You are here: HomeNews2024 03 28Article 1923648

Ghanaian fibre optics inventor Dr. Thomas Mensah is dead

Read Comments Comments (117)

• Kyere Nimo 1 month ago

Oh God! my condolence to his family, may his soul rest in peace

• Abena DAPAAH is a THIEF 1 month ago

OMG!! MAY HIS SOUL RIPP. A BRILLIANT MIND WHOSE EFFORT TO CHANGE GHANA NEVER MATERIALIZED. AN ICON. CONDOLENCES TO THE FAMILY

• Rex 1 month ago

Abena Dapaah de3 Abena Dapaah is a thief,ckrcmfoc no nyinaa nenam hc ama cnyansafoc seyi ewu,may he RIP.

• Dead ghanaians are the only good ones 1 month ago

Nice

• Unpredictable Oye Onye Kwasi Atta 1 month ago

Very sad. My condolences to his family and friends. By the way, did he refund our 2 billion aborted Accra sky train money before departing to the ancestral World?

• Mr Bones 1 month ago

Are you stupid or you don't do research,this man was jeered and bullied for trying to do things at cheaper prices. Your useless father is at home drinking apio,!

• Dr. Williams Obinkyereh 1 month ago

He did not promise a sky train. He promise to develop a Bullet Train in Ghana from Accra to the north. You are confused. Akufo-Addo promised a sky train. Go and collect the money from Akufo-Addo. This guy was a noble man. He ...

• ST Ghfuo: Gh leaders are not enlightened 1 month ago

He died too early. Ofcourse, I suspect foul play im sure some ppl didn't like he often speaks with brash n conviction it rubbed them the wrong way ye gh ppl with little brains every little thing obtuse n upsets them. What was ...

• Historian 1 month ago

Thank you for correcting him/her, they like to comment on things they know nothing about!

In this day n age any nation, CITY without skyscrapers, , STREET NAMES, HORIZONTAL N VERTICAL PLANNED STREETS is PRIMITIVE

• Kkk 1 month ago

Ghanaians are mourning

He was deaded early became chose to reside in kumasiano lol food poison ppeeerrr

• Buertey 1 month ago

Oh no! May his soul R.I.P. So, our politicians didn't let his Railway network around the country never happened.

Shame on our politicians!

• Freewill 1 month ago

Sorry for the lost. With his knowledge n inventions, all benefits to the usa. What's the status of our Ghanaian telecom and Internet system? Ghana has gems like this man but the wicked n greedy politicians have captured the s ...

• The Spear 1 month ago

He's NOT the inventor of fiber optics as captured in the headline. That's faulty attribution. It's a lie. Instead, he increased the manufacturing speed of the high quality fiber optics from e meters per second to 50 meters pe ...

And you spear what history have YOU made?

• Mr Bones 1 month ago

Meanwhile gyimi fuo old man who chopping girls and taking dollars in black bags are bathing in the sky. Nana addo please when will you also die , you see all the grown ups are dying

• Ghanaboy, Dunkirk, Scotland 1 month ago

No no no no!

• Snyder 1 month ago

You see your stupidity! Ass hole

• SADLY HIS CALLS FELL ON DEAF EARS BECAUSE THE FUNDS HAVE BEEN LOOTED BY AKUFO-ADDO. 1 month ago

SADLY, THE PROF'S NAME DID NOT SOUND AKAN ENOUGH, SO NO ONE LISTENED TO HIS CALLS FOR GHANA TO MODERNIZE AND INDUSTRIALIZE FOR THE COMMON GOOD LIKE WHAT THE TAX-FREE GULF ARAB LEADERS HAVE DONE IN STYLE AND WITH COMMON SENSE. ...

• SADLY THE PROOF'S CALLS FELL ON DEAF EARS BECAUSE THE FUNDS HAVE BEEN LOOTED BY AKUFO-ADDO. 1 month ago

SADLY, THE PROF'S NAME DID NOT SOUND AKAN ENOUGH, SO NO ONE LISTENED TO HIS CALLS FOR GHANA TO MODERNIZE AND INDUSTRIALIZE FOR THE COMMON GOOD LIKE WHAT THE TAX-FREE GULF ARAB LEADERS HAVE DONE IN STYLE AND WITH COMMON SENSE. ...

