If you look at the 5 cedi note you would see the picture of the Big six; so called because they were prepared to die for Ghana to achieve independence for which they were imprisoned. Of the six 3 were Akyems and a fourth was married to an Akyem who became the first lady.
Why then do you hate Akyems?
J. B. Danquah stood for president and was not successful. William Ofori-Attah stood for president and was not successful. Akufo Addo who is half Akyem has his story unfinished.
Akyems make up more than half of the population of the Eastern Region. Today because of negative government developmental practices from independence some have become so proud that they can look at Akyems condescendingly.
Over the last 100 years revenue from the Akyem-Akwatia Diamond mine, alluvial gold, cocoa and palm oil from Akyem have been used to develop the whole of Ghana including providing scholarships for some Ghanaians.
Commander 10 years ago
well said but wrong forum . subject under discussion is the dumsor at the varsities which i think they should be spared or be minimal at such places.
Queenie 10 years ago
What a sad country! How can anybody progress in school in such an environment when there's no electricity? Smh
OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago
Author:-SARPONG...
Ethiopia is building three new airports at a total cost of $64.5 million. Ghana is extending Kumasi airporf runway with lightening for night landing at a cost of 29 million dollars, "hoohoo" Haba, Mahama, stop this stealing, it is too much.
Gye Nyame 10 years ago
Why wait for government, putting solar panels on all of your roofs as a university should be something that is done easily. I bet kNUST has the same power problems considering it is a technology university. KNUST could even be offering this technology to other university as revenue generator for KNUST. I guess no thinking outside the box.
Mo 10 years ago
Keases twoo.
mabia 10 years ago
In times of national crisis when the so called universities are required to think out of the box. What do we see. they join the chorus in asking for things it takes kindergartens to ask.
It is a shame. Where is all the rese ... read full comment
In times of national crisis when the so called universities are required to think out of the box. What do we see. they join the chorus in asking for things it takes kindergartens to ask.
It is a shame. Where is all the research you people do. i would not be surprise that even in a war situation you would ask for exemptions
Strong men and women like you, what are rechargeable lamps for. Are lanterns finished on the market.
what about you and your authorities moving to find partners to help develop an alternative power system for the universities.
You were pre -occupied with building toll booths.
Indeed parasites who have made the university not worth attending
kb 10 years ago
Hospitals exempted from dumsor?? Hospitals I know have generators working almost all the time.....
Greedy john mahama 10 years ago
students want campuses exempt from load -shelding
Peter Prosper 10 years ago
Listen to the selfish pampered brats. They want exemption while the of the nation "burns". Use your book long to come up with solutions instead of asking for special treatment. Why must you have special treatment? Why not request this for the critically ill in intensive care units? Excuse my french, but is it because you all do not shit just like the rest of us? Spoiled pampered selfish brats.
Atudro 10 years ago
Peter Prosper are you okay? I doubt. A university is not a special place; it's a just a school with classrooms where human beings like yourself go and study to help themselves and the country. So if you haven't enrolled in one yet do well to do so. It helps. Don't be envious and don't be silly.
TANII BA! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago
TANII IS STILL TANII, WHAT EVER IT IS. MAHAMA IS TANII, NO BRAINS! !!!!!!!!!!!!
If you look at the 5 cedi note you would see the picture of the Big six; so called because they were prepared to die for Ghana to achieve independence for which they were imprisoned. Of the six 3 were Akyems and a fourth was ...
Ethiopia is building three new airports at a total cost of $64.5 million. Ghana is extending Kumasi airporf runway with lightening for night landing at a cost of 29 million dollars, "hoohoo" Haba, Mahama, ...
Why wait for government, putting solar panels on all of your roofs as a university should be something that is done easily. I bet kNUST has the same power problems considering it is a technology university. KNUST could even b ...
Keases twoo.
It is a shame. Where is all the rese ...
Listen to the selfish pampered brats. They want exemption while the of the nation "burns". Use your book long to come up with solutions instead of asking for special treatment. Why must you have special treatment? Why not req ...
Peter Prosper are you okay? I doubt. A university is not a special place; it's a just a school with classrooms where human beings like yourself go and study to help themselves and the country. So if you haven't enrolled in o ...
Very good from the leader