Recent market fires: Suspected arsonists arrested

Read Comments Comments (135)

• casting a vote a sacred right- A. ad 10 years ago

They should be prosecuted outright!

• AKONFEM MAHAMA IN FEAR 10 years ago

WE'RE ALL LOOKING TO SEE THAT THEY ARE PROSECUTED

• NEMESIS, UK 10 years ago

I DO HOPE THE AUTHORITIES IN GHANA WOULD AFFECT THE ARREST OF THAT SABOTEUR SON OF THE BITCH BASTARD CALLED ROMANO, FOR THE MYSTERIOUS FIRE OUT BREAKS. HE IS A BORN EVIL SON OF ALOGBOSHIE PROSTITUTE BITCH. ARREST HIM NOW.

• OLD SCOTTISH BASTARD 10 years ago

These fires are a serious issue, stop playing politics with it and figure out the true causes.

People are losing their livelihood. Check electrical fixtures in the markets and stop the erratic power supply.

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 10 years ago

Govt is joking. Publish names and photos and jail them 10yrs each.

• krikri 10 years ago

Akufo Addo, Evil Dwarf. do you think you can become president of this country through letting your rats on the loose to chew electric cables in markets with the aim of causing disaffection for the INTELIGENT, SENSIBLE, AFFABL ...

• Logosian 10 years ago

Soon, NPP lawyers will come out in defense of these people just like it has happened in the past. Watch out for Professor Attafuah, Ayikoi Otoo, Nkrabea Effah-Dartey and the like. Also expect the people like Sir John, dishono ...

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 10 years ago

NPP people living sharks are responsible. Where did they schooled they did not noticed their childrens computers are not walking?

• Yaw 10 years ago

Where did you pay your tuition? Go and get your money back because you have been cheated with inferior education.

• Chuck 10 years ago

Arrest all suspects and don't let them out ever because they will do it again. This' not the first arson at Kantamanto. Also, learn from the American investigators, do your own investigation next time, and save some money.

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• GHFUO, LOVE/DOR YOURSELF! 10 years ago

HE HAS INSTRUCTED AMA TO ROUND UP SOME YOUTHS WITH NO WHERE TO SLEEP. JUST TO BOOST HIS IMAGE AS MAYOR. ARE U SURE THESE GUYS ARE THE REAL CULPRITS? WAT PROOF DO U HAVE? GOD IS WATCHING U...

• nana addo. 10 years ago

Let them rot in jail

• Smart Frempah, UK 10 years ago

Too much hatred in Ghana. It won't get us anywhere. On Fridays the mosques are full. On Sundays the churches are full. Who are we deceiving?

• HAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA 10 years ago

MORE MEAT FOR NPP SOUP!!

• Hear it Clear 10 years ago

So you think 10 years is enough for all that they have done? They deserve to rot in jail.

• TAPCOOL 10 years ago

Propaganda again. i am surprise some people believe this story. innocent souls aa those arrested.

• ROMANO 10 years ago

FUSTRATION HAS TAKING A TOLL ON UR ANAGO ON YOUR PHYSCO ANAGO IMAGE.

• NEMESIS, UK 10 years ago

YOUR BRAIN HAS BEEN TWISTED WITH MY DAILY BOMBARDMENT OF COMMENT SENSE INTO YOUR ROTTEN BRAIN CELLS. WHAT HAS THE STORY BELOW YOU COPIED AND PASTED FROM A SOUTH AFRICA WEBSITE GOT TO DO WITH A NIGERIAN PASTOR? THAT SHOWS TH ...

• ROMANO 10 years ago

Nigerian Pastor Impregnates 6 Married Women in His Church
    --------------------------------------

“What he did is just disgraceful and a person like him could not be allowed to be part of a religious institution because ...

• UNCLE KOFI 10 years ago

IT IS RATHER THE NPP AND ITS LEADERS

• ILLITERATE SARPONG 10 years ago

Disgraced NPP pink sheet stealers, why are you so much of a group of uncivilized rats?

