You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 06 22Article 313701

A New Capital City for Ghana?

Read Comments Comments (62)

• Justin 9 years ago

We don't have money to build a new capital from scratch. There's no need to have a capital city in the middle of the country if we improve transport and communications infrastructure countrywide. Afterall Ghana is a small cou ...

• KING LOMOTEY 9 years ago

Ghana needs a new planned capital city. Just like Yamoussoukro, Abuja, and Brasilia.

• Nii Amasah Tawiah. Univ Of Allied Sci 9 years ago

Accra For Capital not too good but methinks Kintampo worse because because too many challenge will face Ghana to transport capital from Accra. Stray cows and guinea fowl from northern region will invasion the new capital. Fu ...

• One man Ghana 9 years ago

Be proactive. What are you talking about? If Nkrumah to listen the people of your kind......

• Okwatrokwa Se 9 years ago

I AGREE WITH JUSTIN, BUT WHAT WE NOW NEED IS DECENTRALIZATION OF THE ADMINISTRATION TO STOP THE STEALING OF OUR RESOURCES BY INDIVIDUALS LIKE RAWLINGS AND EWES.

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

i support this suggestion better to move the capital to Kintampo or even better still Tamale so we dont see so many pepeni idiots around any longer

• MENSAH. 9 years ago

The writer suggested KINTAMPO as the perfect place for it,anyway.
    The range starts and ends in both two places(KOFORIDUA/KINTAMPO).
    That confirms why both could be unique,anyway.
    As touching the topography of KOFORIDUA,I s ...

• Oti Akenteng 9 years ago

I think you right Mensah Koforidua could be the perfect place for the capital.But all is about the government lack of will because instead of doing the right thing;economically and developmentally,they always talk of politics ...

• Uncle Ebo 9 years ago

I believe the time is now for this laudable idea. The project could take many years but better planning and provisions for expansions would be the idea. Yes, it would create the Jobs and revenue that Ghanaians need badly.
    B ...

• Sankofa, Melbourne, Australia 9 years ago

I think Mr Stephen Atta Owusu did forgot that Ghana (then Gold Coast) did moved its Capital City from Cape Coast to present Accra,
    I do agree with your dream, but moving or building Capital city, needs Billions of Dollars, g ...

• OFFICIALS ARE STEALING OUR MONEY 9 years ago

THIS IA A LAUDABLE IDEA, BUT GOVERNMENTS IN AFRICA ONLY COME TO STEAL THE MONEY BELONGING TO ALL.
    RAWLINGS, HIS WIFE AND CRONIES CAME TO STEAL SOME, KUFFUOR AND CRONIES CAME TO STEAL SOME,MAHAMA AND CRONIES ARE STEALING BIG ...

• www.alancosmos.com 9 years ago

A NEW CAPITAL IS OF COURSE NEEDED BUT WE CAN TAKE THE FIRST STEP BY DECENTRALIZING OUR INSTITUTIONS.IT WILL CURB CORRUPTION AND EASE TRAFFIC JAMS AND POPULATION CONGESTION.

• kwame 9 years ago

22 mil tokyo, mexico city 30mil, etc. Etc. The new capital will become the same. The best wilp be to move min. Of agric. To elsewhere, followed by fisheries to cape coast, defence and all barracks to other places. In other ...

• ralpi 9 years ago

This is a Long overdue idea. I travelled arround the Country and Kintampo is unique.

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Does it make sense at all? If some nations build a new capital means we should do that same? Why do we love to copy what someone is doing instead of focusing on improving what we already have? What will be new about the new ...

• Speedy Gonzalez 9 years ago

Can we afford to build a new capital?it is already difficult to finance some of the most basic infrastructure projects like water,sanitation,energy and roads.Where would we find the money to build a whole new city with all th ...

• HAWA YAKUBU 9 years ago

It's over due for a new capital city for Ghana. I recommend Kintampo. This is the central point of Ghana.

• KOLA, INSIDE LONDON. 9 years ago

Kintampo is landlocked and suitable for a capital city.

Trust me they would move all Zongo to Kintampo. Uncontrol cows will move to New kintampo city. Kintanpo almost a desert. Why think of new city when no money.. You know the price to pay when Zongo move to city?1. Dirtiness 2. ...

• KOLA, INSIDE LONDON. 9 years ago

I meant Kintampo is landlocked and NOT suitable for a city.

• Koo The Boy 9 years ago

The most efficient method of decongestiong Accra is to relocate certain ministries in other regional capitals. For example, people should not travel all the way from Brong Ahafo or Sefwi to Accra to transact official business ...

• Mr. Figure-Out 9 years ago

I think deporting the kayayos to the Savanna and the shoe shiners to their kookoase Kajetia will go a long way to ease congestion and improve sanitation. Again Sahara desert is travel too fast downwards. It has pass Bole, Bam ...

• NANA KOODWAAH 9 years ago

Don't disturb us with unnecessary articles? Ask yourself that; has growth occurred those this guy mentioned in his long essay?

Do Ghana has money to do this nonsense? Our hospitals, schools, road, healthcare system are so ...

• BREAD 9 years ago

Insulting people who express their opinions clearly proves that you are MENTAL!!!.Ghana has degenerated into such an abysmal state because people who have real brains are always SHUT DOWN!! Aponkye!!

Is Akuffu Addo a "dumsor" man? He claims to be an enforcer of the law and will punish lawbreakers, but he does not hesitate to hobnob with powerful criminals and their cohorts who break the laws of the land.

