You are here: HomeNewsElections 20082024 04 02Article 1924171

If Akufo-Addo goes ahead to sign anti-gay bill, he will be jailed - New Juaben South MP

Read Comments Comments (139)

• THE CHILDREN FIRST 1 month ago

Does the constitution allow us to jail a President for signing a bill.

This too me MP.

,...correc.. this too be MP.

'''......He asserted, "That foolish thing called LGBTQ cannot be tolerated. The 1992 Constitution already frowns on it. So, we, the MPs, based on powers given to us, support the anti-LGBTQ+ bill in parliament...

"If the p ...

• Who Killed Mills 1 month ago

Bisue and nyantechi self want make MP so nothing new. we have double salary and all. If he is a goat say he is a cow. if he is black say he is white, now the npp too are equalising. if he takes bribe say he is good for an MP ...

• Turning the Corner 1 month ago

Another stupid MP, he wants to eat his cake and have it at the same time, you think you can hid in court blame he stupid CJ Madam Tookonoo for accepting what you call following thing lgbpt++??
    The good people of your constit ...

• P Djamgbe 1 month ago

Nkwaseasem! Was the E-levy not in court when Akufo Addo signed it into law? Every single one of you (NPP MPs) are against the bill but because of votes you are scared to come out openly and condemn it. Which Akufo Addo is in ...

• KBK 1 month ago

You are a big liar. If NPP people are against the bill, Parliament wouldn't have passed it unanimously. What Propaganda are you doing? Individuals both in NDC and NPP disagree with the criminalizing of "kojo Besia". If someon ...

• Power outages are going on and people are worried about what someone is doing in their bedroom ? 1 month ago

I’m so confused as to how this is even a conversation when 12 year olds are getting married to 65 year olds, there are power black outs, mothers and babies starving to death.. but somehow people find time to worry about who ...

• Power outages are going on and people are worried about what someone is doing in their bedroom ? 1 month ago

I’m so confused as to how this is even a conversation when 12 year olds are getting married to 65 year olds, there are power black outs, mothers and babies starving to death.. but somehow people find time to worry about who ...

• All these people with stupid ideas. 1 month ago

Please stop this foolish bedroom remarks. who told you is secrecy? it only fools who thinks the this is is bedroom business.lack of knowledge is difficult. Is marring more than one not a bed room issue, but if against law in ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 1 month ago

This tells you that we live as a society and we have Societal Norms. Every society has its norms. In Ghana, you can’t date somebody’s wife if you all agree to just do that. In the Western World, you can’t openly be marr ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 1 month ago

Mr. Baafi? Nobody can jail another country’s President on any such issue because the President has Diplomatic immunity and Uncle Sam can’t decide for Ghana. The worst she can do is to encourage the Western World to put sa ...

• Shocking…..evening English classes recommended 1 month ago

“If Akufo Addo goes ahead TO sign”……come again Mr MP, seriously? Christ!

• BAWULIAR,,, WE WANT YOUR STANCE ON TRUMU TRUMU 1 month ago

BY 5TH APRIL 2024,, BAWULIAR MUST COME OUT CLEAR ON LGBTQXYZ++ OTHER HE WILL BE ADDED TO THE SPONSORS AND PROMOTER OF TRUMU TRUMU LIKE HIS FATHER NANA TRUMU ADDO

• KBK 1 month ago

WHY ARE YOU NOT CALLING JOHN MAHAMA TO COME OUT CLEAR ON THIS ISSUE BUT YOU'RE CALLING BAWUMIA? AT LEAST WE KNOW JDM BEST FRIEND WHOM HE VISITED IN HIS BEDROOM ALONE IS A RENOWED GAY IN THE WORLD.

• Yaw Wontumi 1 month ago

The dzimakpla akuffo addo is a big idiot. Descendant of criminals and traitors. Family of monkeys baboons and apes. Dzimakpla akuffo addo.