• REALITY 10 years ago

This was the method they used on Nkrumah but the lie bad this time around .NPP is an evil party which should never be allowed to come to power. They will burn everything because of power. Criminals, jail that evil dwarf calle ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

I believe this is a coordinated effort by a group of evil-minded and dangerous elements to cause destruction in our nation.
    Once they begin to realise that some of their members are getting missing or dying mysteriously, th ...

• .Eyes are on you. 10 years ago

I fully suspect the NDC footsoldiers behind this criminally intent arson at the markets in the country especiallly at Kumasi and Accra as part of their orchestrated propaganda machinary to disinformation and misinformatio onl ...

• KWAHUHENE BOAT NEW YORK 10 years ago

I THINK MANY OF OUR READERS MIGHT HAVE HEARD OR READ ABOUT THIS GERMAN GENERAL CALLED GOEBELS.HE IS THE WORLDS ALL TIME BEST IN PROPAGANDA,AND I THINK THIS MURTALA IS IMITATING HIM.HEAR HIM''SOME PEOPLE ATTEMPTED TO BURN ANOT ...

• MR OBJECTIVE 10 years ago

NDC CONTINUE TO BE LIARs,TILL ATTA MILLS COME BACK TO KILL ALL.

• Osei 10 years ago

In other to divert attention this NDC has come up this this story deceive. Few base NDC supporters could even agree to be used for money. Evil scheming is the hallmark of this NDC. Exposed.

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 10 years ago

THEY ARE ALL NDC SUPPORTERS SO THEY HAVE FAILED TO MENTION TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC. LET'S WAIT TO SEE IF NDC WILL SAY SOMETHING ABOUT THIS ISSUE AGAIN.

• Otafrogya, Washington DC 10 years ago

You guys are always not telling the truth. If is truth, you would be the first to come out with names. So so lie lie.

• GENERAL YONI 10 years ago

SATELIGHT IMAGES CAN ALWAYS BE PALYED BACK AND INVESTIGATED

• Donacidboli 10 years ago

This should be sacked if nobody is charge with the crime. MPs are people we trust, elected to represent us in paliament (because we cant all be there) if such a person lie to us, what is he or she calling us. Fools I suppose. ...

• Nobody,Atlanta,US 10 years ago

CRIMINALS GALORE.GOD WILL PUNISH THEM ALL.

• james Boakye Danquah 10 years ago

Arrest Anthony Karbo & Sir John they are Brain behind Trust me 100%

• Kwesi Agbenu 10 years ago

Arrest arsonist Rawlings

• Alonte din 10 years ago

Murtala is proving himself another Goebels. Incredibly silly

• Nii Boye 10 years ago

Arson is a punitive measure against the people who lost most, be it Akans, Northeners or Ewes.

• Paa KWESSI IN THE BRONX 10 years ago

Let them pay for their crime,castrate them all, these NPP arsonists!

• Onipa 10 years ago

Re:Paa KWESSI IN THE BRONX what do you mean by that,you lack maturity in your statement. Idiot

• WANGO 10 years ago

give them big time interrogation and if found guilty hand them long time prison sentences .

• ENYONAM 10 years ago

THEY JUST WANT US TO KNOW THAT THEY ARE DOING SOMETHING. NA LIE OOOO. MUTALA IS BEHAVING LIKE OKUDZETO ABLAKWA WHEN HE WAS AT THAT MINISTRY.
    WE WILL NOT BUY THIS LIE. IF IT IS REALLY TRUE THEN MENTION NAMES. MAKE SURE YOU ...

• Dumega Prosper Jnr. 10 years ago

GET THEM PUNISHED SEVERELY TO SERVE AS EXAMPLES. Arsonists are killers!!
    they killed women in 2000 now they are destroying the people and the economy.
    Crack the whip no matter whose ox is goored!!

We are tired of saboteu ...

• yaw 10 years ago

I BELIEVE IT IS SOLEY NDC FOOTSOLDIER ARRESTED AND IT IS OUT OF SHAME THATS WHY THE NDC IS NOT BEEING TRANSPARENT AS ALWAYS WITH THE TRUTH...IF ANYBODY AT ALL IS ARRESTED , IT MIGHT BE NO ONELES THAN AN NDC FOOTSLDIER, SO T ...

