You are here: HomeNews2013 05 27Article 275144

AU must wean itself from Western donors - Mahama

Read Comments Comments (73)

• Fellow citizen. 10 years ago

Africans are beggars and would continue to be beggars. African leaders depending on foreign donors doesn`t give them the wisdom to rule. There should be a complete stop to this sort of practice. There isn`t a single mineral r ...

• CASTLE BOY 10 years ago

CHINA $3Bn loan is on the way.

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

WESTERN DONORS WILL DO WHATEVER IT TAKES TO CONTINUE GIVING AFRICA AID, GRANTS...YOU KNOW WHY? BCOS THEY BENEFIT MORE THAN THEY GIVE. AFRICAN GOVT ARE TOO DUMB TO REALISE THIS. NOTHING IS FREE ON THIS EARTH EXCEPT THE AIR WE ...

• facts 10 years ago

Mahama got the least oppotunity to serve Ghana but lo and behold it was an opportunity to get rich quick . To negotiate for loan from china he considered his part first,to buy an aeroplane for Ghana, it was his interest first ...

• Nana Kofi Gyasi 10 years ago

THE SAME TACTICS THAT YOU ARE USING TO DEFRAUD AND CORRUPT GHANAIANS, THIS SAME TACTICS THAT YOU ARE TELLING THE OAU. IF WHAT YOU ARE SAYING IS RIGHT, THEN WHY SHOULD YOU GO FOR THE CHINA LOAN? FOOLISH GHANAIANS WILL FOLLOW ...

• Fellow citizen. 10 years ago

That`s why all these leaders are not needed on the continent.

• Kologah 10 years ago

his was exactly what gaddafi was saying by taking AU out of IMF and to form african's own IMF HQ in nigeria.but dangerous and demoniacal white animals out of greed,killed this man

• DAN 10 years ago

So they,just as Nigeria should be able to do..But since Ghana and Nigeria leaders are theives..The oil wealth has not helped the citizens like Saudi's..Even the USA state of Alaska was paying their citizens a check for profit ...

• TAMBRO 10 years ago

KOFI GJASI MIND YOUR COMMENTS.YOU DON`T DESERVE THE TITLE "NANA"YOU ARE A VERY STUPID ENTITY FOR INSULTING YOUR PRESIDENT.YOU SHOULD NOT EVEN BE ALLOWED TO PRESENT YOUR COMMENTS ON THE NET.

• Nana Kofi Gyasi 10 years ago

INCOMPETENT FOOL WHO STEALS IN AN ELECTION TO BRING WAR IN GHANA CONNOT BE MY PRESIDENT. LOOK AT THE SITUATION IN GHANA NOW, NO LIGHT, NO WATER, NO FOOD, NO WORK, NO GOOD HEARTH, NO SECURITY, ONLY CORRUPTION AND KICK-BACKS. ...

the pepeni sticks his dick into anything that walks on 2 or 4 legs and when caught finds a way to blame some poor innocent . this pepeni has proven to be perverse so much so that he tries to force on us a gay sodomizing cultu ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

We might be going to purchase AIR IN THE NEAR FUTURE,IF WE DO NOT CONTROL POLUTION NOW.
    NOTHING EVEN COMES FROM HEAVEN TO THE EARTH,WITHOUT SOMETHING GOING THERE.
    WE RECEIVE MORE,BY GIVING TOO:
    GIVE AND IT SHALL BE GIVEN T ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

To wean themselves from Western donors and bring the Chinese Galamsey people as we have done in Ghana?

• YAOVI MEVADO 10 years ago

THANK GOD, AFRICA IS BEGINNING TO TAKE BOLD STEP. WE'VE BEEN TOO RELIANT ON OTHERS, THAT IS THE SHAME!! AND A BIG. LETS RATHER BE HAPPY AND HOPEFUL FOR THE FUTURE AS WE STRIVE TO BECOME TRULY INDEPENDENT, NOT JUST POLITICALLY ...

• True Patriot 10 years ago

Rep[lace the Western Loans with the Chinese ones eh.

Where did you purchase Pres. Atta Mills' Casket.

How many African Consultants and contracts have you done business with?

• INDIGO 10 years ago

Why the emphasis on the West. Are you saying that loans from the East are okay? A loan is a loan and will be paid anyway. Mahama should have sounded right if he had said "Africa must wean itself from donors"

• Middle Figure 10 years ago

Mahama is talking bullshit.. Why is he going to France for? Ghana has every natural resources but see what the country is going..

• panafrican 10 years ago

u fool. chinese money is a loan not for free as the AU receives

• YAOVI MEVADO 10 years ago

HAVE YOU GOT NOTHING GOOD TO SAY? THAT MEANS, GIVEN THE POWER, YOU WILL NOTHING GOOD TO OFFER. PRAY FOR REPENTANCE MY DEAR.

