If you want your father to be left alone then tell the TRUTH about him. The UGCC brought him to GH politics and that cannot be wished away
YTGH 8 years ago
"THERE WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN GHANA WITHOUT "NKRUMAH"
Salifu B. 8 years ago
We have to be truthful to ourselves and give due respect to all those who in one way or the other gave their lifes for mother Ghana.The struggle couldn't have succeeded without the help even of the uneducated.To me Ghana's independence was not brought about by the Big 6 or 7but by all.We have to put politics aside and unite.
Kwabena 8 years ago
Nonsence, there was Ghana before Nkruma and there will always be Ghana also after Nkruma. He was power consures, manipulator and a lyer. That was why he was overthown.
Papa Alajo 8 years ago
Yes a Ghana without freedom
THE TRUTH WORKSHOP 8 years ago
SURELY AKUFO WANTS TO REWRITE HISTORY. DURING THE STRUGGLE FOR INDEPENDENCE THE UP(AKUFO'S FATHERS PARTY) MORPHED INTO A SUBVERSIVE PARTY TAKING BRIBES FROM THE COLONIALISTS TO DERAIL THE INDEPEDNDENT MOVEMENT. NKURUMAH'S PUSH FOR "SELF GOVERNMENT NOW" WAS A RESPONSE TO THE UP'S TACTICS OF TRYING TO UPEND THE INDEPENDENCE PROCESS THAT GHANAIANS WERE NOT TOTALLY READY. THEN WHEN WE GAINED INDEPENDENCE WITH NKURUMAH AS PRESIDENT THEY WERE ON CONTINIOUS SUBVERSION OF THE GHANA GOVERNMENT. AKUFO ADDO'S FATHER AND COHORTS SEVERAL TIMES UNSUCCESSFULLY ATTEMPTED TO KILL AND OVERTHROW NKURUMAH'S GOVERNMENT
COLLINS ANANE BONSU.ITALY 8 years ago
Living in the fool's paradise.
pilolo 8 years ago
JB and Busia wrote to the Queen to deny us independence. they wanted to Kill Nkrumah so he was also protecting his life. This Danquah Busia tradition is a curse to Ghana. Nkrumah is who we know
Zoobie-Zoobie 8 years ago
ask Akufo... the guy with a hidden agenda
Atta the Mortuary Man 8 years ago
Are you independent? How can we be independent when we still depend on foreign aid to balance our budget? How independent are we when a foreign country, China, builds our Ministry of Foreign Affairs? Have you heard of the saying that there is nothing like a free lunch?
Papa Alajo 8 years ago
I agree with you 100%
JC 8 years ago
Show us the letter!!1
Alontey 8 years ago
Whenever he stops taking his medication this boy speaks from his anus!
Papa Alajo 8 years ago
And he fought had for our freedom! That can never be washed away. Independent now but those who brought him said later we all know de history.
ICONIC-07 8 years ago
THE OBSCURANTISTS UGLY CHIMPS ARE IN CHARGE WITH A IRRESISTIBLE CORE MISSION TO OBLITERATE THE EXTRAORDINARY UNPRECEDENTED MARVELOUS WORKS UNLEASHED BY THE FOUNDING FATHER OF GHANA, OSAGYEFO DR. KWAME NKRUMAH, AND WE THE NKRUMAISTS WILL NEVER ALLOW THAT TO HAPPEN.
NOBODY DENIES THE LEADING ROLE OF THE CHIEF CHIMPS, THE UGCC, BUT THEY WERE UNPRODUCTIVE AND SUCCUMBED THE THEIR WEAKNESS TO ALLOW THE ICONIC SECRETARY, OSAGYEFO DR. KWAME NKRUMAH TO LEAD THE COUNTRY TO INDEPENDENCE TO UNLEASH MASSIVE ECONOMIC AND INDUSTRIAL INFRASTRUCTURAL DEVELOPMENTS THAT CATAPULTED GHANA INTO THE WORLD STAGE.
THE PROBLEM OF THE CHIMPS IS THAT THEY FAIL TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THE CHIEF CHIMPS TURNED AGAINST OSAGYEFO DR. KWAME KRUMAH TO SUPPORT THE IMPERIALISTS TO DENY GHANA THE MUCH DESERVED INDEPENDENCE.
THEREFORE GHANA'S INDEPENDENCE ON 6TH MARCH 1957 WAS A SOLE EFFORTS OF THE NKRUMAISTS, AND THAT MAKES OSAGYEFO DR. KWAME NKRUMAH AS THE FOUNDING FATHER OF GHANA.
TO BUTTRESS THE POINT THAT THE INFAMOUS CHIMP CLUB, THE SO-CALLED UGCC, WERE IN SUPPORT OF THE COLONIALISTS AND IMPERIALIST TO DENY GHANA INDEPENDENCE WAS THE GRAND SCHEME OF PERPETRATING THE COUP THAT OVERTHREW OSAGYEFO DR. KWAME NKRUMAH TO PUT THEM IN CHARGE ONLY TO MESS UP WOEFULLY.
WITHOUT ANY EQUIVOCATION, OSAGYEFO DR. KWAME NRUMAH IS THE ONLY FOUNDING FATHER OF GHANA.
THE CHIMP UGCC CLUB FAILED LIKE A STUDENT WHO COULDN'T COMPLETE THE PROGRAM AND HAS NO TITLE OR DEGREE TO BOAST ABOUT TO BE FOUNDING FATHERS
SHAME CHIEF UGCC CLUB! SHAME IMPROBABLE PRESIDENT CHIM AKUFO ADDO! FOR BLATANTLY REFUSING TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE UNPRECEDENTED SINGULAR ROLE OF OSAGEYEFO DR. KWAME KRUMAH AS THE FOUNDING FATHER OF GHANA.
ALUTA CONTINUA ! ! ! ! ! ! !
Anokye 8 years ago
Iconic 07 or whatever....get over your shit because how you see him he is the president over your stupid ass. Some of you NDC cry babies with orange diapers are still day dreaming. You called the president a chimp? Yeah your mom would be happy to lick the shit in his ass.
Nana Kuffuor. Abeka. La Paz. 8 years ago
There are too many idiots in the NPP as in the UGCC. I don't know the logic the evil dwarf and his followers are using to say those traitors were founders of Ghana. Did J. B. Danquah, Edward Akuffo Addo, Ofori Atta etc..found the CPP? Those guys together with Busia were collecting bombs in neighboring countries to cause mayhem. If there should be founders at all, please add Gbedemah and Kojo Botsio. Donald Trump's father gave him a loan to start his business. Do you expect him to say his father is a cofounder of his business or co president? NPP wise up.
heroe 8 years ago
it is only fools that give praise to traitors. They are traitors and that is who they are and their descendants
joe boyy 8 years ago
This akufo addo is fighting for his father, and that will be difficult to make, nkruma stand tall no two ways about that, if those people could have, they wont have never gone to look for him.
Dr Robert K Glah 8 years ago
Successful captain be honoured not the captains of the opposing teams.