Gh hospitals like abbattoir they will cut cut you like frytol bottle n beef

• OYOKOBA 1 month ago

Oh no. Too sad to hear of the passing of this Ghanaian hero. Though he lived much of his productive adult life abroad, the Ghanaian in him. never left. His inventions ranged around the world to benefit the whole of humanity a ...

• KT 1 month ago

In ghana you’ll die with your ideas RIP

• RIP SIR 1 month ago

Rest in Peace Dr
    You have lived your live well, this is the funeral we should be mourning not the Thief John Kumah who stole Covid 19 monies and God cursed him to death.

• Mawuenyega 1 month ago

Those fools who does say bikini bey3den should come and read here

• Emmanuel 1 month ago

Dr Mensah rest in peace with the Lord. It was a bit too soon, now that he was home helping his country. Let's hope there was no foul play here.

• kanawu 1 month ago

Another son of Asante land.
    Where will Ghana be without the Asante's

• Billy Bunter 1 month ago

Ghana would be like Heaven on Earth if we didn't have to live next to you uncircumcised and uncouth savages!

• Kweku 1 month ago

Kwasea stop taking credit for other peoples effort. Do ur own

• John Awulae 1 month ago

Billy, then who'll feed your people?

• Muntari 1 month ago

Ghana wouldn't be Heaven without Ashantis because bigots like you would find someone else to blame for your inadequacy. Kusasis and Mamprusis fighting in Bawku, wouldn't hold Ghana back but Ashantis will?
    I hope Ashanti King ...

• Historian 1 month ago

Muntari, please hurry up. The rest of the country is sick and tired of the concert. The Volta region which is despised by Akufo Addo is trying to leave but is being held hostage so that its people can continue to be abused by ...

• Joe Inkala 1 month ago

Stupid fool u r. Instead of mourning a great man u r still showing us that u r a bigot. Why don't u declare ourselves independent n see if the rest of Ghana will survive. Kwasia.

• Bastie Asantefourhene 1 month ago

Asantes are Ghana’s main problem. Ghana would be prosperous without you nation wreckers, who hated Kwame Nkrumah.

The Genesis of every problem of this country is attributed to you and your cocaine ex Canadian criminal , ...

Asantes are Gh main problem. Inwardly very Inwardly ppl, me included. Actually I'm lying in not Inwardly with low self esteem neither do I use my Inwardly , selfish attitude to mask my primitive behavior like my fellow brethr ...

• spazza 1 month ago

Hahaha..constipated ,broke mofo.Keep spewing crap then drown in your toilet

• Test 2 1 month ago

MAY HE REST IN PEACE
    WHY ASHANTI IS UNDEVELOPED
    AND ALL THE CROOK ASANTES HAVE INVADED ACCRA THE ONLY BEAUTIFUL DEVELOPED REGION IN THE WHOLE GHANA IS ACCRA THEE LAND OF THE GA PEOPLE
    YOU CORRUPT ASHANTI POLITICIANS IT I ...

• Kwaseafunu 1 month ago

It is Asantefuo who have made Accra what it is. Kwasea

What about kumasi where we are from? They left their homes to go make Accra what it is as you say is that wise or stupid? Wat about where you from? Gyimifuo

• spazza 1 month ago

Our resources were also used by your colonial masters to develop your region.shallap

• Ghana Boy 1 month ago

Without Ashantis Ghana would've eliminated killing innocent people and using their skulls to bury their so called kings

• Trotro 1 month ago

This one needs a State and global attention not John Kuma, politically millionaires.

• RIP!!! 1 month ago

So sad to learn of the death of this great Ghanaian. I only once met him and I was enthralled by how his mind works. May another rise in his stead for the benefit of Africa.

RIP sir.

• Akut 1 month ago

May your soul rest in peace. You would have lived longer and enjoy your retirement if you had stay abroad and visited Ghana frequently. Over the years you lose your immunity to so many gems and it is difficult to build it bac ...

