You are here: HomeBusiness2014 09 01Article 323774

60-tonne cargo limit harms economy

Read Comments Comments (9)

• FRANKIE 9 years ago

WE HAVE TO BUILD GOOD ROADS SO WE CAN COMPETE FOR BUSINESS AND BOAST OUR ECONOMY. IT TAKES TOO LONG WITH OUR ROAD PROJECTS AND UNTIL WE MOVE FASTER TO CATCH UP WITH THE ECONOMIC GROUTH WITHIN WEST AFRICA, WE WILL BE LOSING BI ...

• frank 9 years ago

LET THEM GO. THOSE WHO REMAIN IN GHANA ARE THE TRUE CIVILISED ONES. THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD NOT GIVE IN EVEN IF ALL OF THE HAULAGE TRUCK OWNERS MOVE TO NEIGHBORING COUNTRIES.

THAT IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU ARE DEALING WITH GR ...

• Mensah 9 years ago

Kwasea, do you know how much it cost to run those trucks? A full tank of diesel fuel from Kumasi to Tema or Takoradi will cost you a minimum of GHC600.00. If Ghana's roads were built to International standards like the neighb ...

• Mensah Paa 9 years ago

Maybe the roads are good in Ivory Coast (around Abidjan), but you have obviously never visited Ghana's neighbours nor have you heard the wonder with which they talk about ours when they come here.

• Bibini 9 years ago

I believe the maximum load for a truck with 6 axles is 44 tonnes in the UK. Considering the quality of roads they have and the relative cooler temperatures which help prevent the tar component of road melting and damaging roa ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

Well, you're right. However though, the government of Ghana has no railways in place to transport the excess load off the overburdened roads like we see in the industrialised nations. So, until she does, the government has no ...

• JH New York 9 years ago

I wonder if there could be any form of harmony.The problem on the ground is that
    Cote d'IVoire etc,has 1st class roads.
    So Ghana has to spend money to build durable roads to be competitive.
    Therefore what Dr Kofi Mbiah s ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

The Ivory Coast has got a first class road network in their economic capital of Abidjan and the administrative capital of Yamoussoukro and that is about it. The rest of the country is in a sorry state as far as road network i ...

• Mensah 9 years ago

Go to google earth and compare Ivory Coast roads to that of Ghana, Ofui.
    Satelite images don't lie