You are here: HomeNews2024 02 08Article 1915690

I will abolish E-Levy, betting tax, VAT on electricity, Emissions Levy if elected – Dr Bawumia

Read Comments Comments (150)

• Anamu 3 months ago

Running away from your shadows.

• Abednego 3 months ago

Breaking the 8...

• The corrupts always defend corruption 3 months ago

Is there a tax called friendly?
    In the first place, who brought those taxes that it has now become your campaign message? Who was the leader of the so called economic management team?
    This problem wasn't there when you wer ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 3 months ago

Bawumia, the USA is so great because of the way it taxes people. Do you know that in the USA people pay Death Tax? There is nothing that you do that will not be taxed. Even if you are an American and make money outside the US ...

• Christele Madiesse 3 months ago

Another low IQ supporter. You are not the only one living here in the US. People including me pay taxes because the system works.

• Rex 3 months ago

Christele don't mind him,he thinks he's the only one living abroad,u stupidly compare taxes in the US to Ghana,how many people in the US don't have food to eat?You are encouraging ur government to tax persons who are already ...

Don’t be ignorant. Strong and Able Bodied people in the USA are not given Food Stamps. Nobody enjoys paying taxes. I don’t. But if we don’t pay taxes, how can we run the country? Find out what is not taxed in the USA an ...

How much do you pay for COVID tax here?

• Rex 3 months ago

What is annoying about them too is,they think they alone were educated in this world,when they open up their stupid mouths then they are calling someone ignorant,if you are not ignorant yourself,does E levy make sense to you? ...

Can you genuinely tell us who introduced VAT in Ghana? Was it not your Jeremiah John Rawlings? Was he not the one who saddled Ghanaians with IMF and their economic conditionalities? Who brought Retrenchment to Ghana. They wer ...

• Christele 3 months ago

Silly Tired old narratives. Black people are doomed

• Bankulee 3 months ago

Sounds like you are white, wakeup!!

• @Frank Agyena-Karikari 3 months ago

Do you remember kume preko demo? Jerry had VAT at 7%, when NPP(Kuffour) came to power they raised it to 15%! We though VAT was bad that's why Nana Addo (NPP) demo against it? Why not scrap it? Selected memory huh? MALAFAKA

• Michael 3 months ago

Very good, taxes should be used judiciously as said

• SGT-BOND-AK47 3 months ago

Bawuliar's Lecture yesterday was a confirmation that this Nana Addo/Bawuliar Govt has failed completely. It re-iterates my point that NPP has no candidate going into the 2024 elections. Only NPP Jean Jezzy Mensah and her boyf ...

Yes, you can hardly avoid paying taxes. What about your Ghana? How many Ghanaians genuinely pay taxes?
    I am not that as stupid as you are to be called A LOW IQ SUPPORTER. Choose your vocabulary carefully before l also go ber ...

• Kweku 3 months ago

Boss, I have a concern when I hear 'Ghanaians don't pay taxes or how many Ghanaians genuinely pay taxes?' The direct tax net may be small or some people may be evading paying direct tax. what about indirect taxes? Bcos there ...

• MALICK 3 months ago

Bro don’t mind him. He deserves to be tagged a LOW IQ SUPPORTER. Consistently inconsistent so called veep

• Ghana we belong 3 months ago

This is why the guy said you have low IQ. if you are intelligent, you won't insult his father in your comment. Deal with the guy and the issue and let him understand your explanation better and not to be provoke. This is how ...

• Zamata 3 months ago

Who in Ghana doesn't pay tax? Or name on item that doesn't have tax? Momoni, kerosene, duawa are all taxed. Do you know taxes on petroleum products affect food prices in the market? Have you bought food in Ghana recently? Eve ...

• Akufo Addo 3 months ago

You're indeed a low iQ supporter. Stupid fool

• Yaw 3 months ago

My friend, keep quiet over there. Why don't you come and live in ghana and pay the taxes you so claim you pay in the USA. What are you comparing?

Standard of leaving?
    Accountabilty?
    Rule of law?
    Freedom of speech?
    And ...

