance and look for the meanings of the two legal terms that determines citizenship as I have pointed out to you. OK!
GH8 10 months ago
He was coming to Ghana because his mom passed and had to attend her funeral and that was 2019.
Rasta 10 months ago
He married 2 white women and still did not secure his papers,...the man has been very very careless. He reminds me of a relative of mine, a very good man, but very careless. Anyway, the law is not merciful to the ignorant or careless person,...the law is the law.
Sam Fante warrior. 10 months ago
Read the story good to understand it. The have paper the staying permit but he now need a passport to travel to Ghana. I don't know why he don't want Ghana passport, he can also travel with Ghana passport.
Very paradoxical 10 months ago
Sam, your people are notoriously not serious.
Mugabe 10 months ago
Even Ghana card and he can stay in Ghana forever. Honestly don’t know the basis of him thinking he was a British Citizen and what grounds of passport he was going to apply
Kwabena Ohemeng ,London 10 months ago
He can travel on Ghana passport but will be refused entry on his return to UK.At the airport he will have to prove that he lives legally in the UK. Legally he doesn't have the leave to live in the UK Indefinitely.
Basic Math 10 months ago
You should the article again well, there is no where it says he has paper, he doesn't have anything. If he has paper he could travel to Ghana with a Ghana passport.
Ghanaman 10 months ago
This is like where the Bible says, if you want to become a citizen of heaven eternally, believe the gospel of Jesus Christ, and call on the name of the Lord and be saved.
Then you decide to ignore this application or formal ... read full comment
This is like where the Bible says, if you want to become a citizen of heaven eternally, believe the gospel of Jesus Christ, and call on the name of the Lord and be saved.
Then you decide to ignore this application or formal request laid out in the Bible and decide to do good things, giving alms, helping the poor etc, all your life and you think that will automatically make you a citizen of heaven.
Then you die and are told at heaven's gate that you are not a citizen and are unknown in heaven. Then you get furious and begin tell the angels all the good deeds you did on earth but there is one thing you didn't do: you never applied through Jesus, for heavenly citizenship and you are told, it's too late now.
Mo nhwe pena nan 10 months ago
Stupid man Aleste gbonto, old fool.. is better to buy aletse car with your sweat than a man shoving your anus unto the heavens for gay sex for money to buy a good car. Stupid gay prostitute. Money worshippers who love money than their own selves Some of us are so smart about the so called rich and their private lives cos you've make wealth through your anus and it makes you think you are on top of the world, . Diapers man, not all of us who see any fool with cars and money is considered as a wise man. I don't live my life by your principles and is non of your damn business yes you heard me motherfucker else I will pierce a bullet inside your gay head
ABC 10 months ago
Wow! A great illustration!!
Kwabena Ohemeng ,London 10 months ago
Is it only through Jesus Christ that one can go to heaven? Did Moses and Abraham go to heaven through Jesus Christ? Whoever does the will of God can go to heaven.
Ghanaman 10 months ago
Kwabena Ohemeng, Jesus said in the Bible: I am the way, the truth and the life. NO MAN COMES TO THE FATHER BUT BY ME. He is the only man in history that has had the audacity to say this point blank, without mincing words and without a shred of concern about anyone being offended by this startling claim. You can choose to believe him or not.
Time will tell when you reach eternity.
KKD 10 months ago
you are right
OMANE 10 months ago
KWASI>>>>>the British are not as nasty as the Germans. This man will definitely get his stay.The British actually did treat commonwealth citizens with respect.It is us who started abusing their hospitality.A commonwealth person born and bred in Ghana with a stay in the UK can vote, be a politician, minister, attorney general, join the army and even be the prime minister of UK.Compare that with our bullshit constitution in Ghana and you will see how the Brits do respect democracy.
Kwaku-Holland 10 months ago
@ Omane...Sometimes I wonder what colonization has done to some of us Ghanaians! You claim the British are not as nasty as the Germans? What an ignorant statement to make! Somehow we prefer to eat the crumbs of the supposedly mild master. Ask the Kenyans what the British did to the tribes. So ignorant. Master it is Britain which is under the spotlight, leave Germany out.
Omane 10 months ago
@Kwaku..... The Dutch which you seem to adore and cherish colonised certain parts of the Gold Coast from 1612 to 1872. Can you tell me the sort of infrastructure they left in Ghana in terms of schools, roads, hospitals, railways etc? Apart from the slave castles that they built and supplying arms to our own Ashanti King's to engage in slave raiding and trading, can you pinpoint what they left us in Ghana for the 260 years that they stayed in Ghana? In fact they actually set foot in Gold Coast in 1595. They sold their interest to the Brits in 1872.They gave us scholl, hospitals roads, railways etc and actually stopped our vile and despicable chief from slave trading and human sacrifice. Come back and let
me knock a fat lot of sense into your empty head. You probably swallowed a lot of the embellished nonsense that lying twat called Adu Boahen forced fed us at school. Iam eagerly awaiting your response.
