Travel and See: The Dilemma of Ghanaians Abroad

Read Comments Comments (41)

• Wofa Kwame 10 years ago

Small boys are indeed very young.

Tweaaa!!!

Kwame

• Ocean 1...Brisbane, Australia 10 years ago

A nice piece, It makes a lot of sense to those who will understand, please let the ignoramus say whatever they like....Kudos

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

To let the Europeans and Americans know how Africans are abusing their system or what?

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Nyansasem, how are you? I also wondered if the two stories are the exceptions/extremes or the norm. I must admit that I hear some of these stories on Nana Ohenemaa's weekly programme (Yo Haw Ne Sen) aired on Friday nights on ...

• Axis 10 years ago

The conclusions of the 2 stories are just too extreme.

• Papa Samo 10 years ago

When did UK grant amnesty that anyone who had lived in the UK qualified? Smh please dont make a fictitious story sound true...BTW I lived in the UK until recently so I know what I am talking about...

• ghanaman 10 years ago

The author makes a good point in summing up his objective for writing: the need for us all to appreciate the importance of doing "good diligence" (carrying out thorough investigations) before embarking on important projects. ...

• AKWELE 10 years ago

The truth does hurt sometimes

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

A BETTER, PROSPEROUS, MODERN, FORWARD THINKING GH STARTS WITH YOU!
    IF YOUR LIVING SITUATION IS GOOD, THEN GHANA WILL BE GOOD.
    IF YOU ARE CONFUSED, DISORIENTED, UNORGANIZED, FEARFUL, IN DEBT/DEATH,
    THEN GH WILL BE THE SAME. ...

• INNOCENT KUSI, KUNASI 10 years ago

You are right Ocean 1. Many ignoramus come to the website with little or no understanding of what they read. I was deported from Europe to Ghana. If I tell you what caused my deportation, you will understand the dilmma of Gh ...

the govt needs to implement measures that ensure the wealth of the nation remains with the people of the nation and for example introduce measures the discourage the gold mines frome continually siphoning out the money instea ...

• Nokware Trodoo 10 years ago

A good piece but I will like to point out that our economic woes started during Kwame Nkrumah's regime.

• diana 10 years ago

This is true we dey suffer4 this europe paaaa mostly in Italy

• Tony S. 10 years ago

What is this Kwame guy trying to put across? He does not answer the "And So What?" applicational questions in his stories. There is a lot of naivety in these two stories that make them sound silly.

• Charles T. 10 years ago

Both of these stories sound like fiction to me or Kweku Anansi stories in Ghana.

• Jones 10 years ago

The lesson to be learned from a story does not depend on whether the story is historically true or not. Even though reality can sometimes be stranger than fiction, made up stories can often teach better lessons.

I believe ...

• jm 10 years ago

SIMPLE WASTE OF TIME AND LIES

• SADIK ALHASSAN 10 years ago

JM you are a shallow-minded fool. You are rather a JSS student. Could you write an article when you were in JSS? Continue your education and don't end at JSS.I have read several articles of the author and I can say he is one ...

• TRAVELLER 10 years ago

I HAVE CHOSEN A PATHWAY I MAY NOT ENDURE.
    ONE THING IS CERTAIN, NOTHING IS FOR SURE.
    IT MIGHT ALL COME TOGETHER OR IT MIGHT ALL COME UNRAVEL ON THE ON THE ROAD LESS TRAVELLED.
    GEORGE STRAIT.

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

GOOD ONE THERE.

• Asuo 10 years ago

very good piece Mr Atta,however can be improved. Not the best of examples given, i found it hard to understand the purpose of the article but all in all a good piece.

• Kwobia (Toronto) 10 years ago

Ghanains abroad is a bitter/sweet story.

• Hannah 10 years ago

Yes, travel and see indeed !
    It is an adventure and that is not for
    the cowardly the journey is what makes travel abroad such an exciting thing.Try it and see,you may be lucky whichever way!

• TONY BUCKMAN 10 years ago

Gone are the days when Ghana was Ghana. Those were the days when other Africans looked at you with deep respect if you tolm you were a Ghanaian. What happened? Hmmmmm

• atta 10 years ago

Some think coming to Eurpe is the answe to our poverty and are still refi=suing to go home to share their knowledge gain from being away. Going with their loot ie savings and pensionsas this is the best option we got those ...

• Sam. 10 years ago

Good work Director

• MR.GOODFACE 10 years ago

good one there,

• Baker 10 years ago

Nice one there. Well spoken, my brother.Ghana's problems, nowadays, are myriad. selfishness and greed on the part of our leaders are cause, except Nkrumah. Ghana's woes commenced alter Nkrumah's overthrow. Most of his success ...

• Stephen-Pipes Afrifa 10 years ago

Oyiwa, there comes the problem

First of all kudos to the writer for drawing our attention on these matters.

I totally agree to the fact that we should be friends with good people who can give us advice. See how John Nti ...

• Adwoa 10 years ago

This is true, all Of us here are in a dilemma. Great intellects needed by our various countries but here we are, our great intellects are been toiled with by other countries. The fact is that our countries do not appear inhab ...

• EMMA ADOBEA AFFUL 10 years ago

Picture of Emma Adobea Afful(Vasa)

Thanks Aggya, indeed we are all in a dilemma here. Best intellects out here but our countries donot look habitable. Lets see what t ...

• Okponglo Guy 10 years ago

Why would we leave our shores if all was well at home?

Our politicians are the modern day slave traders

• JOE NIPAMU 10 years ago

Great job. Stephen you never cease to surprise me. Kudos.

• Papa Kwesi 10 years ago

Well done Stephen! That's a nice piece

• Richmond afrifa 10 years ago

I believe it is better to let people know how your true life is than to become proud and behave like a big man as you are not like that

• Richmond afrifa 10 years ago

Please man should be truthful in life to avoid failures in life

• sololapinto 10 years ago

Our leaders with poor governance are part of our predicaments so they should sit up put up with good governance so that we can stay in our country

• Uncle Ebo 10 years ago

The current economic situation back Home unfortunately would increase the exodus. It is now worse than before.

• Oti Akenteng 10 years ago

That is how life is,these Europeans and the Americans did the same thing to us and took everthing we have and they still doing it.

• the eye-Germany 10 years ago

History is about to repeat itself in Ghana soon. Though we are in democracy,things are very hard that, it seems Ghana is in the 1970s/80s. This is going to increase the Ghanaian exodus again if things don't change within t ...

• AKOKS 10 years ago

Welcome back from Ghana. You are very right. Mahama is turning Ghana into something else, hence the greetings, "Mema wo cedi oooo", then you respond, "Yaaaaa nwura nkoaa"