• Kwadwo 3 months ago

@Agyena.... Stop displaying your ignorance as usual. I think the guy was generous in giving you 0 1Q. JJ, introduced Vat to give the govt a proper tax base. Idiotic Akufo Addo, screamed "Kume Preko", promised to abolish it c ...

• Peter 3 months ago

He knows it. For nothing at all he taught at Baylor for year. And had a brief period at the IMF. The tax issue in Ghana is an evolving one. If your Ghana card can be disabled for not filing your tax returns that would be fine ...

• Afua Iceland 3 months ago

@Abdenego. In USA, energy levy/tax are not used for party primaries. Taxes are collected for its intended purpose not consolidated in a fund for useless travels and building cathedral, etc etc. I hope you get it. If borla tax ...

Yes, in Ghana, taxes are collected to teach the minor daughter of a former President how to fly the Airforce plane. Yes, used to make stupid visits to another tyrant Gaddaffi using Air Force Plane and many senior military off ...

• Nanaddo maametwe 3 months ago

Jack you’re on an unintelligent discourse like your messiah bawumia.
    Did kuffuor scrap off the VAT? Even after doing so much noise about it?
    The idiot that led the demo came in and has introduced so much taxes like he n ...

• Unibuen 3 months ago

I like, what using tax money to rent private jets?

• Bankulee 3 months ago

Dude, you sound desperate and weak in brains

• Sika mpe dede 3 months ago

How many Ghanaians filed tax and receive tax returns?
    Some of you are so silly that you see things but don't verify and understand it.
    US citizens are ready to pay taxes because the benefit from it, during COVID 19 people r ...

• Unibuen 3 months ago

Problem is when we discussing Ghana Problems, then see people jumping to talk about what is happening in America, when will this stupidity stop?

• Neutral 3 months ago

Tell us some benefits citizens there enjoy. We pay taxes here but our lives get worse every day. Politicians here introduce taxes to enrich themselves. The system works there but not here

• Joe 3 months ago

Frank, know that you are not the only resident in America. Yes Americans pay lots of taxes but they also benefit a lot from the taxes they. How many Ghanaian taxpayers even file taxes at the end of the year? Do we have commu ...

• Hg 3 months ago

U are soo misinformed.... there is a reason why experts on rotation out their home countries spend more time away from home.... its because of taxation..... if u spend certain number of days in the year awY from home, u are t ...

• Ochee-Do-Chee 3 months ago

TAXES PAID IN THE USA ARE NOT USED FOR 'THURSDAY JOLLOF' FOR PARLIAMENTARIANS OR IN THIS CASE THE REPRESENTATIVES!

• Zamata 3 months ago

Do you see Joe Biden's daughter using tax payer money to open a restaurant? People receive welfare benefits in the US. Do we get some in Ghana? During the COVID, reliefs were sent to American, Ghanaians, a few were given waak ...

• Confi 3 months ago

You dey craze

• IG 3 months ago

Why have suddenly want to abolish E-levy? You fought for it, you spoke economies before it came to stay. Who’s asking you to abolish it! Senseless and loose talk guy like you.

• £EARN, TRAIN, MAKE MONEY 3 months ago

.If I no recommend this resource wey go change your life wetin I gain? Last year's investors in this skill are reaping now. Being intentional is important for achieving personal success & skilling up is a big part of INTENTIO ...

• THE LIES HAS STARTED. SAME MAN WHO SET ALL THE TAXES SAID HE IS NOT PART OF IT AND HE WILL ABOLISH SO ABOLISH IT NOW THEM. COMEDIAN ABD A JOKER 3 months ago

ONLY FOOLS WOLL BELIEVE HIS LIES. HE WANT TO MAKE HIMSELF AS IF HE IS NOT PART OF THE NPP WHO HAS DESTROY THE COUNTRY AND MESSED UP THE ECONOMY WHICH TWAT BAWUMIA WAS THE LEADER. ALL THE TAXES SET BY HIM AND NOW SAID HE WILL ...

Bawumia is the most intelligent man in Ghana with an Economics degree. He has all the answers to Ghana's problem. Black people's IQ is very low

• Clifford 3 months ago

Tell him to abolish all these taxes now.

Our IQs are low so he can say anything and it will fly.