• KBK 1 month ago

DON'T BE CONFUSED. AFTER THIS LAW IS PASSED, MEN AND WOMEN WHO ARE NOT RELATED BY BLOODLINE CAN NO LONGER SLEEP IN A ROOM TOGETHER ALONE ANYMORE. ALL THAT IT TAKES IS FOR ME TO RAISE AN ALARM THAT TWO WOMEN/MEN ARE DOING "TRU ...

• Be careful KBK hahahaha 1 month ago

Haha KBK, it will be easy to accuse anyone… be careful. It might be you that is accused.. people who promote the silly anti lgbtq bill are too stupidd to realize they can too be accused of lgbtq acts as well…

• Which IGP? 1 month ago

Who is going to send the police to Jubilee House to arrest and jail the President for fulfilling his constitutional duty by signing a bill into law that has been duly passed by Parliament by an overwhelming majority of MPs (w ...

• Jesus Christ is the only Saviour 1 month ago

For how long will you trust politicians? Psalm 62:8 says “Trust in Him at all times, you people: pour out your heart before Him. God is a refuge for me”. DON'T TRUST Politicians, THEY ARE LIARS, DEMONS AND OCCULTS. THEY A ...

• Bobby Stones 1 month ago

Liar, stop throwing dust into the eyes of the gullible, ignorant public. You're not qualified to be in the legislature if you're such an ignoramus. Can you quote any law to support your claim? We have the men indeed.

• Koliko 1 month ago

Then do be it. How I wish he could even be killed

• Poor Ghana cannot sign lgbtq 1 month ago

It is because Ghana is full of poor monkeys. You will all die of hunger if he signs the bill.
    Poverty is already killing many you need gay money from IMF. Monkeys

• the truth hurts Omanbapa 1 month ago

IM SHOCKED MPO HOW THIS HILLY BILLY IS CALLED AN HONORABLE, WHICH LAW OR CONSTITUTION INSTRUCMENT JAILS A PRESIDENT FOR SIGNING A BILL APPROVED BY PARLIAMENT??? JUABEN, IS THIS THE ONLY MAN YOU HAVE COMPETENTLY TO BE AN MP??? ...

• Mr Bob 1 month ago

Abaaaaa, abaaaaa ba abaaaaaa was it not the same president who signed the E.Levy bill when there was similar case in the court

• Kid 1 month ago

So shocking. I think he is only feeding on the ignorance of the masses there.

• Agyeman 1 month ago

Yes, if the Law found him guilty he should

• Doe 1 month ago

Was he not the one who signed the E - Leave? Did he wait for the ruling before signing it? Please don’t think we are fools in this country.

• KBK 1 month ago

THERE WAS NO INJUCTION ON THE E-LEVY. SOMEONE SENT IT TO COURT FOR WHAT REASON? HUMAN RIGHT IN PAYING A TAX? THE E-LEVY CASE WAS DEAD ON ARRIVAL. THE PRESIDENT SIGNED THE E-LEVY BEFORE IT WAS BROUGHT TO HIS ATTENTION. GET YOU ...

• Sunday+and+religious+gatherings+dress 1 month ago

So this man is in parliament passing laws?

• kwame 1 month ago

HYPOCRATES, PRETENDING TO BE WITH THE PEOPLE

• James 1 month ago

It was this same big fool that went to his constituents to deceive them that when the E-levy is passed all problems will be solved and that we won't go to the IMF for small boys to dictate to us

• Flint 1 month ago

Meaning jail awaits him for signing e-levy while it was in court?

• KBK 1 month ago

IF IT'S REALLY TRUE, THIS NDC RASCLES WOULD HAVE SENT THE PRESIDENT TO COURT. IT'S NOT EVERY CASE IN COURT INJUNCTS ANOTHER FROM GOING AHEAD WITH SOMETHING.

• Moha@30 1 month ago

Just bcos of political power,heads with brains now speak like fools and idiots no more reasoning at all,

• Ddddddd 1 month ago

Why was he not jailed for E-Levy ???