Kofi uk 10 months ago
This man is very funny, living in uk for 60yrs doesn’t make u a British, Al fayet the owner of Harold’s, in London and Argos employs many people in uk but was refused uk citizenship, he should have been deported for staying illegally, he was living comfortably here in the uk and forgot his roots, send him back to Ejisu
Omane 10 months ago
@Kofi UK..... stop displaying your ignorance. Al Fayed never owned Argos. He was refused citizenship because of the lies that he told. His brother was given one without a problem. You can find out the truth about Fayed by reading Tom Bower"s book about him. Fayed... The unauthorised biography published in 1998. He sued the writer but lost the case. In that book, you will see how he lied just about everything. From his date of birth to his illegal status in England in 1966. Buy it, read it and stop relying on hear say as ignorant Ghanaians do.
Basic Math 10 months ago
Absolutely, the man has been careless and reckless.
DotCom 10 months ago
After all these worries living abroad, your people in Ghana won’t stop bothering you for money for their birthdays and funerals and marriages. Meanwhile, you don’t even celebrate your own birthday. Brothers and sisters back home, you are killing your own diaspora emotionally. I hope it goes well for this man.
Bastie Asantefournyinaahene 10 months ago
He’s been negligent. His sons are British and he has the “right to family life”
This case should be easy. He never bothered to apply for a passport. I guess he has never left the Uk for holidays , typically to Spain , Benidorm where the British play hard.
GH8 10 months ago
And he married two British women but did not formally apply for his British citizenship? Hmmm asem o.
Can you imagine ? He has himself to blame
Sunday Obi 10 months ago
The only time the fool Bastie spoke the truth. Good job fool. Keep it up.
John Basoa 10 months ago
Eei Naija, you like fight oo. You dey call a fool mister. If you're giving him that reverence by calling him a mister why add fool? Do you want to say he is a fool but a dignified one? Let peace reign.
One Zoo animal has escaped Kirikiri prison.
Dr. Allen Smith Jackson, UK 10 months ago
First time this mad man has commented on an article not related to Asantehene or Asanteman
You only see what you're looking for. You're the epitome of lunacy. Who the hell is Asantehene? He's nothing to me.
Joko 10 months ago
Or Nigerians ,the dog is off drugs in the last 2days.
Dr. Allen Smith Jackson, UK 10 months ago
Yh of course he only comment on articles related to Ashantis or Nigeria, he’s insane
You cannot gag me to comment on what you want. MMOA
Ama Brefo 10 months ago
Bastie ne gyimie de3, 3y3 fun. Today that you've set history to write sensibly, you are deviating to spew your stupid stuff again. Hmm, gyimie 3nni aduro ampa.
Your father fool pass everyone. I'm smarter than the idiot who raped your mother to conceive you.
Naa Akorley 10 months ago
How can a man write so foolishly? You're very uncouth, Bastie.
Vivian Offei Ampadu. 10 months ago
Sis, leave this fool. He can never change. It seems his hatred for women is congenital.
Ashawo … you didn’t see what they wrote about me?
Aaah.. go and use baby wipe to clean your stinky vaginas .
Ntos 10 months ago
No Zoogerialogy from Bastie this time.
Chiga 10 months ago
Ghana with entitlement. You did not migrate to the UN as a citizen, you made no attempt to acquire citizenship and you expect it to just be given to you.
Boye/California 10 months ago
You go hear wahara in your head when you married a British woman to do your documents you take the Country for granted and now you are crying come back home if they refuse you then you have somewhere called Ghana where Nana Addo mess the Economy but you can still come back home Empty hand welcome back Grandfather when you went you forget everyone in your family now you wants us to cry for you Nainama
GHANA TECH 10 months ago
**ARE YOU LOOKING FOR AN EXPERIENCED SOCIAL MEDIA CONSULTANT TO HELP MARKET YOUR BUSINESS,PRODUCTS OR SERVICES ON ALL SOCIAL MEDIA PLATFORMS..THEN CONTACT US...WE ALSO DESIGN THE BEST QUALITY WEBSITES AND MORE: VISIT US AT : WWW.SPOTLIGHTAFRICAMEDIA.NET OR WHATSAPP OR CALL ; 0244289681
Sammy 10 months ago
How can you assume to be British? Whiles you have not applied for citizenship and received certificate or Naturalization from a court or Home office. His case is liken to a man who is free to a girl or woman and assume. She is a girl friend. You are wrong, all the time.
kwame niger 10 months ago
they should bring him home, its very simple a log in the lake for 30yes does not make it a crocodile. come home joe darky
In the past married certificate with British was powerful 10 months ago
U could use that to apply for jobs and many old generations did that without holding a passport... This must have been the car and he never travelled to Ghana or holidays to so didn't realise he is not settled. First he shouldn't be talking about British bcos not everyone needs to be British to stay in UK...unless you are born British, you are not until you apply and naturalise through ceremony.
First he has to be legal IE limited leave then permanent..he can explore right to family life through children and grandchildren and may be accepted...