• Peter 3 months ago

Give credit to the Professors at Legon who teach Plasma physics and nanotechnology. Those are mental demanding disciplines. Because people like you have no regard for science and technology that is why you live in a dirty and ...

• Otsibo Darko 3 months ago

So what is the position of GHANA now economically in the worlds financial market and trade; why introduce it in the first place if it's not good, there is practical knowledge and book knowledge, bawumia has nothing of the two ...

• Kwadwo 3 months ago

I concur, Christele.

• Meno blaze 3 months ago

Madam high IQ white lady .... IQ high mpo
    Nie lol ... anaaa your be QI lol

• Unibuen 3 months ago

Let tell who actually is, a mistake of a person n you why no Ghanaian today in Ghana can tell what he is as a vice. Economics today information minister tomorrow do digital works when the economy is flopped.

• Fd Ghana 3 months ago

If this is indeed true then this government for which he’s part must be shutdown immediately or he resigns as veep. This government and this man is unimaginable. I can’t think far

He is the smartest man in the best government ever. NPP is where wisdom resides.

• the truth hurts Omanbapa 3 months ago

hw3 ne gyimmmie, words are free to use but the thumb will ensure foolish ppl like u go mute for 4yrs...nonsense

• Great 3 months ago

Is it sickness or madness. Your brain is not function well.

• Akufo Addo 3 months ago

Christened I know you're spewing this nonsense under the influence of apio. Kwasia baa

Sadly, you cannot see sarcasm. Indeed, black people have low IQs.

• the truth hurts Omanbapa 3 months ago

Congratulations you lost a vote for another set of lies, toothless VP who want to be president when u are second in command for the worst government under the 2nd to 4th republic.

• Kawaadwen 3 months ago

Kwasiaa when mills was in power did mahama implement one time premium on NHIS. sometime ndc talk as if We were in heaven before npp came. What can mahama do to change prices in the market. Let him come out with the solutions ...

• Ex-Pope 3 months ago

MORE LIES AND FALSE PROMISES

You will abolish what? You sat on your rear end at Julor House while these taxes were being imposed on Ghanaians by your corrupt and incompetent NPP galamsey government, and you never once said ...

• Kwaku Ananse 3 months ago

What a stab into Nana Addo’s back!!! How will Bawumia look into Nana’s face after this?

• Nana Addo 3 months ago

Desperate Bawumia , but is it by force to speak??? We miss your giggles

• Peter 3 months ago

Somebody has to train him to talk more civilly. You attack Mahama and when his boys and girls come after you then you complain, Baeumia.

• Kwame Natugbu 3 months ago

So you think I should vote for you with this unbearable taxes? Tweaaaa. So I know that some of the taxes this government imposed on us are deliberate. You will LUZ portooorrr

Stop talking about taxation in Ghana. How many people in Ghana pay real taxes? Everybody tries to dodge taxation. I don’t blame them because it happens everywhere in the world. Yes, it does.
    Ghana does not tax that much. C ...

Low IQ comment

• Kofi 3 months ago

Frank, Do not generalize the tax system in the US. In the US you are taxed Federal income tax and you are given many exemptions before that. You are finally taxed on the remaining net income. There are sales taxes by states ...

• Kido 3 months ago

Kweku Ananse Bawumia. You can't fool us for the third time.

• Sam Fante warrior. 3 months ago

Useless educated criminal villager. Fucking fake dollar police officer why you and your ugly old chimpanzee boss don't do it now. Useless hopeless criminals bastards.

• Benji 3 months ago

Always this man want people to insult him

• Kido 3 months ago

Why are you copying Mahama's program now? He"s already spelt out his small team and promised to scrap the e-levy. He's also promised to remove all the draconian taxes our small businesses are paying to make space for them to ...

• Kofi Addo 3 months ago

Mr VP you are part of the current decisions to inflict E-Levy, betting tax, VAT on electricity, Emissions Levy burden on Ghanaians. So you know that these bad economic policies are not good yet you imposed them on Ghanaian o ...

• Bob P. 3 months ago

Chaiiiiiiiiii you see this NPP wicked idiots thinks they are cleaver and every Ghanaian is a fool.

• HOLALA 3 months ago

Who at all will believe this man,what of if he fails to do it again.

