This is an issue that affects almost every Ghanaian on this forum but fear of retaliation has muted everyone of them.Is this the democratic principles Ghanaians are always aspiring to?Is this the type of friendship we work so hard for?
Kay 8 years ago
I am very sure it says clearly on the form that those fees are non refundable and you still choose to pay. How then do you expect a refund if denied the visa?
Simply develop Ghana and Africa for that matter so you all don' ... read full comment
I am very sure it says clearly on the form that those fees are non refundable and you still choose to pay. How then do you expect a refund if denied the visa?
Simply develop Ghana and Africa for that matter so you all don't have to bee trying to run away to someone elses nation. You might return but many had gone through similar processes without ever returning so the US embassy has every right to deny you a visa.
Idiot Mugabe of Montie 8 years ago
“Then he to told me "I am sorry you are not qualified to enter into the United states of America”.
“So that day alone, the embassy made a gain of US$17,000 from the one hundred applicants that visited the embassy for ... read full comment
“Then he to told me "I am sorry you are not qualified to enter into the United states of America”.
“So that day alone, the embassy made a gain of US$17,000 from the one hundred applicants that visited the embassy for the interview. When you multiply this
amount by 30 days, it implies that the US Embassy generates close to US$170,000 dollars alone from Visa Applicants from Ghana in one month. Wow! Such a
huge money. When you multiply this amount by one year, you get such a huge sum of about US$ 5.1 million dollars only from Ghana”.
Haba, why blame the embassy staff for your own incompetence?
How can a journalist who claim to have practised for close to 11 eleven years produce such a suicidal verbiage?
Buffalo Soldier 8 years ago
It's a damn hell out there,
US is no heaven on earth as many Africans think.
Rather it's the 21st. century babylon replica & not that promising land with green pastures & golden streets for the black race.
Pity that today ... read full comment
Rather it's the 21st. century babylon replica & not that promising land with green pastures & golden streets for the black race.
Pity that today many Ghanaians don't know the true history of the USA, or have forgotten the nasty history of the US.
Jordys 8 years ago
How does one become journalist in Ghana? About 95% write very badly. No creativity, no motivation, no flexibility, finally, no flair for writing!
It's very incomprehensible. What's wrong in Ghana?
How does one become journalist in Ghana? About 95% write very badly. No creativity, no motivation, no flexibility, finally, no flair for writing!
spartacus 8 years ago
This is good. Organise the demonstration against them. At least half the amount must be refunded. The Ghana embassy in the USA must charge $1000 for Ghana visa. These so called developed countries are plain crooks
Nii Akwei 8 years ago
Then the US Embassy in Ghana will charge $1000 for US Visa.
Kwame 7 years ago
Sorry about this Spartucus, but 99% of Americans would not go to Ghana even if you paid them
KONKONSA 8 years ago
I do appreciate your anger and frustration but this issue of processing fee will recieve no sympathetic ears from any official quarters.
The best solution is to strive to develop our country so our offsprings will not endure ... read full comment
I do appreciate your anger and frustration but this issue of processing fee will recieve no sympathetic ears from any official quarters.
The best solution is to strive to develop our country so our offsprings will not endure this humiliation.
Truth is you are only seen by those behind the counter as potential economic migrants and they clearly don't take kindly to such sojourns. Its a pity but we have to endeavour to build up ours.
Kay 8 years ago
You said it all bro
Eli 8 years ago
Well, I don't think that's the solution, I think it's something we all have to stand up and say NO to. Even if we are developed we will still need to go on holidays elsewhere, now how will they believe you then,if they cannot believe you now that you are only going for a conference. Something must be done, why are we advocating for international friendship and socio-economic programs then.
Ghanaba 8 years ago
I have said this before and I will repeat it here.America or U.K for that matter is not forcing anybody to go and give them $170 for a common interview.If the government and stupid parliamentarians think it is okay then why are you blaming the Americans?
