You are here: HomeNewsDiaspora2013 06 24Article 277780

Ghanaians to pay £3,000 cash bond before entering UK

Read Comments Comments (93)

• ////////// 10 years ago

THIS IS JUST NOT FAIR.

• Debbie 10 years ago

... will they return the £3000 with interest. Methinks this is just another money-making scheme from the British government. The duration of a visit visa is 6-months and just imagine how much money they will make just by inv ...

• Koloxoxo 10 years ago

ghana this is shit, we can't tolerate all this nonsense for free, it's part of the racial system. ghana should adopt the same measure against the british by multiplying 3 times so when we pay 3000, the British pay 9000, it's ...

• unlimited 10 years ago

We do need to suck their ass also by charging them $10,000 to enter Ghana . our coronial masters still not satisfy by stealing our minerals sources. oyibo na yeye

• JP 10 years ago

make money out of this. So you suggesting, that even though the visa is 6 months.. the only way they will make money is if people over stay. COngrats on your admittance. I hope the U.K deport you are aliens, and take your mon ...

• Nana Prempeh Vancouver BC Canada 10 years ago

This sound like a bankrupt nation trying to nickel and dime visitors to survive. This is not about visa abuse, it's all about scooping funds. Bankrupt Britain, just understand; the tide has changed and you gonna be down there ...

• Ohemaa 10 years ago

Chat an illogical comment JP. Debbie is obviously referring to the interest the home office can make by holding on to such huge sums for 6 months. If u ask me, they're just trying to cash in on a situation they're unable to c ...

• JP 10 years ago

What situations. ? As far as the U.K or Britain is concern. They can do whatever they like. If you don't like it and you intend to overstay then dont go there to lose your money. What is illogical about what I wrote, obviousl ...

• OLDMAN GYASI 10 years ago

DO THE SAME WHEN THE BRITISH ENTER GHANA.

• OZA 10 years ago

I agree with you Oldman Gyasi. That's how diplomacy works. YOU DO IT TO ME, I DO IT TO YOU! But I wonder if our government will have the gut to do it to the British citizens.

• James B. Otafregya 10 years ago

Tit-for-tat will be goog, but that won't affect the Brits entering ghana because, in the first place they can afford it and finally they don't come to Ghana to overstay, so they'll certainly get their monies back.

I the lo ...

• kwame Pittsburgh PA 10 years ago

How many Brits have that money. Maybe u live in Ghana and u think white people are rich. We can also cut the white trash who come here, even if 2 are able to come we have 6000, good enough, tit for tat is the way to go and re ...

• Ohemaa 10 years ago

Hilarious! Brits can afford £3000 a visit? They complain even about a 50p increase in prices. You obviously live in Ghana.

• Enough Nonsense 10 years ago

Reciprocity is the name of the game absolutely or as we say in Ghana: do me, I do you.

But nobody should hope our supremely corrupt and foreign-dependent leaders have the balls to stand up to this brazen, racist British af ...

• Albert Smith 10 years ago

Thinking about the visa system. British people already pay for a visa - yet the demand to visit Ghana by British people is still quite small. Ghanaians visiting the UK is very large indeed. Suggest: Scrap the GHANA VISA c ...

Africa is rising, we are no longer in those days when all u hear is disease and wars. They are coming in droves, charge them or let them sit their white ass in their stinking country, we don't need them, domesticate tourism a ...

• Ligth 10 years ago

HOW MANY BRTTISH ERTER GHANA?

MY FRIEND YOU BETTER READ GHANAIAN HISTORY AS THE BRITISH HAS BEEN COMING AND BE WITH US SINCE HUNDREDS OF YEARS AGO NO MATTER HOW THE "VISA FEES"

• Kofi UK 10 years ago

They will simply not come. Ghanaian diplomats never refuse visa for foreigners entering Ghana. There is no scrutiny at all. You just pay your visa fee and that is about it. We simply just need the money so anything goes.
    I d ...

• Earl Jones 10 years ago

incidentally, the £3000.00 bond applies only to only countries from indian and Africa. white countries or African countries with a sizeable proportion of white are exempted. Yet another xenophobic immigration law from the UK ...

• Arnold 10 years ago

White countries do not nee a visa smart guy.

WHY is it that the whites dont need a visa to enter england?Are they citizens of the british empire or because of the color and if so/not so,are they not discriminating Ghanaians because of our natural color?