Amen 8 years ago
You voted for him take your father's insult from them kwasia
awful
awful
Mensa 8 years ago
because he became power drunk like the criminal mugabi
Afrikatu Kofi 8 years ago
I am PanAfrikanist and Nkrumaist beyond compare and I am Nkrumaist and PanAfrikanist with no apologies.I have President Akufo Addos speech in celebration of the 60th anniversary of GhanaS Independnce won for us by the Osagyefo and honestly I dont see anything Nana Addo said that distorts history of our independence struggle or negative to Nkrumah.Fact and truth is there were others like Paa Grant and J.B. Danquah who started the struggle for our independence before Nkrumah was invited to join.The Osagyefo did a masterful job in given us our independence within the shortest possible time but he did not start the struggle or struggled alone.So to me President Akufo A\ddo was recognising and giving credit to others who also contributed greatly to the struggle for our independence.I see nothing wrong with that.If true Nkrumaist would accept others as part of the struggle for our independence and accept that Ghana has founding fathers and not a founding father it would make rather Nkrumah bigger and help in our reconciliation.And those that were also behind bomb throwing at Kulungungu and made several threat on the lige of Osagyefo and banned the CPP after the over throw of his government, that history should also be brought to light.CPP and the NPP should then accept their historical mistakes and apologise to each and reconcile the nation and try to start a new Ghana for the betterment and upliftment of all Ghanaians both the current and future generation.For those that called or calls Nkrumah a dictator are just joking or yet to mature because in the history of Ghanaian politics we have had only on true dictator and that was and still is Jerry John Rawlings.Did Nkrumah kiled,put people under curfew or ruled by the Ghana?Thanks to Prof Adu Boahene for breaking the culture of silence and helping Ghanaians to discover their voice again under Rawlings nightmare dictatorship and for how long the Jerry ruled Ghana?Nkrumah if he was a dictator then he was positive,patriotic and benevolent dictator - that kind of dictatorship which built Singapore,Maylaysia,China,Japan,Taiwan and others.We have not have that kind love and caring leadership since.I hope President Akufo Addo learns a lot from Nkrumahs leadership,foresight,can do spirit and dynamism to lead our beloved nation from now on into the distant future.But look who is talking is that Sekou???Sekou do you now call the Osagyefo your father and therefore you are proud of him to defend his integrity?Truly small boys are young.
Aj 8 years ago
Afrikatu Kofi,I'm PanAfrican as well but I see most Ghanaians going back to tribal individualism character where by language play more importance than seeing our African heritage as people with common similarities.if you read the most of the comments on this platform the reflections which comes out demonstrates how some men can be self centered minded egoistic taking their fantasy to be real.even building a happy home one need both parents,how much more fighting for independence of whole nation.some people can not negotiate between party politics and nation building once they belong to a political party nothing seems good apart from their party or tribe.hmmm
KABUTEY NARTEY 8 years ago
SO LET'S AGREE THAT UGCC MADE SOME CONTRIBUTION BY INVITING NKRUMAH TO TAKE OVER IT'S SECRETARIAT AS THE GENERAL SECRETARY. HOWEVER IT IS ALSO EVIDENT THAT DURING THE COURSE FOR THE STRUGGLE OF INDEPENDENCE UGCC OF THE LIKES OF JB DANQUAH AND CO LOST THEIR POLITICAL MOMENTUM, DIRECTION AND FOCUS. KWAME NKRUMAH TIMELY SEIZED THE OPPORTUNITY TO FORM AN ALTERNATIVE POLITICAL FORCE WHICH WAS RATHER FORWARD LOOKING, RESILIANT AND WITH COMMITMENT AND THE TENACITY TO BE SUCCESSFUL. DESPITE ALL THE OBSTRUCTIONS AND CONSTRAINTS, POLITICALL, FINANCIALLY AND CULTURALLY, NKRUMAH AND CPP WERE AMZINGLY SUCCESSFUL. SADLY THE J.B DANQUAH'S CAMP HAVING REALISED THAT THEY COULD NOT MATCH THE NEW POLITICAL FORCE-CPP RESULTED TO VIOLENCE, LIES AND INNUENDOS INCLUDING SUBVERSIVE INCLUDING THROWING BOMBS TO DERAIL NKRUMAH AND THE CPP( IF YOU MISS THE MAN, DON'T MISS THE BALL ATTITUDE!)IT IS EVIDENT THAT NKRUMAH LED GHANA FOR INDEPENDENCE AND ONE CANNOT DENY THAT. IT IS ALSO EVIDENT THAT BUSIA AND CO. ASKED THE COLONIAL MASTERS, THE BRITISH GOVERNMENT NOT TO GRANT GHANA INDEPENDENCE BECAUSE GHANA WAS NOT REAY AND CAPABLE OF GOVERNING HERSELF!! AS FOR J.B DANQUAH IT IS EVIDENT THAT FROM HISTORY THAT ON THREE OCCASIONS HE COULD NOT EVEN WIN AN ELECTION IN HIS OWN TAFO, ABUAKWA SOUTH CONSTITUECY!! INSTEAD ARON OFORI-ATTA WON WITH MASSIVE MAJORITY. AS FOR BUSIA HE UNSUCCESSFULLY ADVOCATED FOR A FEDERAL GOVERNMENT AT THAT TIME IN ORDER TO HOLD POWER IN BRONG AHAFO/ ASANTE REGION. SO HERE ARE THE QUESTIONS.
1. WHY DID UGCC LOSE THEIR MOMENTUM AND DIRECTION AND FOCUS?
2. WHAT STOPED J B DANQUAH AND CO FROM MAINTAINIG THEIR POLITICAL FIGHT FOR INDEPENDENCE? AFTER ALL NOW WE CAN SEE NDC, CPP, NPP, PPP ETC COMPETING FOOR THE POLITICAL LEADERSHIP?.
3. WHY AND WHAT WAS DANQUAH, BUSIA, DOMBO-UP PARTY'S INTENTION FOR THEIR STRONG OBJECTION TO GHANA OBTAINING INDEPENDENCE TO WARRANT THEIR REPRESENTATION TO THE BRITISH GOVERNMENT TO REFUSE GHANA TO BE FREE FROM THE COLONIAL MASTERS?
4. COULD THE UNITED PARTY THOUGH WAS IN OPPOSITION TAKEN A REWARDING ACTIONS TO ENHANCE THE QUEST FOR INEPENDENCE?
5. WAS CPP OR UNITED PARTY (UP) SELFISH WITHOUT CONSIDERATION TO DEAR GHANA?
6. SHOULD THOSE WHO BELIEVE IN THE VIES OF JB DANQUAH, BUSIA, DOMBO, NANA BARFOUR AKOTO AND CO. WHO DECLARED THEIR OPPOSITION TO INDEPENDENCE AND TOLD THE BRITISH GOVERNMENT NOT TO GRANT GHANA INDEPENDENCE BE CELEBRATING GHANA'S INDEPENDENCE OR BE HOLDING THEIR HEADS IN SHAME?
SHOULD J B AND CO BE CONSIDERED AS FOUNDING MEMBERS OF THE INDEPENDENCE THEY STRONGLY OPPOSED TO?.