• Akufo Taxo Addo 3 months ago

I like how he sets the fire in a house and says now I will put it out if you let me continue burning stuff.

• Mr Manu 3 months ago

We suffered in the hands of these SHAMELESS BUNCH OF CROOKS parading the corridors of power as politicians. What have we done wrong as Ghanaians?. Where are the men? ????? Now we are having NEW MEN resurrecting from their Gra ...

• Mr Manu 3 months ago

We suffered in the hands of these SHAMELESS BUNCH OF CROOKS parading the corridors of power as politicians. What have we done wrong as Ghanaians?. Where are the men? ????? Now we are having NEW MEN resurrecting from their Gra ...

• Richard 3 months ago

And thr Mugu President was seated there. This guys don't know what shame means.

• Afua Iceland 3 months ago

Some times I wonder how this VP talks. He was shaking when he was delivering his speech as if he was being pushed. Was he himself? You were in a car that had an accident and now you are telling us when given the same car, you ...

• Mr Manu 3 months ago

WE HAVE THE MEN, said by NPP in 2016, Are they the same MEN coming in 2024? Interesting country with lnteresting people. We heard this ENGLISH LECTURES over and over, and nothing changes. Is he the same person with different ...

• Elephant Farmer 3 months ago

Since 2012 he spoke loud against ndc, national dumsor congress, pink sheet and the like. Forgotten that he himself can't rule Kindergarten Class 1. Who's the running mate? It's the first time Bawumia talk about HARDSHIP, but ...

• YAW 3 months ago

In Ghana the poor pay Taxes but some rich not

because the NPP Government want it that way

Shame Shame Shame

• Nkrumah were are u? 3 months ago

I don't understand..the crocodile came out of the water to complain to people about the happenings in d water...chairman of the robbery economy team..

• Jana kuodjo 3 months ago

Dr Bawumia well said,where are the solid economic team,I hope they are now up and coming,for good 8years,you are back telling us Ananse story,but Nana said economic magic to change Ghana problems within 100days,Ghana is now b ...

• AKWASI 3 months ago

Was this not the same fool, who was in full support of e levy.

• Kom 3 months ago

He said he doesn’t support e-levy before it wa introduced. Get the facts right my friend.

• Konfo 3 months ago

Saying whatever you can to get to the higher office of the Country 'Ah Massa'
    Please resign now if you're not part of this govt and stop enjoying your benefits whilst distancing yourself from the Govt Policies.

Desperaten ...

• Konfo 3 months ago

hmmm Ama Ghana

• Saint Frank 3 months ago

You are a mate you mean???, Ghanaian should Make you the driver. Hmmm it seems you forgot yourself about all that you the same BAWULLIAR came and told Ghanaian in 2016 in your town hall meetings,campaign promises which of the ...

• Possible 3 months ago

Dishonest and disillusioned clown

• Nii Ayitey 3 months ago

Don't wait any longer, please do it now.

• Saly 3 months ago

Everyone knows what's in your mind, they knew you are lying to them. Shame unto you.

• OBRONIBA 3 months ago

Ghanaians are not as stupid as you and your party people. Your driver said worse things and gave us hope into the future but immediately we gave him the power, what are we experiencing now which you are part? Give us a break ...

• Larry sho 3 months ago

You believe this guy ? Good luck

• Leaven’s Mensah 3 months ago

The fools always want to say something. What is wrong with some of the low minded people in Ghana? Do you believe what Bawumia is saying? Why can’t your government scrap the taxes off at this time? Is Bawumia not the most ...

• Pee 3 months ago

Twaaaaaaa, you’re joking. Who set those taxes and levies up in the first place. Because you want power, forget it

• TOUCHLINE PLAYER 3 months ago

Good move

• JR 3 months ago

Behold! The Grand Deception is set in motion! Awaken from your stupor, O Ghana!

• Lion of Judah 3 months ago

Bastards

• Alkebulan 3 months ago

I had never seen a Muslim drinking that much alcohol than Bawumia, just look at him and tell me if he is serious. I mean did he betrayed akufo ado about his abolishment? Oh npp why.

• Castro 3 months ago

Comical

• Kwakye 3 months ago

Be smart, ghanaians this was discussed before bawumia came to share with you. Nana Addo knows what he was going to talk about. Don't be silly. Don't trust them.