• OZA 10 years ago

No, it is not really about color. Whether one requires a visa or not to enter another country is dependent on the agreement between the two nations. Americans for example, need visas to go to Ghana, but they don't need one to ...

AMERICANS dont need visas to England because of the white skin majority and even though then can afford to pay 3000pounds yet are free to be there anytime without paying a cent.On the contrary the british are requesting 3000 ...

• Tabs 10 years ago

yes, do the same to the brits

• Albert Smith 10 years ago

Do the same to Brits - fine. Number of tourists to Ghana / Nigeria will reduce to zero. Embassy staff likely to 419 £3000. Most who come to Ghana do so on business. £3000 not a problem.

Where do u live? How many Brits have 3000? We need money too. Good for us our people will stay home and work for Ghana but any Brit who wants to come here should pay same. It will even out of the number reduces, no cheap visa ...

• Akua Mobius 10 years ago

Sheer selective discrimination! But it is their country; don't go there if you do not want to be a bona fide visitor.

• Asorkpo 10 years ago

Shame on the British Government.They are now broke and therefore want free money from visitors.
    What is here that they want visitors to pay money?
    They will soon beg people to come and visit.

• Naa 10 years ago

Well, they won't receive any money if people do not overstay their visas, will they?

• Asorkpo 10 years ago

They know very well people would still over stay their visas.
    Poor Britain can't even maintain their soldiers and therefore has resorted to cuts.
    Shame on you Cameron!!!

• Naa 10 years ago

Well then maybe that's an issue with Ghanaians themselves then? No one's fault but yours if you overstay, is it?

• Asorkpo 10 years ago

This is nothing but another stupid law from the Tories led by idiot Cameron who have no clue for anything in government.
    The British people are suffering because of your bad economic policies and therefore no amount of st ...

• Sam 10 years ago

They have misused their public funds to fight useless wars in the name of int. peace. This time a cat and mouse game is over, the countries being targeted should retaliate without hesitation to match with int. law. e.g there ...

• Asorkpo 10 years ago

Nonsense and nonsense again.After increasing visa fees to rocket high this is another way they want money on top of that.
    Ghanaians stop coming to Britain.
    Britain is a third world country.

• Boakye Ansah 10 years ago

Well these countries should do the same to British nationals. As a matter of fact, have the Brits produce twice the amount when entering Ghana in cold cash. Similarly let's double our current Visa fees as well. This is totall ...

I totally agree with you, double visa fees let them deposit 6000. We actually don't need these people here. We also need money.They are better ways to check illegal immigration but if they go ahead fine we shd do same this si ...

• Veronica 10 years ago

I do not necessarily agree, but as a Londoner it is well known within the Ghanaian community that many are overstaying without their 'papers'. They are illegal immigrants, plain and simple. In fact, some are living in the poo ...

• Aj-usa 10 years ago

Wow.woman'i want to know if you're African British or white British. be'cos you're comments make me sick in the stomach. do you know matter of fact ur so called British is not the economical power in Europe,thanks to the Germ ...

• Veronica 10 years ago

You haven't answered the question at hand though. You can insult me all you want but the issue is if Ghanaians are overstaying and becoming illegal, then it is their loss to lose £3000? No one else's fault. And of course, I ...

So because you were born in the UK, it legitimizes your argument? That is so selfish and child like. It is like me saying I am a US citizen so we should impose outrageous requirements an all Mexican and people of hispanic des ...

• Otekokoooso nana. 10 years ago

and so what? your parents were once illegal immigrants so give us a break. liar.

Simple as that, u don't think. Illegal immigration is illegal but this is discrimination and it is not acceptable anywhere. They can increase the fees but we should do same here in Ghana. They are saying all Ghanaians. Oh u w ...

• WEAR 10 years ago

You see, that is why Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah never kotow to this imperialist and started doing his own thing, building factories, roads, hospitals, using our raw materials for manufacturing whilst these British imperialist ...

Veronica,those Ghanaians who come there come simply because they want a better life, that is what "all this is" about - in response to your comments. Why do you reside in the UK other than the fact that you might be a natural ...

You are useless human being, this is discriminatory. I am qualified Dr, trained in the US and can travel everywhere, as a matter of fact I am on my 2nd Ghanaian passport now so this does not affect me but i cannot sit down an ...