HENRY, SPAIN 10 months ago
YOU FILLED THE WRONG FORM. HOW? MOREOVER YOU NEVER APPLIED FOR THEIR CITIZENSHIP. TAKING A NATION TO COURT. THINK BEFORE YOU MOVE. THINK MARRIAGE GIVES YOU THAT CITIZENSHIP. IS ONLY A OPPORTUNITY BUT THEY ALSO HAVE THEIR LAWS.RESPECT.YOUR LAWYER IS THE RIGHT PERSON TO TELL YOU THE TRUTH ABOUT IT. THINK.
Etw3 ba 10 months ago
Yoo guys this man we talking about came in the 70s when uk was uk. The rules were abit relaxed. If you had lived in the uk for 10yrs you can apply for documents. From 2010 coming down the immigration rules keep changing. So you can't blame him much
Buga 10 months ago
So how were you proving your status in this country when asked. What passport were you showing to them.anyway why did your first marriage end.did she cheat on u.u have a lot to answer. Colonial man in UK
Randy 10 months ago
This is nonsense, you can't just assume you have the right to remain in the UK cos u ve lived there since 1977. It's stupidity, this colour black di333, gyimie nkoaaa
Observer 10 months ago
What's the big deal. In Ghana you are not automatically Ghanaian even if you are born in Ghana and have lived your whole life here if your parents are not Ghanaian.
Steve Williams 10 months ago
By the way, did you complete your Accountancy studies? The Uk home office deals with laws ana regulation. You cannot be in Uk for 42 years without having the relevant papers! Your lackacidical attitude has not helped you. You think you are in GHANA?
Elephant Farmer 10 months ago
How was the marriage legal means, and now this problems? Paying taxes all the years was welcome.
Akonta 10 months ago
So how come he didn’t apply for citizenship when he married bizarre
Kwami - US 10 months ago
@Atonka, maybe his marriages were not legal, duly and properly registered in court while he was living in UK. He thought having children in UK with British women would have made him a citizen.
Jah Lives 10 months ago
Akonta,if he had indefinite right to stay in the UK,he could keep his Ghana passport.The problem is,in such a situation,he would have to permanently keep the passport with the indefinite leave to stay in the UK stamped in.
W ... read full comment
Akonta,if he had indefinite right to stay in the UK,he could keep his Ghana passport.The problem is,in such a situation,he would have to permanently keep the passport with the indefinite leave to stay in the UK stamped in.
What baffles me is that,in the mid 80s,immigration law started to change.It would have been prudent of him to have naturalised and applied for a British passport when he got married or,when he started having kids.The kids would be British by birth. He would have found it a lot easier travelling around Europe with his wife and kids with a British passport than with a Ghana passport.
There is an important lesson in the story.Never make assumptions.
Kwami - US 10 months ago
The man is a typical frivolous Ghanaian who could be using his status as a foreign student to work in UK even after completing his studies. He cheated the system for far too long and never realized the setbacks. He should come home and enjoy his retirement instead of wasting money and time on a court case he is not likely to win. Home is home
Omane 10 months ago
@Kwami, shove you ignorance where it belongs! UK, has different and better rules for commonwealth citizens unlike your flawed democratic USA where people can be deported after living there for decades. Although, the guy has been naive beyond anyone's imagination with regards to immigration laws, I can assure you that the UK govt will not deport him. It will
cost him a bit of money, but he will definitely get there in the end. He was British by birth and there are lawyers who will take the UK govt to task to sort things out for him. That is the difference between your a La La Land USA and UK.
Foolish UK people ! Idiots ! 10 months ago
The UK Home office is full of foolish people ! Mmoa
The law is the law. He's to be blamed. The Home Office and the passport office will not issue you with a British Passport just because you're a long stayer. You must be eligible.
Nortey Dowuona 10 months ago
Mr Shared, you need to apply for permanent residence(ILR) before applying for a British passport.Your method of applying for status to be allowed to reside in the UK is wrong. You need ILR before British citizenship. Unfortunately, you will still have to apply for permanent residence, which you will definitely be granted. You have a right to request for a waiver of the fees, for which you qualify.You can then request for your case to be considered outside the rules which will definitely be successful as well. Unfortunately, the Home Office is RIGHT with the decision they have taken but I believe they will relent if you approach this matter in manner that does not portray them as having taken a wrong decision.
Kojo Boateng 10 months ago
I am not sure he is getting the best legal advise, he also qualify under a 20 year long stay in the UK, his lawyers should be advising him to consider this option.....all the same I am shock.
Kwame 10 months ago
Perfect
Perfect
Manu 10 months ago
I beg to differ. I think since the man has never committed any offence in the UK, he must be considered on moral grounds. He also worked to help the UK economy. If this case had affected a British citizen living Ghana, I don't think it would have been as problematic as the one the Ghanaian is facing now.
Occam 10 months ago
Such Ghanaian -thinking is why the country is disorganised.
Do you that this is a unique case which happens rarely? Because people keep to the rules and there are records.
This is bizarre 10 months ago
Related to a high ranking Minister in Nkrumah's government, I've 4 cousins who went to UK in the early 60s but never came back. Very sad, but I have no sympathy for him.