Same context

• Gamel 1 month ago

THIS IS COMPLETE FALSEHOOD, PALPLE LIES. IS THIS MORON AN MP?

The foolish and heartless MP went to church to lie to the people of God in front of God and yet nothing pricked his heart that I can't do this here. This is how they have lied to us and looted so much without any conscience.

• Badu-Yeboah Emmanuel 1 month ago

foolish talk. a whole mp talking rubbish like this?

• Sam George 1 month ago

Stupid fool. See his dirty face. Villager. So this idiot too is MP for New Juaben South. Aaarrhhh. They voted for this fool?

• Kwame Baafi 1 month ago

Another criminal taking Ghanaians for granted as if he is the only wise person with wisdom by throwing dust into their eyes .

• Kofi Nyame 1 month ago

SOMETIMES I ASK MYSELF WHAT DOES THESE PEOPLE TAKE GHANAIANS FOR ? IT BAFFLES AND CONFUSES ME . IS THAT A WHOLE MP ?

• Sam Fante warrior. 1 month ago

This monkeys fools are talking Ghanaians for granted.

• Tygar 1 month ago

What will Ghana loose if you and Akufo Addo go to jail?? Your black face is like Akufo Addo

• Kingteye 1 month ago

When you have people like this guy at the helm of affairs, they can only produce nothing because there's simply nothing in their heads to do anything

• Adpoc 1 month ago

THEY LIE BAD, APOOO, THE CAN'T BE JAILED IF HE SIGNS THE BILL INTO LAW.
    WHO ARE THOSE MONKIES THREATENING THE PRESIDENT
    THEY CAN GO TO HELL. WHO BORN DOG.

• Paluta 1 month ago

Illerate bush Ashanti man.the president assented to the e- levy bill whiles it was disputed is court but was never jailed.ur Anus like ur mouth.

• Gh 1 month ago

Why then did he sign the e- levy whiles it was also in court?

• Kwasi 1 month ago

What a disingenuous brute with a failed attempt of causing mischief by lying through his butt hole

• nana 1 month ago

Why cant GOD ALMIGHTY eliminate elements like this useless MP....AAAAAAbaaaaaa

• Tetteh Zutah 1 month ago

This one too is an MP...
    Ghana is Sick

• Driver mpo nie na mate?laughable 1 month ago

Ei Kofi Basfi and lies, oo dabi dabi dabi. Where from this rubbish?

• Joy 1 month ago

No president on his sense will sign a LGBTQ bill to be law to punish our LGBTQ guys. Nana addo don't sign. End your badness on the corrupt way you have done to Ghana like what mahama did during his time

• Sam Fante warrior. 1 month ago

Who will jail that ugly old chimpanzee homosexual criminal ? NPP is a America CIA slave masters party in Ghana full of illiterates secret homosexuals. Enemies of Kwame Nkrumah and Ghana.

• EL Chapo 1 month ago

All these fools claim to be educated and self accepted Gem. And see how lose this donkey speaks. The president has the right to sign any bill for him. U think u talking to ur tribes men from caves and holes. Within Asantes an ...

• A concern citizen 1 month ago

Gyimieee saaa

• Alexander 1 month ago

I'm little convinced what people are saying about NPP is LGBTG+ party is true

• THEREALTRUTH 1 month ago

MP the country has bigger wahala to be concerned about than people's sex lives. Why pass a bill...and people will still do what they do. Pasd a bill on Corruption and enforce that. Pass a bill on clean water flowing though th ...

• You’re worried about what two adults do in their bedroom? 1 month ago

Soooo true!!! Why are politicians and leaders even discussing what two consenting adults do when there are actually problems in Ghana. Why don’t you include clean drinking water, food, and healthcare into your “family val ...

• Joe 1 month ago

Anyone who believes in this MP is an illiterate and ignorant pro-Max. Why was he not jailed when he signed the e-levy bill because that was also in court? You think you can fool the people all the time, right. Of course some ...