WE CAN DEBATE ON THE 'ORIGIN' BUT NOONE CAN RE-WRITE GHANA'S POLITICAL HISTORY. THE FACTS ARE THE EVIDENCE.
Bbb 8 years ago
Nkrumah turned up to be a dictator at the end.
I will take he dead Nkrumah over all the other presidents
Anokye 8 years ago
Nkrumah did great but he was turning to be a God. He thought Ghana was his and started acting up like other African leaders. You can go and join him if you wanna know his grave dumb ass.
Sinclear 8 years ago
because he decided to be a dictator
Rich 8 years ago
They still believe there would not have been Ghana without Nkrumah
KWAKU ANANSE 8 years ago
SPEECH TO BE DELIVERED BY THE PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC, NANA ADDO DANKWA AKUFO-ADDO, ON THE OCCASION OF THE 60TH INDEPENDENCE ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION, AT THE INDEPENDENCE SQUARE, ON MONDAY, MARCH 6, 2017
We are met here t ... read full comment
SPEECH TO BE DELIVERED BY THE PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC, NANA ADDO DANKWA AKUFO-ADDO, ON THE OCCASION OF THE 60TH INDEPENDENCE ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION, AT THE INDEPENDENCE SQUARE, ON MONDAY, MARCH 6, 2017
We are met here today to celebrate the 60th anniversary of our nation’s independence, to celebrate our freedom from the clutches of British imperialism, to celebrate the final achievement of the struggle of successive generations of Ghanaians patriots to establish a free, sovereign Ghana.
We are grateful that on such a happy day, leaders of our neighbouring countries and friendly nations have joined us in our celebration. Akwaaba, Your Excellencies, to each one of you.
I thank the children from across the country for their excellent march. I thank the cultural troupes from across the country on their magnificent display, which has showcased the best of Ghanaian culture.
Our Armed Forces and security services are rightly celebrated across the region, the continent and the world for their professionalism and contribution to global peace and security. I thank the officers and the men and women of the Ghana Armed forces, the police service and the other security services for their display of order, pomp and ceremony. And I thank them all for their willingness to put their lives on the line to secure our domestic peace and tranquillity and the sanctity of our property.
I am happy to announce that on my way to these grounds, Independence Square, I stopped to perform a very important duty. I have this morning cut the sod for the commencement of the building of a national cathedral of interdenominational worship in our capital, Accra, which is supported by many of our leading figures of faith. It is meant to be a gesture of thanksgiving to the Almighty for the blessings he has showered and continues to shower on our nation.
Being independent means you have the freedom and ability to make informed decisions in life without having to ask other people for permission, help or money and you take full responsibility for seeing things through.
Our founders chose this day, March 6, as the date of our independence, in order to repudiate the Bond of 6th March 1844, which led to our land becoming a British colony.
Fifty-three years later, in 1897, a hundred and twenty years ago, a group of our forebears was moved to start a campaign against the terms of the colonial relationship between what was then the Gold Coast and the United Kingdom.
If the signing of the Bond of 1844 marks the formal start of the Gold Coast colony, then the formation of the Aborigines Rights Protection Society on 4th August, 1897, in Cape Coast, marks the start of the struggle for political independence. It is worth mentioning some of the names of the members of the Society because, unfortunately, we have not often acknowledged their role – John Mensah Sarbah, Joseph Casely Hayford, J.W. Sey, J.P Brown, and their colleagues, who mobilized the chiefs and people against the Crown Lands Bill and forced the colonial authorities to retreat. Sarbah began the tradition of the Ghanaian lawyer as a nationalist.
This was probably one of the most dramatic interventions in the colonial history of our country. One hundred and twenty years after that event, its significance might be lost on us. The very same objectives of the Crown Lands Bill were introduced at the same time and became law in countries like Kenya, Zimbabwe, Zambia and other British colonies around Africa and changed the course of their history. The lands of the indigenous peoples were seized by the British Crown under that law, an event from which, a century later, they have still not recovered.
In what was then the Gold Coast, our lands remained ours because of the bravery of the members of the Aborigines Rights Protection Society, and we must pay homage to these patriots every day, especially on this 60th anniversary. Even though we established and secured, in 1897, the continuing and inalienable rights to our lands, we remained a colony and could not govern ourselves.
The next significant event in the struggle occurred on August 4, 1947, exactly fifty years later to the day of the formation of the Aborigines Rights Protection Society, when a group of nationalists gathered in Saltpond for the launch of the United Gold Coast Convention, the UGCC, the first political party in our country.
The founders of the UGCC, then, met to demand independence from the British and 70 years after that event, one still marvels at the clarity of thought and the passion that they displayed. Some of the names of that momentous day have survived in our written history and folk memory.
Five of them are on our Ghanaian currency: Joseph Boakye Danquah; Emmanuel Obetsebi-Lamptey; William Ofori-Atta; Ebenezer Ako-Adjei; and Edward Akufo-Addo. Kwame Nkrumah, the sixth of the Big Six on the currency, was to join them later.
And there are others, equally important that we should not forget, and I pay homage to George Paa Grant, R.S. Blay, Cobinna Kesse, J.W. de Graft Johnson and Francis Awoonor Williams, amongst others.
The speech, the Ghanaian colossus, Danquah, made on that day, deserves to be quoted liberally on a day like this. He said: “Love of freedom from foreign control has always been in our blood. 870 years ago we struck against the attempt of the Arabs to impose a religious slavery upon us in Ghana. We left our homes in Ghana and came down here to build a new home. But there is one thing we brought with us from ancient Ghana. We brought with us our ancient freedom. Today the safety of that freedom is threatened. … We must fight against the new domination. And we must fight with the weapons of today, constitutional, determined, persistent, unflinching, unceasing, until the goal of freedom is attained.”
Danquah captured the mood of the time and set our country on the path to independence. 4th August is truly a sacred and seminal day in the annals of the Ghanaian people.
The unfolding of the story is well known.
The UGCC leaders decided they needed a full time person to run the party’s affairs; they sent for the dynamic Kwame Nkrumah, and he came to join them in December 1947. Soon thereafter, on 28th February, 1948, the notorious and senseless killings of three ex-servicemen, Sergeant Adjetey, Corporal Attipoe and Private Odartey Lamptey occurred, and sparked a nationwide revulsion against the colonial power, which, undoubtedly, quickened the pace of the independence movement. The Watson Commission followed, which mapped out the steps towards our eventual attainment of independence.
In 1949, on 12th June, Kwame Nkrumah broke away from the UGCC and formed his own party, the Convention People’s Party. Even as he broke away, Kwame Nkrumah remembered from whence he came and retained the word “convention” in the name of his new party, the CPP.
Eventually independence came and Ghana, under the leadership of Kwame Nkrumah, became the first sub-Saharan country to gain its freedom on March 6 1957. Danquah had done the research and convinced himself and others that the bulk of the people that inhabit these lands migrated from the ancient kingdom of Ghana.
