You are here: HomeBusiness2014 07 23Article 318146

AngloGold Ashanti closes Obuasi mine in December

Read Comments Comments (31)

• sam. 9 years ago

AGC WAS REALLY DOING WELL until they merged with Anglogold which according report has a history of colapsing other well performing mining company.I remember at the time of the negotiations,Rangold quoted much more than Anglog ...

• ELINAN 9 years ago

Who mined the gold for the Asante kingdom b4 the white criminals came?
    Who mined for the Malian and Ghana/Songhai Empires 800 years ago?

• ELINAN 9 years ago

Old Ghana empire was like day with local technology that mined gold without white criminals around EVER, for the likes of King Mansa Munsa the richest king of all time. And there was no recorded poverty of the mind, body and ...

• ?2U 9 years ago

The people in the area must stand up now for their land,i tell you they are going to destroy big land,pollute more rivers and people are going suffer more than this.

• DAN 9 years ago

the will cut the tops off of mountains and pile the dirt in valleys clogging streams

• DAN 9 years ago

God gave you brown skin and small monkey brain to be the perfect slave for the white and china men!

• C.Y. ANDY-K 9 years ago

Elinan, why don't you find out that for yourself? You guys really have a romantic view of those predatory African kingdoms.

To help you in your research, look for Rattray's book to read. Hmm! It was considered beneath a p ...

• Francis, Obuasi 9 years ago

They can close the mine today. We're fed up with them. Before the mining our fore-fathers were farming and living big times. They can close mid-day today. Ahba!

• MAHAMA - DOING MY JOB 9 years ago

I KNOW YOUR FRUSTRATION BUT HONESTLY OUR FORE FATHERS WAS LIVING IN POOR AND GHANA POPULATION BACK THEN IN 1957 WAS LESS THAN 4 MILLION .

• William 9 years ago

The population was 6 million but the resources mines was enough. Now we produce more than 6 times the gold our forefathers produced but we are porr. The reason is that Rawlings and Kuffour listend to the world bank and our sl ...

• Ben 9 years ago

Poor governance by our leaders has landed the company in this situation. So sad. No Ghanaian operated company to boast of after 57 yrs of independence

• Nzema K 9 years ago

I dont blame these foreigners. I blame our half-cooked graduates placed at the helm of affairs

• GOD DEY 9 years ago

PLEASE DO NOT CLOSE OBUASI MINES. HANDOVER TO THOSE WHO CAN MANAGE IT.POOR ANGLOGOLD.

• TEDDY 9 years ago

THERE ARE A LOT OF ORE BODY IN THE OBUASI DEEPS, SO DON'T LET US DISCOURAGE WHAT MANAGEMENT WANTS TO DO.

• KOFI AMADI 9 years ago

SHAMEFUL DECISION.HEN NOW LAYING WOODEN EGGS.WILL MISS THE GOLDEN EGGS

• BUGART 9 years ago

WITH NDC EVERYTHING GOES BAD FOR GHANA. WITH NPP IT'S ALL BLESSINGS AND DISCOVERIES. GHANAIANS SHOULD KNOW THAT NDC IS A CURSED PARTY WHEREAS NPP IS BLESSED PARTY. SHOULD GHANAIANS OPT FOR NDC AGAIN, THE FALL WILL BE DEEPER. ...

• ELINAN 9 years ago

Shine your eyes.

• Dr. B 9 years ago

Let's look very closely about the environmental effect of surface mining. This talk and talk of gold in Gold Coast yet people are still suffering. Farm lands taking away, rivers polluted, few pockets getting rich. As3m b3ba ...

• Musah 9 years ago

Surface mining by Anglogold? Oh Ghana, what crime have you committed? We are going to witness the destruction of our forests and rivers as a result of this unfortunate decision if steps are not taken to halt it. I believe it ...

• 4 Year Old 9 years ago

Obuasi does not replicate the status of a golden town. They talk about billions of dollars of revenue coming from this company but the city does not reflect the riches it portrays and it's a shame.

• yentie obiaa 9 years ago

THINGS FALL APART!

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

SURFACE MINING IS ENVIRONMENTALLY DESTRUCTIVE AND ANGLO-GOLD SHOULD BE BANNED FROM ENGAGING IN IT.

• kk 9 years ago

Always profit on their mind but not even thinking of break even sometimes just to save the worker.

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

THE OUTCOME OF A BOGUS DEAL INITIATED BY THE NPP GOVERNMENT IN THEIR EIGHT YEARS OF ADMINISTRATION UNDER THE LEADERSHIP OF KUFFOUR.

NPP ONLY CAME TO POWER TO DESTROY THE ECONOMIC FOUDATION LAID DOWN IN THE IN THE COUNTRY. ...

• Kwasisei 9 years ago

Surface mining - hm, so nobody out there even thinks of the cost of deforestation; & what does the nation as a whole benefit from this inductry anyway - Ghana ......... there are no ideas

• Insight 9 years ago

We should protect our land and Forest. We should forbid all surface mining because they are destroying Ghanaian vegetation and agricultural land.
    The Gold money does not benefit the populace but destroy our land.
    We d ...

• Akomadan Adjei Nkansah Belgium 9 years ago

CRIMINAL,CORRUPT MAHAMA IS NUMBER ONE BIG GHANA HISTORY,MAHAMA IS EVIL AND FAKE TO THE NATION

• akora oteng 9 years ago

AGC has been earning a lot of money from mining here in Ghana, then come that stupid director who merged it with ANGLO Gold and others where there have not been any golds and yet they get higher pays than Ghanaians and gave " ...

• AKWASI ABANGA OFFINSO SAMPROSO 9 years ago

THEY ARE HELPING COUNTRY BECAUSE OF THIS WAHALA RULING GOVERNMENT by AKWASI ABANGA

• AKWASI OFFINSO SAMPROSO 9 years ago

THEY ARE HELPING THE COUNTRY, BECAUSE OF THIS WAHALA GOVERNMENT

• Hon. Mahmoud Kweku Sabbah 8 years ago

We pleade our government that our brothers i mean the Galamsey boys. You rally no that there is no job in Ghana here why have you stop them not to work there your excerlency. At the end of the day they would not get work to d ...