• Gaza 1 month ago

Did the president go to jail for the killing of 8 people?
    I don’t see a single sensible person in this NPP party.

• Fathia Fata Nkrumah 1 month ago

There is nothing you can say to clean the President and make him look good . In Ghana we can't jail a president, and for what purpose do you even think he will be jailed if he assents to a bill passed by August house of Ghan ...

• SHUT UP RETARDED IDIOT OKYERE BAAFI KWASIA 1 month ago

BUNCH OF IDIOTS LED BY MOTHER SERPENT OF ALL CRIMES AKUFFO ADDO. BUT EVERYTHING HAS ITS TIME AND THE TIME COMES WE SHALL SEE MMMMMMOOOOOOOAAAAAAA MA.

• Why wasted more time with this nonsense 1 month ago

Lghtq while there many problems the nation is facing we must be very serious as a nation

• Power is going out and people are worried about what someone is doing in their bedroom ? 1 month ago

• K mainoo 1 month ago

Nansins did he respect the rule of law when it came to e-levy? Give us a break. So so politricks

• Ghana 1 month ago

Npp always playing with Ghanaians mind..the president does not want to sign d bill period..

• Elephant Farmer 1 month ago

He is a human rights lawyer. We have this, boy or girl by body, but they behave or misbehaving unlike as supposed to. New Juaben South MP is NDC or NPP, my journalist? Kk. Studying in Ghana will never get accepted in Abroad, ...

• Kobed 1 month ago

Akuffo Ado has baby testicles unlike Yoweri Museveni the Ugandan President. It takes a president like Yoweri to change the "Status quo" in Africa.

• Ahmed 1 month ago

That baafi is he a lawyer

• Aahhh 1 month ago

This man paa

• the truth hurts Omanbapa 1 month ago

JUABEN YOU HAVE SEEN THE FOOL U VOTED FOR AS MP, TELL HIM TO GO HOME AND ENJOY OPPOSITION BECAUSE POWER MADE HIM TO THINK HE CAN GO TO PARLIAMENT WITHOUT UR VOTE OR HE THINKS HE PRESENTS HIMSELF. AKUFFO ADDO ISNT GOING TO NO ...

• CJ 1 month ago

Clearly, his constituents sold their colour TV for a black and white.Mumu

• kes 1 month ago

How can you be lying like this even in the house of God, eiii so you don't fear God hmmm.

• Jb 1 month ago

He signed the E Levy bill when it was in court but he is a free man today. Don't be dishonourable and a deceitful MP. Don't be a useless MP.

• Mr. Joseph 1 month ago

Ghanaweb Editors:
    Have you run out of news stories? Why this nonsense?

• Dr. Benjamin Anwaah Ibrahim 1 month ago

These guys are brainless fools and that includes this Baafi guy. How was the president privy to Richard Sky's injunction before it was even filed? Your grandparents didn't give you enough wisdom. Buffoons!!

• Honesty 1 month ago

Sometime I wonder how this guy gets the nod as my MP

• Ben 1 month ago

Baafi has always been an idiot so I am not surprised. Anyone who believes what he is saying has a bigger problem than the homeland. New Juabeng South is a shit hole because of him. The least person to disrespect LGBT should b ...

• Yaw 1 month ago

Our parliamentarians this time including the speaker has brought a big shame to Ghana, most of the parliamentarians don’t deserve to be in parliament they have lost respect from the general public as we speak. Every nationa ...

• EDWARD 1 month ago

If this is an MP for party then no wonder what Ghana is going through now.
    Legally you challenge a law in the Supreme Court, but you don't challenge a bill that is not yet signed into law. What is the Attorney General doing ...

• Akwesi NyameAdom 1 month ago

It's absolutely nonsense for this useless MP to think he can confuse the minds of Ghanaians.Our politicians who are absolutely our employees have now become more powerful than we the employers. We must amend or change our con ...

• Akos 1 month ago

LOok at this one too.

