Madam, I salute your thoughtfulness. In my view, given the massive loot by Ken Ofori-Atta, his bank must be confiscated instead. Why? To offset the loot and serve as deterrence to future potential criminals
Yaw 5 days ago
Is this bank for Ken Ofori Atta? This is state bank set up Ofori Atta. Repositioning the bank is a good suggest but don’t call it Ofori Atta’s bank because it doesn’t belong to him.
Efo Kofi 5 days ago
Populist nonsense
Kofi Sromani 5 days ago
Your pain; accept that the WDB is coming, and not amount of propaganda will stop that; I understandyour hurt and pain, but try to manage it well, or you will bleed to death.
Kojo 5 days ago
WDB is another waste of our resources. We can cut and slice it with any political colour but it stillcstabsascas a waste.
Kojo 5 days ago
Exactly!!! With another populists nonsense of women's bank. What happened to Women World Bank Ghana?we are behaving as if we were just born today.
Logorligi 5 days ago
The lady can be thanked for trying to offer a good proposal but upon all her educational titles is she not aware that the total value of the so-called Consolidated Bank amounts to monies that are owed to other banks and their clients whose properties were seized? I can't understand why this woman would want to embroil the yet to be established womens bank into the sordid history of the Consolidated Bank. The original owners have even been given reassurances by govt on the possibility of reinstating their operations. Didn't she know about this? She should not behave like Ken Ofori Atta who has made it seem like education only makes idiots out of Africans.
Ben 5 days ago
DBG Is not same as CBG
FRANKLIN DENU 6 days ago
This proposal looks so strategic and more sensible to be considered.
In fact the future of Keta is looking more bright and crystal clear.
Keta to the world
Kwame Peter 6 days ago
Where is the women World Banking? You take the rest of Ghanaians like an excited tribal bigot like you?
Kofi Sromani 5 days ago
The Women's World Bank was not a state bank, and neither was it a state sponsored bank. It was a private entity, so go and look for its sponsors and share holders for answers to your misdirected question. Please spare us your ignorance and obvious jealousy.
Yes 6 days ago
Very excellent decision. He collapsed banks without thinking of the welfare of Ghanaians. Some people are unemployed to data. This is just conversion and nothing else. Also, change shareholders
NYAMEBA 6 days ago
Convert all theGN BANKS rather to do the needful
Nkrumah son 5 days ago
Nice submission
Pelicles. 6 days ago
To Enyonam Adzo Apetorgbor, why not converting the bank of Torgbui Afede's into a Women's Development Bank, and as a banker and financial expert, why can't you come up with an idea for that women's bank than targeting someone's property?
You are full of envy and deep hatred towards Ofori-Atta.
Logorligi 5 days ago
Anybody who still respects Ofori Atta for plunging this country into an intractable state of poverty, despair and mass deaths as a result, is an uncivilized psychopath. It is just simply incredible that people like you who can string a few alphabets together to make your opinions known, are, afterall, fundamentally illiterate in their worldview. There is something very very wrong with our educational system that produces lawyers and ultimately, lawmakers who gleefully and without any adult or intellectual restraint, vandalize state properties with reckless abandon.
Nelson 6 days ago
You are writing from a position of grass ignorance!
DBG is not Ken Ofoir Atta's bank but for the GOG with support from thr development partners.
Research well before you spew out garbage ans mislead thr public!
DBG is not Ken Ofoir Atta's bank but for the GOG with support from thr development partners.
Mr. Ibu 6 days ago
You can even name it 31 Dec women's bank but the problem is a political bank will face problems. Look at the Microfinance and small loans scheme and the lady who was in charge, an NDC woman, embezzled and ran to the USA and refusing to come back to face justice. Allow the private sector to lead the process and the state can support. The bank should be allowed to lend at lower rate to women and the government will grant tax credits.
Kojo 6 days ago
Need you bring in Ken Ofori Atta’s name into this? The bank does not belong to Ken and you could easily have put forward your proposal without attaching his name to it. Can’t we simply avoid these infantile pettiness?
F. Quartey. 6 days ago
You don't know and therefore you do not understand the the special purpose of DBG.