Bush Atorny (a.k.a. Kwaemu Advocate) 10 months ago
All migrants to the UK must know this: IT IS NOT the responsibility of your host country to inform you about legal opportunities and links that may be open to you. Linking up to a spouse may not help you here either. Most ordinary Brits are basically ignorant of Home Office rules that governs migrants' rights and privileges.
IT IS UP TO YOU to query your way up, to solving your immigration issues. Get that in your heads and let's stop behaving like afuom lot!
Getting married to a Brit does not guarantee automatic transfer of your status to full citizenship either; know that. You need to apply for it, with proof of marriage etc. Get a lawyer if and when needed and stop relying on your anko-bi-na-hunuui fellow migrant pocket lawyers.
Yaw Sango 10 months ago
This man forgot the right thing to do, first of all you have to secure your papers before everything UK is not like Ghana, thinking that you have been here long time make you citizen
Yaw Sango 10 months ago
Read about deported Jamaicans , Windrush, staying longer doesn't make you citizen or legal.
Sam Fante warrior. 10 months ago
As long you're black you're an African.
Babangida Casagrande 10 months ago
@fante warrior your cousin wasn’t smart enough, he waited till his mom MOT before decided to come home, AMONZEE , birds with the same feathers fly together
Jah Lives 10 months ago
There is something obviously not quite right with this particular case.The man was naive or has not been telling the truth.
I will explain. I went to the UK from Ghana around 1973 with a student visa.The course was for 3 yea ... read full comment
There is something obviously not quite right with this particular case.The man was naive or has not been telling the truth.
I will explain. I went to the UK from Ghana around 1973 with a student visa.The course was for 3 years.At the end of the course,I got a job related to my course of study.My employers were aware of my immigration status and,helped me to extend my permission to stay in the UK. But,had to renew my visa every year.After about 5years,I was automatically,granted permission to stay in the UK for an indefinite period.At this point,I no longer had to renew my visa.
When my Ghana passport expired after 10 years,I had an option of either renewing my Ghana passport which at the time,was a hustle-having to travel to London and being told to come back tomorrow etc or,to take up a British Citizenship which was around £50.00 at the time.I opted for British citizenship which I got. Despite that,I retained my expired Ghana passport as it contained the indefinite stay stamp and still have it today.
The moral of the story is that,when you travel,you have to play by the rules strictly.Ignorance of the rules is not a defence in the UK.
I wish this brother well.If he has been a good migrant and has not committed any crimes in the UK,he could regularise his immigration status with support from his MP or immigration support offices in the area he lives in.
Ojamo 10 months ago
Agye Gon.
Agye Gon.
kkd 10 months ago
Why not sort out your paperwork? Just doesn’t add up!
Kernel 10 months ago
There is something fishy about that. Like he wanted to avoid the authorities. He could have paid very less fees back in those days.
Hohoho, Montreal 10 months ago
Mr Nelson, the home affairs office is right. The did nothing wrong. You have been living in the UK for over 50 years, and foolishly assuming that you are a British.
You never applied to stay in the UK permanently for so ... read full comment
Mr Nelson, the home affairs office is right. The did nothing wrong. You have been living in the UK for over 50 years, and foolishly assuming that you are a British.
You never applied to stay in the UK permanently for so many years, and you went to applied for a British passport . You must be joking. I hope they will do you some favors.
The country left 50 years ago is rotten. Fight hard to stay in the UK. Good luck
Sam 10 months ago
Endless amounts of people in Europe go through this every day.
Today the chance to make money and good living is here in Ghana and not in that that overcrowded run down place .
Come back home and eat good food.
Today the chance to make money and good living is here in Ghana and not in that that overcrowded run down place .
George 10 months ago
He is lucky, The British Government is being tolerant towards him, had it been in Germany, he would be on a deportation flight, kissing his properties goodbye. Not to talk of getting the chance to buying those properties.
Tumtum 10 months ago
Koo Darkie
Koo Darkie
Ende 10 months ago
Too Late. He never took applying for the Rightful Papers that will allow him Permanent Stay, very Serious. Or he is not telling us the True Story.
Kofi Ghanaba 10 months ago
The UK or England as l know them always short change blacks.The Shardey man should have been given British citizenship long ago.l will try to give reasons.He has stayed and worked in London for a long time and has been paying taxes.He has two British white wives.He has children who are working in England and contributing to the economy.He owns property in Britain.What else do the Home Office want.lt is racism which is the cause.
He still needs to apply for a permanent residency Indefinite Leave to Remain. Then after 5 years of stay . He qualifies to apply for a British Passport.
H
He still needs to apply for a permanent residency Indefinite Leave to Remain. Then after 5 years of stay . He qualifies to apply for a British Passport.
H
KKD 10 months ago
I don't know his problem. If you were not born there then you have to apply for Permanent Resident if approve and you leave there for some years then you can apply for citizenship. I feel sorry for this happening but honestly he knew he wasn't a citizen. what documents are you going to use to apply for the passport anyway??/
Kojo Badu 10 months ago
Obviously the man is not smart. Doesn't he know he has to do paperworks before he can become a citizen. Long stay and taxes wouldn't make anyone a citizen of another country. His sense of entitlement is not sufficient to guarantee him British citizenship.
