You are here: HomeNews2013 02 27Article 266130

Be wary of mining, oil contracts - Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala

Read Comments Comments (12)

• Eric 11 years ago

Good points, madam. I hope policy makers, ministers, mps and the President take note. Getting 3 percent royalties from mining based on 1990 prices is INSANITY if not evil.

• ZoRRo 11 years ago

Des polititicians go kill us all. Gold price de go UP, Oil price dey go UP. Yet no water de come for pipe, no electricity dey come for light, no jobs dey come for us, and money dey come for pocket ! Wetin we go do OOOOOOOOO ...

• ZoRRo 11 years ago

When we complicate simple issues we create a gray area for politicians to perpetrate their crimes. The politicians know that these contracts are BOGUS and only serve their selfish interests. If we made it a crime to enter i ...

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

This IS SIMILAR to what I've been asking all along.......DO OUR NEGOTIATORS UNDERSTANT the long term IMPLICATIONS of ALL they sign in the name of Ghana?? NO !
    There was this Fin. Min.from GHANA, who was supposed to have sign ...

• Isaac Kusi, Bronx, NY. 11 years ago

I just wrote an article on this subject this year. Beleive me, we do not have to give out our minerals anymore to these gangsters called investors or multinational corporations. We must mine the minerals ourselves. These guys ...

• KK 11 years ago

EXCELLENT POINT AND THIS IS THE CAUSE OF AFRICA POVERTY AND CONTINUES TO BE. IGNORANCE, LACK OF VISION, GREED AND CORRUPT, SELFISH. AS RESULT CONTRACTS ARE SIGNED IN A HASTLY MANOR WITHOUT THINKING FUTURE GENERATION FOR JOBS ...

• GHANANI 11 years ago

Out of the jubilee oil negotiations emerged millionaires who belong to the NPP.They got 3 percent oil royalties from the oil companies and this no doubt contributed to the nation getting only 10 percent.

• American 11 years ago

Salient quote from the Minister:

“We (African policymakers) need to do our homework thoroughly before we begin contract negotiations with foreign oil or mining firms.

“In many cases, there is a wide information asym ...

• Gawuga 11 years ago

Too many Phds in Africa but they in to fill their pockets.

• Gawuga 11 years ago

All down to African God and pastors. Not easy for the poor.

• Frank 11 years ago

We are fed up with this galamsey people. gov't has to be very serious in dealing with the menace

• Kwame 11 years ago

Dr. Ngozi Okongo-Iweala is just a double tonged person. The woman worked at the World Band and was one of those who supervised the sheepish and slave economic road maps that the Breton Woods Institutions let Africans swallow ...