Nkrumah son 5 days ago
You correct
You correct
TM Anum 6 days ago
I think converting GN bank into Women's Development bank wouldn't be a bad idea too
Mohammed Rashid 5 days ago
Very constructive issues raise, tailored and effectively proposed solutions to women economic empowerment and general well-being. Any policy geared towards addressing the larger population in this case, women when implemented strategically can solve compounding problems in our society.
Mawuetornam Dugbazah 5 days ago
Daavi Enyonam:
A gender-based banking institution provides an outlet for International Donors and the Ghanaian State to indirectly contribute to the deterioration of spousal relations in the average Ghanaian family.
Es ... read full comment
Daavi Enyonam:
A gender-based banking institution provides an outlet for International Donors and the Ghanaian State to indirectly contribute to the deterioration of spousal relations in the average Ghanaian family.
Essentially, your idea of a Women's Development Bank (WDB) is no more than an internationally and state-sponsored welfare policy intended to create an environment where women are not dependent upon husbands (or male breadwinners) for material support as far as children are concerned. And you have heard the saying, "He who pays the piper calls the tune."
In other words, financing the financial "independence" of the average Ghanaian woman will likely have catastrophic effects on the state of the Ghanaian family in the long run (i.e. added debt burdens).
Financing the financial independence of black women has been done under the guise of other models such as state welfare policies in the United States since the early 1960s. These policies were strategically used to REMOVE the influence of BLACK FATHERS in the home in places like the city of New York (see "man in the house rule"). Needless to say, this led to and continues to contribute to serious problems in African-American spousal relations till this day.
Also, you have quoted very QUESTIONABLE quantitative variables to support your thesis of converting the Development Bank of Ghana (DBG) into a gender-focused institution. Perhaps you should focus your attention on doing some qualitative analyses pertaining to:
1. The social impact of added debt-burdens on African women and how it affects spousal relations, general "peace" in the home and ultimately, long-term financial wellbeing in the family.
2. The effects of feminist-driven social policies on divorce rates in "black" communities across the globe (e.g. the nation of Brazil as a case study).
FINAL NOTE:
At the end of the day, I am unsure why so many modern Ghanaian women of your generation have bought into the "BOSS CHICK" mentality. Many of you have allowed materialism and greed to cloud your judgment when it comes to taking on DEBT in the name of "empowerment". I am highly skeptical that your thesis will lead to anything RIGHTEOUS for Ghanaian marital or family relations. Thank you.
Logorligi 5 days ago
Good and intelligent points raised. Etornam, on my part, I am dead against the frivolous and discriminatory idea of pampering adult women like children, to achieve their ends. In fact I am hard pressed to be convinced that women are umder-resourced or even not equally playing important roles in the economy. Women are already playing a greater role in the economy than men are. From the painful process of pregnancy to childbirth, housekeeping, selling oranges and groundnuts in traffic, on pavements and street corners, as marketwomen in the arduous industry of carting thousands of tons of foodstuff(s) from inhospitable rural areas to urban areas, as teachers, nurses, doctors, film-makers, media hosts and presenters, business - and even in the dirty confines (thanks to Afenyo Markin and his host of gremlins) of politics.
Women cover more areas of the economy than men and they should be left alone to evolve naturally instead of intervening with doubtful political mechanisms (or gimmicks) that I feel may in the long run, not work. In the bank that I use, there is evidence of more female workers there - from the lower echelons to the top, than men. And I am inclined to believe that the same may be true for most other local and foreign banks as well. So if women are not getting their fair share of assistance from banks, they should blame their sisters in the banking sector. In any case, men of the same social ranks of women who are denied financial assistance by banks, also suffer the same fate. And on this point, I am certain that if the economy was doing better, it would rather be banks that would be chasing their clients without any kind of discrimination, to take loans.
To put and end to this women's bank issue, I believe that a quarterly retreat between the Finance Minister, major financial institutions and various women's groups can better untie the knots that may have denied our beautiful women from accessing assistance from our financial institutions.
Ghanaian women on their own, should reject these foreign instigated ploys to belittle and demean our womenfolk as weak helpless species of the human race. Even as the quiet unassuming backbenchers in our homes, they do more in various ways to sustain the "domestic" economy than the cocky "housemasters".