• Sarfo Bedoako 3 months ago

Ghana, y3te sika so.

• Hero 3 months ago

He thought we are fools.We have long memory..He is a member of team that introduced same taxes and what else again?

• Ahiatsadu Ernest 3 months ago

He think we are not reasoning

• He is credible 3 months ago

Let's give the man a chance. He is the best among the two or three or possibly four???

• No time to waste 3 months ago

Give who a chance?
    My friend was this not the same man who is the Head of the economic development team?
    Was he not part of the team that introduced the E levy?

Now he shift the blame on Nana Addo for all the mess and ...

• Kakam boadu 3 months ago

It's Bawumia okay? Does he has a principles?

• Corrupt Government 3 months ago

Defeat awaits you guys.
    You are copying JDM'S programs.
    Hahaha hehehe.
    Interesting times ahead.
    Opposition opposition opposition opposition opposition opposition opposition opposition opposition opposition opposition oppo ...

• Koo 3 months ago

You have already failed

• Osoro debate 3 months ago

Hahahahaha. Shieeeeeee. So kwasea Bawumia is now copying Mahama. I can't laugh. Copycat kwasea. All the 138 NPP MPs voted for E-Levy and those taxes. So if Bawumia's running mate was an MP it means his running mate disagrees ...

• NART 3 months ago

ABOLISH IT NOW, LIAR ( BAWULIAR)

• No time to waste 3 months ago

I silently cry when I hear or see failed leaders on this continent trying all they can to continue to be in power when they know they had failed the people big time. If someone is not benefitting from the coffers of the gover ...

• Turning the Corner 3 months ago

What the does Bawumia takes us for? That we are retards? Foolish guy and the biggest liar in the world. Why don't you abolish all of them right now?

• Kofi 3 months ago

Oh Bawumia so how do you take Ghanaians? So you say this and we believe. You're in position to do it now so do it and stop your deceptions

• Stupid Bawumia 3 months ago

Massa shut your stupid mouth. Your would be running mate might have voted in parliament in support of these taxes. Bawumia. You are a foolish man

• Kwadwo 3 months ago

I now no Bawumia will not be president with this statement. You have proven that Akufo Addo is a bad leader . But were you not part of those that took decisions and introduced all these taxes. You think Ghanaians are fools to ...

• Ochee-Do-Chee 3 months ago

LIKE BOB MARLEY SINGS, 'YOU RUNNING, YOU RUNNING, YOU RUNNING AWAY, BUT YOU CAN'T RUN AWAY FROM YOUR SELF'. NO, NO, NO, CAN'T RUN AWAY FROM YOURSELF!

• Nanabanyin 3 months ago

Hahaha he's running away from himself. We gonna chase these crazy baldheads out of town

• George 3 months ago

I stopped long ago taking politicians serious. I think they are not serious people.

• BOYZIIMEN 3 months ago

This man is a joke, he should stop this political gimmicks. Is Dr Bawumia different from Nana akufo addo's government, is he telling Ghanaians that Nana akufo addo and his cronies are very wicked and heartless to Ghanaians wh ...

• DiamondDee 3 months ago

Who is

• Stanhope 3 months ago

Please can some one ask Dr. Bawumia, who brought those tax, the E-Levy, betting tax, VAT on electricity and Emissions Levy. Covid 19 Levy and so on.

• BOYZIIMEN 3 months ago

Bawuliar's Lecture yesterday was a confirmation that this Nana Addo/Bawuliar Govt has failed completely.
    It re-iterates my point that NPP has no candidate going into the 2024 elections, Nana akufo addo and Dr Bawumia are com ...

• Botwey Pius 3 months ago

Just listen to him again,
    His words carry a heavy strain.
    Why bring it forth, only to erase,
    Leaving us in this sorrowful place.

Today he speaks of abolishment,
    Leaving us in deep lament.
    The sadness lingers in the ai ...

• Yaw manu 3 months ago

I love your poetic comment Pius
    What is your contact?

• Courage 3 months ago

We are a funny country

• Nonsense talks 3 months ago

What’s stopping you from doing it last year

• Toko 3 months ago

You see your foolish talks, why not abolished it now.

