You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 08 11Article 282092

Police cannot ban demonstrations in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (30)

• Okoe 10 years ago

Mr. Akron
    You are missing the point. In a demonstration where you have opposing protagonists, the situation becomes chaotic hence to avoid clashes, the police to be proactive, should indeed prevent any demonstration by anyon ...

• CITIZEN ONE 10 years ago

1. Don't you dare compare the Mighty United States of America to this minute experiment called Ghana.

2. Even in America, there are limitations to the Freedoms granted citizens

3. In America, citizens appreciate and res ...

• Muniru 10 years ago

Citizen One, I am not sure you are aware that a still tongue keeps a wise head, otherwise you would not insult the writer the way you have done. As stupid and dump as you are, you need not to air your dirty laundry in public. ...

• IDRIS PACAS alias Pink sheet 10 years ago

The Police did not ban demonstrations in Ghana. The Police ONLY TEMPORARILY banned all demonstrations until the SC rules on the election petition. Remember that during the Ghana@50 celebrations, the same police service preven ...

• Cool J 10 years ago

It is good the wtiter talked only about marches, sit-ins and peaceful demonstrations because I don't remember Luther King and hid followers burning tyres and destroying properties.
    In Ghana, we demonstrate to protest 'lack ...

• Muniru 10 years ago

IDRIS PACAS alias Pink sheet, dont comment on what you lack knowledge about. The police made an emphatic statement that they have banned demonstrations and they will only lift the ban after the verdict. Go and ask the IGP fir ...

• OSOFO KIKIM 10 years ago

THE ONLY PARTY THAT WAS FORMED THROUGH CUOP D'ÉTAT IS THE NDC. GHANAIANS HAVE ALWAYS HAD PEACEFUL DEMONSTRATION. WHETHER THE PRESIDENT LIKES IT OR NOT, THE SUPREME COURT WILL DECLARE WHO REALLY WON THE ELECTION. NDC PEOPLE A ...

• ABROKYERE NIPA 10 years ago

The police is the most lawless institution in Ghana. When level headed people are talking then idiots like CITIZEN ONE also want to comment. Where is the logic in your comment? No wonder CITIZEN ONE is as mad as a hatter. An ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

You are missing the point. The only question is, is it lawful for the police to ban demonstration on that ground.

• Yusuf Iddisah-Tamale 10 years ago

It can never be lawful for the police to ban demonstrations. They do not have the power to do that. It is only the president who can ban demonstration. I can't understand why commonwealth hall students wanted to go on a stree ...

• Dzato Dzata 10 years ago

The police does not have any excuse. They have been trained with the tax payers money to think and provide better solutions. Banning demonstration is not an answer to peace. We like excuses in Ghana too much

• william 10 years ago

Okoe you are right. But our friend should know that Ghana Police does not ban demonstration. Notifying the police by law is not for police to distribute toffee or water! It is to enable them protect life(including protesters ...

• Ato 10 years ago

If demonstrations are likely to disrupt civil discourse, create chaos that threaten peace, people and property...of course the Police can and should stop it.

• Kwadjo 10 years ago

I think what Paa Kow is commiunicating is clear and make sense. I can undersstand where Paa Kow is coming from and the message he is conveying. I want to put it in another perspective for these schizophrenic commentators to g ...

• Abbas Yaro 10 years ago

The police must use their brains. This is an opportunity for the state to reconsider the kind of people the state recruits into the police service. The current police officers are not helping Ghana to grow. Sack the IGP and ...

• william 10 years ago

Thanks to your zombiic mentality, you can only see Ghana police in zombiic terms. Poor chap!

• KUKRUDU 10 years ago

DEMONSTRATIONS ARE A NORM IN LAW ABIDING CIVILISED SOCIETIES!!!! UNFOFTUNATELY, GHANA DOES NOT FALL INTO THAT CATEGORY. TO ALLOW OPPOSING FACTIONS TO HOLD A 'PEACEFUL' DEMONSTRATION ( I am inclined to believe in your case - a ...

• Gyan Twumasi 10 years ago

It is sad what seem o be going on in Ghana. The police have become a law unto themselves. We should not allow this to continue

• km agyin 10 years ago

We seem to be in a police state

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

How

• Skido 10 years ago

Nobody is above the law in Ghana yet some people are treated better than others. We need a revolution in Ghana. This stupidity from our leaders should not be allowed to continue. We are tired of the nonsense from the police

• KUKRUDU 10 years ago

I like your post but you are wrong. THERE ARE LOTS OF PEOPLE ABOVE THE LAW IN GHANA!!!
    SOLDIERS, POLICE OFFICERS & POLITICIANS PLUS THE VERY RICH!!!
    JUST ASK YOURSELF 'WHAT HAS AN ASRMY OFFICER GOT TO DO WITH LAND ISSUES?' ...

• ASIEDU KWAME 10 years ago

THIS ARTICLE IS VERY GOOD. WE NEED MORE TO EXPOSE THE ROT IN THE COUNTRY. ARMCHAIR IGP SITS IN HIS OFFICE AND PROFFER USELESS TACTICS. THIS BAN CANNOT HELP GHANA

• william 10 years ago

You sound like if even the writer asked you to go drink poison because that is good against the government you will rush and swallow same!!!!Gullible friend!

• ohenenana 10 years ago

william you are not making sense. what are you trying to say, anyway?

• ASIEDU KWAME 10 years ago

WILLIAM, I TELL AGAIN, YOU ARE A BIG IDIOT. I AM NOT SURE YOU HAVE EVER MADE SENSE SINCE THE DAY YOU WERE BORN. FUCK OFF YOU MAGGOT

• Barrister 10 years ago

Since when did Ghanaians become timid. How come we have all become silent on the intimidation from the police. It is possible John Mahama is behind it. This is exactly what he did when he asked the Accra Mayor to change the ...

• OSOFO KIKIM 10 years ago

WE CANNOT HAVE FREEDOM UNDER A PARTY THAT WAS FORMED THROUGH COUP. ALL THEY CARE IS TO HARASS PEOPLE AND TAKE AWAY THEIR PROPERTY. GOD WILL PUNISH NDC

• Borga Ku Gu 10 years ago

wow, i did not know that these things are happening in Ghana. And you people are not talking about it? Ghanaians are cowards

• Steve Biko 10 years ago

God save Ghana if police can just initiate useless laws to silence everybody. where are the civil society organizations? Are they aware of the ban?