You are here: HomeNews2013 06 23Article 277660

Another fire guts power transformer at Zenu

Read Comments Comments (88)

• Wiseman 10 years ago

Anytime NPP is not in power, stupid things happen. All of a sudden serial fires spring up everywhere in a country that has not known such fires for a long time, and some want us to believe no one is behind?

• kk 10 years ago

This comment does not match your name

• now 10 years ago

wait till it gets to ur home nd then u get to know what wiseman is saying

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• KA WO ANO PAA DO 10 years ago

Who has paid you to advertise here?

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author: Samuel...
    "I humbly submit that samuel "ISOFOTON"
    Okudzeto must be investigated. he was all over the place canvassing for this spanish co. to be paid this money. An please remember, Martin Amidu hinted that okudzeto ...

• Evans 10 years ago

These ministers are thieves especially when u present a proposal to them, they ignore yours and go to bring inn other people for your idea to get their own 10% share by implementing a fake of what u presented to them. God sav ...

• NIIGBESE 10 years ago

UNLESS MAHAMA LEAVES POWER THE CORRUPTION WILL CONTINUE UNABATED.WHAT GHANAIANS ARE FAILING TO SEE IS THAT THE GUY IS BEHIND EVERYTHING CORRUPT IN TODAY'S GHANA.THE JUDGE BEHIND THE JUDGEMENT DEBT, IBRAHIM TANKO WAS PROMOTED ...

• MANU 10 years ago

WHY ARE YOU TALKING OF SOMETHING ELSE? LOOK THIS FIRE WOULD MEAN MORE INCREASE IN ELECTRICITY TARRIF AND YOU THIS SAME PERSON WOULD COMPLAIN. INSTEAD OF HELPING AND BRAINSTORMING YOU ARE DIVERTING ATTENSION FROM SUCH A NATION ...

• GHFUO, LOVE/DOR YOURSELF! 10 years ago

BLAME THE CHINESE GRAVE DIGGERS

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

ls there any grave also for Nana Akufo
    too.

• OSBON 10 years ago

The Transformers are made in China and North Korea.
    What do you expect.?
    Nothing getting right in this NDC government.
    Atta mortuary man was better. RIP.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

How you people still feel the need to denigrate the dead bits my imagination. Prof. did the best for Ghana but just like Nkrumah, it will take years for people to realize this. I was not a fun of him until I saw him rule. For ...

• Iron 10 years ago

You ain't seen nothing yet. Usually it takes pretty long time for stupid people to recognize a good man but it'll surely catch on.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Yes most of the transformers are of Chinese and to correct you, South Korean and Romanian made. But that is not the case here, because, if much of Sub Saharan African include our economic powerhouse of South Africa are using ...

• Akpaklika Mewua Lo Ode 10 years ago

I agree 100 per cent. That was what I tried to address in an earlier comment

• CONCERNED CITIZEN. 10 years ago

TOO MUCH POWER SHARING/RATIONING WITHOUT A MAINTENANCE OR PREVENTIVE MAINTENANCE BY GHANA. ALSO WHY NOT GHANA DEPEND ON AMERICAN MADE TRANSFORMERS GUYS. ELECTRIC POWER IS VITAL TO A COUNTRY'S ECONOMY BUT GHANA DONT REALLY GET ...

• MANU 10 years ago

OH MY BROTHER, SO ARE YOU SAYING THIS TRANSFORMER WAS INSTALLED DURING PRESIDENT MAHAMA'S TIME. THE PROCUREMENT PROCESS ALONE COULD TAKE 18 MONTHS. HAHAHAA OSBORN, LET US GET REAL, EVEN THOUGH WE WANT NPP TO COME BACK TO POWE ...

• DKB 10 years ago

Use your brains for once. The article talks about power surge and power overload. How does NPP come into this? If we choose to make such silly arguments on matters of national importance, then we will continue to mark time an ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

How can he use it, when he has none ?

My stepson, advising that blockheaded foolsoldier to use his brain when he has none, is like telling him to go look for Tilapia in the Atlantic Ocean.

