Award-winning Ghanaian musician Rebecca Akosua Acheampomaa Acheampong popularly known as Becca is trending currently on Twitter over her double standards comments, GhanaWeb has monitored.
Becca, thinks it is duplicitous to declare a stance against racism but exhibit an ethnocentric posture towards Africans marrying each other.
“You are here in Africa fighting and advocating racism in the US but in your church/home, you are criticizing and judging someone for marrying a fellow African because they are not from your hometown/country/church… Damn Hypocrites!!!.”
The musician still suffers attacks for marrying her Nigerian husband, Tobi Sanni Daniel, in August 2018.
However, her post has divided Ghanaian social media users on Twitter, with some supporting her tweet, while others think otherwise.
The first to disagree with her tweet was actress Ama K Abebrese. According to her, it’s incomparable for Becca to equate the fight for the systemic racism in the USA to African tribalism in marriage and hypocrisy.
“Sis they are both wrong, however, it’s incomparable to equate the fight for the systemic racism in the USA to African tribalism in marriage and hypocrisy. You can highlight that without appearing to diminish the fight about police brutality. Murder is not marriage. Love always,” she tweeted back at Becca
Just like Ama K Abebrese, Lydia Forson and some tweeps were against Becca's stance.
See some of the reactions below:
Sis,
— #letstalkaboutitwithlydia (@lydiaforson) June 4, 2020
I believe you can dedicate your platform to speak on tribalism and give it the attention you feel it deserves, without denigrating the voices of those speaking against racism. #BlackLivesMatter https://t.co/8DMecuNx76
This happens even among whites. A young lady will bring a guy home and pops will say no! The lady will walk away and live her life with her man. Why are we mixing gari with spaghetti? One is a choice, the other is a sentence. Did tribalism stop Becca from Marrying?
— Jessa_Thomps (@jessyosei4) June 4, 2020
I saw Becca's tweet and i commented like "smh" yesterday. she is entitled to her view and the criticism may be 50:50 based on diverse views. i think someone not being allowed to marry from another tribe is not in anyway compared to people being murdered in full public glare.
— DNA (@dNAGh_) June 4, 2020
Mr debrah hell no. This is death n not tribalism marriage killed Floyd as becca is saying. More over people should stop saying Ghanaians don't no Floyd buh they talking about his death. We were here wen @iamamamcbrown1 came into American news. Do they know her? . Becca is wrong
— SARKCESSVISION P.R.O (@KwakuMingor3) June 4, 2020
Sometimes we have to know where the tweep is coming from... Becca tweeted out of self interest..Many are those who bash her for marrying a naija brother... Its been in her heart to say a word to em peeps for a long time and she missed her timing, subject and targets. @beccafrica
— Kwame KaTaGa (@SolomonKingArt2) June 4, 2020
I have come back, Becca - girl, people are being killed for the colour of their skin... yes in Ghana and Africa we have tribalism but come oooorrnnn https://t.co/DXmKEAYCur
— withlove_nb ???????? (@_natalia91) June 4, 2020
However, there were some tweeps who shared in Becca's opinion hence defended her with the tweets below:
We should be judgemental when we don’t want the same to be done to us stop dragging Becca with her skin tone ino Dey need
— Tuo-zaafi???? (@OgyamBilson) June 4, 2020
The hypocrites are those who gladly practice tribalism and shout “NO TO RACISM “. Not people who are against how she framed it.
— BS (@BSantuah) June 4, 2020
Ah becca paa.... Racism is not equal to tribalism and nepotism oo....
— GOLD Coaster?????? (@BraKwameGh) June 4, 2020
Bruh. Africa has lost about million lives because of tribal war before. This isn't the right time to talk about it. Apart from that, Becca didn't deserve such bashing
— Ali Berlin (@AliBerrlin) June 4, 2020