• Anah 10 years ago

Beggars without shame !

• Zip Ip 10 years ago

I thing the whole issue of western European Colonial and Slave Trade Masters Donating funds to re build the fragile State Of Africa Socio Economic is a must thing ,the Europeans Must contribute financially till Africa is wel ...

• JOE 10 years ago

MAHAMA IS VERY BLOCK-HEADED PERSON.HE MUST NOT BE POWER DRUNK TO SAY ANYTHING HE CANNOT EXPLAIN IN CLEARER TERMS. IF HE IS CONFUSED AND DON'T KNOW WHAT TO SAY, IT WILL BE BETTER TO KEEP QUITE THAN TALK SHIT.TRYING TO IMPRESS ...

• Joe Lawrence 10 years ago

Why specify only Western Donors? It should affect ALL Donors.

• ASEM BE BA DABI 10 years ago

Stop! Mahama stop! Stop that stupid talk and get prepared to hand over to Nana Addo period. Who soever think what I am saying is not right can go to hell

• KOKOLIKO 10 years ago

Whether you like it or not JM is the President of Ghana till 2020.Gye Nyame.

• Ali 10 years ago

It is time for us as africans to train great thinkers for the sake of the future of our beloverd contenent infact i am very disappointed for the comments been made by some friends on program ,nothing is impossible thanks p ...

• Conventional Youth. 10 years ago

TRADES:

T- Transparency

R- Responsibility

A- Accountability

D- Diligence

E- Security

• Lawyer 10 years ago

Few months ago, you were telling donors at the UN not to reduce their Aid to Ghana, because Ghana has not gotten out of the Woods yet. And now you are telling the AU the direct opposite.

Can you wean Ghana off Aid first be ...

• Jonathan Ackah 10 years ago

GOD SAVE US ALL.

• COW LANE EXCHANGE 10 years ago

Of course, of course. Business with China, Korea and Brazil na him be the best. No scrutiny. Huge kickbacks!

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 10 years ago

The AU should be able to fund all its activities. The AU also needs an African standby force. After that the imperialistic French forces in Africa and the U.S. Africom will become irrelevant

• km agyin 10 years ago

Africa must wean itself from all foreign donors, including the Chinese. They are worse than the westerners with their destruction of our environment and disregard for our laws. Charity begins at home. Wean Ghana off the Chine ...

• kweku don 10 years ago

you a discerning Ghanaian. God bless you for the comment

• True Patriot 10 years ago

God bless u for your comment.

This NDC govt. is movimg Ghana's development backwards.

What can Ghana gain by teamimg up with China?

• Abena 10 years ago

Disgraceful and distasteful. Grow up African leaders.

• Nii 10 years ago

I am fully behind this call by His Excellency and I believe it is a fresh call to a new route of achieving freedom and unity for the continent.

Excellent call !!!!!

• O b j 10 years ago

Oh leaders of Africa, how soom will Africa becomes one nation. Dr. Kwame Nkrumah has played his part. This is your time for you leaders to continue. Please wake up is becoming late. God help Africa.

• Martey 10 years ago

How are u going to do it when we cannot even balance our budget and African leaders as little thinkers as they are corrupt, and will not have access to further steal our money? Mahama should stop spewing out this garbage. He ...

• Concern Ghanian 10 years ago

WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO STOP IT?

• Concern Ghanian 10 years ago

WHERE IS OUR GOLD YOU TOOK TO IRAN?

• Kwame Aidoo 10 years ago

You just stated that you are corrupt and that is why you are sleeping with amadaneja.That is why you are flooding our country with these rouge Chinese.You are not smart, Mr!

• Larry 10 years ago

Very nice idea and speech but I think our president doesn't understand what he's saying. Ex-Prez Kufuor did his best to wean us from western donors but you and the ndc government hooked us back to them. You have have not led ...

• kojo brenya 10 years ago

The au is an epitomy of the useless tribalistic, greedy and power drunk governments we have all over Africa and Ghana is no exception.
    This is why the majority of Africans will not see qualitative development till thy kingdo ...

• Foreigner 10 years ago

This is a great idea...but that's all...a great idea. How can Ghana stop receiving foreign funds when 70% of the budget is spent JUST on salaries !!! How many roads and buildings have been built with foreign grants? Can we ...

• Aba 10 years ago

Start by weaning yourself off Chinese loans!

• kweku don 10 years ago

This man is a confused Ghanaian. You have or may be on your way to take a huge loan from China which hasn't happen in Africa before and now you are telling AU members to wean themselves from foreign donors? eiii is this man c ...

