You are here: HomeBusiness2024 04 24Article 1927538

Mahama's 24-hour economy is best sellable policy in Ghana's current economy – Economist

Read Comments Comments (57)

• Ras Michael 3 weeks ago

24 hour economy is not new thing in Ghana, but the government should explain to the masses how his policy is going to work because before you can implement such policy certain structures should be put in place or if thesestru ...

• Mr Smith 3 weeks ago

Ras Michael, one thousand percent on the money!! Your input or comment has no political color. You said it as it is. Straight up sir!!

• OSABARIMA MENSA 3 weeks ago

An ignorant economist indeed. Only demand for goods and services determine if a 'section' of the economy works '24hrs'. Even China does not command a '24hr' economy. Some sections of the economy such as airports may need '24h ...

• Togbe Agorkorli 3 weeks ago

They keep saying, 24hr slogan is will increase production….you can produce as much as you want….but who gon buy? Dumb economist keep talking about the benefits, fcuk that. Tell us how it’s gon be implemented. Dumb dram ...

• Edem 3 weeks ago

Its a stupid policy!!

• Kweku 3 weeks ago

Stomach direction politician of an Economist.. he can only say this to party faithfuls. 24 hour production is DEMAND DRIVEN.
    Lots of companies are already producing 24 hours based on demand! Does he know how long it will tak ...

• Bright 3 weeks ago

Thank you Ras Michael. This exactly what i keep saying, 24hr economy is not anything new. They are not telling us how the structure will be put in place.
    We have an economy that is over dependant on foreign import, the cost ...

• mr amin 3 weeks ago

Another dump economist where is demand for goods to be produced, with the depreciation of the cedi and our weak purchasing power it's not possible in Ghana

• Interlligent Than Mahama 3 weeks ago

Bam. You Are Far Interlligent Than John Mahama And The Whole NDC. Technocrats Are Stealing Government In Broad Day Light Then Talk About Nights. Security, Power etc system not available in Ghana for 24hour economy

• Kwame 3 weeks ago

Is 24 hour economy actually a government policy? Does is it mean government offices will be accessible at dawn? Because that is the only portion that the government have control. Assuming the government gives incentives for p ...

• Osei-Owusu 3 weeks ago

my problem is do we have the structures u said to run 24hr economy to facilitate production.

are there factories and processing plants???
    Some sectors like GHS, GAF, GPS etc already run 24hr economy.

more factories a ...

• SAY MORE 3 weeks ago

ANOTHER PROFESSOR ME NIM HWE! HOW CAN YOU OPERATE A 24 HOUR ECONOMY WITHOUT JOBS. IS MAHAMA GOING TO PAY PEOPLE TO WALK AROUND WITHOUT JOBS OR WHAT? ITS ON RECORDS MAHAMA IS NOT A JOB CREATOR EVEN THOSE HE CAME TO MEET HE COU ...

• Kobby 3 weeks ago

Coming out of bitterness and deliberate deception.
    Ghanaians know the truth!

• Agento 3 weeks ago

Apuuuu, Professor of stupidity, shit economist

• Ghanaman 3 weeks ago

This economist has taken bribe from John Mahama

• Yaw Nkansah 3 weeks ago

Some of our learned people do not even know what they do talk about.What is 24 hour economy and what policy has been issued on it for the public perusal?
    Common road construction that can be done 24 hours each day to employ ...

• Yaaaaaa 3 weeks ago

Are you suprised? The man wants an appointment. He has seen his friendz who have left academia to join the looting brigade and how they are filthly prospering. Lecturers,that is their objective. Eyeing politics as their para ...

• Yaaaaaa 3 weeks ago

Awwwww. 3k)m y3 ya. due ne K)m. )p3 appointment.

• Gh 3 weeks ago

NPP Mboa, so anyone who talks on politics wants appointment?????? This country is full of Idiots.

• Ocloo Samuel 3 weeks ago

Gh but you should talk sense. I thought this your prof will pass sensible remarks backed by examples but he rather spoke vaguely.
    He couldn't mention one produce that we can rely on for 24 hour economy.
    It is obvious thi ...

• Madiba Mandela 3 weeks ago

Exactly am shocked. A professor of economics. God have mercy on ghana. Speaking without any practical examples.

• Alonzo 3 weeks ago

You yourself you dont understand the 24 hour economy you are talking ahout. Stop denegrading your professorship.

• TEDDY 3 weeks ago

You may be right but the NDC and Mahama themselves do not understand the policy. How can farmers work in the night or a wakye seller and welders operate in the night? I hope eating too should be 24hrs. Please they need your h ...

• ray 3 weeks ago

The incompetent himself and his cronies cant explain what the 24hr economy is and how they are going to implement it .

• apuuuu 3 weeks ago

A solgon can't create any job because the 24/7 economy are already in the system besides how's Mahama going to pay for this 24/7 economy by giving free money or rise taxes Mahama needs to explain himself well

• SOS 3 weeks ago

Terrible idea!

What roads will he use to deliver that 24-hour economy? And with what quality of human-capital and moral fibre?

• james 3 weeks ago

You are a Professor but it does't make sense because know for sure that it is not possible because, Ghana is already struggling with power and water shortage evry now and then so where are going to get these two very basic an ...

• Ghana 3 weeks ago

The biggest Ghana problem at the moment is the economy, so any policy that do not include the economy is a useless policy, the state of the economy demand a 24 hour work, n those who destroyed the economy are going around ta ...