In 1957, we lowered the British flag and we jettisoned the name Gold Coast that had been given to us and took on the name, Ghana, the name of our ancestral home. The name Ghana was meant to give us a fresh start and mark the break from colonialism; and it was also meant to give us a sense of our historical roots and the assurance that we have a history, culture and civilisation that preceded colonialism.
We must remember, on a day like this, some others who are not listed among the forefront fighters for political freedom, but who fought equally hard for our cultural integrity and the identification of who we are as Ghanaians.
I pay homage to Ephraim Amu, Tata Amu as he was fondly called. He was the composer of what easily passes as our unofficial National Anthem, Yen Ara Asase Ne. Is there a Ghanaian among us today who can sing or hear that song, in whichever language, without being moved?
Ephraim Amu stood alone, most of the time, against what he saw as cultural domination. You did not have to wear a European-cut suit to be a scholar, you could wear a fugu, kente and above all, a locally woven fabric, and still be an educated person, he argued. He insisted you did not have to eat foreign foods because you were a scholar, and he insisted our music was as interesting and sophisticated as any around the world. Those were radical ideas for the time.
I pay homage to Philip Gbeho, the composer of our National Anthem, and to Theodosia Okoh, the designer of our national flag. I pay homage to Kofi Antubam, the artist who first put Ghanaian art on the map. I pay homage to Saka Acquaye, the poet, writer, sculptor and musician, who wrote the first African folklore, The Lost Fisherman. I pay tribute to J.A. Braimah, the Gonja scholar and statesman who wrote insightful publications about the Gonja people.
I pay homage to Apaloo, the poet who immortalised the philosophy and music of the Ewe language. I pay homage to E.T. Mensah, King Bruce, Jerry Hansen and the others who popularised highlife, which has become an enduring identity of Ghanaian music. I pay tribute to the great musicologist, J.H. Nketia, who is the great authority on African music.
I pay homage to Otumfuo Prempeh I, who waged a heroic, even if unsuccessful, battle against the British and retained his dignity even in exile. I pay homage to Yaa Asantewa, that woman of valour, who led the Ashanti resistance to British imperialism. I pay homage to Nana Ofori-Atta I, who saw the wisdom in investing in the education of the young.
I pay homage to Professor Alexander Adum Kwapong, the first Ghanaian Vice Chancellor of the University of Ghana, who became an icon in the development of our educational system.
I pay homage to Oko Ampofo, sculptor and physician, who encouraged confidence in our traditional arts and medicine. It is thanks to him that herbal medicine became a respectable subject of study and research in our country.
I pay homage to Dede Ashikisham and Akua Shorshorshor, famous market queens, who financed Kwame Nkrumah and the nationalist movement from their successful businesses.
They and many others, like them, contributed to the fight for independence and in moulding the Ghanaian that emerged on March 6, 1957. The world shared our excitement and wished us well.
Our first President, Kwame Nkrumah, delivered his famous speech that midnight of March 5, 1957, a few hundred yards from here at the Old Polo grounds. He said we were free forever, and there cannot be a sweeter or more reassuring sound or set of words than those to a people emerging from oppression. He said our independence would prove that the black man or woman was capable of managing his or her own affairs.
And then he said what has probably been the most quoted part of that speech. He said “the independence of Ghana was meaningless unless it was linked with the total liberation of the whole continent of Africa”. In those words, Kwame Nkrumah sealed the fate of Ghana to the continent. He bequeathed to us Ghana’s pan African vocation and its commitment to the unity and integration of Africa. We are grateful for his leadership and that of his colleagues, Komla Agbeli Gbedema, the organisational genius of the Convention People’s Party, Kojo Botsio, its theoretician, and the others who occupy prides of place in the history of the nationalist movement.
We are equally grateful for those in the Opposition at independence, who, at great personal cost and in defiance of the infamous Preventive Detention Act of 1958, were determined to hold aloft the banner of freedom, and who insisted that the multiparty democratic state was the best form of governance for our nation. I refer to Joseph Boakye Danquah, Emmanuel Obetsebi-Lamptey (Liberty Lamptey), Simon Diedong Dombo, Kofi Abrefa Busia, Baffuor Osei Akoto, Victor Owusu, R.R Amponsah, Joe Appiah, S.G. Antor, Modesto Akpaloo, Ashie Nikoi, Attoh Okine and others. Our generation of Ghanaians have vindicated their stance. On 7th December, 2016, the Ghanaian people exercised their sovereign franchise, in a dignified and serene manner, to remove an incumbent and elect a new government, and, thus, demonstrated again their deep attachment to democratic values and governance.
The difficult times our country went through after independence were to be replicated across the continent: dalliances with a one-party state, military interventions, political theory experimentations and instability; and, the collapse of economies and with it, lives.
I must pay homage to Professor Albert Adu Boahen, the eminent historian and academic. He found his voice, spoke out, and ended the culture of silence. His courage was the inspiration that sparked the agitation for the restoration of democratic rule.
Finally, in Ghana, a consensus emerged with the coming into being of the Fourth Republic. We have agreed on a multi-party constitutional democracy and a guarantee of individual freedoms under the rule of law. These past 24 years have been the longest period of political stability our country has enjoyed since independence, and the effects are showing, albeit slowly.
The pace of our development has quickened and our self-confidence, which had been severely strained, has returned. At independence, the popular slogan was to seek first the political kingdom and all other things would be added. We assumed and, indeed, we expected that rapid economic development would follow the political freedom that we achieved.
Sadly, the economic dividend that was meant to accompany our freedom has still not materialised. Sixty years after those heady days, too many of our people continue to wallow in unacceptable poverty.
After sixty years, we have run out of excuses and it is time to set Ghana to rights and get our country to where it should be. The challenge before us is to build our economy and generate a prosperous, progressive and dignified life for the mass of our people. Hard work, enterprise, creativity and a consistent fight against corruption in public life would bring the transformation we seek.
We will achieve these goals when we move and act as a united people. We must take pride in our diversity by all means, but the Ghanaian must always rise above the ethnic or sectional interest. We have a bright future and we must mobilize all our resources and all our strengths, here and in the Ghanaian Diaspora, to get to that promised land faster.
It is turning out to be a constant refrain, but, on a day like this, we cannot ignore the state of our environment. We are endangering the very survival of the beautiful and blessed land that our forebears bequeathed to us. The dense forests, that were home to varied trees, plants and fauna, have largely disappeared. Today, we import timber for our use, and the description of our land as a tropical forest no longer fits the reality. Our rivers and lakes are disappearing, and those that still exist are all polluted.
It bears repeating that we do not own the land, but hold it in trust for generations yet unborn. We have a right to exploit the bounties of the earth and extract the minerals and even redirect the path of the rivers, but we do not have the right to denude the land of the plants and fauna nor poison the rivers and lakes.
There is nothing we can do better to pay homage to those who fought to free us from bondage than to dedicate this 60th independence anniversary to protecting our environment and regenerating the lands and water bodies.