• DERRICK DEKU 10 years ago

It is not true.He will surely say they are opposition NPP members.

• It's no joke 10 years ago

The Goverment is about to light another fire to create a smokescreen.

• AbasZ 10 years ago

Do them in.

• Fred Gbelenkor 10 years ago

These criminals are definitely 'Kobolor' foolsoldiers of the dysfunctional NDC and the aim is to punish those supporters of the one trying to expose their 'ass' in court.

• Analyst 10 years ago

Definitely the numerous fires experienced in recent times could not have been accidental fires. Some wicked persons are surely behind them but how to get these persons and get enough evidence to prosecute them in a law court, ...

• Mudor 10 years ago

There is no doubt that Oko Vanderpuye is one of the masterminds.

• ghana 10 years ago

Modernize the market area with fire sprinkler systems and fire hydrants

HEHEHEHEHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

• Ghanani Bi 10 years ago

This is not politics any more. News briefings from the presidency should be treated with care because it is through the same source that information is dispatched to the whole world. If the international fraternity is to take ...

• Dada 10 years ago

Information going rounds indicate that one of the the arson suspects who have been arrested is a direct nephew of the General Secretary of the opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP) Mr Owusu Afriyie a.k.a Sir John.
    Wonders sha ...

• Dada 10 years ago

Anthony Karbo's Jnr Bro has been picked up as well?

• Nana 10 years ago

When will ndc stop deceiving the public?they know the people of Ghana will ask them the findings of the America arson investigators and they they will have nothing to say hence diverting attention.

• hoon 10 years ago

Due you believe them? They just trying to erase the insinuations being castigated on them.

• hoon 10 years ago

Do u you believe them? They are just trying to erase the insinuations being castigated on them.

• Opoku Gyamfi Francis 10 years ago

we are all waiting to see the outcome of that arrest made so far in connection with the recent market fire outbreaks.i guess this time the government is being truthful about this issue. we live to see.

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 10 years ago

This is a serious national issue and if the national security have genuinely make a brake through by arresting the suspected arsonists why not tell us the full story and parade them before the press?

Why is the government ...

• CAPE-COAST BOY 10 years ago

WE KNOW THAT WAS COMING FOR MAHAMA TO ARREST INNOCENT NPP SUPPORTERS AND BLAME THEM FOR THE FIRE OUT BREAKS IN THE COUNTRY AND THAT'S A SHAME

YOU'LL SOON BE CAUGHT IN THE MOUSE TRAP!!

• sabato 10 years ago

let us see them and their names that we will give more informations about them. dont wast time. lot of ghanains will know them better than you.

• serwa 10 years ago

GOD BLESS JM. E DEY BEEEEE KEKE

• JOHN 10 years ago

THIS ;S CAPITAL BIG LIES, FROM NDC,

• OKOAMPAH AHOOFIE-- USA 10 years ago

SIR,JOHN WILL SOON BE HAULED TO COURT FOR INSTIGATING THIS DREADFUL ACTS. LETS HOLD OWN.

• KOFI 10 years ago

THATS GOOD, BUT GOVERNMENT SHOULD MAKE SURE MONIES GIVEN TO MARKET WOMEN IN TROUBLE SHOULD BE IN THEIR HANDS.

• Jacques 10 years ago

Hmmm!! Ghana now is an interesting country to live in...how creadible is this information.

• Afi, Tamakloe 10 years ago

Is it lack of knowledge, ignorance, lack of education, little mindedness or simply, stupidity. How could a normal thinking person expect details of information regarding the arrested persons, alleged to be culprits in recent ...

• you will know 10 years ago

the useless issue with the government is that they find it easy to push blames than find Solutions to the Problem matter. some one should ask the government why insurance companies shy away from insurance against fire in mark ...

• Nima Old Soldier 10 years ago

If after 56 years of independence, Ghana can not put up a formidable secrete service operatives and fire expects to arrest ordinary arsonists in the country but shamefully call on foreign expects to do that then it of no use ...