• blest 10 years ago

npp do proper poltics and stop this burning here n there

• thomas 10 years ago

This should tell every wise ghaiaian that NPP just is greedy.Stop distroying the assets og Ghana just bcos u lost badly.U are pulling ghana back bcos u lost the ellections.NPP stop wasting ghanas money with ur court ases bcos ...

• ISSA ABONGO 10 years ago

THE AFRC/P/NDC IS NORMALLY ASSOCIATED WITH FETISH AND IDOL WORSHIP AND THEY DID ENGAGE IN THESE DEMONIC ACTIVITY DURING THE LAST ELECTION. THEY HAVE NOT PAY THE PRICE REQUIRED OF THEM BY THE DEMONS AFTER THE ELECTION AND SO S ...

• AFEVIA 10 years ago

IS THAT THE BEST YOU CAN CONTRIBUTE?

almost all the ministers are incompetent and amateur at best including the vice and minister of finance so how do they expect to perform. none have any integrity or desire to serve the people of this nation but are all career ...

• DKB 10 years ago

Could it be that when NPP is in power their competency and I can do attitude helps avoid such situations? Have you thought about that or to you accusing them is an easy option so that is what you chose.

• GHANABA PA 10 years ago

The bible says when good people rules the nation good things happings but when EVIEL rules bad n curse happings so mr wiseman if anytime NPP is not in power STUPID things happens it means that when they are not in power ,is ...

• Augustine, Manchester. 10 years ago

Wiseman, it seems as though you are not as wise as your name depicts. If you look at Scripture very well particularly the history of Israel, anytime godless people became leaders the country went into difficult times includin ...

• NORWAY 10 years ago

HAHAHA U CALL UR SELF WISEMAN OHHH MY GOD, DO U REMEMBER WHEN ATTA MILLS WAS ON POWER THERE WERE ALOT OF ACCIDENT EVERY WHERE ON MY STREET? NOW FIRE EVERY WHERE MAN THINK AND U WILL GET AN IDEA OK. JUJU JUJU IS KILLING GHANA ...

• WISEMAN'S BROTHER 10 years ago

Oh my brother Wiseman! I believe you went to Church today

• kk 10 years ago

For this fire I suspect Mutarla Mohammed.
    What do you also think

• EEEEHHHUUUUOOOOOOO!!!!!!! 10 years ago

HMMMNNN!!! IF MAHAMA BELIEFS NPP IS THE CAUSE OF ALL THESE SERIAL FIRES IN THE COUNTRY, HE MUST ARREST ALL OF THEM BEFORE WE ARE ALL BURNT. WHEN ARE WE GOING TO KNOW THE REAL CAUSE OF THESE SERIAL FIRES. CAN THE AMERICANS FIN ...

• williams 10 years ago

Matt 16:26 what shall it profit a man if he shall gain the whole world and lose his own soul, or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul? JESUS CHRIST the KING of all kings and LORD of all lords is coming back again fo ...

• Nana Bin Addo... 10 years ago

fire...fire...fire.......

• Nana Bin Addo... 10 years ago

fire, fire, fire...

• general mosquito 10 years ago

arrest these two stupd men for killing innocent people.i mean these two bastards .jj and boakye djan

• nsem pii 10 years ago

are looked into. My advice to Mahama government too many light outs for decades including Rawlings and Kuffour rule, don't brainy folks figure out the electricity across the country need serious looking into?

• NPP 10 years ago

NANA ADDO SAID ALL DIE BE DIE,ALL FIRE BE FIRE,HE CHANGE HIS ALTITUDE,HAHAHAHA NANA BIN LA DIN.

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

npp must stop burning our structures. this would not make u win. U will die before Ghana dies. All die no die

• SIMPA CARPENTER 10 years ago

EVEN THE GOOD BOOK SAYS GOD HELP THOSE WHO HELP THEMSELVES.BY THESE ACTIONS(AND IT IS OBVIOUS THAT IT IS DELIBERATE)WE HAVE FAILED OURSELVES AND GOD ALMIGHTY.

• DKB 10 years ago

How does power surge and power overload become an obvious deliberate action? Leave God out of your incompetency. We are always looking to blame someone for our own short falls. In the same way when people don't take care of t ...

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

Tell NPP. they were right for threatening to deny mahama political comfort. let the investigation team come out with their findings. NPP will be skinned alive if some treachery / cunning thing is disclosed. Why do u guys thre ...