Mr Ibu 10 months ago
May you not get a passport to visit Ghana again. May you be deported to Rwanda to live there for the rest of your life. You never visited your own mum for 42 years and now want to come home because she passed on and you want to attend funeral. I don't wish you good luck
Ohene Gyamfi 10 months ago
You guys will go to jail you’re a thieves keep quiet there.
AGATAPORE(SANDEMA) 10 months ago
NO SYMPATHY FOR YOU AND DO NOT DISGRACE GHANAIANS. NO MATTER HOW LONG YOU CAN STAY UNDER THE WATER DIVING, YOU CAN NEVER BECOME A FISH. SO WITH YOUR EDUCATION, YOU DID NOT KNOW YOU HAVE TO REGULARIZE YOUR STAY IN UK. SAD BUT NO SYMPATHY. THE LAWS OF UK WORK.
Dan 10 months ago
Let's call a spade a spade; he failed as an educated man to assume he's a citizen simply bcoz he's stayed there for 4 decades. It was negligence on his part after also marrying two White Britons so what stopped him from documenting his stay? He never even bothered to visit the Ghana's High Commission to register himself to at least obtain Ghana registered card? I don't sympathise with him at all. Although at this point his boys who are born citizens can fight for him. In any case why fighting to get a British passport when he can easily apply for Ghana's and travel down with it? This man maybe a Ga. Since 1977? Haba...not even a visit? I'm sure his Ghanaian passport expired and never wanted to have anything to do with Ghana the reason he didn't do anything about it. Serves him right.
Nii Lamptey 10 months ago
The story is missing some vital information. The story suggests that the man never applied for UK citizenship while married to British ladies. This cannot be true.
Efo Kwaku 10 months ago
Ask Steve Wonder how he got his Ghanaian passport. Never stayed in Ghana....
Afro Values 10 months ago
He just called to say he loves Ghana and voila! Given full citizenship! Perhaps its good to be blind and a singer. Perhaps it's his dollars sacks. Perhaps... well, Lord knows.
Dr. Okantey 10 months ago
I don't know much about the British immigration system, but get a lawyer and have them apply for some of these things for you. Willfully negligently STAYING in Britain and never actually looking into regularizing your stay is at best IDIOTIC.
Have your kids apply for you to stay properly (if that route works in England). I'll be surprised if he never met other Ghanaians or Africans in the UK who chat about getting papers (NKRATAA) etc. I find his story lacking in rational and logical thing.
Good luck to him.
ROGUE LAWYER 10 months ago
Nelson Shardey ?which part of Ghana is shardey a family name ?
passport criminals
Azumah Nelson,every Ghanaian knows where he comes from, Aryetey Nelson every Ghanaian knows he is GA,
Kofi Konadu Nelson, everybody knows h ... read full comment
passport criminals
Azumah Nelson,every Ghanaian knows where he comes from, Aryetey Nelson every Ghanaian knows he is GA,
Kofi Konadu Nelson, everybody knows he is an Asanti
I want to know shardey where he comes from
Longie 10 months ago
Hmmm Mr "Shardey" , from which part of Ghana? For 42 years you never visited your mother??? Eiiii, what a story!!
judischrislam 10 months ago
If he wants his citizenship, he should sue Tax office to claim all taxes he has paid for the entire 42 years. That will be a lot of money running close to millions of pounds. The Tax office would rather not want to pay such money money but would instantly grant him his citizenship.
La pleasure man 10 months ago
In the UK since 1977, having 2 'successfull' sons, but not able to pay 17000 GBP?
What a loser..
In the UK since 1977, having 2 'successfull' sons, but not able to pay 17000 GBP?
What a loser..
Gem 10 months ago
If our country were to be developed like America, would he had wanted to be a British citizen. I feel very sad at the state of our country. No dignity. When are we going to develop our country so that our people will not feel proud of getting another country citizenship where they are treated with disrespect. God bless Ghana
Litwit 10 months ago
I totally agree with you Gem. This model of Ghanaians immigrating to have a better life is a failure of our leadership and unacceptable. Which Ghanaian will voluntarily want to go and stay in that cold if Ghana were developed?
Nana Amoako 10 months ago
Kofi Gabs, who has recently received Dutch citizenship and dissed Ghana should listen to this story. Don't you ever think that staying over there for decades, or acquiring a citizenship makes you a white man. Your 1st lD in a white man's country is your COLOUR. Either you're a citizen for 100 years or whatever, you're still viewed as an African with that colour. Being a citizen is not written on your forehead, or inscribed on your car, or in your pocket. Either a citizen or not, when you have a case, you're assessed by your colour. And so we should all remind ourselves, that home is home. We should cherish where we come from and be proud of ourselves. Mr Shardey's case will never happen if he was from America, Russia, Japan, Australia etc living in the UK with a similar situation. But as l said earlier on, they look at your 1st ID....Colour. May God help you to succeed in your case, but we should all know as Bob Marley said....as far as you're a black man, you're an African.
Afro Values 10 months ago
Hmm Nana. Even 'citizens' from the Caribbean islands, who've been in the UK since Windrush times, get thrown out sometimes.