I have confidence that we can and will achieve the dreams of our forebears. I am hopeful that we will continue to make ourselves worthy inheritors of this land. I know that we will wear the accolade of being a Ghanaian with pride. Let us mobilize for the happy and prosperous Ghana of tomorrow, in which all of us, including our youth, our women and the vulnerable in our society, will have equal opportunities to realise their potential, and build lives of dignity. Then, our independence will be meaningful. Then, we will have a Ghana beyond aid.
Two months ago at my inauguration on these grounds, I urged that we renew the sacred compact that comes with being able to call yourself a citizen. I am proud that I am able to say without equivocation, I am a Ghanaian citizen.
I wish you all a happy Diamond Jubilee anniversary and God’s blessings.
May the Almighty bless our homeland Ghana and make her great and strong.
John Ford Mahama 8 years ago
Fuck-off a son of dictator
Papa Alajo 8 years ago
If you have nothing to share don't write, nd stop the insult.
Ex WO1 8 years ago
oh no
oh no
bro Dan 8 years ago
Always changing what they haven't build...npp! Sankara over pass to Ako Adjei, Kawu kudi road to Obasanjo High way and many others ...burning his books, destroying his statues, Flagstaff house to Jubilee house among others. Nation wreckers singing to the tunes of Imperialism, selling Vodafone.
Anokye 8 years ago
GET OVER IT DUDE
Alan Coomson 8 years ago
Nkrumah made himself President for life without a Vice and ruled Ghana with iron fist. He killed all his political opponents at Nsawam Prison and life improsonment for ny one who opposed him. He was so tyranical that his own CPP members led by Tawia Adamafion tried to kill him at Kulungugu.
Nkrumah gave 10 million punds each to the Presidents of Mali and Guinea to make him President for life for Africa while GHanaians wallowed in abject poverty and lived in slums. No moe young pioneers, nkrumaism, kankan nyame
Papa Alajo 8 years ago
You call him a murderer did he kill ur father, and if he did what was ur up to. Enemies of progress.
Anokye 8 years ago
Papa stupid read history. Those Nkrumah killed and unnecessary imprisoned are written in the history books. Nkrumah would have eaten some of you alive if he himself is still alive
Oboy 8 years ago
Keep quite you mad what did your father did wasted our money building mansion's to another country idiot
Ama. 8 years ago
Sekou, facts are facts , you can not change the truth , so deal with it, we can't twist the truth to suit your whims. Your father started well, but he became so power drunk , very tyrannical and hypocritical , and that was his downfall. May His soul rest in perfect peace.
8-3-2017 8 years ago
Where have you been since, now you're back out of your shell since you dived out from the political arena?
blow your horn & let's hear you loud & clear again,
Where have you been since, now you're back out of your shell since you dived out from the political arena?
Kai 8 years ago
Kwame was rather was rather busy ensuring we turn to be a United States of Africa. Reflect on the level of intelligence power the rest of Africa had at that time. Ghana was way ahead and if your Dad was to just focus on Ghana and its developments we not have been here. Ghana would have been on the same level as Malaysia.
PATRIOT 8 years ago
Sekou,do you expect Akuffo-Addo and the NPP to eulogise your father?I am an Nkrumaist and never expect that to be done.Any attempt by the NPP to rewrite the political history of the country will not work.The fact remains that Nkrumah led Ghana to attain independence.Can his enemies challenge this fact?
Uncle Pee 8 years ago
Can you or Sekou point out just one statement of untruth in President Akufo Addo's speech. What he laid out are historical facts that the younger generation must know. He said nothing bad about Dr. Nkrumah.
Kofi Deniss 8 years ago
Telemor
Telemor
Kai 8 years ago
Akuffo-Addo is weeping within and trying to mend a poverty stricken Ghana unable to provide free education to its people. Young women ending up as Kayaka women to make ends meet. Do you think this is a joke?
KKK USA 8 years ago
ANOTHER FOOLISH MAN SEKOU GO AND FIND YOUR FATHER KWAME NKRUMAH IS NOT YOUR FATHER FOOLSIH BOURN THROWWAY GO BACK TO EGYPT YOUR COUNTRY YOU ARE NOT FROM GHANA
Margaret 8 years ago
The UGCC brought Nkrumah to Ghana to join them in the struggle for Independence. The struggle was started by this group before anoon air travel ticket was bought by the UGCC to bring him over. You should know your history and it's a fact. I know the two market women mentioned who funded him because my late mother was a makola trader in the same section of the market as these two traders. Nkrumah has his place but the true history must be told.
Owura 8 years ago
21st September for Nkrumah as public holiday is very wrong. Nkrumah did not founded Ghana alone. We have independence day i think it enough. Ghanaian have too many public holidays and this what killing our economy. Compare our public holidays to advanced countries and see like Germany, UK etc. its my pledge to the Government to scrutinize our public holidays to the minimum. Thank you.
cryyyy 8 years ago
They will have to travel around the world and change the narrative about Dr. Kwame Nkrumah.
From Guinea to the Zambia, Ethiopia, Senegal, South Africa, Kenya right up to Singapore and Malaysia
History can never be disto ... read full comment
They will have to travel around the world and change the narrative about Dr. Kwame Nkrumah.
From Guinea to the Zambia, Ethiopia, Senegal, South Africa, Kenya right up to Singapore and Malaysia
History can never be distorted
Nkrumah never dies
Anokye 8 years ago
So what history did Akuffo Addo changed? Why are Ghanaians are so political blind?
Rayo 8 years ago
What is.a dictator? You have been brainwashed by your stupid whites and you keep on licking their butt, so they can manipulate you as they want. They try to boycott whatever you possess, whatever you eat, whatever you do. You are branded as a third world class citizen, meaningless you are but you still don't get. Shame on you, wake up and leave the GREAT LEADER DR. NKRUMAH ALONE!!!..
fairplay 8 years ago
Kwame Nkrumah was too big for Ghana. Ghana was the base he used to liberate Africa from colonial rule. So no one in the independence struggle comes close to him. When the so called big six were jailed they all denied being part of that struggle. Nkrumah alone was left in the prison. And you want us to add their names too?
Was the NPP party originated only with Dankwa and Busia? Why do you then say Dankwa-Busia tradition?
Kwame 8 years ago
Mr Sekou and Yaba : here is a reminder of life under your father
Obetsebi Lamptey: was in detention under your father (PDA) no charges had been preferred against him. He was suffering of cancer but denied any medical care, in January 1963 he was near death so he was moved first to Legon then to Korle-bu, where he was chained to the hospital bed. On the 25 of January the attending physician decided nothing more could be done for him. His case was terminal and he had only days to live. He discharged him to go home and die with some dignity. The president found out about this and ordered him to be arrested and sent back to prison. He was carried from his house on a stretcher back to Nsawam prison on the 28th and died the next day the 29 th of January 1963. The president was not done. His body was not released to his family but buried. The body was exhumed after the 1966 coup and given a befitting burial by the family
J.B. Dankwa: just a brief recap of what happened to him
A hypertensive and as asthmatic patient (old man) was kept in a windowless cramped cell. His Bp was 220/120 and clearly belonged in a hospital but denied medical care. He died. again the president was not done.