The "all die b ...

Tell me, where is the insult? You may be one of those politicians who have been milking Ghana through inferior projects.
    You need psychiatric evaluation. I did not insult the writer. I gave opposing view of his ideas, and th ...

• real goat 9 years ago

You are no different .you are a smelly goat stupid fool.

• MENSAH. 9 years ago

Our colonial masters sited capital cities in coastal areas of AFRICA,right on the coasts.
    GHANA IS NO EXCEPTION.
    But their capital cities are in the hinterlands.
    That is one of the reasons,Accra,as a capital in the coastli ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

Yes Ghana sooner or later will have to build a brand new and well planned city, not for any of the reasons stated in this article, and commentators reactions to it.

In my candid opinion, we have to move the capital city ...

Junior Ayew is not the only exception. Muntari's penchant for shooting from long distances at goal seems selfish in my opinion.

We've lost a game; we've tied a game. We shall win a game and advance. This prediction came fro ...

Anywhere close to three Norther region is dangerous .1. They are book haram friendly. The closeness to Tamale will mean all Zongos will move to such place. And they will use their power to demand free water, free electricity ...

• Watching the watchman 9 years ago

Please check your history. Cape Coast was a former capital city.

I don't think building a new capital city will add any value to the country. We should, instead, focus on improving our road and communication networks.

B ...

• TEE 9 years ago

OVER MY DEAD BODY, MAHAMA CAN'T EVEN DO ANYTHING GOOD. HOW CAN HE BUILD A NEW CAPITAL CITY, HE WILL LOOT ALL OUR STATE COFFERS

• Roger Tecku 9 years ago

Kintampo is not the center of Ghana after addition of Transvolta Togoland, now Volta Region. Atebubu is close to center of Ghana now. Just look at the map of Ghana. But Kintampo or Atebubu or anywhere in between will be fine.

• NYAMAAH USA 9 years ago

This is a great and thought-provoking article. If this can be achieved, corruption must cease.

• Aroo 9 years ago

I agree with you 100%

• Stephen-Pipes Afrifa 9 years ago

This is what I always think of coming to pass . My dream of a new capital city has been risen by this article.

This must be taken into consideration and critically looked at . I would love it relocated to the town aforeme ...

• ekuoba gyasi 9 years ago

iNDEED THE CONSTRUCTION OF A NEW CAPITAL IS LONG OVERDUE. aCCRA IS STINKING.

• KING 9 years ago

EXCELLENT DISCUSSION .

• Alex London 9 years ago

We do not need a new capital city. we we need is modern and improved transport infrastructure. Population is the Greater Accra is less then one per cent (.08%) In greater London the population is 8 million; 13% of the total p ...

• MAAPA CAPE COAST 9 years ago

Alex you cannot compare London to Accra. They have nuclear enegy, we don't have. There are many things that differentiates the two cities so don't compare

• MAAPA CAPE COAST 9 years ago

Alex you cannot compare London to Accra. They have nuclear enegy, we don't have. There are many things that differentiates the two cities so don't compare

• luk jay 9 years ago

kayaani

• BREAD 9 years ago

Sick, mentally deranged beast!!

Grow up, jerk!

• luk jay 9 years ago

kayaani

• liv 9 years ago

This will decongest the zongos

• GHANABA 9 years ago

Abuja was a complete and total waste of to arable land in Nigeria.Effective planning is the key.Instead of building mickey mouse "1&2" bedroom houses all over Tema,Kasoa,Adenta,etc,the gov"t should think of building tower bl ...

• GHANABA 9 years ago

Abuja was a complete and total waste of to arable land in Nigeria.Effective planning is the key.Instead of building mickey mouse "1&2" bedroom houses all over Tema,Kasoa,Adenta,etc,the gov"t should think of building tower bl ...

• GHANAMAN 9 years ago

I have read your article. Found the suggestions worthy.

Have you heard of Masdar City (Abu Dhabi) and PlanIT Valley (Portugal) concepts, not to talk of the Chinese Eco-City model, near Tianjin?

• Kwame VS. Kofi 9 years ago

Destroy an area and move on to the next one...Accra is becoming unhabitable for humand due to pollution and absent wate management. A matter of time when the next Collera outbreak hits Accra.

• Famu 9 years ago

Accra has no land and is crowded city why not Northern Ghana?

• TEE 9 years ago

INCOMPETENT VISIONLESS AIMLESS MAHAMA

• Abena 9 years ago

The new capital is under constrution in Tamale.

• Atta Owusu 9 years ago

Abena who told you that the new capital is under construction in Tamale? No decision has been taken yet. The oil still doe not belong to us so Ghana has no money.

• Loite Koon 9 years ago

Kwaasia Kintapo boy.

• THINKGOOD 9 years ago

Good feelings GHANA is ripe for a federal system that will be the best plan of building a new capital citry.
    25milion popu. come on.

• Merlyn Julie 9 years ago

Hi my brother, I have seen your plans for your country in the future. let's take this plan to the Lord our God first.I also want to bring to your attention,very soon by the grace of God,we will be doing a project in Ghana.I j ...

• Merlyn Julie 9 years ago

Speak to us,we can be your technical and investor partner. Let us do a New Town Development proposal. God bless you.

• richmond afrifa 9 years ago

When change is made in this country ,unemployment rate will totally decrease and also the country will reach to the highest pick.