• Thomas 10 years ago

Akufo Addi is solidly behind these fireout breaks.This arrogant wee smoker and his NPP thugs like Karbo and co are behind this.If the government refuse to teach them lesson, we are ready to do just that.Ghana is not for Asant ...

• Zigger UK 10 years ago

THIS ONE IS A COOKED STORY. IT IS NEVER TRUE. PLEASE STOP PLAYING ON THE MINDS OF GHANAIANS. WHEN WAS THIS ARREST MADE? WHO MADE THIS ARREST AND WHY ARE YOU FAILING TO MENTION THE NUMBER OF PEOPLE ARESSTED. YOUR PLANS WILL WI ...

• Jamboree 10 years ago

Liars! Don't go and arrest innocent souls my friend. Our securities are not competent and good enough to know who these arsonists are so free the innocent and let's think.

• Efua 10 years ago

The main suspects are walking around. A suspect like Vanderpuiju is enjoying his banku and fish while the wrong suspects have been arrested.

• KWEKU, Germany 10 years ago

they must face prosecution.

• Murtala 10 years ago

NDC Footsodiers

• Kwesi Agbenu 10 years ago

Have they arrested arsonist Rawlings

• GHANANI 10 years ago

They are NPP operatives and the facts will soon come out.The NPP IS AN ENEMY OF THE NATION.

• sure 10 years ago

NDC STARTED THIS ARSON WAHALA SINCE 1983 WHE RAWLINGS, THE ANTI AKAN,HAD ALL COCOA FARMS IN GHANA BURNT-OVER 95% OF GHANA'S COCOA FARMS BELONGS TO AKANS AND MAJORITY OF TRADERS IN ALL THE BURNT MARKETS, ESPECIALLY KUMASI AND ...

• kodjo 10 years ago

Sure, you sure are very stupid indeed!!!

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

NPP ARSONISTS ARE NOW IN THE GRIPS OF THE SECURITY FORCES. THE MARKET BURNING SPREE WILL END NOW. DEAL WITH THOSE CRIMINALS MERCILESSLY. LET THE LAW TAKE ITS FULL TOLL ON THEM. SHAME UNTO NPP.

• HAWA YAKUBU 10 years ago

Give these bastards to the market women.After 30 minutes send the coffins to pick their dead bodies. These savages will suffer from monochromatic body conditions.

• EDENSU 10 years ago

Fellow Ghanaians, we always play blame game instead of finding the real cause and solutions to problems. The frequent power outages, which occurs in seconds, off/on are the major cause of 80% of fires in both the markets and ...

• Mali 10 years ago

This is what we get, when we don't mind our business.

• Be Bold 10 years ago

Stop the propaganda threat and deal wth reality. This cannot stop those determined to bring justice to the deprived for the massive looting going on. I do not see any agenda for the people in terms of solutions to the nation' ...

• Kontonkyi 10 years ago

This is rubbish. Why not hand them over to the Police? Were they arrested through a press conference?

• Jss education was a mastermind 10 years ago

Common sense should intervene and mind you that an arrest is made by law enforcement officers. so what do you mean why not hand them to the police? do you under the meaning of arrest itself?

• rasheed bawa 10 years ago

greedy bustard, he is olso part of them.

• ********** 10 years ago

Bring them before court with the evidence. You better not try the Ya Na propaganda arrests again, this communist inferior tactics will not wash, we are in ademocratic Ghana now. The days of buga buga ways of doing things are ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

Kodjo´s Guinea fowl building burned down. Abena, his wife, called the insurance company and said, "We had that Guinea fowl insured for fifty thousand Cedis and I want my money."

"Whoa there, just a minute, Abena, it doesn ...

• Joseph Appiah 10 years ago

Mention their names & their reasons for the arson.Capital punishment will be the best for those damn bastards.

• Frimpong, Germany 10 years ago

This is a lie. Please don't deceive Ghanaians. If your government is failing, don't come and tell us what you have not been able to do.You are a liar.

• koffi kokodoko 10 years ago

Finally,the truth will come out,and will know those who are behind it.The perpatrators would be given life sentence.These people don,t love their country!!!