• Duuna ( Bottocks ) 10 years ago

I refer to Veronica's contribution about the measures taken by the British being fair on Ghanaians as some are illegals and don't have their PAPERS. Nobody goes to the UK with papers. You have to stay there to acquire one. Ia ...

I refer to Veronica's contribution regarding measures taken by the British being fair to Ghanians. Nobody goes to the UK with already made papers in hand. You have to stay there to acquire one. Iam sure Veronica was there in ...

• Veronica 10 years ago

Again, I have to comment and say I was born in the UK and so were my parents, my grandparents were Ghanaian. Your point is invalid, sorry to disappoint you.

You live in Chorkor-guys dont worry yourselves about this Nima girl, u don't even befit Nima, they are better human beings than you cos u are a liar. Your grand parents went to Uk and gave birth your parents hehe. Nkontompo h ...

• Veronica 10 years ago

Haha pathetic. I studied at the University of Leeds, in fact, so yes. Woodhouse Lane? Hyde Park, i.e. student central? The new Trinity shopping centre that opened a few months ago? The White Rose shopping centre? The beautifu ...

• WEAR 10 years ago

Leave Jesus alone on this matter

hehe

I refer to Veronica's contribution regarding measures taken by the British being fair to Ghanians. Nobody goes to the UK with already made papers in hand. You have to stay there to acquire one. Iam sure Veronica was there in ...

• kwasi 10 years ago

I think Mrs May Has got it all wrong. She has failed to tell the British people the truth and bringing her anger on minorities. The truth is that we pay for our visa and yet take any form of work for Eastern European national ...

• KOFI CHUMASI (USA) 10 years ago

BRAVO..BRAVO..BRAVO..OMG THIS IS GOOD NEWS FOR ALL LAW ABIDING CITIZENS ADNA LEGAL RESIDENTS IN UK TO STOP ALL VISA FRAUD ACTIVITIES IN GHANA AND OTHER AFRICAN COUNTRIES.
    IM HOPING FOR USA TO REQUIRE EVEN MORE MONEY/CASH BON ...

• @#$$$ 10 years ago

ur mother didnt u come here illegally and perform fake marriage with an akata to get your authorization???? see the akata woman open ur eyes now check how he is spelling his name. ABOA

• JiMY SOMER 10 years ago

no embazy no visa

• NPP 10 years ago

YOU CAN MAKE IT IN GHANA WITH 3,OOO POUNDS.

• U.S.A 10 years ago

THE BRITISH ARE AT IT AGAIN. THERE IS NO OTHER COUNTRY IN THE WORLD TO PLUNDER. WE GHANAIANS AND ALL OTHER COUNTRIES IN THE WORLD WILL ALSO CHARGE BRITISH CITIZENS 3O00 POUNDS FOR ENTERING OUR COUNTRIES. THE NERVE OF THESE ...

• U.S.A 10 years ago

BLOODY BASTARDS

I got a job in the UK, Sad I accepted it, what nonsense. I am not affected but makes me angry

• Sansan 10 years ago

How many British can bost of such a huge amount in their bank accounts, another way of ripping the poor from the so-called third world.

• Whatever 10 years ago

A lopsided relation we have with these Brits. If Ghana were to ban the Brits or put impediments on them from entering Ghana, you'd see how these Brits will cry foul with. And you would have some of own backing with arguments ...

• TONY 10 years ago

Who do these idiots think they are? Do they refund visa fees after an applicant's visa is turned down? What happened to all the illegal visa application fees they have been collecting from desperate Ghanaians? Assuming I am g ...

• fbrit 10 years ago

well said

• AUTO 10 years ago

Their fore fathers came to this country and ironically these "commonwealth" countries WITHOUT Visa, overstayed, Looted our countries, stole our gold and forest resources and other wealth, now they have the audacity to ask us ...

• Antoinette 10 years ago

Foreign Affairs make sure you reciprocate this nonsense

• Joe DUSU 10 years ago

WELL DONE
    I THINK THE RATE AT WHICH GHANAIANS ARE STAYING IN UK ESPECIALLY, VERY SOON IF YOU GO TO UK U WILL THINK IT IS GHANA. I MEAN IF CPLANTY CHINESE PEOPLE COME TOLIVE IN GHANA WILL WE NOT COMPLAIN? IT JSUT TOO MUCH. SH ...