The family was asked to burry him before 5:00pm the same day without any traditional funeral rights. He too had not been charged with any offense. He was in prison ( PDA) at the pleasure of the president?
Both of these gentlemen were members of the UGCC who had invited Nkrumah back to the then Gold Coast as a paid permanent secretary.
Ghanaian 8 years ago
MY BROTHER KWAME, I AM SO SAD. THAT WAS WHAT NKRUMAH DID TO THOUSANDS OF GHANAIANS WHO DID NOT SHARE HIS IDEAS. NKRUMAH WAS JUST A VERY WICKED FOOL. SEKOU, THAT IS THE HISTORY YOUR FATHER DID NOT WANT THE WORLD TO KNOW. JUST KEEP QUITE. YOU HAVE YOUR FREEDOM TO FRESH AIR, OTHERS DID NOT HAVE THIS COMMON AIR.
Abriwaa. 8 years ago
Sekou, how many Ghanaians did your father kill and maimed? Shut up. Your does not own Ghana!!!
peace 8 years ago
Hi all, l know Eborenasa,his mouth smells like Korle lagoon.
Amen 8 years ago
Ghana is about us, not your father. Leave Nkrumah alone and focus on today. There are greater Nkrumah today
Kwabena 8 years ago
That is what happen when true is kept for too long to come out. As Nana Addo explianed Kwame Nkrumah came after everthing was in place. Kwame saw the power vaccum, manipulated the Ghanain People. And took his chance.
Broni 8 years ago
Your so-called father denigrated his position in Ghana by becoming intolerant of other opinions and turning the state into a communist one party state. Go back to your Egypt and rather leave us alone.
senyo 8 years ago
Your father was selling newspaper in texas and sleeping under a tunnel in bristol uk. Do you think your could afford plane ticket to Ghana ? My grandmum showed me the room he slept in Labadi when Ako Adjei brought him from UK. Your dad was a pauper.
AMA TX USA 8 years ago
Do you remember that some people started b4 you father as for that you can't wash it out from the history of Ghana so give us a break son of dictator
Akrugu frafra 8 years ago
kwabena pls go back learn the history of Ghana very well,there wasn't Ghana before Nkrumah it was gold coast it Nkrumah who founded Ghana
kk 8 years ago
another imbecile!
truth 8 years ago
if he did then that will be called GREEDINESS!
Kwasi London 8 years ago
You this Fulani man if you are not happy go back to your home town Egypt
atuguba 8 years ago
Go and listen to your father history then wil. Know your father very well leave our president Nana Akuffo Addo Dankwan alone period.
Victor A.Young 8 years ago
Your father was a tyrant and a bigot. It's a fact; Paa Grant bought him hi
Victor A.Young 8 years ago
.....his passage from London to come join the UGCC back then. Don't try to challenge.
kofi Yeboah. 8 years ago
Sekou Nkrumah it is so ironic and disappointing to most Ghanains that you have tied your destiny to a military regime PNDC which metamorphosed into NDC. The very party you held allegiance to is the very party which has persistently sought to claim the glory of your father.
It is undeniable fact that Dr Kwame Nkrumah became dictator and turned Ghana into one party state , supressed opposition and public decent contrary to the tenants of Democratic ideals His name still remains supreme in the the political History of Ghana, Africa, and the world at large, Ghanains still appreciate Him
It is the expectation of a section of some Ghanaians that as decendants of Nkrumah born into an aristocratic family you would have rally your siblings to make amends to the weaknesses inherent in your fathers regime to rejuvinate the CPP but instead you have Allowed the self seeking NDC functionaries to disintegrate and relegade you to the background.
No matter how widely the Danquah Bushia ideals became wildly criticized as opposing to ideas in the political history of Ghana, today their decendants have been given the mandate to implement the ideals of their fathers.
Unlike you, Your own sister Samia made an effort but it was tarcidly thwarted by your NDC Party and most suprisingly including some of your own siblings as speculated .
JK 8 years ago
Some of the comments here are a bit far off. They indicate to me that there are some who envy this son of Nkrumah.
Whether we admit it or not, the influence of Nkrumah on the world stage cannot be underestimated. By e ... read full comment
Some of the comments here are a bit far off. They indicate to me that there are some who envy this son of Nkrumah.
Whether we admit it or not, the influence of Nkrumah on the world stage cannot be underestimated. By extension Ghana benefitted in ways that also cannot be denied.
Cc 8 years ago
You are so right. Nkrumah died decades ago and yet, mere mention of his name appears to inflame passions. To see his son also targeted in similar fashion is amazing!
Kofi 8 years ago
There he goes again
maree stopes 8 years ago
belongs to God, not the dead. Rev 4:11
DR. KG 8 years ago
Some Ghanaians like Sekou, doesn't want the truth to be said.
Nana was right on his delivery, Ghana's ind was a collective efforts. Some people started it and he came to contribute to a successful end.
Nana Akuffo Addo' ... read full comment
Nana was right on his delivery, Ghana's ind was a collective efforts. Some people started it and he came to contribute to a successful end.
Nana Akuffo Addo's govt must redefine and have Founders Day to include all prominent people that fought for our ind from the British.
Dr. Nkrumah, I respect so much BUT he brought his own down fall coz he wanted a one party state for him to be life president and may be latter rule by his sons and daughters in succession.
Yussif 8 years ago
Sekou is intellectually dishonest in his request to the president to maintain his father,s Birthday as a holiday,let's use a football game as an example,one player gets the best player award but all the 23 players re given medals including reserve players who did not kick a ball.Cpp over pampered Dr Nkrumah for good and bad reasons,for me history should never be twisted for any reason no matter how painful some aspects of it reads,those who want us to ignore the bad side of our first president can only be for religious reasons and not for historical reasons.Sekou knows too well that his father started as a democrat but ended up as a dictator and a tyrant,one can never discuss Dr Nkrumah without mentioning the PDA which was used to detain his political opponents,opponents who started the struggle long before he was brought to help,you can not exclude the efforts of others in the struggle,clearly Dr Nkrumah himself saw the need to stand side by side with his compatriots at the polo grounds to Declan independent,why didn't he do it alone?.Another good example here is the victory of Nana Addo himself,he can not claim that he alone brought about the victory of the npp in 2016.
Rayo 8 years ago
Dr Kwame Nkrumah has a true history because of what he did not only for Ghana but African continent as well. African history does not tell any about J B Danquah or Akuffo or. Busia. They were all criminal s, amti-ghanaians who did not want the well being of Ghana. The mateho clan , shame.
JC 8 years ago
If Sekou and the CPP think Akuffo Addo did not give a true picture of our History, they should deliver their own "STATE OF OUR HISTORY" address to the nation, giving an account of every detail, including the fact that JB Dankwa sent Kwame Nkrumah one hundred pounds sterling to enable him pay for his passage back to the Gold Coast, which Akufo-Addo did not mention it in his speech.