• wendy, london 10 years ago

I tot we were told those who were behind this have been arrested? Its abt time christians in Ghanaian realised all these fires are not ordinary and start praying before is too late. Are we going to sit down and allow some sel ...

• Pastor 10 years ago

Because your fathers & Mothers have been corrupt and deprived Ghana of scarce resources to improve & repair infra-structures, YOU are all paying a heavy price.

Bribe bribe

• MENSAH 10 years ago

MAHAMA & MURTALA ASSERTION ON FIRE OUTBREAKS IN GHANA ARE A HOAX,SIAD THE NPP.
    THEY MIGHT BE RIGHT.
    WE USE ONLY INFERIOR PRODUCTS FROM CHINA & RAND THE FAR EAST,THINKING THEY ARE CHEAPER.
    BUT ARE THEY QUALITY,THAT LAST LON ...

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

inferior products don't just get caught with fire. Someone somewhere is delibrately setting the fires. The political party opposition Npp might be responsible.

• DKB 10 years ago

With people like you bent on accusing your opponent rather than facing the situation head on, you will continue chasing your tail till thy kingdom come. A bad workman blames his tools not his incompetency. If you believe infe ...

Tell him, wise men will do proper investigations and make sensible conclusions. They will then find workable solutions. Others may choose to blame witches, neighbours, political parties, etc. and continue to live in under-dev ...

• SHAME NPP 10 years ago

NPP FIRE MEN ARE @ WORK

• SHAME NPP 10 years ago

SHAME SHAME SHAME NPP

• KD 10 years ago

Do we have qualified engineers? I don't think so. Degrees upon degrees to me they are all useless,

You may have qualified engineers at post, however, if you have a set of technicians employed on the basis of Old Boyism and close relationship with Politicians who cannot be trained to achieve professional excellence, the cou ...

• MANU 10 years ago

SO IF YOU EMPLOY OLDBOYS THEY SHOULD NOT BE SUPERVISED PROPERLLY? WHETHER THE EMPLOYEE IS YOUR BROTHER OR SISTER THE ETHICS OF THE JOB MUST BE UPHELD. WE ARE GETTING TIRED OOOOO KOM.

• Foreign Observer 10 years ago

The diasporan professionals who are willing to return home to put their expertise at the service of Mother Ghana are not welcomed by the Gov't. Yearly shutdowns are non-existent so that major electrical equipment can be servi ...

• koffi kokodoko 10 years ago

This is one more a criminal act. Yes NPP is behind it too.

• Donboli 10 years ago

This is a government who dont care about his people. Why should a government blame people or person for burning down market knowly know the fire was cause by electricity.
    The government turn off and on our light at will and ...

• paajim 10 years ago

It is very clear at hand, what npp said they will make this country UnGovernable only npp can Rule this country . I want to ask,why are they doing that?They are not Intelligent party, they are all corrupt and selfishness.What ...

• DKB 10 years ago

Are you stupid? Can't you read? Ask your stupid self how is it possible that power overload and power surge could be caused by NPP. Please stop these stupid comments you are not helping anyone. STOP THIS FOOLISHNESS. We need ...

If indeed the cause of the fire is as a result of Transformer Overload, then ECG Officials must be held responsble and accountable.

Transformer designs ensures that a particular transformer facility is protected against vo ...

• MANU 10 years ago

I AGREE WITH YOU 100%. THE PERSONS INVOLVED IN MONITORING THIS TRANSFORMER UNIT MUST BE ARRESTED ONE TIME. THEY MUST BE INVESTIGATED. INSTEA OF WORKING DELIGENTLY, THEY WOULD BE GALIVANTING IN TOWN DOING OTHER THINGS. UPGRADE ...

• MANU 10 years ago

THIS NEWS MAY BE INCORRECT. FELLOW COUNTRYMEN AND WOMEN, THESE TRANSFORMERS COME WITH INBUILT PROTECTION AGAINST POWER SURGES THAT ACOMPANY EVEN LIGHTENING. THEY CANNOT JUST BURN BECAUSE OF POWER SURGE UNLESS THE PROTECTION I ...