• John Musah 10 years ago

AU must listen to these words of advice. The idea that western donors should pay for AU activities contradict its main g, and the issue of sovereignty.
    Please fund your activities with your own money.

• mahama 10 years ago

Nkrumah and co have cried this out forever. you sit at the castle with rawlings, Mills and you preach this nonsense. Act, dont talk plenty.

• Adams 10 years ago

Mr president not too long ago you accepted a loan from china.. You cannot be preaching outside fund weaning while you are doing the contrary in your Country.. Erithrea on it alone does not accept any foreign aid so start in ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

How could AU and African nations, weaned themselves off donors support when stealing is the order of the day?

Trust me, stealing etc is a preventive tool of accumulating money and wealth to target a specific project.

A ...

• Great Nana Antwi 10 years ago

contact this powerful spiritualist if you are in need of fast spiritual help on www greatnanapowerfullspiritualist blogspot com

• Balawo President 10 years ago

Listen to a not-so-serious president who recklessly spent the nation's scarce resources on one election to foist himself on Ghanaians and is looking for donor sponsorship to balance his budget in France and Japan. Balance you ...

AU must wean itself from Western donors for Chinese donors, right?

• de 10 years ago

Prez Mahama may have made a very strong suggestion to the AU to wean itself from Western donors. While he sweet-talks the AU on the need stop dependence on grants and concessional loans from the West, ironically, his administ ...

• Kwabena 10 years ago

Should include Eastern aid as well. Ok to do business with others, butnot at the detriment of our people. Africans, we should be much further along than we areand not really needing all that much aid from abroad.

• Postmaster 10 years ago

Ghana should be the first to wean itself of western donor support as black African country to gain independence. Mahama do you think Ghana can survive without western donor support. For decades our annual budgets have been su ...

• theodore mottey 10 years ago

it is very important to Au to has their agenda and speaking their languages, culture, truth to their nation as hold not copy western country culture.

• NIGERIA THE BEST 10 years ago

WHAT A DOUBLE STANDARD , DOUBLE FACED MAN U ARE GOING TO BORROW 3 BILLION FROM CHINA AND GHANA IS 57 YEARS OLD WHY DONT U APPLY UR METHOD TO UR COUNTRY

• john atolague 10 years ago

campaigning for China to take over Africa. He sign a loan of $3billion from China. looking for more customers for China.

• mensah abrampa 10 years ago

Mahama must wean himself from the knee jerk borrowing,begin jailing corrupt officials immediately and ask for accountability from each of his appointees and himself.
    We need the Freedom of Information Bill now and it must n ...

• KWASHIE ADJAH 10 years ago

EX PRESIDENT KUFUOR WEANED FROM THE IMF AND ATTA MILLS AND JOHN MAHAMA TOOK US BACK TO THE IMF FOR LOANS WHICH ARE BIGGER THAN THOSE TAKEN BY ALL GOVERNMENTS SINCE INDEPENDENCE.
    WHEN DID JOHN MAHAMA BECOME A CONVERT TO WEANI ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

So why did K4 take us into HIPC?

Was he not contracting loans on his numerous trips abroad?

Check your facts before posting tripe on this blog.

• Alpha 10 years ago

Just do the same in Ghana. IS all talk!

• MR COOLMAN 10 years ago

good ideal

• douglas 10 years ago

and stepdown for nana

• OBIBINI 10 years ago

AU depending on the West for funding and military support to protect its members from external aggression.This is a disgrace and undermines the ideas behind the founding of the organization.

• Nana 10 years ago

My congratulations to you President John Dramani Mahama. Your call sounds good and responsible. We must rely first on our own means to develop. Nobody in this life will help Africa develop beside its own sons.

Let's put an ...

• chief amankwa 10 years ago

cool

• MAHAMA 10 years ago

MR. PRESIDENT WHY DON'T YOU RETURN BACK THE LOAN FROM CHINE?

• DAN 10 years ago

return that China loan and make money to repay the other loans(defence building,Bui Dam) Get the China money and people out of ghana

• PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI- McA 10 years ago

AFRIKA COMMON =CURRENCY=GOLD
    ===============================
    ABC==AFRIKA --BUSINESS--CLUB==54
    THE INSPIRATIONAL MARKET TRANSFORMATION
    SHOULD BE BASED ON AFRIKA COMMON
    CURRENCY AND NOT SINGLE CURRENCY----EVERY C ...

• Asempaneye 10 years ago

Ghana's Minister or is it "Sinister" for Finance and economic Planning just announced that, Ghana is facing a budget short fall or should it "long fall" because donor funding is not arriving at it should. Mr. President, shoul ...

• bismark 10 years ago

great mr. president it is important 4 African leaders 2 be masters of our own continent by being doners rather than being aid beneficiaries- they could start an efficient revenue mobilization through a robust tax system, reve ...