• Abam 1 month ago

Nonsense and Nonsense again .This NPP criminals take Ghanaian s for fools.E-LEVY was in supreme court but Akuffo Addo sign it without going to jail .

• Nana addo 1 month ago

Hahaaha this guy di3333 herh wagyimi k3k3 you remember the e-levy time wei nso y3 mp

• Majj 1 month ago

This man is very stupid, even more than the word stupid. Why do people think Ghanaians think like them. Where on earth do you have that useless information from. Another sad day for Ghana

• Era of the con men 1 month ago

Isn't it clear that Akuffo Addo sponsored the guy who took the anti LGBTQ bill to court in order to dodge signing it? Indeed this is the era of the con men. Hahaha, imagine the amount of money that has been thrown into the un ...

• For what reason 1 month ago

For what reason(s) will the president be jailed for exercising his constitutional right. It's about time Church of Pentecost stop giving platform to such people

• Ceeeee Gele 1 month ago

No need to jail him!he’s a dead goat!

• WH 1 month ago

I don't blame the mp ,I blame those dumb congregants who sat down listening to such rubbish without pointing out to the so called mp that he was lying

• Ben 1 month ago

What are you talking about? The bill is NOT a law so the Court should NOT have entertained the lawsuit. This means the A-G should have argued in Court for this very reason. However, because the president has his own motive of ...

• ofi Adu 1 month ago

The law has to be respected. Because there's three branches of government in Ghana. The Presidency, Judiciary, and Parliamentary. Each has to do their part.

• Kojo 1 month ago

Ignorant in highest order, He does not know sitting president cannot be prosecuted. They are all empty headed claiming they have the men.

• Sammy from kumasi 1 month ago

Stop your propaganda thing. Who will jail him dont think you are smart than ghanaians
    Akuffo want to sign when NPP loses the elections you want to do everything to hang on to power.but remember God enthrons and dethrons

• Siabonga ny 1 month ago

Hw3 n) gyimii bi

• Sammy from kumasi 1 month ago

Pls who ?
    Me ?

• Sam 1 month ago

Jail for what reason ? This guy is a fool. MP ? Hehe

• The Piper 1 month ago

Why are these Npp people lying to Ghanaians like that? Nana went to church in 2023 and said Ghana will never accept LGBTQ+, but look at the way they are dribbling us now! Just sign the bill and stop this nonsense! Ghanaians, ...

• For what reason 1 month ago

And is this man an Elder of the church?

• Nobody 1 month ago

THEY THINK THEY CAN FOOL EVERYONE ALL THE TIME.
    They are just saying it with their mouths, but in their hearts they fully support LGBT, when has the president become a law abiding?

• Ben 1 month ago

The leaders we elect is a reflection of our society!

• Ama Koranteng 1 month ago

These people think we are idiots

• Aponkyi 1 month ago

This moron, typical folly thinks we are fools.

• Nico 1 month ago

So all these animals are MP's in kwame Nkrumah's Ghana, good God.

• Michael 1 month ago

Please go tell kindergarten kids this story.

• Kusu bile 1 month ago

Nonsense, why are you delaying it but hurriedly told the unanimous FC to dismiss that of the vetting of the ministerial nominees? You people think all Ghanaians are fools like the nppigs

• All these people with stupid ideas. 1 month ago

How can the courts sit on an act that has not been enacted into law.So many FOOLS in Ghana Parliament. Of course Wontumi with his money decides who should become the Vice President So any idiot can go to Parliament. if Zenato ...

• K Baffuor 1 month ago

Ask again

• K Baffuor 1 month ago

You people don’t fear God ooo…even in church???!! Hmmm….the Prez will not and can not be jailed for assenting to the bill. Please stop the stupidity

• K Baffuor 1 month ago

Why can’t Driver’s mate Dr. Bawumia tell his boss that the vehicle is veering off?!! I bet you guess is as good as mine. Bad driver = bad mate. The value is the same

• Blessings 1 month ago

Youth of Ghana and Africa arise, some of these leaders are very useless and greedy. We have to build our nation and continent.