Fianyo 5 days ago
Shame on you Enyonam Addo. You and your trokosi tribe hatred and envy for progressive people know no limit. You stupidly accuse without any evidence. Let your lawless ORAL bring the evidence that the former finance minister looted billions of $ from the State. Okudzeto Ablakwa lied through his chisel teeth at the vetting that he rents the millions of dollars executive mansion and property at the airport from his young sister. At what age did the so called sister build that mansion and where did she get the money from? Enyonam, If Data bank has breached any law take them to court and stop your ignorance and partisan politics.
Ken 5 days ago
From the onset the proposal to convert DBG to WDG is misleading. DBG is 100 per cent state-owned and does not belong to an individual. DBG capital investment base is augmented with pledges and support from DFIs including the WB, AfDB, Herman Development Bank, and the European Investment Bank.
Positive Answers to the following key questions are necessary to drive home the point:
Is DBG fit for purpose’?
Is DBG serving a niche landscape?
Is DBG managed to fulfill its purpose?
Can it be better to enhance clientele base?
Should DFIs change the prevailing perspective on DBG?
Can DBG coexist with the proposed WDB to propel the reset agenda of the ruling
Answers to ALL the above questions are positive, except that DFIs should not change their focus. And this does not mean that the WDB is not important and should be created separately but not at the expense of DBD which is fulfilling a purpose.
Mike A 5 days ago
Unstable, envious people in the Volta region are always seeking to satisfy their shortcomings, inability to initiate sustainable ventures, and lack of self-confidence with the tyranny of the immediate. Remember JJ Rawlings, Oliver Barker Vormawor, and others. They are clouded with envy and jealousy, causing terror in Ghana.
Please stop this evil and hands off, others property Thank you
Eric 5 days ago
Rubbish they should establish their own woman Bank
Nkrumah son 5 days ago
We will not do that . The bank will soon collapse. And we don't want be told it is them that are still helping the NDC . The name of the bank emerges during the campaign periods. Is WOMEN DEVELOPMENT BANK .THERE IS NO OTHER NAME. MAHAMAH HAVE HIS PLANS ALREADY.HE DOESN'T SAY THINGS WITHOUT SORTING THEM OUT FIRST. SO you can go there to have your money and people can also go for their private money but not our policy
Efo Kofi 5 days ago
Kwasiasem nkoaa
Isaac Arthur 5 days ago
Do we need a separate bank for women or create banking products to cater for women needs? The development bank is not for Ken Ofori-Atta if we are not politically minded; it’s for Ghana. Until we see things for common sense and delink them from political alignment we won’t get out of our mess. Please Mandan think again.
Patrick Biredu 5 days ago
What people of the PNDC and their antecedents like you know better is to destroy the outcomes of the toils of what well meaning Ghanaians have achieved from their sweat with toxic hate from some people many of who bear names like yours. Try and make something of your own and ride in the pride of achievement and win yourself out of the pungent enthnocentricism.
Kk Kumasi 5 days ago
The DBG and Data bank must merge to form the WDB. Ofori atta's bank must be confiscated asap. Enterprise insurance must also be added to SIC. Ken must face a severe punishment for destroying our economy. He should be made to pay dearly for every pain his stupid decisions caused Ghanaians.
Jake 5 days ago
What your research failed to touch on is that, women also constitute the majority of loan defaulters,
although their value is about some 35.2% of the total defaulted sum.
It's imperative that further work is done to make ... read full comment
What your research failed to touch on is that, women also constitute the majority of loan defaulters,
It's imperative that further work is done to make such a conclusive remarks.
Nana K 5 days ago
So called expect, upon all the said knowledge you have this is the only solution to give JDM administration? No wonder you are a volterian. Small minded. You support root and share policy. If I may as thus so called financial expect, what is the essence of creating women's bank?
Aswanzy 5 days ago
This is a proper proper proper suggestion. Thank You Sweet Sister. GOD Richly Bless U.
John 5 days ago
Ashawo woman like you, you think NDC is in Power so you can do what you want??? This is Stupidity.
Appiah 5 days ago
Ignorance ndc members and little knowledge, you can do anything new, all what you can do is to change names, set your women's bank with any resources from your consolidated fund. Stupid men in this country why opening a bank for women and man is not part, because some of you used your money to chase women that is why?