• Loyalist 3 months ago

There is no future for the Ghanaian youth. These politicians make me sick sometimes. DMB is persuading Ghanaians to endure the economic challenges for these months. When he becomes president he would rather fix it. DMB is inf ...

• Overdrive mode 3 months ago

Contradiction is the word describing what we are experiencing now.

incompetence on overdrive

• Sumanlwa 3 months ago

Where was the Economic management team when all these taxes were approved ,

• Albert 3 months ago

He sounds like they have introduced these 'nuisance taxes' so he'll have some work to do removing them.

• Tooli 3 months ago

Bawumia stands with NDC

• Thomas 3 months ago

Bawumia declared Akuffo Addo as driver Bansa

• PROSPER DUGBATEY 3 months ago

DR BAWUMIA MUST RESIGN FROM AS VP

THEY HAVE TOTALLY DESTROYED GHANA

IN FACT DR BAWUMIA DESERVE TO BE ARRESTED FOR DECEIVING ELECTORATE DURING THE 2016 AND 2020 ELECTIONS . HOW ON EARTH WILL THE WHOLE VP DISTANCE HIMSE ...

• PROSPER DUGBATEY 3 months ago

DR BAWUMIA MUST RESIGN AS VP

THEY HAVE TOTALLY DESTROYED GHANA

IN FACT DR BAWUMIA DESERVE TO BE ARRESTED FOR DECEIVING ELECTORATE DURING THE 2016 AND 2020 ELECTIONS . HOW ON EARTH WILL THE WHOLE VP DISTANCE HIMSELF F ...

• zinc 3 months ago

In Ghana, well educated people are fools. Abolishing tax on gambling. Tax on gambling is what give europe a lot of money. 20% is taxed on gambling. PhD doesn't make someone wise. Most Ghanaians,especially parents , are agains ...

• GG 3 months ago

Very pathetic and insulting….Ghanaians you see how foolish and stupid you look in the eyes of Politicians?

• josh 3 months ago

another trick of the NPP to on continue to stay in power. they lied and came to power that Ghana is rich but we are hungry and poor, what has changed. they have run out of ideas so they are now talking about abolishing certai ...

• Umofia 3 months ago

This Bawoliar isn’t serious o..So where was he when the taxes were being introduced..Is this man in his right senses de3

• Adjo 3 months ago

You are not ready to be President. Were tou not part of this? Sorry game over!

• Kas bee 3 months ago

Bawumia think Ghanaians are fools. The taxes you and your government imposed on Ghanaians will be removed by you only when voted??? Whaaaat? This is whak. What kind of people are these????? Unbelievable. They think everybody ...

• Jb 3 months ago

Very annoying. You're the first person to say govt is doing well, yet you attack your own policies.Do you think we're fools?

• Joe 3 months ago

Why can't you abolish it now if you were are still the one who created it and in your governance

• Nana Kwame 3 months ago

This Bawuamia guy thinks Ghanaians are too gullible to fall for another sweet words again. We have learnt our lessons with pains still fresh in our minds. Whoever advised him to give this lecture has done a great dis service ...

• Anansesem 3 months ago

Kwasia cry, why did you sit for its implementation in the first place?
    You go explain taya
    You see your life?

• Papa 3 months ago

I think this man needsedical help.

• BONDA 3 months ago

Ahh, Bawumia !!! Who brought those taxes ?

• NDC - NATIONAL DEMOCRACY FOR CORRUPTION 3 months ago

N D C MEANS:-

NATIONAL DEMOCRATIC CRIMINALS

NATIONAL DEMOCRACY FOR CORRUPTION

24 HOUR SLAY QUEENS ECONOMY POLICY JOHN USELESS MAHAMA INTRODUCED IS NOT FORGOTTEN BY GHANAIANS. 24 HOUR ASHAWO ECONOMY JOHN USELESS ...

• Aku 3 months ago

His lectures was a total flop, your cup is full Bawumia your lies have catch up with you it's just a matter of time you have no where to hide your shame

• Bawumia eyes have died 3 months ago

It's a big shame that we are now seeing he was actually a mentally deranged person.
    Per what he did to Amissah Arthur who was a vice president he suffer that fate more than 10 times.