Kwasi 8 years ago
My daughter, a graduate nurse with 11 yrs experience, married with 3 kids won the diversity lottery in 2014. She had applied indicating she was married with 3 kids nd had won. In April 2015 they were all invited for interview. The whole process cost us ghc15,000 including medical a nd other necessary things needed at the interview. With all documents correct nd intact, they were refused the visas ostensibly because per their documents, my daughter's husband was a woman. They are now fighting to pay the ghc15,000 debt they incurred nd it will take them up to Sept 2017 to finish paying the debt. AMERICA FLEECED THEM TO THE TUNE OF GHC 15,000. THE DEVILS.
Pamoja 8 years ago
Unfortunately this particular problem is spiritual in nature. True the visa process is fraught with peril at our expenses, however truth must be said,if our leaders were genuine, none of us would ever have left. Have been away 40 yrs
Tanny 8 years ago
i think i would applaud the German Embassy on this one, they have a shelter and seats for applicants, and would not collect cash from you until you are given a visa, and i think it makes sense.
Ringo Star 8 years ago
That's how it was in the eighties. No visa no fees. I think the embassy is now infected with the Ghanaian corruption syndrome.
Concern citizen 8 years ago
Papa Kwasi, when your daughter won the visa lottery the American embassy did not ask her to borrow the money for the process. She did that out of her free will so where is the 419 here. Please let's be realistic in our comments. After all, if we have better conditions in our country no one will want to live in some one's country. Vote wisely y'all.
KKD 8 years ago
Civilized country my tie. Most Anerucans are ignorant bumpkins who have never travelled out of their state. As you can see, it's a racist society that is currently going through much turmoil. Don't waste your time to go there.
TK 8 years ago
Every country has policies in awarding visas to visitors to their country. It is a yes or no question. They inform you on the form that the fee is non-refundable either way and the writer knew that before he went in there so what is the problem? None!
Kwame 8 years ago
What a revelation? The amount calculation is incorrect anyway. The real figure should be US$6.1 milliom per year. Follow the calculation below:
Amount per Ghanaian applicant = US$170
No. of applicants per day = 100
No. of ... read full comment
What a revelation? The amount calculation is incorrect anyway. The real figure should be US$6.1 milliom per year. Follow the calculation below:
No. of applicants per 30 days = 100 x 30 = 3,000
Amt. collect fro applicants within 30 days/a month = US$170 x 3,000 = US$510,000
Total collected from Ghanaian poor applicants per year = 12 x US$510,000 = US$6,120,000 which is approximately US$6.1 million per year. This certainly amounts to robbery and must stop.
Frank Acheampong 8 years ago
In the 90's the US embassy was a place that if told to go and pay your visa fee of $100 then your visa is guaranteed. As to why they have changed no visa no fee policy,I have no idea? Again, you didn't state whether you have the right to appeal the decision. If this option is available then I will encourage you to explore as you said all the relevant documents were in place. I think the need to support your earlier assertion that till you know someone in high place to intercede on your behalf one can't get a US visa calls for proper investigation that will expose all the culprits. Again, like one rightly commented as a nation the need to work together and move forward is imperative if not crucial till this is do we will always suffer this ill treatment from the west.
Ghana Ba 8 years ago
These Americans will steal our money and give it to us back as aid from the American people. USAID
Atuguba 8 years ago
It is the same money they give back to Africa as aid. These crooks will never give you anything for free.
DA OG 8 years ago
There visa fees are not negotiable and non-refundable as stated on the application. The problem is this; most countries if not all countries outside of Africa don't respect Africans and they are really not to be blamed. The rate of visa denial by the US embassy across developing countries is very significant and not only in Ghana. The general perception has been and is that; the average person from Africa will like to remain in the US and any other western country for that matter. This will not change until we show that we can take care of our selves and get rid of the greed and corruption. The economy of Ghana at this point also doesn't help. This is an issue that Ghana will have to deal with by making changes.