• mr amin 3 weeks ago

Ghana' biggest problem is the depreciation of the cedi it's the mother sarpent of all our economic woes

• Pelicles 3 weeks ago

Makola professor. Tweakai. Who made this fool a senior lecturer at the University of Ghana business school? He had polluted the minds of his students because of "nokofio" he had sold his inner soul to John Mahama for politica ...

• Light 3 weeks ago

You're right on point! 24 hour is created by DEMAND and SUPPLY.

• Don 3 weeks ago

Since when did you get to know this, have you ever thought about this as an Economist? Confused scholars who never propose any thing but quick to judge everything.

• Deedee 3 weeks ago

How much did they pay you to toot this policy that only works in developed countries noted for huge manufacturing companies and industrialisation which allows them to have hundreds of thousands of jobs that run 24hrs. Go sit ...

• BIGGGY 3 weeks ago

Prof it is the same as 1D1F. It becomes 24-hr, when we have good marketing outlets for products and need to employ more people. Cannot just start a 24-hr economy. It will be too theoretical.

• KOFI MONKEY 3 weeks ago

PROF. I RESPECT YOU PAAAAA LIKE!!!! WHAT IS 24 HOUR ECONOMY PROF?

• Cambodia"88 3 weeks ago

The true state of the nation Ghana.. Too much dust had been thrown into our eyes that we cant see properly and so we end up believing anything they tell us.. How criminal they can be..

• Kofi USA 3 weeks ago

You’re a liar, Lord Mensah … how do you explain 24hour economy in Africa when advanced manufacturing economies can’t even afford it. How’s it going to work in Ghana? Do you realize that the government is the biggest e ...

• Brigadier sabari v.2 3 weeks ago

I give up on educated fools. Ei! University of Ghana, how do you have such shallow idiots in your fold? OMG

• Victor A. Young 3 weeks ago

Tweaa, so all these sycophants call themselves "Economists" in Ghana..?? Mama Mia..!! Please give Ghanaians a break and get lost with your bullshit.

• Ocloo Samuel 3 weeks ago

Dear Economist Prof Laud Mensah, I greet you.

I am wondering how you can produce when nothing shows there is the demand for your product?.

• Odem 3 weeks ago

24- he economy. It baffled some of ys when we hear NDC and H.E J.D.M talking about their new 'sligan' when he was the President could not employ worker even under the current one shift system. What magic is he bringing to emp ...

• Sam 3 weeks ago

This alcoholic professor won’t let our ears rest. Haba. He’s behaving like those prophets who always want to be in the news.

• Yaaaa 3 weeks ago

Same class with akua donkor

• GES 3 weeks ago

You see how stupid some Ghanaian youth can be. Because of politics you people refuse to think and use your wisdom( if you even have some) , read the article very well. According to the Professor targeting key aspects of the e ...

• Adam 3 weeks ago

You are so right ✅️

• Kwame 3 weeks ago

Really? Certificate is all required to make someone wise. So Siaw Agyapong out is smaller than certificate. No wonder we are a failed state. 24 hour economy cannot be a delibrate government policy it is only a driven policy b ...

• Nawaa 3 weeks ago

Are you stupid. When will the macro economic situation be fixed to restore investment, higher productivity and private sector competitiveness in the current 8 year economy. When will inflation, interest rates, fuel and energy ...

• Phylum 3 weeks ago

A country where politics have made the intellects to refuse to think. How can a country run a 24 hour economy system when the key apparatus to implement such policy is in crisis, thus electricity?

• Adam 3 weeks ago

Some companies already run 24 hrs shift but of late , with dumsor , and high taxes etc ... it s not profitable so it s not new in ghana

• Del 3 weeks ago

I like how people simplify our problems especially those politically inclined. We are in a global market economy and to be able to compete we first have to start getting real value for our mineral wealth. All this nonsense ab ...

• Sage 3 weeks ago

Look at his unkempt stupid 24-hr face.
    An ignorant and stupid Economist.

• James Owoahene 3 weeks ago

Mahama's 24-hour economy is just a mere slogan. It is not a plan. Ghanaians need a PLAN. In order to get a 24-hour economy you need to fix the economy first. Alan Kyerematen's GREAT TRANSFORMATIONAL PlAN (GTP) is what is guar ...

• Mr. Man 3 weeks ago

24 hour economy? Answer to our woes??lol

Its corruption. Get rid of corruption and then systems will start working. Then maybe we can talk about a 24 hour economy
    Its so strange how can he not talk about corruption.

• Jennifer 3 weeks ago

All because you have a PTOSTITUTE -mindset.

ECONOMIST? What a joke?

It is easy said than done. Under DUMSOR 24 HRS ECONOMY.

Where are the resources for the DAYS LET ALONE NIGHT?

DO YOU KNOW THE NUMBER OF SECURITY ...

• Gh 3 weeks ago

Stop the lies because you can't force anybody to work in the night if there are no jobs. The only areas that are functional in the night in our current circumstances are night clubs, galamsay and transportation. Sawmill use ...

• Edem 3 weeks ago

These are academic liars. Well, I will say this. If Mahama were that serious, he will tell Ghanaians exactly what he will do amidst the current economic waves for the 24 hour whatever whatever.

All lies to trick Ghanaians ...

• Nawaa 3 weeks ago

Economist be this? Sir please explain in economic terms the meaning of "24 hour economy" as intended by the Candidate, and how it will be achieved. With your level of education and lectureship in Ghana's premier business scho ...