You are here: HomeNews2013 06 24Article 277758

Media's uncontrolled power will be halted - Atuguba

Read Comments Comments (112)

• cha 10 years ago

Ghana is now in a complete mess

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

WE THANK GOD FOR THE LIFE OF ST. MARTIN AMIDU. IT COULD BE RECALLED THAT, EVIL CORRUPT NDC BASTARDS SACKED ST. MARTIN FOR DEFENDING THE POOR PEOPLE OF THIS COUNTRY. TO BE PRECISE, FOR FIGHTING CORRUPTION IN EVIL NDC GOVERNMEN ...

• casting a vote a sacred right- A. ad 10 years ago

Stick to the issue at stake. don't u think it's high time this so called petition is thrown out of the supreme court?

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

LET US ASK QUESTIONS??? WHO CAN TRUST CRIMINAL NDC?????????????

• CHE ANDREW 10 years ago

No you may not trust "criminal NDC" but if you ask citizen Kofi Coomson no Ghanaian can go to bed and sleep if NPP comes to power led by certificateless Nana Addict.

• DEIA 10 years ago

TOO MUCH FAKE NEWS

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author: Samuel...
    "I humbly submit that samuel "ISOFOTON"
    Okudzeto must be investigated. he was all over the place canvassing for this spanish co. to be paid this money. An please remember, Martin Amidu hinted that okudze ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• paul 10 years ago

good news in the mist of... ur guess is as right as mine

• ADWEN 10 years ago

The media is the mouthpiece of the people and it is through the media that all the fraudulent deals and corrupt practices of Mahama and his gang of unscrupulous touts can be exposed because left to Mahama and his corrupt coho ...

• APONKYE KPEGAH 10 years ago

Shut up Atuguba for we can't be bothered by your empty threats. Deal with issues the way they are. Vent your splee first on Mahama for he's the stoodge who's intimidating all of you judges, with his useless "My victory is ord ...

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 10 years ago

We all know where this man belongs to but he must be very careful and put the right thing at the right price. "A word to the wise is enough".

• Sien 10 years ago

Where does he belong to?

• okofo 10 years ago

The NDC colours of Atuguba is flapping uncontrollably for all to see. This judge MUST understand one thing: the limited POWER bestowed on him in that court came from the people, and he MUST use it wisely and impatially.

It ...

• Nana addo dankwa akufo addo 10 years ago

There u people go again! Anything that does not go in your favour, you condemn! Did I hear p.c. appiah ofori say martin amidu would be made attorney-general in an akufo addo govt? YES! How many times have u ppl not condemned ...

• okofo 10 years ago

Logic is beyond your reach, otherwise you wouldn't respond to every issue by way of tribe. I just wonder what informs this wierd attitude? Inferiority complex?

• Yag 10 years ago

Okofo there is nowhere on earth that election been conducted without such irrrgularities. But for a party to challenged only whatever in the stronghold of another party amount to dishonesty.This pettition can not stand at ahy ...

• okofo 10 years ago

You made a statement but could not substantiate it. So, I ask you which part of the world accepts irregularities as being normal part of electing leaders?

And why do you think this petition case "can not stand at ahenfie ...

• Kwadzo 10 years ago

where from the st. we were here in Ghana when you Ghanaians called JJ Junior Jesus now what is the end. Martin has done well but he is not a st.

• ADABRAKA 10 years ago

NPP has known it has lost the silly case they brought to SC. No wonder Gloria Akuffo, Addison have started making claims against KPMG. And you too diverting the agenda over here.

• K Boateng 10 years ago

The presiding judge said nowhere that "media's uncontrolled power..." will be curtailed. This is what he said:-

He says they have given several warnings but have not taken action.

Unacceptable statements made by counsel ...

• Donboli 10 years ago

Atuguba ia not a goog judge, how can a judge think what the media is saying about the audit pinks is right.
    Atuguba and his office didnt get copies from the company they employ but instead they gave it to the media. Why tha ...

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

You don't seem to have anything good to contribute on this forum. All your contributions are negative. If Ghana 'appears' to be a mess in your eyes, then just tell us who has caused the mess?

And by the way have you just ...