Nana Wireko 8 years ago
I would like Ghanaians to advice themselves for not going to the Embassy to apply for a visa which they are not going to get. If nobody go to the embassy to apply for the so-called visa for one year, how would the Embassy get to operate?
nana 8 years ago
as in the case of american embassy,they dont collect documents befor interview.the interview the applicant and demand paper document if the need arises.i accept the insanity of having to coolect a huge sum of money only to tell the applicant in just a minute that he or she is refused.processing fee of 170 dollars?
PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago
Your complaint is nothing new but its like a baby sucking a pacifier story.
In 1977 i had a Full Scholarship to attend Free Gospel Bible College.
My guardian who is a multi Millionaire paid all my school fees to the College.
I went with one Rev Walter Schmidt an American Pastor of the Lutheran Church in Tema community two to the American Embassy.
After presenting all my documents,the man interviewing me looked at my face and said,if you go to America,you are not coming back so i am not giving you the visa.
I left the Embassy and vow never to return to the American Embassy in Ghana.
I moved to Cotonou Benin Republic and got my Visa in 1978.
After i came to America,then i realized that it was Rev Walter Schmidt who told them not to give me the visa.
The worst of all i found his letters with my guardian saying there are many Ghanaian in america who don't return.
Prophet 8 years ago
Does anybody know that Ghanaians has the highest visa over stayers in America (USA) second only to India? That Ghanains illegals are treated better in USA than in Germany and England in fact all of Europe. Nobody hunt them down with dogs as done in Germany and England. What about the women who only comes to give birth at the expense of the American government. Trust me there are too many fakes from Ghana than there is from the rest of the world.
Obaa Yaa 8 years ago
Hello Fellow applicant; sorry your visa was denied, however you should have done your home work about the non-refundable visa fee. After all the Embassy did not force you to apply for the visa. They've the right not to issue visa to all Applicant. Also you may file complaint with the US Dept of Justice. However I will suggest that you get all your facts straight since the investigator will rely on your accusation. By the way Ghana Embassies all over the world can also deny visas to various Applicants plus non-refundable visa fees.
Fuzzy 8 years ago
such foolish comment from dis silly ashawo girl..think wisely before passing ur comment..yarefuo)
T'pau 8 years ago
And so Prince, did you return to Africa after studies? Probably not. So statistically, you are part of the problem too, my dear brother.
Patriot 8 years ago
In Nigeria, the embassy refunds applicants' fees if they are denied. Why not Ghana?
Eric Asamoah USA 8 years ago
Yes develope your country.America has the same soil as Ghana but they have worked hard to make theirs look good.build yours because you have all the resources.
Asiedu 8 years ago
When did they work hard for what?
Do you call stealing and invading peoples countries working hard ?
Stop thinking like a hungry slave trying to impress his boss for a licked bone.
Kwabena R. 8 years ago
Chai,where did Africa go wrong?
#brt . 8 years ago
Americans are afraid of terrorism and the embassy don't want to be blamed if something happens and they won't tell you publicly so you can advise yourself. In 2009 there was an Under-ware bomber on Delta Flight in Michigan who bought ticket online from Ghana. So Understand that there is a lot Fear going on right now.
#brt . 8 years ago
I remember when Ghana Oil discovery was given to Tullow Instead Chevron and other American companies, the U.S was not Happy about it and thought Ghana was anti-American.!
Joe 8 years ago
17,000 by 30 days is NOT 170,000 please.
bongo 8 years ago
you have said it all bro , forward copy of your letter to the department of state and action will be taken on it. do you know how easy chiness get usa visa and their validity is 10 years whiles Africans are given 5 years or refused.
