You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 06 08Article 311946

Open Letter To Kwesi Appiah

Read Comments Comments (71)

• the truth 9 years ago

we need a pattern of play

• Son of Man 9 years ago

If Essien plays center half, Ghana will lose. Look at the strikers Ghana will face. Essien does not have the pace, strength and height to deal with them. Don't play a one striker formation. That signals we are not in the ...

• Mr.N 9 years ago

We have exact 8 days to play our first match if Akwesi Appiah use the team A and someone get hurt you the same fools would come here and question the wisdom in what AA did if fools like you can wait for 8 days go to hell no a ...

• POW@Ghana 4 last 4, Brazil 2014 9 years ago

Don't listen to all those funny 20 something million Ghanaian coaches. Keep them in good shape for the operation 7 matches galore.

• KojoLee/DRAA@2014Brazil-W/C 9 years ago

Mr. N(otumagog) Coach DRAA is only oblige to use or release the team "A" on the "D Day" Ghana versus United Stars, Portugon and Germani, haaa I daff. Why should we use full force whereas we don't NECESSARY NEED IT?

I use ...

• belvis 9 years ago

well said. They all think they are smarter than AA. mtcheeeeew!!!! All these writers would even do worse if they are given the chance to be the BS coach.

• DANNY 9 years ago

Did you grow up with parents or you grew up on the streets? Too abusive for a home boy

• moses 9 years ago

Please Kwasi,try to make Ghanaian happy

• Pito Brewer 9 years ago

Kwesi Appiah needs some slack. Please, let's all give him a little breathing room. There are way too many cooks in the kitchen. Enough already!

• GHANAian 9 years ago

I totally agree with this writer. But KA must work on HOW TO SCORE THE GOAL IN THE 18TH. Please take a leaf from Spanish play, German play, etc., that when they reach the 18th they "can" score but in most cases they SHOULD pa ...

I see it happening in Brazil 2014. Ghana oseeeeee yeeeeeeeeeee. Now leave Appiah alone oooooooooo tom.

• Kwame 9 years ago

Sir, Did watch the Nigeria/USA game? Select team Ho-Ho and play the Nigerian type of game and Ghana is done. Period.

• BEWARE! 9 years ago

GERMANY - Ghana vrs. USA, June 22, 2006: 2-1 GHANA.

SOUTH AFRICA - Ghana vrs. USA, Jun 26, 2010: 2-1 GHANA.

USA - USA vrs. Nigeria, June 7, 2014: 2-1 USA.

BRAZIL - Ghana vrs. USA, June 16, 2014: 2-1 WHO?

• VERY UNCOMFORTABLE 9 years ago

Is it too late to call back ACCAM?

From what I saw of the Americans today against Nigeria, I think we need to keep them pinned to their own box to prevent any damage in ours.

Bradley, Altidore, Dempsey and Johnson are ...

• The Stallion 9 years ago

"If you can't win, don't lose" by Arsene Wenger.
    Who is Accam? Do you know better than the coach?

Now, in response to your comment: Every game is unique!!!
    If the Americans out-played and out-scored Nigeria, doesn't mean ...

• kkkkk 9 years ago

We have enough players for the Youtube Accam. Atsu, Warris, and even good old Gyan can fill that position. If anything we needed two extra defenders.

• Nuclear Bomb 9 years ago

Klu Klux Khan Kinder, so you think David Accam's talent is not real. Don't go away too soon. We shall see beginning on Monday night. Pray that Gyan, Warris, and Atsu score the goals. Let me remind you, the Black Stars have s ...

• kkkkk 9 years ago

Accam could not reproduce the form we saw on Youtube videos both against the local select side or in training. So I can say with all certainty that he is a product of clips put together to make him look good. The same people ...

• Mohammed Awuni 9 years ago

he is definitely a youtube player

• Nuclear Bomb 9 years ago

Do you think this coach is fair? Any sensible coach will give opportunity to every player to make his case. That he didn't do shows he is bias and unfair. That is not the hallmark of a good coach. He must be careful because ...

• Rabon Zee 9 years ago

The match was high -octane and played in the hot sun at a terrific pace with the final score being USA 2 Nigeria 1. It could have been worse for Nigeria but their goalie was good and the high tempo took a toll on the energy o ...

• ALEX KWAME USA 9 years ago

I told Ghanaians prior to USA/NIG match that America has quite a different team not the same one we beat in South Africa. Their number one target is Ghana. Can we beat them, yes we just have to be tactical put pressure on the ...

• FORECAST 9 years ago

YES, ALEX, I AM VERY, VERY HAPPY ABOUT THAT USA PLAYED NIGERIA AS A TEST AGAINST US.

THIS IS ALL THE TEST, THE WARNING WE NEED.