Nana Ba 10 months ago
I am an Indian and half Lebanese who has lived in Ghana for 47 years. I have lived here in Ghana for most of my life. I have opened businesses and created employment. I bought a house and married a Ghanaian. I have not applied for anything, because, I didn't and I don't want to. I need to vote because I have lived here for 47 years.
I am from Mali, I have lived at Manhyia environ, and, in fact, shares the wall with Manhyia palace. Certainly, I am entitled to the Royalty. What a....
Thank you.
Koletey Jannie 10 months ago
A serious country with working principles and systems. In a loose country like Ghana with no systems working, Samira Bawumia migrated from Mali to Ghana and never went through any naturalization process but now Ghana's second lady and aspiring to be first lady.
CharlesS 10 months ago
Living in the Wirrals (places like the Wirrals tend to be predominantly white) and being married to British women may imply that he cut himself off from the Ghanaian community. These are topics that come up in conversations, and the chances are that had he remained in touch, he would have been better informed.
Asem 10 months ago
Nelson tell the world the truth and stop damaging a country that you have benefited from.
You need to apply for citizenship if you want, it's not force to become a citizen of any country despite the years you stay there .
Nelson tell the world the truth and stop damaging a country that you have benefited from.
You need to apply for citizenship if you want, it's not force to become a citizen of any country despite the years you stay there .
Kwabena Ghana 10 months ago
He is a fool
Ochee-Do-Chee 10 months ago
IT HAPPENS EVERY TIME! WHEN YOU MAKE AN ASSUMPTION, YOU MAKE AN ASS OF YOURSELF. MAKING MOTHER'S PRIDE BREAD, KIPLING'S CAKES AND BENDICK'S CHOCOLATE DO NOT MAKE YOU A BRITISH CITIZEN. IT IS NOT LIKE NIGERIANS MOVING TO GHANA OR GHANAIANS MOVING TO NIGERIA AND TAKING UP RESIDENCE. TO THOSE PIGS WHO THINK THEY ARE EUROPEAN CITIZENS, THINK AGAIN. EVEN MAKING BABIES WITH ONE OF THEIR WITCHES WITH A 'B' ONLY MAKES YOU LEGALLY A SPERM DONOR!
Ex-Pope 10 months ago
Grant him citizenship and instead send Rishi to Rwanda. He has resided in the UK for half a century as a law-abiding person; he has been a productive person all those years; his advanced age; and he currently is recovering from a serious illness. All those facts should persuade the Home Government to show some consideration and make an exception by granting the man the necessary documents he needs to legitimize himself. Dragging him through years of bureaucratic hurdles will only serve to make the guy more ill than he currently is. He isn't the first to overstay his visa, and should be treated with compassion.
Yawa 10 months ago
This man was never a British Citizen. He didn't nautralise and he is now crying wolf.
Ex-Pope 10 months ago
Have compassion. You don't want to see your fellow human get devoured by a wolf, do you? May God Save the King, and also Save Ghanaman from Rishi the wolf.
Mugabe 10 months ago
Dump dump how was he thinking he was a British? Don’t mind him he knew he wasn’t a British from day one just playing smart for sympathy
Ex-Pope 10 months ago
So the British know what it means to squat on another's land without authorization? Just imagine how African countries feel about these British trespassers squatting on African lands and these African countries having to finally fight for independence from the very British who were nothing squatters without any papers from the African people. At least Nelson Shardey has not looted the British, unlike the British who were mere squatters on African lands and finally departed those lands after years of wanton looting of African lands and resources.
KAI 10 months ago
India Man in power so get out of England.
Hurry up.
The English people are like that come home or go to India
Hurry up.
Odopa 10 months ago
Very unfortunate, who told him that over staying in a country without regulating your immigration status would automatically provide you with citizenship?
Yes, he made a great mistake but he is OVER qualified and paid his ... read full comment
Very unfortunate, who told him that over staying in a country without regulating your immigration status would automatically provide you with citizenship?
Yes, he made a great mistake but he is OVER qualified and paid his dues to the UK government and have served the community well. He deserves FREE UK passport!!
Prince 10 months ago
When you guys come to Africa you live freely they even treat you better than the country men u guys have stop treating people like they are just a thing if it's not the leathers that have disappointed them this won't happen may God have mercy on your wickedness
The man is not smart. He thought living for a long time without papers would make him a whiteman. He refused to visit home during all the 42 years that is why he never thought about papers. What is he going to do in Ghana now ...
Does not matter whether negligent or not his is a British citizen. He should have lobbied his local MP in the first instance to take this up with the home office. The home office in UK have become emboldened because of the m ...
It is important to understand that i ...
Well said
@Jah..... You are right, but this chap, although he has been naive, he was actually born in the Gold Coast in 1950. So, by virtue of his birth, he was British. The laws have changed over the years but he cannot be deported. ...
@Kweku, T he term "British Subject" was applicable to all Brits at the time irrespective of being born in Gold Coast, Hong Kong or Edinburgh. Jah, made a point about circumstance of birth in terms citizenship, hence my co ...