Adam 8 years ago
How many players are in a team, but when a goal is scored only one name is on the score sheet not the whole team
Pak 8 years ago
Your father was a killer, yes , putting people in jail without trial. I was a young pioneer during that time, one can't even say a word about your stupid dad
Dada yaw 8 years ago
It was through election that brought Nkrumah to lead GHANA not because he is a special person than others
Akyem kwa menum Birim 8 years ago
If Nana Addo continue this JB Danquah vrs Nkrumah nonses,,he will be a one term president. Touch Nkrumah and yountouch majority of Ghanaians including me an Akyem Man from Akyem Adadientem where JB Danquah the bomb thrower hails from. I voted Nana Addo cos Mahama was mismanaging the country yet am a full blooded Nkrumaist.
Ken Ntiamoa 8 years ago
I can assure you that an NPP Government is never going to celebrate Nkrumah's birthday as a "Founder's Day." Never!
Nkrumah is known by two first names - Kofi, as in Kofi Nwiah and Kwame, as in Kwame Nkrumah. September 21, ... read full comment
I can assure you that an NPP Government is never going to celebrate Nkrumah's birthday as a "Founder's Day." Never!
Nkrumah is known by two first names - Kofi, as in Kofi Nwiah and Kwame, as in Kwame Nkrumah. September 21, 1909 his supposed birthday was a Tuesday.
So, September 21, 1909 couldn't have been Nkrumah's true birthday. The nation will choose a different a different date and call it a "National Heroes Day" and celebrate it as such.
Ken
Pee 8 years ago
Sorry to say but I’m very much disappointed in this President. I thought he came to unite the Country and route out the corruption. I was wrong. Did he came to throw a fight between his family and Nkrumah? Waaooow! Ghana, I see the president is now leading the tribal train. That part of the speech was very unnecessary. He should have known that for whatever he does to re-write Ghanaian history, the world will never take those he mentioned over Nkrumah. Listen! Mr. President, we have so many problems in the country to tackle than to pick a fight you cannot win.Is that why you wanted to be President? Shame on you.
Idrisu 8 years ago
Let the truth be said, Nkrumah was a dictator with blood of innocents on his hands period.
Innocent Ghanaian 8 years ago
"Amen Amen". "Nkrumah Never Dies". A Time To Think.
op.ny 8 years ago
What about Paa Grant ,who bought a ticket to Nkrumah ,to come down and joined them ,what he did was to sabotage them ,can one man fight for independence ,
Paul Binder 8 years ago
Akuffo Addo himself was CPP ,marxist at Legon.The NLC wanted to arrest him but stopped because of his father.That is why Kuffour does not like him.
apuuuu 8 years ago
I don't think Sekou Nkrumah grew up with his father to know much about him so he shut the fuck up apuuuu
Paa Joe 8 years ago
SEKOU, WHT DO YOU EXPECT FROM THIS MAN WHO GREW WITH HATRED FROM HIS FATHERS HOME AGAINST YOUR FATHER, IN THE STRUGGLE FOR INDEPENDENCE WHICH LED TO HIS ARREST AND IMPRISONMENT BY THE BRITISH COLONIAL GOVERNMENT.
HOW DO EX ... read full comment
SEKOU, WHT DO YOU EXPECT FROM THIS MAN WHO GREW WITH HATRED FROM HIS FATHERS HOME AGAINST YOUR FATHER, IN THE STRUGGLE FOR INDEPENDENCE WHICH LED TO HIS ARREST AND IMPRISONMENT BY THE BRITISH COLONIAL GOVERNMENT.
HOW DO EXPECT THIS FOLK WHOSE FATHER WAS DISMISSED A SUPREM COURT JUDGE, WHEN HE AND ARKO KORSAH AND VAN LARE
ACQUIITED AND DISCHARGED THOSE WHO WANTED TO KILL YOUR FATHER WITH A BOMB AT KULUGUMGU IN 1962.
WHY DID HE WANT TO BECOME A PRESIDENT OF GHANA,WHICH THE S CALLED DOMBO-BUSIA-DANQUAH SO CALLED TRADITION HAD REJECTED THE INDEPENDENCE OF GHANA FROM THE FORTIES THROUGH TO EARLY FIFTIES.
WHY WAS HE THERE TO CELEBRATE INDEPENDENCE OF GHANA,WHICH THE CPP UNDER THE LEADERSHIP OF OSAGYEFO DR KWAME NKRUMAH SACRIFICED THEIR LIVES TO MAKE GHANA FREE FROM BRITISH OCCUPATION.
WHO BUILT THE BLACK SQUARE,WHERE HE WAS INAUGURATED AND WHERE HE SPOKE AT THE SIXTEETH INDEPENDENCE ANNIVERSARY OF GHANA.
FOR HIM TO HAVE PLACED NAMES LIKE BAFFOUR AKOTO, APALOO,LAWYER BLAY AND PREMPEH, HAS TO BE DESCRIBED AS A GREAT DISRESPECT TO A NINTEENTH CENTURY POLTICIAN AND RECOGNISED THROUHOUT THE WHOLE WORLD.
ARE ALL THESE FOLJS HE MENTIONED KNOWN EVEB IN BENIN, TOGO, NIGER, CHAD AND BURKINA FASO.
LEAVE IT ON THE WALL THESE PEOPLE WILL BE JUDGED FOR MISNTERPRETING AND TWISTING POLITICAL HISTORY OF GHANA.
LONG LIVE THE IDEAS AND INSPIRATION OF KWAME OF BLESSED MEMORY.
op.ny 8 years ago
The name was Gold Coast ,after independence and is change to Ghana ,does it mean nkrumah founded ghana ,were people not living there
Before ,nonesense he is a dictator
The name was Gold Coast ,after independence and is change to Ghana ,does it mean nkrumah founded ghana ,were people not living there
Brother Otieku 8 years ago
Kotoka was right to dethroned him. It is God who enthron kings and dethrone kings by their arrogance through people. Some people thought it wise to bring you to join them for a same course. And if you have separated and won, do you kill them in prison? Your own people planted gun powder and blasted it to throw dust into people's eyes and blame the opposition. Just to declare Ghana one party state. But God was not asleep. Well done Kotoka.
KB 8 years ago
Lo and behold, the people of the Gold Coast went t sleep, woke up one day and some one said let there be independence and there was.
Is this how we should retire the story of Ghana's agitation for independence?
Lo and behold, the people of the Gold Coast went t sleep, woke up one day and some one said let there be independence and there was.
jones kofanko yeboah 8 years ago
All the criticised of the president speech on the 6,march is nonsense jerry Rawlings and the AFRC PNDC NDC and John Mahama took almost 30 years to destroy Ghana .imposed daily tax on even poor kayayei which is a big disgrace. Ghana have been under stupid corrupted criminal government until the NPP came to power with kuffuor who let ghanaians brief for a while by making the Ghana cedis very strong. Introduce the national health insurance which safe life of many ghanaians.. But we did not recognised. and voted for the selfish hypocrite john mahama just to come and make himself rich .what all ghanaians should know is the NDC have no policy in their plan to do anything for the country this what ghanaians should think and debate on and live Nana Addo alone to implement the NPP policy to build Ghana up for we should be at shame for criticing Nana when he was only telling the youth of Ghana the true history of the country
We have to be truthful to ourselves and give due respect to all those who in one way or the other gave their lifes for mother Ghana.The struggle couldn't have succeeded without the help even of the uneducated.To me Ghana's in ...