Cosey 8 years ago
They look at so many factors to arriving on a decision on visa application. It is not automatic. A discretion could be used. Ties are some of the factors they consider. They are afraid when u go u won't come back. Out of 100 applicants u were talking about how many wld u think wld return to Ghana? U need your application for what? Did you read the application instructions before applying? Are not people working at the embassy? It is like u have hired them to provide services for u. They pay rent for the offices. Go back n prepare once more. You will be lucky this time. Demonstration can't change anything.
Jed 8 years ago
It's such a pity. Unless we change for the better Ghanaians will continue to be marginalised.
DUNSOR IS BACK 8 years ago
Q. HAVE YOU TRAVEL BEFORE ?
A. U CLAIMED YES
Q. WHERE ?
A. U DIDN'T MENTION ANY COUNTRY .
REMEMBER THE EMBASSY HAS SEEN SO MANY FRAUD AND FAKE DCUMENTS AND THEY NEW GHANAIANS ARE LIARS THEY DON'T RETURN BACK . GOOD L ... read full comment
A. U CLAIMED YES
Q. WHERE ?
REMEMBER THE EMBASSY HAS SEEN SO MANY FRAUD AND FAKE DCUMENTS AND THEY NEW GHANAIANS ARE LIARS THEY DON'T RETURN BACK . GOOD LUCK KEEP PUSHING DON'T GIVE UP .
joe 8 years ago
crook crooks crooks that's all.
inkoom 8 years ago
A child can joke with the breast not father testicle.
Yamed 8 years ago
What the Ghana Embassies (NY/DC) are doing with regards swindling Ghanaians and Americans alike is worse! Enough said
?ghananyi 8 years ago
How do you complain to the US justice dept
Kwasi Boateng 8 years ago
Will help demonstrate.is a good idea
Bob kook 8 years ago
I thank you brother.
This is the spirit of Elijah,he fear not he is of sound mind,this is common sense if the so call America is super power why then taken money from ( underdeveloped country ) the lower class so call, and ... read full comment
I thank you brother.
This is the spirit of Elijah,he fear not he is of sound mind,this is common sense if the so call America is super power why then taken money from ( underdeveloped country ) the lower class so call, and denigrate them services?
AWAKE,AWAKE,AWAKE ,they are wounded lions seeking for whom to devour.
King David Adu ii 8 years ago
Mr the embassy is something else..they are stupid and barbaric
Nana Yaw 8 years ago
Really really crazy the way they behave!I disagree with people saying we should stay in Ghana n stop going to e States.Is it not a global world? Don't i have my right to go wherever i want to go? Why do they also come to Ghana n what are they doing in my country? If you got nothing doing there you can afford to make irresponsible statements as that!Is Ghana not heavily dependent on imports? What capacity do we have now interms of production n even if we have no country is an island, not even the U.S!We shd all come together to fight this canker n stop blaming each another!What at all is wrong if one wants to visit U.S? Is America not a nation of immigrants? Those crazy folks refusing visas shd go n check their history to see where their predecessors came from!Such a stupid behaviour shouldn't be tolerated in this Ghana!If they don't need us in their country then they should close their embassy in Ghana.Is that the way we treat them when coming to Ghana? It's a huge disrespect to every Ghanaian n must be fought vehemently wt every might!Well done to the noble jonoulist who brought this issue up.Big respect to u.
Kwame 7 years ago
The world is not a socialist utopia. When you apply for a US visa you know your chances are 1 in 10. My advise to you is simple. Don't go there. Help make Ghana a better country by spending your money at home. At the end of the day you have no power over America
VERY VERY SERIOUS
This is an issue that affects almost every Ghanaian on this forum but fear of retaliation has muted everyone of them.Is this the democratic principles Ghanaians are always aspiring to?Is this the type of friendship we work so ...
Simply develop Ghana and Africa for that matter so you all don' ...
“So that day alone, the embassy made a gain of US$17,000 from the one hundred applicants that visited the embassy for ...
Pity that today ...
The best solution is to strive to develop our country so our offsprings will not endure ...