• Nana 1 month ago

And bad air quality. The dirty factories from India and China are moving to Ghana and killing the people through air pollution.

The environment is dirty n breeds mosquitoes and diseases not good for children and the elderly he shoukd have stayed in America you can watch Ghana on TV

• Kwaku 1 month ago

What actually killed the man? The public need to know. The cover up is too much in Ghana. Ghanaian reporter should tell Ghanaians what actually took the man's life.

• Thomas 1 month ago

No world major news has reported this. Ghana's Musk is gone. I doubt if the success stories about him is really true because he's not known and never received a Nobel Prize.

• wofa yaw 1 month ago

Please since we are in the internet age where don't you read from wikipedia.

• Kwadwo Kyei 1 month ago

Elon Musk has also not been awarded a Nobel Prize yet. Maybe the great Ghanaian high achiever would have been given his rightful recognition in due course had he not been taken away from us so soon. May he rest in peace.

• Leinz 1 month ago

God is the giver and taker .May his soul rest in peace, he was a global icon.may God provide the coutry with hudreds of his kind.

• Citizen Watch 1 month ago

May His Soul Rest In Peace. He was a great man!

• Edward adu 1 month ago

Definitely the hospitals in ghana are very bad run by doctors who do not care and I am sure he could have survive in the USA .

• Kwaku 1 month ago

How sure are you that hw would have survived in th US. Is it the case that everybody who gets ill inntge US survives?. Please let's stop talking down everything Ghana. I know that some of these people know they are dieing so ...

• ankoma 1 month ago

Me daase Kwaku. Most ghanafour living in the US and Europe think they have the best health system in the world . That is a blatant lie. Cuba health system is even better than that of the USA. Are nobody dieing in the US? Some ...

Ankoma, something or someone killed him In gh mosquitoes wil fed on you. Dust, funky smells most areas are breeding grfor diseases n children and the elderly have weak immune systems n we have sanitation minister n health mi ...

• HOPE ITS NOT TRUE 1 month ago

HOPE ITS FAKE NEWS

• CORNEY 1 month ago

Ghanaweb, we’re in an era of technology, that guy is not NOT inventor of Fiber Optics. We don’t need these lies, he lied, do your own research.

• wofa yaw 1 month ago

Please read from wikipedia.

• Kofi Mensah 1 month ago

HE IS NOT !!!!

When Fibre Optics was invented, the ma was still s student at KNUST. I know him personally.

Howver, he was part of research scientist who used the aloready existing fibre optics to boost the speed of th ...

Google for Harold Hopkins and Narinder Singh Kapany to get the facts.

The two invented fibre optica in 1954, when Dr Menash was still a small boy.

In the year 1979, I personally took lectures on Fibre Optics being part ...

• Selfmade KING 1 month ago

True but he improved on it tho

It was an Indian tho who invented it tho

Singh Kapany is the Indian

Singh is a common name in India like Osei, Asante, Ebo, Okais in Ghana.

• Trokosi jealous idiot 1 month ago

Cellphone and computer use won't be the same today had it not been his work. Fibre optics had been invented, but his work made it more efficient and useful than what it was. It's like comparing Windows 4 to Windows 11 of toda ...

• Fibre optics was virtually useless before his work 1 month ago

Fibre optics was virtually useless before his work to make it efficient. I don't know you have any idea how phone calls were placed to Ghana even in the early eighties before his work that improved communication on any field. ...

• He should have been in the US 1 month ago

Our stupid slay queen nurses always killing people. So much frustration in Gh. Maybhis soul rest in peace.

• Capo 1 month ago

Mother Ghana will forever remember ur contributions to it development, papa may you find favour before the Mighty King .r i p

• Chef 1 month ago

May his soul rest in peace

• Joy 1 month ago

The powerful man is gone.

• Dr Atta Sam 1 month ago

The use of light pulses to transmit data through cables from one place to another is known as fiber optic communication. Compared to many other forms of data transmission, fiber optics has exceptionally low data loss, a lack ...

• THINK TWICE. 1 month ago

All the useful ones are dying leaving these nation wreckers behind, to continue to plunder the nation some more.