SURELY AKUFO WANTS TO REWRITE HISTORY. DURING THE STRUGGLE FOR INDEPENDENCE THE UP(AKUFO'S FATHERS PARTY) MORPHED INTO A SUBVERSIVE PARTY TAKING BRIBES FROM THE COLONIALISTS TO DERAIL THE INDEPEDNDENT MOVEMENT. NKURUMAH'S PU ...
Are you independent? How can we be independent when we still depend on foreign aid to balance our budget? How independent are we when a foreign country, China, builds our Ministry of Foreign Affairs? Have you heard of the ...
I agree with you 100%
Show us the letter!!1
THE OBSCURANTISTS UGLY CHIMPS ARE IN CHARGE WITH A IRRESISTIBLE CORE MISSION TO OBLITERATE THE EXTRAORDINARY UNPRECEDENTED MARVELOUS WORKS UNLEASHED BY THE FOUNDING FATHER OF GHANA, OSAGYEFO DR. KWAME NKRUMAH, AND WE THE NKRU ...
Iconic 07 or whatever....get over your shit because how you see him he is the president over your stupid ass. Some of you NDC cry babies with orange diapers are still day dreaming. You called the president a chimp? Yeah your ...
There are too many idiots in the NPP as in the UGCC. I don't know the logic the evil dwarf and his followers are using to say those traitors were founders of Ghana. Did J. B. Danquah, Edward Akuffo Addo, Ofori Atta etc..found ...
awful
I am PanAfrikanist and Nkrumaist beyond compare and I am Nkrumaist and PanAfrikanist with no apologies.I have President Akufo Addos speech in celebration of the 60th anniversary of GhanaS Independnce won for us by the Osagyef ...
Afrikatu Kofi,I'm PanAfrican as well but I see most Ghanaians going back to tribal individualism character where by language play more importance than seeing our African heritage as people with common similarities.if you read ...
SO LET'S AGREE THAT UGCC MADE SOME CONTRIBUTION BY INVITING NKRUMAH TO TAKE OVER IT'S SECRETARIAT AS THE GENERAL SECRETARY. HOWEVER IT IS ALSO EVIDENT THAT DURING THE COURSE FOR THE STRUGGLE OF INDEPENDENCE UGCC OF THE LIKES ...
We are met here t ...
oh no
Always changing what they haven't build...npp! Sankara over pass to Ako Adjei, Kawu kudi road to Obasanjo High way and many others ...burning his books, destroying his statues, Flagstaff house to Jubilee house among others. N ...
GET OVER IT DUDE
Nkrumah made himself President for life without a Vice and ruled Ghana with iron fist. He killed all his political opponents at Nsawam Prison and life improsonment for ny one who opposed him. He was so tyranical that his own ...
Sekou, facts are facts , you can not change the truth , so deal with it, we can't twist the truth to suit your whims. Your father started well, but he became so power drunk , very tyrannical and hypocritical , and that was h ...
Kwame was rather was rather busy ensuring we turn to be a United States of Africa. Reflect on the level of intelligence power the rest of Africa had at that time. Ghana was way ahead and if your Dad was to just focus on Ghana ...
Sekou,do you expect Akuffo-Addo and the NPP to eulogise your father?I am an Nkrumaist and never expect that to be done.Any attempt by the NPP to rewrite the political history of the country will not work.The fact remains that ...
Telemor
The UGCC brought Nkrumah to Ghana to join them in the struggle for Independence. The struggle was started by this group before anoon air travel ticket was bought by the UGCC to bring him over. You should know your history a ...
21st September for Nkrumah as public holiday is very wrong. Nkrumah did not founded Ghana alone. We have independence day i think it enough. Ghanaian have too many public holidays and this what killing our economy. Compare ou ...
History can never be disto ...
What is.a dictator? You have been brainwashed by your stupid whites and you keep on licking their butt, so they can manipulate you as they want. They try to boycott whatever you possess, whatever you eat, whatever you do. You ...
Kwame Nkrumah was too big for Ghana. Ghana was the base he used to liberate Africa from colonial rule. So no one in the independence struggle comes close to him. When the so called big six were jailed they all denied being pa ...
Obetsebi Lamptey: was in detention under your father (PDA) no charges had been preferred against him. He was suffering of cancer but denied any medical care, ...
MY BROTHER KWAME, I AM SO SAD. THAT WAS WHAT NKRUMAH DID TO THOUSANDS OF GHANAIANS WHO DID NOT SHARE HIS IDEAS. NKRUMAH WAS JUST A VERY WICKED FOOL. SEKOU, THAT IS THE HISTORY YOUR FATHER DID NOT WANT THE WORLD TO KNOW. JUST ...
Your father was selling newspaper in texas and sleeping under a tunnel in bristol uk. Do you think your could afford plane ticket to Ghana ? My grandmum showed me the room he slept in Labadi when Ako Adjei brought him from UK ...
another imbecile!
Sekou Nkrumah it is so ironic and disappointing to most Ghanains that you have tied your destiny to a military regime PNDC which metamorphosed into NDC. The very party you held allegiance to is the very party which has persi ...
Whether we admit it or not, the influence of Nkrumah on the world stage cannot be underestimated. By e ...
There he goes again
Nana Akuffo Addo' ...
Sekou is intellectually dishonest in his request to the president to maintain his father,s Birthday as a holiday,let's use a football game as an example,one player gets the best player award but all the 23 players re given me ...
Dr Kwame Nkrumah has a true history because of what he did not only for Ghana but African continent as well. African history does not tell any about J B Danquah or Akuffo or. Busia. They were all criminal s, amti-ghanaians ...
If Sekou and the CPP think Akuffo Addo did not give a true picture of our History, they should deliver their own "STATE OF OUR HISTORY" address to the nation, giving an account of every detail, including the fact that JB Da ...
If Nana Addo continue this JB Danquah vrs Nkrumah nonses,,he will be a one term president. Touch Nkrumah and yountouch majority of Ghanaians including me an Akyem Man from Akyem Adadientem where JB Danquah the bomb thrower ha ...
Nkrumah is known by two first names - Kofi, as in Kofi Nwiah and Kwame, as in Kwame Nkrumah. September 21, ...
Sorry to say but I’m very much disappointed in this President. I thought he came to unite the Country and route out the corruption. I was wrong. Did he came to throw a fight between his family and Nkrumah? Waaooow! Ghana, I ...
HOW DO EX ...
Kotoka was right to dethroned him. It is God who enthron kings and dethrone kings by their arrogance through people. Some people thought it wise to bring you to join them for a same course. And if you have separated and won, ...
All the criticised of the president speech on the 6,march is nonsense jerry Rawlings and the AFRC PNDC NDC and John Mahama took almost 30 years to destroy Ghana .imposed daily tax on even poor kayayei which is a big disg ...