• Nico 1 month ago

Is it not this same animal who said IMF will bring small small boy to come and negotiate for for us

• TonyB 1 month ago

You are talking like an ignorant person Has the court the right to prevent parliament and the president from exercising their constitutional rights And such people call themselve an MP

• Ghanaba KK 1 month ago

JAILED BY WHICH LAW?. NONSENSE !!!
    This is how foolish they have taken all Ghanaians for the past 8 years and want all Ghanaians out of foolishness and stupidity vote for them to extend their evil rule.

• TT 1 month ago

Must you be an idiot to be NPP MP? Just asking

• Kb 1 month ago

This MP does not deserve to be an MP! I do not blame him. Opoku Onyina has proven to them that the past chairman of COP can work together with corrupt politicians to defraud the state of several million of dollars. You think ...

• Martin Kreisler 1 month ago

So this one too is a sitting MP of the U.P. (forebearer of NPP) Tradition? Sadly, times have really changed.

• SON OF GOD 1 month ago

IGNORANT MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT

• Muba 1 month ago

What a lame talk from a man call Hon.Do u think u were talking to fools?

• Lawrence Apuri 1 month ago

Those who are playing politics with the anti-gay bill should give us a break. You are behaving as if you are fighting for independence.
    There are serious problems facing the country such as Education, Agriculture, Graduate a ...

• Foolishness 1 month ago

Any foolish mp speaking

• Adondon 1 month ago

Herh, are you really an MP?

• What a loss!!!!!!! 1 month ago

What kind of stupid people do we have as leaders in Ghana. This one too is an MP? SMH..............daaaabida!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Fools 1 month ago

This useless npp party is full of idiots

• The Elephant( NPP) 1 month ago

This MP is the most block headed man I have seen on this planet. This one too be MP? Akuffo Addo signed the E levy whiles it is in court, was he jailed. Foolish man

• Kwame 1 month ago

Illiterate n ignorant footsoldier… so is this man also an MP. What a shithole country..

• Tosh 1 month ago

What do you take your constituents for, morons?

• ogham boama 1 month ago

Satan is deeply confusing akuffo addo and the Npp, they must quickly redeem themselves from this trumu trumu agenda. God hate that

• MAJOR 1 month ago

See how difficult it is to lie? You have been exposed.

• OKYERE BAAFI IS LYING LIKE NANA ADDO 1 month ago

How will the president be jailed for doing his constitutional duty. Has the president not signed some bills with cases pending on them at court. E LEVY BILL>. This OB is speaking BS knowing majority of the parisheners are une ...

There are currently two Akufo Addos, the one pretending and telling the churches, Moslems, and Chiefs that he is against the act and the other Akufo Addo who is doing everything possible to not sign the bill by hiding behind ...

• Landlord OA 1 month ago

gyimi gyimiii

• Nanaaddomaamtwe 1 month ago

You talk as if the voters are fools

• Achakanapaya 1 month ago

Npp thinks Ghanians are fools. Anyway he can only say such nonsense at Koforidua, he sees the people as Idiots.

• Deen 1 month ago

Hahaha this government has spoil everything in today Ghana. Nothing is working can you imagine he signed E levy when it was pending in the same court he is talking about an Nothing happens no wonder we all know what is in t ...

• Bone crusher 1 month ago

He's seriously lying

• Jack Williams 1 month ago

NOW I KNOW WHY GHANAIANS SAY THE ndc's CANNOT READ AND IF THEY READ, THEY DON'T UNDERSTAND. WE HAVE PEOPLE IN HIGH POSITIONS IN GHANA WHO DON'T UNDERSTAND THE CONSTITUTION AND LAWS GOVERNING THEIR COUNTRY.

• Kolo 1 month ago

Ghanaians are more discerning this time...we know the court gymnastics is for the necessary delay until Nana leaves...

Bawumia will say he will sign to win votes but will not...

The NPP has taken a lot of money from UK ...