NOW I AM SURE THEY BELIEVE THEY CAN BEAT US TOO BECAUSE NAIJA ARE AFRICAN CHAMPIONS AND THE ...

• Ghfuo, RIP Maya Angelou! 9 years ago

Put boye as right back to battle altidore. Let sumaila and rabiu and acquah control Dempsey and Bradley. Let afful handle Johnson. Usa won't know what hit them. Their entire striking mechanism will be rendered useless.

• OGOGLO QUARTER! 9 years ago

BEATING 9JA MEANS GHANA CAN BE BEATEN TOO.DR.AA,SHOULD WATCH OUT..

You better try Vod. Mr. N or POW or Rasheed or the Gov or Sarsko or dem dem, will tell you the power of Vod!
    Ogoglo na wata!!!

USA go smell shito and koobi!!!
    I'm only praying that AA should bench all our starting 11 in ...

• kkkkk 9 years ago

For Nigeria to win any international game they must have best players from number 6 to 11, as in the days of Okocha, Finidi, etc. This is because Nigeria are worse at defending. They always use the straight line back four a ...

• Pito Brewer 9 years ago

The US was playing at home. Did you see the crowd? In Brazil, it will be neutral ground, which makes a huge difference. Also, it was only a friendly. The results are not in any way indicative of what will happen at the WC whe ...

• lee 9 years ago

I hope Black Stars does not lose, because we have a useless coach... I have a sneaky suspicion that we COULD be out-coached.... You would think that the GFA will wait, assess KA's WC performance, before renewing his contract; ...

• Fanky 9 years ago

looks N9giria team is not physical fit. Not the kind of N9girians I use to see when it comes to physical.

• MR ABERCOMBIE 9 years ago

SEEMS THEY WERE SAVING THEIR LEGS FOR THE BIG DO.HALF HEARTED TACKLES DON'T WIN GAMES,UNLESS....HMMM YOU KNOW 9JA!MAYBE THE ASIAN GUYS SEE OBOY FOR CHAMBERS

• NANA YAW 9 years ago

What a bogus open letter, which I don't think our Coach his precious time reading.
    The "dumsoric Accra" and the "Pacific friendly" were in my estimation dry jokes. And your team A selection was pitiful. A selection without A ...

If I were the coach, I will bench Gyan, Ayew, and Warris in the Korea game. Then try to "perm" Sumaila, Mensah, and Boye to find out the right chemistry -- that is, who should be the 4 and 5.
    That's it.
    What is the writer s ...

Watch out guys, Ghana will shock the world in Brazil 2014.

• mike 9 years ago

nigeria is good but for usa to beat them hmmm we have to be careful

We will brush USA aside, trample over Germany, and bundle Portugal like Tarpaulin; how about that?

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

Kwesi Appiah was hired and rehired to do what the authorities thought he was the best person in the world to do. Leave the coach to do his coaching, build his team, draw his lineup and come up with whatever he can. Armchair c ...

• J.J RAWLINGS, USA 9 years ago

LEAVE THE COACH ALONE

• mayopia 9 years ago

As for me, Appiah is one of the best coaches in the world because it take hard work and determination for him to be where he is and what we as Ghanaian's must do is to support him and the team.

• Nana 9 years ago

Mr.Akwasi wants you guys to direct your writting to FIFA to give GOOD officiating.

• tuy 9 years ago

You can win all your friendly matches before the world cup. But what is the significance of winning friendly matches if you end up getting eliminated in the first round. Remember Cameroon in 2002. Would you have written the o ...

If the coach were European, the writer's tail will be in his ass by this time.
    They have the audacity to spew words because the coach is a Ghanaian. Go to FIFA and read that in the qualifications, Ghana scored the highest n ...

• kofi 9 years ago

This gentlemean got it right! He has said it all. He speaks for the majority of silent Ghanaians. I almost said amen after reading it.

The writer and many gentlemen spoke here. Which of them, sir?

• Me4U 9 years ago

He spoke for me as well but only on getting the A team ready. For now, it is going to be difficult playing the A team and expecting them to find the right chemistry.

• OGIDIGIDI 9 years ago

which majority? man any decission a coach makes there are always pro and contras so we are waiting to see his gameplan, best is to hush an watch

• Sigma, London 9 years ago

Leave the coach alone to do his job. If the 25 million Ghanaians were to write to Akwasi (not Kwesi) where would he find time to read this.

• Prince 9 years ago

On the lips of Ghanaians everyone goes we will beat USA, well on paper it seem so but we should be very careful because it's not the same US players we've beaten twice and they have a different technical bench. Just yesterday ...