Still Bawumia 5 days ago
You could have made your point without injecting political vendetta and hate into it, but you have therefore tainted your argument with the not so thoughtful headline. Have a good day
Stupid start in the article 5 days ago
Can't you write without insulting? Why are Ewes like that? I pity her husband. Such women show their bushness. You've got great ideas why not just present it. She looks like any lady who wrote a stupid open letter to Mahama asking for development authority something like that for her little village called Keta. Not even giving the new president breathing space. Or she's just looking for position?
Marquis 5 days ago
DBG is not a commercial bank. The core mandate of DBG is to provide and alleviate financing constraints faced by micro, medium, and small enterprises(MMSE) and small corporates in business, manufacturing, and high-value services through the provision of wholesale financing and partial credit guarantees to eligible financing institutions using Commercial Banks as enablers.
What we need is a review of the Banking Act to drive interest rates down and force the Banks to invest in the economy. With that establishing the WB will be easy
Moses 5 days ago
Now everyone is an expert.
In the Beginning 5 days ago
Why not NDC Headquarters
Tema port has been stolen yayayaya s3 Yaaya 5 days ago
Conert funds of harbor and there ll not be any bank you cannot build
Thief of Bagdad ll be furious though
Fireman 4 days ago
Seems like even some of the current politicians in power are equally not smart enough and lack protective and sustainable ideas. Ndc you better wake up o, stop this bias nonsense about gender and think more collectively for productivity.
Kojo Akyem new Tafo 4 days ago
Is this so called banking expert Enyonam from Ghana? The louder you bark and criticise the NPP the better your chances of getting a POST OR POSITION from president Mahama. Was she able to explain to Ghanaians who the NDC'S Women's bank was going to work? Is the bank Ken Ofori Atta created for the state his bank? Even here she failed, yet she calls herself banking expert. It's only people who think like the NDC will be hailing such a bankrupt idea. SHE WANTS A POSITION. ALL PERSONS WHO CRITICISED AND LAMBASTED THE NPP HAVE BEEN AWARDED WITH JUICY POSITIONS.
Kojo Akyem new Tafo 4 days ago
Is this so called banking expert Enyonam from Ghana? The louder you bark and criticise the NPP the better your chances of getting a POST OR POSITION from president Mahama. Was she able to explain to Ghanaians how the NDC'S Women's bank was going to work? Is the bank Ken Ofori Atta created for the state his bank? Even here she failed, yet she calls herself banking expert. It's only people who think like the NDC will be hailing such a bankrupt idea. SHE WANTS A POSITION. ALL PERSONS WHO CRITICISED AND LAMBASTED THE NPP HAVE BEEN AWARDED WITH JUICY POSITIONS.
Hickson 4 days ago
Mad did you sleep well?eee this Government should turn who Bank to women's bank? Left to some of us that Bank should be collapsed
Kojo Fynn 4 days ago
Why? That's how dictatorship begins. You've won an election and not a war. Get your pretty arse to work and stop this vengeful thinking. It'll not take the country any where.
JK 4 days ago
Be Serious People! You always talk about discrimination and you are doing this. Since the world was created, I have not heard any such gender base bank before. Where in the world has anyone come across such gender base financial institution. I read about happenings b/n USA and Canada. Have you all seen what USA has started doing to a Close Ally Canada? It tells that we should stop those Political gimmicks and fracas and get serious to real business else future spells doom for us
Ed 4 days ago
I think this is the best proposal of the year. Kudos, Enyonam
Nana Amoako 4 days ago
I disagree with the caption "Ken Ofori Atta Development Bank". The bank is for Ghananot Ken Ofori Atta.
Please make amends before the less educated market women get the impression that Womens Development Bank is for Ken O ... read full comment
I disagree with the caption "Ken Ofori Atta Development Bank". The bank is for Ghananot Ken Ofori Atta.
Please make amends before the less educated market women get the impression that Womens Development Bank is for Ken Ofori Atta
Seedorf 4 days ago
You are stupid. Go and create your own bank and turn it into women's bank. Kwasea baaa, learn Sense waiiii.
Populist nonsense
The lady can be thanked for trying to offer a good proposal but upon all her educational titles is she not aware that the total value of the so-called Consolidated Bank amounts to monies that are owed to other banks and their ...