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Who cares if nana addo is back home? We the Great N D C don't give a RAT of that sore Loser.

• Sakimbo 10 years ago

Is this government serious? No wonder these suspected arsonist may be minors.

• Dela 10 years ago

Shut up... Mr. Riffraff, if you won't mention names then you better keep that rubbish of a filla to yourself.

• GLENN OKO 10 years ago

Why are finding faults for people simply because our suspicions.Go tell your govt.about the evils deeds they did in the market place prior to the elections and thats how we see all these punishment simply you want to win powe ...

• AYIGBE MAHAMA 10 years ago

THIS IS ANOTHER GREAT LIE. IF IT IS , I HOPE IT INCLUDES NII LANTE VANDERPUJE AND OKO VANDERPUJE. THEY ARE THE PRIME SUSPECTS

• GARGANTUAN VUVUZELA ORG. 10 years ago

IMPORTATIONS OF CHEAP CHINESE WIRES ARE THE EFFECTS AND MAHAMA DUMSO-DUMSO ARE THE COURSES. JUDGEMENT DEBTS ARE THE BRAIN BEHIND AND NDC IS THE CREATOR

• SEAMAN UK 10 years ago

NDC FOREVER NO FIRE CAN BURN NDC , NPP ON FIRE REMEMBER MARKETS ARE LIKE THE NPP PARTY PRONE TO FIRE LONG LIVE NDC

• osei 10 years ago

what in the world will make fellow Ghanaians go to that extent.Lord have mercy.

• kofi Daniel 10 years ago

they should be made to point out who their pay masters are, since they want o see good citizens in pain

• THINK STRAIGHT 10 years ago

RECENT MARKET FIRES:SUSPECTED ARSONISTS ARRESTED

• Sampson Ofori 10 years ago

We are expecting the authorities to disclosed those people to the entire nation very soon and add their name, home town the suburb they stay and even where they work to avoid any argument and speculations.This time no propaga ...

• Papa kweku 10 years ago

All lose be lose. Please, some of us should learn how to accept and stop depriving hardworking of their legal livelihood.

• Say the TRUTH 10 years ago

I BET YOU THOSE ARRESTED WERE THE SECURITY GUYS THAT WERE IN THE MARKET IN ACCRA THAT TRIED TO PUT OFF THE FIRE BEFORE THEY CALLED THE FIRE DEPT.

THOSE WERE THE GUYS THAT WERE ARRESTED ON SUSPICIONS OF PROBABLY HAVE SOME ...

• kotoo,germany 10 years ago

Krikri,are you intelligent at all.Contribute something positive to help move the country forward,and rather stop attacking Akuffo Ado.

• J.O.BANAHENE 10 years ago

Stop that silly lies and see how best we can find solution to these problem ,Mr.Minister

• sobayorry 10 years ago

WHY IS SOME PEEPZ STILL PROPAGANDING ON CERTIAIN ISSUES THAT ARE TO BE TREATED PRESSING.. SOME GOOD FOR NOTHING IDIOTS ARE BURNING DOWN THR ASSETS OF OUR PARENTS ND LVE ONC AND YOU FORBIDDEN FOOLS TALKING ABOUT NPP ND NDC

• sobayorry 10 years ago

YOU CLAIM TO BE HAVING NAMES IN YA HANDS..IF AM MAY BE RIGHT, THEN WHY ON EARTH ARE YOU NOT PASTING THEIR NAMES IN YA WRITINGS...IDIOT

• DJ.Daabodaabo 10 years ago

LEAVE THAT HOITY-TOITY, I WONDER IF THOSE ARRESTED ARE NOT INNOCENT, EYES MUST WATCH WELL AS NDC IS VERY GULLIBLE, HAD ANYONE BEEN ARRESTED ON TOR,RRAWLINGS RIDGE RESIDENT AND PART OF VRA SET ABLAZED? THIS ARTICLE COULD NOT ...

• Ike 10 years ago

I will not be surprise if i heard somebody has been arrested.Because,before the burnt of makola number2.I heard a man passing by I don't really know whether he is mad. saying makola is burning.Due to that i ask a friend of my ...