• Analyst 9 years ago

What kind of people are we Ghanaians? We should not be like passengers who want to drive the vehicle for the driver.
    In fact if Kwesi Appiah was hired to take his lessons from pocket-coaches, then he is useless. Whether we l ...

• NJ 9 years ago

Whiles most Ghanaians worry and badly want to see our Ghana Blackstars proceed to the round of 16, I edge all Ghanaians not to worry because our 2014 team is way better than the 2010 team and I think we're more than ready to ...

• PHOBIA-PHOBIA--Leeds 9 years ago

Sulley must always start.He is a great force and fearless.He has more experience than many and must not be forgotten.

• AGREE 9 years ago

Yes, PHOBIA, Appiah must NOT make the mistake of starting Muntari from the bench.

We need him for at least 80 minutes.
    He can easily get a quick hard-shot, long-range banger to start us off.

In the middle, I would star ...

• Trust Jesus centa 9 years ago

Sulley is a big game player. A team of:kwarasey,opare,awful johnboye,Essien,kwadwoasamoah,Sulley/afriyie Acquaah Dede Kevin,majored Warris,Gyan

• William 9 years ago

Very thoughtful and entertaining reading,Nii Ayittey.

• ga 9 years ago

Good piece bro!!! its obvious that most of what you said are true. congratzzz!. but pls let allow akwesi to do what he think will benefit the nation. i am sure he did that with the intension of evading injuries but he was unl ...

• Alex Akuffo 9 years ago

Well informed,but we need the midfield to be very tough so Muntari or Badu should pair Dede instead of Waris who should start from the bench.

• POMAPOMA, DAMBAI 9 years ago

My main aim of writing this letter is to tell the whole world that Kwaku Bonsam Is Powerless. That he should stop bragging and making noise.
    Christiano Ronaldo was injured before the final EUFA champions league match they p ...

• GC/USA 9 years ago

WHO IS GHANA PLAYING AGAINST ON JUNE 9, 2014? SINCE SOUTH KOREA IS PLAYING AGAINST SLOVAKIA TODAY(JUNE 8, 2014 AT 6PM USA.

• ANONYMOUS 9 years ago

I LIKED YOUR OPEN LETTER UNTIL YOU STARTED MENTIONING NAMES FOR YOUR LINE UP. VERY UNFORTUNATE. KEKA DE3 WO P3. GFA SHOULD HAVE EMPLOYED YOU RATHER. WHAT'S ANNOYING IS THE MENTION OF ESSIEN AT CENTRE BACK. A PLAYER WHO HAS LO ...

• ADONGO 9 years ago

Rubbish!The coach knows what he is doing.Stop being too known!

• Ghfuo, RIP Maya Angelou! 9 years ago

Kwarasay
    2.nkum
    3. Afful
    4. Rabiu
    5. Sumaila
    6. Acquah
    7. Atsu
    8. Badu
    9. Gyan
    10. Dede
    11. Kasa
    AA should use this lineup know his first game. Save the best for last. These guys are young and can run with the us ...

• OGIDIGIDI 9 years ago

please sir germany also left many starters on the bench against cameroon

• Fuseini 9 years ago

The dumbest sports article I've ever read. And Ghanaweb publishes this?

• Kk3 9 years ago

Quit the nonsense all you armchair coaches and let's see what happens when the whistle blows. This cheap talk happens every time and ......instead focus on cleaning the trash that attempts to bury Accra!

• Victor Asiedu-Young 9 years ago

Paa Nii, please stop this mmofra s3m and let Coach Kwasi Appiah do his work. As the head coach, he has the prerogative to select which player starts in which game. Don't try to cause problems here. This kind of kills team sp ...

• nii 9 years ago

leave kwasi alone and let him do his job-too much heckling- haba mini san3

• Joe 9 years ago

Nii Ayitey Tetteh,"I like your matter paa."You have written what I had on my lips and added good humour which we need at this time in Ghana

• Eddie Tizzle 9 years ago

i for one was soo livid about the way we played against the Netherlands..Jitters (that's the word).Michael Essien! ei..hmm. the man has lost all his speed,passing acuracy and hunger for playing football. we all saw this in th ...

• SpecialK 9 years ago

Bra...bra...bra....bra..... You are a scout for Klinsman, who is desperate in finding out who Ghana's "A" team comprise of. He will find out on D'DAY. AA don't take take the bate. Do what you think, as a professional manager, ...

• Robert Amoah 9 years ago

Kwasi Appiah be bomb...how did he allow this US people to score while he knows what to do. i don't even know the reason why he started those two players, Jordan and Rabiu while Kelvin and Essien on the bench. indeed his sins ...

• Kofo Kofi 9 years ago

Kwesi Appiah has one more chane for Ghana to stay alive. If he fails he must resign or we force him out.