DBG Is not same as CBG
Keta to the world
The Women's World Bank was not a state bank, and neither was it a state sponsored bank. It was a private entity, so go and look for its sponsors and share holders for answers to your misdirected question. Please spare us you ...
Nice submission
To Enyonam Adzo Apetorgbor, why not converting the bank of Torgbui Afede's into a Women's Development Bank, and as a banker and financial expert, why can't you come up with an idea for that women's bank than targeting someone ...
Anybody who still respects Ofori Atta for plunging this country into an intractable state of poverty, despair and mass deaths as a result, is an uncivilized psychopath. It is just simply incredible that people like you who ca ...
You can even name it 31 Dec women's bank but the problem is a political bank will face problems. Look at the Microfinance and small loans scheme and the lady who was in charge, an NDC woman, embezzled and ran to the USA and r ...
You correct
Very constructive issues raise, tailored and effectively proposed solutions to women economic empowerment and general well-being. Any policy geared towards addressing the larger population in this case, women when implemented ...
Daavi Enyonam:
Es ...
Good and intelligent points raised. Etornam, on my part, I am dead against the frivolous and discriminatory idea of pampering adult women like children, to achieve their ends. In fact I am hard pressed to be convinced that wo ...
Shame on you Enyonam Addo. You and your trokosi tribe hatred and envy for progressive people know no limit. You stupidly accuse without any evidence. Let your lawless ORAL bring the evidence that the former finance minister l ...
From the onset the proposal to convert DBG to WDG is misleading. DBG is 100 per cent state-owned and does not belong to an individual. DBG capital investment base is augmented with pledges and support from DFIs including the ...
Unstable, envious people in the Volta region are always seeking to satisfy their shortcomings, inability to initiate sustainable ventures, and lack of self-confidence with the tyranny of the immediate. Remember JJ Rawlings, O ...
We will not do that . The bank will soon collapse. And we don't want be told it is them that are still helping the NDC . The name of the bank emerges during the campaign periods. Is WOMEN DEVELOPMENT BANK .THERE IS NO OTHER N ...
Kwasiasem nkoaa
Do we need a separate bank for women or create banking products to cater for women needs? The development bank is not for Ken Ofori-Atta if we are not politically minded; it’s for Ghana. Until we see things for common sense ...
What people of the PNDC and their antecedents like you know better is to destroy the outcomes of the toils of what well meaning Ghanaians have achieved from their sweat with toxic hate from some people many of who bear names ...
The DBG and Data bank must merge to form the WDB. Ofori atta's bank must be confiscated asap. Enterprise insurance must also be added to SIC. Ken must face a severe punishment for destroying our economy. He should be made to ...
It's imperative that further work is done to make ...
So called expect, upon all the said knowledge you have this is the only solution to give JDM administration? No wonder you are a volterian. Small minded. You support root and share policy. If I may as thus so called financial ...
Ignorance ndc members and little knowledge, you can do anything new, all what you can do is to change names, set your women's bank with any resources from your consolidated fund. Stupid men in this country why opening a bank ...
Can't you write without insulting? Why are Ewes like that? I pity her husband. Such women show their bushness. You've got great ideas why not just present it. She looks like any lady who wrote a stupid open letter to Mahama a ...
DBG is not a commercial bank. The core mandate of DBG is to provide and alleviate financing constraints faced by micro, medium, and small enterprises(MMSE) and small corporates in business, manufacturing, and high-value servi ...
Why not NDC Headquarters
Seems like even some of the current politicians in power are equally not smart enough and lack protective and sustainable ideas. Ndc you better wake up o, stop this bias nonsense about gender and think more collectively for p ...
Is this so called banking expert Enyonam from Ghana? The louder you bark and criticise the NPP the better your chances of getting a POST OR POSITION from president Mahama. Was she able to explain to Ghanaians who the NDC'S Wo ...
Is this so called banking expert Enyonam from Ghana? The louder you bark and criticise the NPP the better your chances of getting a POST OR POSITION from president Mahama. Was she able to explain to Ghanaians how the NDC'S Wo ...
Be Serious People! You always talk about discrimination and you are doing this. Since the world was created, I have not heard any such gender base bank before. Where in the world has anyone come across such gender base financ ...
Please make amends before the less educated market women get the impression that Womens Development Bank is for Ken O ...