You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 04 21Article 306787

Kwame Nkrumah—The CIA Connection

Read Comments Comments (86)

• francis kwarteng 10 years ago

Dear readers,

Good day.

I hope these additional Information clarifies aspects of the essay.

(Paragraph 6): On the other hand, the legal problematic of the Certificate of Emergency cannot be glossed over for political ...

• SARPONG 10 years ago

You are a tribalistic idiot. Who was the coup leader? Kotoka was the coup leader so why didn't you mention him as the one initially recruited?

Kotoka even has a survival instinct to stage this coup as Nkrumah has planned t ...

• kwame yirima 10 years ago

The writer of the main article is NOT WELL EDUCATED.Who is that idiot goat!

• OLIVER TWIST 10 years ago

I, OLIVER TWIST, HAVE SAID IT MANY TIMES HERE, THAT BAOKYE DANQUAH WAS A TERRORIST AND A CRIMINAL..SO TOO WAS AFIFA AND BIG LIPS KOFI BUSIA.

AFRIFA SHOULD HAVE BEEN HANGED AND LEFT TO ROT INSTEAD OF THE FIRING SQUADE. AFRI ...

• Mark (UK) 10 years ago

The writer is neither an idiot nor is he a goat. Rather, he wants us to critically reflect on Ghana's history. You may or may not share his views on the matters he raised.

• Kiddo 10 years ago

Kwame is a CIA agent

• concerned ghanaian 10 years ago

Kotoka was, eventhogh an EVE,a member of the NLM(UP),a Senior and freind of Afrifa.

I find it rather sad that anytime a Ghanaian writes something about our early history,some illiterates shower all manner of insults at him ...

some people from the ndc when they hear the truth about their genocide and racist tribalism go into a stupefied frenzy foaming at the mouth thinking that will make their lies and propaganda true . The fact remain the Akans ar ...

• Amegaxoxo 10 years ago

Another stupid,socialist/communist nonsense.What happened to Sgt. Ametewee
    and where was he buried? We will continue to ask until we get the answer.

• Tilapia 10 years ago

Amegaxoxo, the appearance of your name on this platform has come to mean that one should not bother to read your contribution because invariably it is bound to be either meaningless, pointless or outright idiotic.

• Dany 10 years ago

" only for the former to turn around and recruit General Akwasi Afrifa and others to do the job"....................That guy can never be a true Kwarteng,a wolf ina sheep clothing,know what I mean,he`s print false to facts a ...

• Dany 10 years ago

printing

• Francis C. Quainoo 10 years ago

Francis Kwarteng, what you must realise is that both the Old and the New World had been the ideological differences between Communism and Capitalism which I take your Article as a showcase of each other.

I do agree with yo ...

• Nana Ansah 10 years ago

President Nelson Mandela visited Ghana when Rawlings was president. This is one of your numerous lies and misinformation.

I don't know where you lived in Ghana but I also lived it so stop telling Ananse stories.

What su ...

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

Moron, "shortage of ideal milk and peak milk" is used as euphemism for the general deprivation we lived in under this evil Nkrumah . It was Nkrumah himself who used this phrase is his daily broadcast on Guinea Radio . He woul ...

• KKo 10 years ago

Yes,
    You are one of those Nzemas who did not see anything wrong with Kwame Nkrumah's dictatorship and wanton dissipation of Ghana's resources in persuit of his African ambitions. Thank God for "British Imperialism and neo-c ...

• Henry Ofei 10 years ago

It is a fact that CIA and British Intelligence created artificial shortages of Ghana's so-calloed essential commodities e.g Milk sardines,sugar.Do you know that throught the machinations of the CIA and British Intelligence s ...

• Henry Ofei 10 years ago

1.MINOR CASE not MIONOR CASE.2. THROUGH not THROUGHT 3.SO-CALLED not SO-CALLOED.

• James Oppong 10 years ago

Let this IGNORAMUS who calls himself MINOR CASE leave this forum for matured people.Why didn't Nkrumah say Gari and Kenkey but milk and sardine ? Euphemism my a....

Listen to this human dregs called Offei. Ida sa member of the Young Pioneer movement but I saw through the brainwashing and emancipated myself unlike some of you who progressed into automatons . Can you imagine youself living ...