Once again. we were not British Citizens under colonialism. It was a master and servant relationship. ..Colonialism is defined as an act of political and economic domination involving the control of a country and its people b ...
@Kwaku, the topic is not about pros and cons of colonialism. Your perception are not facts. Just type into your browser.... When did Britain start using the term "British Citizen"? you will get a definitive answer. OK! The ...
Daddy pls come back home. We miss you wai... You've enjoyed s ...
You can stay for 100 years in UK if you don't apply to be citizens no one will force to make you one.the man educated iletra ...
Exactly. Spot on
It does matter. Living in a country for a long time without acquiring the necessary documentation does make you a citizen of that country. Even a shithole country Ghana is telling people who have been living in the country lo ...
Even in Ghana, if you have stayed here as a foreigner for any number of years, will you automatically become a Ghanaian without applying for citizenship? Absolutely not! No country in this world can make you a citizen by forc ...
No! he is right.
Even, the young Asian walking on the streets of the UK know that they have moved to a different country and there are some laws ...
Whatever people go through doesn't not negate the fac that the man was negligent and behaved like an informed illiterate. How on earth can you live all these years in the UK without applying for indefinite leave to remain? NO ...
Last year's investors in this skill are reaping now, 162 already sold this month.Dont be left out, take control of your finances with our smartphone repair course(the first & best worldwide). In just three weeks, gain valuabl ...
Never served Ghana.
@Kwadwo, am afraid you are spewing a lot of absolute tosh! Do you know the difference between "Jus Soli and Jus Sanguinis"?. Bugger your ignorance and look for the meanings of the two legal terms that determines citizenship ...
He married 2 white women and still did not secure his papers,...the man has been very very careless. He reminds me of a relative of mine, a very good man, but very careless. Anyway, the law is not merciful to the ignorant or ...
Then you decide to ignore this application or formal ...
Stupid man Aleste gbonto, old fool.. is better to buy aletse car with your sweat than a man shoving your anus unto the heavens for gay sex for money to buy a good car. Stupid gay prostitute. Money worshippers who love money t ...
Kwabena Ohemeng, Jesus said in the Bible: I am the way, the truth and the life. NO MAN COMES TO THE FATHER BUT BY ME. He is the only man in history that has had the audacity to say this point blank, without mincing words and ...
you are right
KWASI>>>>>the British are not as nasty as the Germans. This man will definitely get his stay.The British actually did treat commonwealth citizens with respect.It is us who started abusing their hospitality.A commonwealth per ...
@ Omane...Sometimes I wonder what colonization has done to some of us Ghanaians! You claim the British are not as nasty as the Germans? What an ignorant statement to make! Somehow we prefer to eat the crumbs of the supposedly ...
@Kwaku..... The Dutch which you seem to adore and cherish colonised certain parts of the Gold Coast from 1612 to 1872. Can you tell me the sort of infrastructure they left in Ghana in terms of schools, roads, hospitals, rai ...
This man is very funny, living in uk for 60yrs doesn’t make u a British, Al fayet the owner of Harold’s, in London and Argos employs many people in uk but was refused uk citizenship, he should have been deported for stayi ...
@Kofi UK..... stop displaying your ignorance. Al Fayed never owned Argos. He was refused citizenship because of the lies that he told. His brother was given one without a problem. You can find out the truth about Fayed by r ...
After all these worries living abroad, your people in Ghana won’t stop bothering you for money for their birthdays and funerals and marriages. Meanwhile, you don’t even celebrate your own birthday. Brothers and sisters ba ...
This case should be easy. He never bothered to apply for a passport. I guess he has never left the Uk for holidays , typically to Spain ...
You go hear wahara in your head when you married a British woman to do your documents you take the Country for granted and now you are crying come back home if they refuse you then you have somewhere called Ghana where Nana A ...
**ARE YOU LOOKING FOR AN EXPERIENCED SOCIAL MEDIA CONSULTANT TO HELP MARKET YOUR BUSINESS,PRODUCTS OR SERVICES ON ALL SOCIAL MEDIA PLATFORMS..THEN CONTACT US...WE ALSO DESIGN THE BEST QUALITY WEBSITES AND MORE: VISIT US AT : ...
How can you assume to be British? Whiles you have not applied for citizenship and received certificate or Naturalization from a court or Home office. His case is liken to a man who is free to a girl or woman and assume. She i ...
U could use that to apply for jobs and many old generations did that without holding a passport... This must have been the car and he never travelled to Ghana or holidays to so didn't realise he is not settled. First he shoul ...
YOU FILLED THE WRONG FORM. HOW? MOREOVER YOU NEVER APPLIED FOR THEIR CITIZENSHIP. TAKING A NATION TO COURT. THINK BEFORE YOU MOVE. THINK MARRIAGE GIVES YOU THAT CITIZENSHIP. IS ONLY A OPPORTUNITY BUT THEY ALSO HAVE THEIR LAWS ...
Yoo guys this man we talking about came in the 70s when uk was uk. The rules were abit relaxed. If you had lived in the uk for 10yrs you can apply for documents. From 2010 coming down the immigration rules keep changing. So y ...
