You are here: HomeNewsDiaspora2014 07 07Article 315742

Germany decides long last over Dual citizenship

Read Comments Comments (25)

• Ghanababa 9 years ago

This is good news for migrants but a bitter choice for Germany as their strategy of managing their ageing population in future has been dented!
    If our leaders are wise as me, they will start training specialist health care p ...

• Paa Joe (UK) 9 years ago

"Under the new law passed last Friday, those born after 1989, that is from 1990 will now be allowed...."

Who doesn't know 1990 comes after 1989?
    Ghanaian journalist waste time with repetitions that don't add any more mean ...

• Big Joe (Germany) 9 years ago

I opine, the reason for the vivid explanation from the columnist, Francis Tawiah might simply be, people like you, Paa Joe (UK) may find it difficult to differentiate between those born "after 1989" and "from 1990" hence his ...

Well Big Joe, thanks for your intervention. You seem to have produced more heat than light , on the subject of poor journalism.
    In my school day we did something called "summary writing" where you condense a whole page into ...

• Big Joe (Germany) 9 years ago

Author: Paa Joe (UK)
    Date: 2014-07-07 15:21:20
    Comment to:Paa Joe (UK), your likes may not get it!

Well Big Joe, thanks for your intervention. You seem to have produced more heat than light , on the subject of poor jou ...

• Kobina 9 years ago

What's so great about Germany changing it's laws? No one in their right mind will sacrifice life in Germany "Heaven" for Ghana "Hell" anyway. Even if they get $100billion of oil revenue, it will still be hell

• Ayatola 9 years ago

I think Paa Joe is right.
    Even on radio and on TV the journalist go on aaaaaaaa Haba?
    Small matter and they write so so plenty.

• Palmwine Tapper 9 years ago

Don't bet on GH DUMB Leaders and their gross greed than the nation at large.

• Nora Owusu 9 years ago

I would like to say that Germans have done well for passing this new law about dual citizenship in order to avoid making a bitter choice. God bless the land of Germany, a foreign land that cares about its foreigners. It is ...

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

So you STILL believe this fairy tale about Abraham and Sarah ?? At least, you don't hurt anybody by believing the Kwaku Ananse stories!!!

• Kobina 9 years ago

Bloody Self righteous and sanctimonious people. They do bad deeds every minute, so they need these quotes to pacify their conscience.

• ********** 9 years ago

Do not know if Ezekiel is your true name or not, but how ironic to have a name that originates from the book of "Kwaku Ananse stories"!

• Che 9 years ago

It is a win-win situation. Germany will now become comfortable home for immigrants, immigrants will be proud to be Germans, like those in USA, big image of Germans in the eyes of immigrants will reduce, etc. But, this is gene ...

• KOO 9 years ago

GERMANY AND SCANDINAVIAN COUNTRIES ARE DOING SOMETHING RIGHT ECONOMICALLY GHANA CAN LEARN.

• Ben the great 9 years ago

Yes, Dual citizenship for kids of Immigrants. That s good. What about Dual citizenship for the parents??? Most Ghanaians german immigrants , just like me got German passports. Their Ghana passports have been taken by the the ...

• ANTI 9 years ago

BEN THE GREATE, THE ANSWER IS THAT THE DUAL CITIZENSHIP WILL ALLOW YOU TO VOTE IN GHANA'S ELECTIONS. NDC LEADERSHIP BELIEVES GHANAINS IN THE DISPORA WILL VOTE AGAINST THEM. DO YOU BELIEVE THAT?

• Stockholm 9 years ago

" it is impossible to be loyal to two countries."

Well I know it is very unlikely now, but let us just assume Germany starts another world war.. A 3rd world war, will the dual nationality holders have a choice to go to war or not to go to war for Germany?
    Can you imagine a ...

• SOJOURNER 9 years ago

QUOTE OF THE CENYURY
    ;
    Therefore true or genuine chrstianity is to understand, observe and obey the authority of the savior of the world, who is in the person of the Lord Jesus Christ, the first born son of God Almighty, wh ...

• KOO 9 years ago

EDERLY HEALTH WORKERS IS BADLY NEEDED ALL OVER THE WORLD DUE TO BABY BOOMERS IN JAPAN, GERMANY, USA, CANADA, AUSTRALIA,NEW ZEALAND, SCANDINAVIAN

• KOO 9 years ago

EDERLY HEALTH WORKERS IS BADLY NEEDED ALL OVER THE WORLD ESPECIALLY GERMANY, USA, CANADA, JAPAN, SCANDINAVIAN, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND

• KOO 9 years ago

ECOMICALLY GHANA SHOULD LEARN FROM GERMANY AND SCANDINAVIAN COUNTRIES.

• Ben the great 9 years ago

Hello fellow readers! Ghana! Good news for our kids born in Germany. What about we the parents, who were born in Ghana , and are immigrants here in Germany for many years?? I am a Ghanaian immigrant in Germany here. I have a ...

• RTK 9 years ago

Ben the great, Since Ghanaian politicians are "Greedy Bastards" courtesy of chairman Rawlings. They make things difficult for you to get dual citizenship, because one day you may go back there to stop the loot.

• JESUS CHRIST TO THE NATIONS 9 years ago

Well done, Germany for the wise and sensible decision taken but go further so that all immigrants who are now citizens of Germany can hold two passports if they so wish.