• Tilapia 10 years ago

My friend obviously you yourself are not in your right senses because unknown to yourself, you are actually living under the dictatorship of neo-colonialism. It is true that it is bliss to be ignorant.

Yes some of us are ...

• john throway 10 years ago

tilapia, do you call this hopeless situation of africa as liberation?

So you are emancipated because you are Nkrumahist .For starters change your name from Tilapia to Koobi . Will you be grateful if you live in North Korea ?

• Kojo T 10 years ago

it was the DIALOGUE WHICH RAINED SUPREME that culminated the release of our Gallant Nelson Mandela.

What a LIE. The SADF was defeated with the help of Cubans . Stop lying. Then help the Aborigines to come to power in Austr ...

• Tilapia 10 years ago

Quainoo first of all, if you are really that concerned about Ghana what are you doing in western Australia where the indigenous Aborigines have also almost been wiped out of existence by your imperial masters who have not onl ...

• kwadwo. 10 years ago

I believe you one of those young pioneer robots singing "Nkrumah does not wrong" and Nkrumah never dies" it is a shame you are still doing same at your age and exposure.To most of us, Nkrumah was an egotistical tyrant and had ...

• Saint James 10 years ago

Listen to this fool "It is a known fact that the Colonialists left us with a huge amount Resources which enabled the Dictator to embark on Developmental Projects at home"
    The British government left only 140 million pounds a ...

• Zanlerigu 10 years ago

NEXT TIME BUSIA AND DANQUAH DIG HOLES FOR MKRUMAH THEY SHOULD DIG BIG HOLES!

• Mobuto seseko 10 years ago

This your gramma ooo, too much big english na.

• Jata 10 years ago

The correct Brit. agency is MI-6 and NOT M16!

• CAPII 10 years ago

FACELESS COMMUNIST ARTICLE; ONE PARTY STATE,PRESIDENT FOR LIFE,PDA,CVC,PEOPLE'S KANGAROO COURTS,MURDER OF HIGH COURT JUDGES BREED INCOMPETENCE (CPP,AFRC,P-NDC.) GHANA'S PUBLIC STOCK DEBT IS Gh.55 MIL.CEDIS.CREATE,LOOT & SHARE ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

cpp and afrc/pndc are miles apart. from what i can remember k4 rather worked 4 the blood thirsty rawlings.
    npp and ndc/p ndc have more in common with each other. you both support epa,you both want gmo, you both are used ...

• 123 10 years ago

How can somebody who arrest people and put them in prison for years without trial be called a brother? Nkrumah was a blood thirsty tyrant who was rightly removed.

• 123 10 years ago

How can somebody who arrest people and put them in prison for years without trial be called a brother? Nkrumah was a blood thirsty tyrant who was rightly removed.

• 123 10 years ago

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

123 or whatever you call yourself.....
    He dealt with terrorists, who were hell-bound on turning our nation upside down for their own selfish benefits, so Osagyefo dealt with them the way he saw fit.

Other nations in this ...

• TRUTH CONQUERS 10 years ago

123, America which calls itself the best democratic country still has some so-described terrorists in prisons in Cuba. Have they been tried? Keeping ordinary cassava thieves for 48 hours or so is also illegitimate until you ...

• JC 10 years ago

And the so-called terrorists dealt with him the way they saw it fit.
    If you rule your country men and women as a terrorist, they will learn terrorism from you and unleash terrorism on you. Nkrumah ruled the country as a ter ...

• CINNAKA 10 years ago

I HAVE COME TO REALIZE THAT OF LATE A CLASS OF "INTELLECTUAL " COLUMNISTS BORE US WITH TALL AND BORING ANTI-NPP WRITE-UPS THAT GO NOWHERE NEAR THE RURAL FOLK WHO WANTS EDUCATION AND SURVIVAL. YOUR STORIES DONT CONVINCE THE JO ...

• kwadwo. 10 years ago

I am a son of a Brong cocoa farmer.My father and his cooperative friends loved freedom and had had enough of Nkrumah's dictatorial nonsense. He was therefore going to go even without the help of the CIA.I am glad he was overt ...