• TAMBRO 10 years ago

I THINK THIS IS A STUPID DECITION,IA DOES NOT MAKE SENCE.HOW CAN FOR EXAMPLE POOR STUDENTS WHO MAY BE SPONSORED BY THEIR FAMILY CONTRIBUTION TO STUDY IN UK WHICH IS COMMON THIRD WORLD COUNTRIES AFFORD TO PAY SUCH EXORBITANT C ...

we cannot ask them to stop but we can also do same, we also need money. We are tired of having white british trash come here as pedophiles. How many of these British do have that amount. Mahama Govt this is a challenge, start ...

• Eko 10 years ago

Britain's great but...the weather is terrible, you get small homes for a large cost, the people are miserable (unless very drunk), it's expensive and the education system is not as competitive as it used to be. Oh, and there ...

• Kanewu 10 years ago

I dont blame them, I pity the so-called leaders in our country. They are beggers,that's why I never bother going to the polls to cast a vote. Ridiculous. An insult to the land. Ask the Brits, how many of them have got £3000 ...

• Kofi Bassar 10 years ago

Our government should to protest vehememtly and threaten to leave the Commonwealth.
    Stop doing business with the Brits. Boycott British products. Natioanlize their Banks.
    Britain is broke and this is another form of Land p ...

• yd 10 years ago

British to pay £6,000 to enter Ghana,because they are richer than Ghana and they can afford it.

• Nii Joromi 10 years ago

Not all whites are rich.I'm better off than most of them.

• maiga 10 years ago

it very simple,other countries should also charge the same amount for any british that enter their country simple fix..

• NTAMKESE 10 years ago

GHANA MUST APPLY SAME MEASURE TO BRITONS IF THAT LAW/POLICY BECOME LAW IN THE UK. THEY SHOULD STOP THEIR STUPID DISCRIMINATION AGAINST US!!!

• ' and Jesus wept ' 10 years ago

Blame our selfish leaders who helped to overthrow Kwame Nkrumah and end up conniving with the same perpetrators to steal our wealth to foreign countries. Let's build our nation and we will not worry about the Brits increasing ...

• Good News-Bad News 10 years ago

Make this law reciprocal and retroactive. Then the goddamned British will be owing some hefty sums to it's so called colonies. Add to this the interest owed on all stolen services and resources then we can begin to enter a co ...

• ABUI 10 years ago

Damn the visit to uk

• Nii Joromi 10 years ago

The average Brit lives in poverty or on credit cards. How many of them have seen 3,000 pounds in cash before?

• charles 10 years ago

if Ghana decides to retaliate, it wont help because how many British do you imagine will overstay their visas in Ghana. They'll get every money back. Mahama and co. might even end up stealing from the bond fund.

• KOFI BENTUA 10 years ago

You colonized our country and imposed the British way of living on us. You even shipped some of our ancestors out to work for you as slaves to make your island what it is now. Not to mention our Gold that you stole to make yo ...

• Kyei 10 years ago

do same to them.

• justtet PhD 10 years ago

the fact is the british will make a lot of money from this especially when they invest within the 6 months period. the 3000 pounds is just too much and majority of the british citizens themselves cannot afford this. this is j ...

• KWADWO ANTWI {CANADA} 10 years ago

COMMONWEALTH INDEED.
    WHAT A GOOD TREATMENT FOR COMMONWEALTH MEMBERS .ANOTHER ROBBERY LIKE THE COLONIAL ERA WHEN THEY STOLE FROM THEIR COLONIES.

• ONYAME NIPA (Man Of God) USA 10 years ago

THIEF MAHAMA

• ONYAME NIPA (Man Of God) USA 10 years ago

STUPID MAHAMA

• LANGA EMMANUEL 10 years ago

UK CITIZENS SHOULD PAY $3000.0 WHEN COMING TO GHANA

• paa pee 10 years ago

Are we still with the Commonwealth?

• Rose S Bonsu NY 10 years ago

I do not blame the United Kingdom asking for three thousand pounds bond in advance before granting a common holiday visa to see the different site of the world after working for may be two to four years. All is because of the ...

• Ama Bossman 10 years ago

Good Idea because Ghanaians come to Uk WITH NO MONEY to visit and they overstay
    In Uk money dont grow on trees

If a British person on holiday they make sure they have money to spend till the holiday is over.
    Africans com ...