You said it all bro
Well, I don't think that's the solution, I think it's something we all have to stand up and say NO to. Even if we are developed we will still need to go on holidays elsewhere, now how will they believe you then,if they cannot ...
I have said this before and I will repeat it here.America or U.K for that matter is not forcing anybody to go and give them $170 for a common interview.If the government and stupid parliamentarians think it is okay then why a ...
My daughter, a graduate nurse with 11 yrs experience, married with 3 kids won the diversity lottery in 2014. She had applied indicating she was married with 3 kids nd had won. In April 2015 they were all invited for interview ...
Unfortunately this particular problem is spiritual in nature. True the visa process is fraught with peril at our expenses, however truth must be said,if our leaders were genuine, none of us would ever have left. Have been aw ...
Papa Kwasi, when your daughter won the visa lottery the American embassy did not ask her to borrow the money for the process. She did that out of her free will so where is the 419 here. Please let's be realistic in our commen ...
Civilized country my tie. Most Anerucans are ignorant bumpkins who have never travelled out of their state. As you can see, it's a racist society that is currently going through much turmoil. Don't waste your time to go there ...
Every country has policies in awarding visas to visitors to their country. It is a yes or no question. They inform you on the form that the fee is non-refundable either way and the writer knew that before he went in there so ...
No. of ...
In the 90's the US embassy was a place that if told to go and pay your visa fee of $100 then your visa is guaranteed. As to why they have changed no visa no fee policy,I have no idea? Again, you didn't state whether you have ...
There visa fees are not negotiable and non-refundable as stated on the application. The problem is this; most countries if not all countries outside of Africa don't respect Africans and they are really not to be blamed. The r ...
I would like Ghanaians to advice themselves for not going to the Embassy to apply for a visa which they are not going to get. If nobody go to the embassy to apply for the so-called visa for one year, how would the Embassy get ...
as in the case of american embassy,they dont collect documents befor interview.the interview the applicant and demand paper document if the need arises.i accept the insanity of having to coolect a huge sum of money only to te ...
My guardian who is a multi Millionaire paid all my school fees to the College ...
Does anybody know that Ghanaians has the highest visa over stayers in America (USA) second only to India? That Ghanains illegals are treated better in USA than in Germany and England in fact all of Europe. Nobody hunt them do ...
Hello Fellow applicant; sorry your visa was denied, however you should have done your home work about the non-refundable visa fee. After all the Embassy did not force you to apply for the visa. They've the right not to issu ...
Americans are afraid of terrorism and the embassy don't want to be blamed if something happens and they won't tell you publicly so you can advise yourself. In 2009 there was an Under-ware bomber on Delta Flight in Michigan wh ...
you have said it all bro , forward copy of your letter to the department of state and action will be taken on it. do you know how easy chiness get usa visa and their validity is 10 years whiles Africans are given 5 years or r ...
They look at so many factors to arriving on a decision on visa application. It is not automatic. A discretion could be used. Ties are some of the factors they consider. They are afraid when u go u won't come back. Out of 100 ...
A. U CLAIMED YES
Q. WHERE ?
REMEMBER THE EMBASSY HAS SEEN SO MANY FRAUD AND FAKE DCUMENTS AND THEY NEW GHANAIANS ARE LIARS THEY DON'T RETURN BACK . GOOD L ...
I thank you brother.
This is the spirit of Elijah,he fear not he is of sound mind,this is common sense if the so call America is super power why then taken money from ( underdeveloped country ) the lower class so call, and ...
Really really crazy the way they behave!I disagree with people saying we should stay in Ghana n stop going to e States.Is it not a global world? Don't i have my right to go wherever i want to go? Why do they also come to Ghan ...
The world is not a socialist utopia. When you apply for a US visa you know your chances are 1 in 10. My advise to you is simple. Don't go there. Help make Ghana a better country by spending your money at home. At the end of t ...