• Someguy 10 years ago

You must be, because Ghana today is a shithole, let your children enjoy it. Nkrumah was right and tools like you who lack critical thinking will always be nation wreckers. I bet you hate being black too.

• Kesi 10 years ago

That is why you have EPA and GMO at your door today.
    Deal with it!

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

The husband leans over and asks his wife, "Do you remember the first time we had sex together over forty eight years ago? We went behind the village tavern where you leaned against the back fence and I made love to you in you ...

• JC 10 years ago

"A FARRAGO OF UNINTELLIGIBLE NONSENSE"

• Patriot 10 years ago

This is a bunch of bunkum. This writer seems to have been taken in by the populist structures of Nkrumaism. But I doubt if he really understands Nkrumaism at all. The CIA was implanted in the CIA even before Kwame Nkrumah bec ...

• TEE 10 years ago

WHY THE FANTIS DON'T JOIN CPP AND STOP ALL THESE EVIL PARTIES PERIOD

• Kwame Adusei-Poku 10 years ago

Francis,you are great! Ignore the anti-Nkrumah MATEMEHO children such a SARPONG and MINOR CASE,and continue to educate the ignorant foolS who are always twisting facts and misleading people.

• Kwabena Yeboah. 10 years ago

"Suddenly, Busia, it appeared, had resolved into Ninkasi, an “autocratic” goddess of beer, in the lotusland of democracy! Then, his white-livered partner, Danquah, on the other hand, a man who reportedly wept like a misgu ...

• Gyimah 10 years ago

God save us from just drivel

• CICERA ONE 10 years ago

This posting full of quasi intellectual hubris, arrant nonsense and gobbledegook is a self exhibitionist pandering for cheap platitudes, above all revisionists' smoke screen diversion with half truths and false academic prete ...

While the neo-colonialsts created artificial shortages to make Nkrumah unpopular,this moron and liar called MINOR CASE is telling the whole world it didn't happen.

• Tilapia 10 years ago

Kwabena Yeboah, I agree with you 100%. Even though I am generally inclined towards the gist and substance of the mans article, I could not make it to the end because the language was too heavy, verbose, convoluted and indiges ...

• TEE 10 years ago

THE OVERTHROW OF NKRUMAH IS THE DOWN FALL OF AFRICA AND GHANA TODAY AND WE STILL HAVEN'T KEARN ANYTHING FROM IT. PERIOD

• Mohammed 10 years ago

ABOCHI TEE" was'nt that coup staged by KOTOKA/AFRIFA?if it comes to praising then it will be AFRIFA,AFRIFA,AFRIFA...

• kwasi poku 10 years ago

I don't think nkrumah was capable of taking ghana any forward more than what he did. His economic policies were taking the country backwards and the best status we would have achieved now will be like north Korea, one party s ...

• JC 10 years ago

You can bring him back with his PDA/ONE-MAN/ MONARCH-OF-ALL-I-SURVEY RULE- and this time we shall overthrow him nuclear bombs!

• K Boateng 10 years ago

Why can't you write simple English. You are making very important point, but your words are to strong.Try and break it down thanks.

• Paa Osei 10 years ago

Let us put this on record that the parties which have the majority of its support base emanated from Nkrumah Cpp always use unorthodox ways to come to power, ie through coups or election ridging and they blantantly do not p ...

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah.......those traitors/stooges terrorised your people, distabilized OUR country with the help of their 'masters' and expected you to sit down and take no measures against them???????

You showed the ...

• KWASHIE ADJAH 10 years ago

THESE ARE THE REVISIONISTS WHO TRY TO REWRITE HISTORY, TO THROW DUST AND FOOL THE PEOPLE ALL THE TIME; AS IT HAPPENED UNDER KWAME NKRUMAH AND RAWLINGS AND HAPPENING NOW UNDER ATTA MILLS/JOHN MAHAMA, WHERE UNDERDEVELOPMENT, CO ...

• Kwabena Gyamfi 10 years ago

Where is the evidence that the CIA engineered the overthrow of Nkrumah? The falsehood has been peddled for so long but nobody has been able to provide any hard evidence to nail the CIA. That information was put out by the KGB ...

• Jata 10 years ago

Mister, just google "LBJ Ghana Files", and you will see documents from the Embassy in Ghana making "hints" of
    "local contacts" prior to the !966 coup.