• Isaac Frempong 1 month ago

We have lost a great man RIP I work in Canada as an engineer and because of him the white people respect me. Some of the engineers went to school in USA and they know him they says he was very sma ...

• Gyanfua 1 month ago

NO ONE CAN EVER DO GOOD FOR GHANA IF U ARE NOT IN THE NPP AKYEM GOOD BOOKS.. YOU WILL FAIL OR ELMIN!TED

• Banahene 1 month ago

Really bad, he couldn't finish all the projects began in Ghana. Am very sad to hear this evening.

• Sly USA 1 month ago

Good people are never exposed on the social network for fellow citizens to hear about Few days ago when Ghana internet got disrupted nothing was mentioned about this brilliant man of our own rather thief ,corrupt politici ...

Remember: EMPTY cans make most noise.

Which serious person would leave their work aside and fool around on the social media?

• dashiki 1 month ago

Unfortunately when this man returned a couple of years ago, i suspected our health care system will fail him. Sadly, that has been the case. how long, mother Ghana? Where did Kofi Annan die or JJ Rawlings or Attah Mills or Am ...

• ankoma 1 month ago

Daahika! Stop this kind of infantile argument . Kofi Annan didnt die in Ghana . Is nobody dieing in the USA or Europe? A 74 year old man is dead and this is all u can type about our health system ? People are being saved in o ...

• Bitter truth#1 1 month ago

Awww, this is a big loss to mother Ghana..very sad..was this man sick? Very brilliant and intelligent man..aww we keep loosing brilliant people in our society because of poor healthcare..Ghana Govt, build standard hospitals o ...

• Bitter truth 1 month ago

*correction some of these deaths could have been prevented if there are world class hospitals..awww this is so painful..this man was on a mission to transform Ghana for good..Fellow Ghanaians, sometimes let’s take care of o ...

• C.B Agyeman 1 month ago

Oh,hmmm! It saddens my heart.Am heart broken.May his beautiful soul find a peaceful resting place in the bosom of his maker."Dasebre,nante yie"

• Anim 1 month ago

Apart from making names for themselves, we don't see what contributions these people have done for Ghana. When they die you announce their dead body to us.

• ATA 1 month ago

May he rest peacefully

• WaLL 1 month ago

May He Rest in Peace.but,his name do not appear in Wikipedia as fibre optic inventors!!

• Kwabs, London 1 month ago

Ghana hospitals are slaughter houses. You go there and you never come back alive.Incompetent nurses and doctors are killing Ghanaians left and right. So sad!!!

• Afutuo 1 month ago

6,000 Ghanaian nurses arrived UK 2023 alone to work on your backyard so watch out if ur good to tarnish our undeveloped country Ghana.kwasea

• OGyam 1 month ago

@Kwabs, the perpetual fool! There are thousands of British, American, Germans, French etc who die everyday at the age of 74. Bob Marley, died in his 30s in a German hospital. Will you classify them as incompetent as well? T ...

• Chris 1 month ago

RIPP Doc,

• Kojo 1 month ago

What kind of inventor is he? The man was a loud mouth. Didnt do all. Always begging for money.
    If he invented fibre optic he would have been working with the big boys.
    Just a waste of oxygen, good riddance

• Dee 1 month ago

Fiber optics man the best here in America

• Kwadwo Kyei 1 month ago

Didn't do all? The man never claimed to have done all, whatever this means. You are insulting a brilliant and accomplished man whom you never even knew. And it's all because he comes from the wrong tribe. Thank God. Dr Mensah ...

• muntari 1 month ago

are you sure he was the inventor ???

• Gary Houston 1 month ago

My deepest condolences to his family and Ghana

• Anthony Adusei 1 month ago

So sad.
    May his soul rest in peace. Ghana has lost an icon.

Because the family did not share with Nigel he did not prophesy this.

• Tanking 1 month ago

Rest in perfect peace Sir

• Rex. 1 month ago

There should have been license copyright premium pay to him and nation by gaint telecommunications companies who use his works but I don't think, there exist nothing of such?