By the way, did you complete your Accountancy studies? The Uk home office deals with laws ana regulation. You cannot be in Uk for 42 years without having the relevant papers! Your lackacidical attitude has not helped you. ...
W ...
The man is a typical frivolous Ghanaian who could be using his status as a foreign student to work in UK even after completing his studies. He cheated the system for far too long and never realized the setbacks. He should com ...
@Kwami, shove you ignorance where it belongs! UK, has different and better rules for commonwealth citizens unlike your flawed democratic USA where people can be deported after living there for decades. Although, the guy ha ...
Mr Shared, you need to apply for permanent residence(ILR) before applying for a British passport.Your method of applying for status to be allowed to reside in the UK is wrong. You need ILR before British citizenship. Unfortun ...
Perfect
I beg to differ. I think since the man has never committed any offence in the UK, he must be considered on moral grounds. He also worked to help the UK economy. If this case had affected a British citizen living Ghana, I don' ...
All migrants to the UK must know this: IT IS NOT the responsibility of your host country to inform you about legal opportunities and links that may be open to you. Linking up to a spouse may not help you here either. Most ord ...
I will explain. I went to the UK from Ghana around 1973 with a student visa.The course was for 3 yea ...
Agye Gon.
You never applied to stay in the UK permanently for so ...
Koo Darkie
The UK or England as l know them always short change blacks.The Shardey man should have been given British citizenship long ago.l will try to give reasons.He has stayed and worked in London for a long time and has been paying ...
H
I don't know his problem. If you were not born there then you have to apply for Permanent Resident if approve and you leave there for some years then you can apply for citizenship. I feel sorry for this happening but honestly ...
Obviously the man is not smart. Doesn't he know he has to do paperworks before he can become a citizen. Long stay and taxes wouldn't make anyone a citizen of another country. His sense of entitlement is not sufficient to guar ...
May you not get a passport to visit Ghana again. May you be deported to Rwanda to live there for the rest of your life. You never visited your own mum for 42 years and now want to come home because she passed on and you want ...
NO SYMPATHY FOR YOU AND DO NOT DISGRACE GHANAIANS. NO MATTER HOW LONG YOU CAN STAY UNDER THE WATER DIVING, YOU CAN NEVER BECOME A FISH. SO WITH YOUR EDUCATION, YOU DID NOT KNOW YOU HAVE TO REGULARIZE YOUR STAY IN UK. SAD BUT ...
Let's call a spade a spade; he failed as an educated man to assume he's a citizen simply bcoz he's stayed there for 4 decades. It was negligence on his part after also marrying two White Britons so what stopped him from docum ...
I don't know much about the British immigration system, but get a lawyer and have them apply for some of these things for you. Willfully negligently STAYING in Britain and never actually looking into regularizing your stay is ...
passport criminals
Kofi Konadu Nelson, everybody knows h ...
If he wants his citizenship, he should sue Tax office to claim all taxes he has paid for the entire 42 years. That will be a lot of money running close to millions of pounds. The Tax office would rather not want to pay such ...
What a loser..
If our country were to be developed like America, would he had wanted to be a British citizen. I feel very sad at the state of our country. No dignity. When are we going to develop our country so that our people will not feel ...
I totally agree with you Gem. This model of Ghanaians immigrating to have a better life is a failure of our leadership and unacceptable. Which Ghanaian will voluntarily want to go and stay in that cold if Ghana were developed ...
Kofi Gabs, who has recently received Dutch citizenship and dissed Ghana should listen to this story. Don't you ever think that staying over there for decades, or acquiring a citizenship makes you a white man. Your 1st lD in a ...
I am an Indian and half Lebanese who has lived in Ghana for 47 years. I have lived here in Ghana for most of my life. I have opened businesses and created employment. I bought a house and married a Ghanaian. I have not applie ...
A serious country with working principles and systems. In a loose country like Ghana with no systems working, Samira Bawumia migrated from Mali to Ghana and never went through any naturalization process but now Ghana's second ...
Living in the Wirrals (places like the Wirrals tend to be predominantly white) and being married to British women may imply that he cut himself off from the Ghanaian community. These are topics that come up in conversations, ...
He is a fool
IT HAPPENS EVERY TIME! WHEN YOU MAKE AN ASSUMPTION, YOU MAKE AN ASS OF YOURSELF. MAKING MOTHER'S PRIDE BREAD, KIPLING'S CAKES AND BENDICK'S CHOCOLATE DO NOT MAKE YOU A BRITISH CITIZEN. IT IS NOT LIKE NIGERIANS MOVING TO GHANA ...
Grant him citizenship and instead send Rishi to Rwanda. He has resided in the UK for half a century as a law-abiding person; he has been a productive person all those years; his advanced age; and he currently is recovering fr ...
So the British know what it means to squat on another's land without authorization? Just imagine how African countries feel about these British trespassers squatting on African lands and these African countries having to fina ...
Hurry up.
Yes, he made a great mistake but he is OVER qualified and paid his ...
When you guys come to Africa you live freely they even treat you better than the country men u guys have stop treating people like they are just a thing if it's not the leathers that have disappointed them this won't happen m ...