Now, who makes "local contacts" for the US missions in the 3rd World??

• Jata 10 years ago

On 12 February 1964, a high-powered American-British meeting on Nkrumah was held at the White House, attended by (on the American side) President Lynden Johnson, Secretary of State Dean Rusk, Under-Secretary of State Harriman ...

• KKo 10 years ago

Is this your evidence? The coup was on 24th February 1966. And according to your evidence the CIA was meeting on the 26th to plot a coup in Ghana? The KGB and Chinse intelligence put out this pitiful story after they were rou ...

• CS 10 years ago

Only 12 lines of text and you cannot differentiate the dates of Feb. 26 1964
    {nineteen SIXTY-FOUR!}??

• SARPONG 10 years ago

So what, you moronic fool. Is that what you learned from his informative comment?

• CS 10 years ago

His whole "challenge" is based on the wrong date that the meeting was AFTER the coup in 1966, instead of 1964.

So SARPONG, U are another dimwit?

• JC 10 years ago

Those are Kwesi Pratt/Socialists cooked up files. They are all lies. The CIA had nothing to do with coup. Ghanaians were suffering under one man rule. The CIA clapped for the overthrow of someone they too disliked. If it was ...

• CS 10 years ago

Sure, CLAP all you want, but do NOT claim there was no external CIA puppeteering!

• Tilapia 10 years ago

If your father was in jail during Nkrumahs time he must have been one of those terrorists like Obetsebi-Lamptey, Busia and Danquah.They are lucky that they did not practice their terrorism in the US or they would been blown o ...

• JC 10 years ago

Was the country for Kwame Nkrumah? Was it his father's property?

• JC 10 years ago

And you or your father also must have been one of those terrorists who teemed up with that so called Osagyefo to terrorize Ghanaians after Independence.
    I don't care if the CIA overthrew Nkrumah. What I care about is the th ...

Where is the evidence? CIA declassified documents show it.In your own stupid mind the information was put out by KGB.KWASEA!

• Sintim 10 years ago

See Kwarteng,my grandad,a very hard working but poor cocoa farmer who could not read and write had to spend 15 yrs of his life at nsawam dc for just registering to vote for the opposition party rp "registering to vote".I`ll p ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

15 years in Nsawam? PDA started only in 1958 and in 1966 Nkrumah was gone. Can you do maths?

• THE 10 years ago

Do you mean nobody was getting arrested until the PDA was passed? Nkrumah started intimidating the opposition through arrest when he was made the leader of government in 1951

• NRastegar 10 years ago

Leaders like Nkrumah are so few and so far in between. He was not a Ghanaian Leader! Neither was an African Leader!! He was a World Leader. He stands tall in World History! He was a statesman. Not one present day world ...

• AMU 10 years ago

Thank you NRastegar.

Forward ever!
    Backward never!!

• Wabee 10 years ago

Do you know Ghana history. Are you a Ghanaian. Who told you these nonsense.Do you know where J,B.Danquah was when Nkrumah was overthrown. Do you know Kwame Nkrumah was about to arrest Kotoka. When he discuss thios in a meetin ...

• kotonkoli 10 years ago

Nonsense! Go and learn how to spell and write before you inflict your ignorance on us

• Mensah 10 years ago

I will be pleased to read Kwame Okoampa-Ahoofe's views on this write up i,e if he does not mind.

• Brother 10 years ago

Keep the education coming Brother. I see we are so wired into Western democracy the way they want us to practice it that we have refused even in the face of abundant evidence, understand where we are headed. No critical thoug ...

• Minta 10 years ago

get a life, asshole

• JC 10 years ago

Who started terrorism in Ghana? If you administer a country as a terrorist, what should you expect from the people? Even the CPP people themselves were terrorized by Nkrumah.

IT WAS BUSIA AND J.B DANQUAH WHO STARTED TERRORISM WITH A SERIES OF BOMB EXPLOSIONS.EXCEPT THIS MORON WHO CALLS HIMSELF J.C. HAS A DIFFERENT MEANING FOR TERRORISM.

UNLESS THIS MORON WHO CALLS HIMSELF J.C.