• NPP NEVER AGAIN 1 month ago

HAS HE SOLVED ANY OF GHANANAS PROBLEM? LETS THINK PLS

• NDC FINGERPRINTS, NDC FINGERPRINTS, NDC FINGERPRINTS, NDC FINGERPRINTS, STILL WE DO NOT KNOW HOW ATTA MILLS DIED!!!! 1 month ago

NDC FINGERPRINTS, NDC FINGERPRINTS, NDC FINGERPRINTS, NDC FINGERPRINTS, NDC FINGERPRINTS,1 hour ago
    NDC FINGERPRINTS, NDC FINGERPRINTS, NDC FINGERPRINTS, NDC FINGERPRINTS, NDC FINGERPRINTS, NDC FINGERPRINTS, NDC FINGERPRINTS ...

• Citizen 1 month ago

Hmmm!The thought of him came to mind few days ago as I was thinking of great men and women of our motherland.Dr Mensah.We are thankful to Lord for your life full of dedication to humanity.Rest well sir .

• THESE TWO AKANS THIEVES FUCK EACH OTHER 1 month ago

SADLY, PROF'S NAME DID NOT SOUND AKAN ENOUGH, SO NO ONE TO HIS CALLS FOR GHANA TO MODERNIZE AND INDUSTRIALIZE FOR THE GOOD OF ALL. THE MONEY FOR GHANA'S DEVELOPMENT OS IN AKUFO-ADDO PERSONAL FOREIGN BANK ACCOUNTS. THE REST WA ...

• SADLY HIS CALLS FELL ON DEAF EARS BECAUSE THE FUNDS HAVE BEEN LOOTED BY AKUFO-ADDO. 1 month ago

SADLY, PROF'S NAME DID NOT SOUND AKAN ENOUGH, SO NO ONE LISTENED TO HIS CALLS FOR GHANA TO MODERNIZE AND INDUSTRIALIZE FOR THE COMMON GOOD LIKE WHAT THE TAX-FREE GULF ARAB LEADERS HAVE DONE IN STYLE ANS WITH COMMON SENSE. THE ...

• DrG 1 month ago

Rest in peace Prof!

• WEB AFRICA. 4f4c4t 1 month ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - Business/Corporate Websites.
    - Real Estate Websites.
    - NGO/Donations websites.
    - Ecommerce website.
    We are running PROMO for 5 years domain and hosting (website). Visit: www.JustracAf ...

• Dallas 1 month ago

We mourn his loss as a Ghanaian but he is not the inventor of the optical fiber. He contributed as chemical engineer in the US to increase the manufacturing speed from 2 meters per second to 50 meters per second. That's his c ...

• Gozzo 1 month ago

Has he trained any Ghanaian to continue his legacy, Rip

• Mikey 1 month ago

May his soul rest in peace

• ROGUE LAWYER 1 month ago

JESUS CHRIST!!!!!!!

• MONITOR UR CARS AFRICA. 9K0t5 1 month ago

TRACK and MONITOR your vehicle (Car/Motorbike)on your phone/pc anytime with our Car Tracking systems. Shutdown engine remotely, Set geofence, Voice monitoring, etc. PRICE: GHS750. Visit: www.JustracAfrica.com HNJ7

• What a loss!!!!!!! 1 month ago

Oh!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Ama Nakuah 1 month ago

Don’t you do your due diligence as a news organization? This man was a fraud. He doesn’t even have a patent on what he claims to have invented. Do the research and find out the truth. Ghanaians are so gullible and easily ...

• Awuradebasa 1 month ago

Tell us what you found about his claim

• Ghanaba 1 month ago

Ghanaians always have a way of telling lies and laying claims and also twisting history. Lets be careful as a country

• Breda 1 month ago

If you are a real developer who really wants to build something extraordinary in Ghana here try as much as possible to avoid association with npp party or Government because they are enemies of Ghana's progress so they wi ...

• jerry gogo 1 month ago

Most missed, surely!

• Kojo 1 month ago

Deserves a state burial

• Awuradebasa 1 month ago

So sad
    Ghana didn’t the real usage of his intelligence because he spent most of his life in the USA.
    Rest in peace big brother