• Titus 10 years ago

LET A-K47 TALK TO THE SUSPECTS NO COURT

• TKD 10 years ago

...Inhuman things happen.
    1956-1966-Bombs throwing,Civil disobedience,Riots,etc
    1992-2000-35 women reported murdered in Ghana,Demonstration,"Shit bombing".
    2009-2013-Fires in the Ministries,Tor,Markets,Amina bus rape,Fulan ...

• JAMES Y 10 years ago

We may be witnessing another MAMA TULA and Associates sent out by the opposition Party to cause havoc and destroy Ghana. They have earlier served notice that they would make Ghana ungovernable if they did not get the mandate ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

It's about time

• km agyin 10 years ago

Good work, well done.

• Edmond 10 years ago

There will be no outcome of this people!

• williams 10 years ago

Do Mutala think we are small boys or what .

• williams 10 years ago

He is saying something for Ghanaians to say he is on course . He has nothing to offer ghanaians . i tell u

• ewe man 10 years ago

is not true why not show their face ? when arm robbers came on the street of Kumasi dcp gyening said that some of them have being arrested.but innocent people at ko was arrested and their face was shown on the tv why not thes ...

• KANOKWARE.... 10 years ago

this is lies,lies,lies,,,,stop the propaganda and do clean job for ghanaians,,,,we need the names and locations either Kumasi or accra.

• AKONFEM ERROR PREZ 10 years ago

NDC GHANA AHU MO PAA,MAHAMA LIES NDC PROPAGANDA,WOYOME CHOP OOOOOOOOO

• Concern Ghanaian 10 years ago

We told you so.

• Woman's wisdom 10 years ago

I don't believe this story one bit. NdC has never told one truth in this world. They always tell us lies. If it were true, why are they scared to mention which market the arsonists were attempting to burn or even publish name ...

• DR, KWABENA ASANTE 10 years ago

Much as l appreciate the government's effort to bring to book the perpetrators of these dastardly acts, l also want to entreat them not to find any political scape-goat in this issue.

• BOBOCYBO, NEW YORK 10 years ago

All accusing fingers should go to the NDC Foot soldiers. They are paid to do all stupid propaganda. shame on you all. .

• ASARE 10 years ago

NPP BAD LOSERS SETTING MOST FIRES. BOMB THROWERS, MURDERERS, DRUG BARONS, GAYS, PROSTITUTES, PIMPS.MATEMEHO BATTALLION. UNFIT TO RULE GHANA

• sikobee 10 years ago

please they should hanging all of them

• Sir Gad ( Mamponteng -Kumasi ) 10 years ago

Murtala Mohamed you are a big liar. If the arsonists are arrested just show them to the world for us to see. I am suggesting to you that you have not arrested anyone. All these are sort of unsincere and wicked act towards Gha ...

• Theory 10 years ago

Those people who are found should be brought to the communities so that each one of us to lash them before the government to take it course.

• Nana Asare 10 years ago

WILL THE ndc TELL GHANAIANS IF THIS ARREST WAS AS A RESULT OF THE AMERICAN INVESTIGATORS?.

• Anthony 10 years ago

FIRE STARTS BURNING IN VARIOUS MARKETS IN THE COUNTRY WITHIN A SHORT TIME. THE GOVERNMENT STARTS TAKING ACTION ON THE MATTER AND COMES OUT TO SAY SOME ARRESTS HAVE BEEN. WHY ARE SOME PEOPLE STUPIDLY WRITING ALL THESE NONSENSI ...

• BLACK-STAR-COAST 10 years ago

WHAT IS HAPPENING,?IS OUR NATION STILL
    IN THE MILITARY OR DICTADORSHIP RULES?

• AHANTARIAN-AKAN 10 years ago

WHAT IS THE USE OF OUR VOTINGS,IF THE
    RESPONSIBLES OF THIS NATION,NOW CAN
    NOT BRINGS OUT,THE NAMES OF THOSE,WHO
    ARE CAUSING DAMAGES INSIDE OUR NATION