• DKB 10 years ago

Well they claim it is NPP my brother. That argument and political undertone to the issue instantly tells you those incompetent engineers will gladly hide behind the political accusations and get away with their incompetency. ...

• Adolph Mensah 10 years ago

Let me first say this no matter what political party you in,we must all come together to find out first what course this fires outbreak and stop pointing fingers at each other parties and know that we are Ghanaians first anyt ...

I thought only imaginary arsonists could cause fire outbreaks!

• Kretz D - Beantown 10 years ago

This is why Ghana is not yet ready for a nuclear plant. Our attitudes towards safety is poor.

• MANU 10 years ago

YES O, OUR ATTITUDE. WHEN SOMEONE DOES WRONG HE/SHE CANNOT BE PUNISHED. THE ASSEMBLYMAN, DCE, MCE, CHIEF, MP,MINISTER, ETC WOULD COME PLEAING FOR BENDING OF THE RULES. IF THE SUPERVISOR DECLINES, HM! WE SHALL SEE. THERE ARE M ...

• fact 10 years ago

a transformer overload must never happen if it is protected against overloading because anytime there is an overload a fuse blows to break the circuit this will stop current flow to the transformer

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Yes, you are right, mate. But, when one is using obsolete transformer coupled with poor maintenance, then circuit popping to indicate overload is far from certainty.

• DR X. 10 years ago

TWO TRANSFORMERS, OSEI KUFFOURS OFFICE , PARLIAMENT HOUSE, FOREIGN AFFAIRS,JJS RESIDENCE, MORE THAN 3 MARKETS, ETC IT DOESNT TAKE A ROCKET SCIENTIST OR AMERICAN EXPERTS TO KNOW THE COMMON DENOMINATOR IN ALL THIS IS THE POWE ...

• Amos nutor 10 years ago

So in Ghana every weekend there must be fire?

• Abeiku GH 10 years ago

It's abt time we stop dis nonsense n unnessesary argumnt n pray fr our dear Nation. Ghana is de onli country we have, lets not forget that...GOD BLESS GHANA

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFUL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot com

• HAFIS ATTA IBRAIMA 10 years ago

CHINA AND NORTH KOREA TRANSFORMERS DO NOT LAST. TO GET BOOTY OUT OF EVERY PURCHASE, THESE ROBBERS ALWAYS BUY CHEAP CHINESE PRODUCTS.

• Mohammed 10 years ago

Ndc is the couse of all these fire outbreak.

• lydia Asnte 10 years ago

renouvation at lest every 10 years that is
    important

• lydia Asnte 10 years ago

renovation is important at lest every 10years

• Joe 10 years ago

Ghana lacks maintenance of its equipments and infrastructures that is the cause of all these fires in the country and not arsonists. NDC should face the fact.

• ras 10 years ago

if they arrest him, we will know the arsonists.

• Quansah R 10 years ago

If you go cheap and buy parts from China, you risk fire...

• dean 10 years ago

this is outragous Ghana needs to set things out.

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

ls there no body working there at the
    time to maintain the power plant as a
    security? Foolish.

• Humphrey Adormekwao 10 years ago

This is what I've always been saying.I personally have no reason to believe that some people are responsible for the recent fire outbreaks in our country.Does it mean those people also go into people's homes and offices to se ...

• Humphrey Adormekwao 10 years ago

Does it mean also that someone went to set those transformers ablaze????

• AKONFEM ERROR PREZ 10 years ago

MAHAMA IS FAKE,AND CAURSE TO THE NATION,EVIL MAHAMA KILLED MILLS,IS HANDS ARE BLOOD,MUST COME CLEAN AS NDC MAN DOC ASEM FOFORO SAID

• Say the TRUTH 10 years ago

ARE THEY GOING TO ARREST THE POWER OVERLOAD FOR COURT TO BE CHARGED AS ARSONIST OR ARE WE GOING TO GET MORE US EXPERTS TO COME AND ANALYSE THE CAUSE OF THAT????/

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!

• Yamo 10 years ago

Well I guess this means the electric rates will now triple and power shedding will continue for another 4 years.

• ASEMPA NEYE 10 years ago

DOOM GLOOM AND MAYHEM BASTARDS