• K Boateng 10 years ago

the guy is one of the stupid NPP "yenta gyae" fanatics. Anyone who doesn't agree with him is labeled either an Ewe or a Trokosi. Tack his infantile writings on Say It Loud. He hardly understands what he writes himself.

• DAN 10 years ago

Libel and slander is only way to deal with bad reporters..SUE

• casting a vote a sacred right- A. ad 10 years ago

Very sad for dear Ghana. please judges throw out this case without delay.

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

In a democracy Power resides in the people not the courts contrary to Atuguba's assertion. The courts merely interprete what the people designate through representative instruments. The constitution thereby grants each indivi ...

• gghanaba 10 years ago

Do you also know how damaging media myths can cause? I bet your study of the constitution lacked basic fairness. It about time the media go back to school to learn ethical reporting. Any cocoa as reporter stands and write wit ...

The constitution was not designed upon nicities, Mr Full Barrel. It stressed upon unfettered right to enjoy free expression. Walk away from the kitchen if it gets too hot for you Mr Justice.

• Sien 10 years ago

Report but don't MIS-REPORT to upset the population just so you can get more readership

• seeMe 10 years ago

So when you report in or to the main Media something that the SC did not say, thereby misrepresenting the SC it is okay because of free speech? You are sick, sick, sick! Is that how it works in advanced democracies? No. You w ...

• Osei-Asibey - Atlanta. 10 years ago

Power to the people not to the courts. This Justice is crazy.

• BK 10 years ago

The justices have been more than fair with the media and the lawyers, they have given several warnings without taking any action. In the US in many cases the judges put on a publication ban. US have over 200 years of democrac ...

• kagee 10 years ago

Will the justices sue the media houses or sentence them in absentia. Let court president guard his tongue.He appears to be making the little power he has get into his head. After all thIs is why it's being telecast for thewh ...

• THEOPHILUS 10 years ago

THERE IS A REGULAR CONTRIBUTOR TO THESE PAGES CALLED OBURONI FITA FITA. HE IS WELL KNOWN FOR TALKING TRASH. SOMEBODY SHOULD PLEASE ASK WHETHER HE IS THE TYPE OF OBURONI THAT FEARS TO HAVE A SHOWER.

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Lock them up for contempt

• KB 10 years ago

Long overdue. This should have been done right from the beginning knowing how our media is.

• Ketasco Headmaster 10 years ago

Don't waste time Aguguba, start with Miss Akuffo; and continue with all those NPP pres conferences adicts. They do all these, including their favorite newspapers to prepare the minds of their supporters and others to help the ...

• Hilmi 10 years ago

It's important d SC cracks d whip b4 d media n social commentators drag d nation in to chaos.

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

The spinning, insinuations and innuendo is simply too much and people seem to be getting away with it. It is OK to have an opinion but to churn out falsehoods to tarnish the reputation of the court is total unacceptable. Let' ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

“Let's have one good example punished to set the standard for everyone.”

Well, who or which outfit do you have in mind, mate?

• bex 10 years ago

Hey, Atuguba, think of what Brutus told Cassius, and learn some sense, and be humble:

"Your threats don’t scare me because I’m so secure in my honesty and integrity that they pass me by like a breeze."

You are too s ...

"Let find our way out of this morass. And his is my suggestion: Since the election is close anyway, let Mahama rule for two years. after that let's give it to Nana or the remaining two. And let the two go at it in 2016. This ...

• bex 10 years ago

I am; I am not losing it. I am just throwing some little bones to Nana. To make him happy.

Keeping the peace all around, I guess, abi?

• Kwadzo 10 years ago

keep quite you stoborn child and listen to the elders of the land, this is not a threat but warning to all whose behaviours suggest otherwise. be careful.

• bex 10 years ago

Where you live, this may be a warning. Where I live it is a threat.

A warning is when you advised someone not to do something. It becomes a threat once you follow it with what action you will take if the warning is ignore ...

Well, off to get myself prepare emotionally for it. Debate some more another day, Captain.

• Zagli 10 years ago

So all along, daily guide was throwing dust into the eyes of ghanaians as usual to please the pertitioners.

• ORACLE 10 years ago

Kwaku Baako, the most useless and corrupt of all Ghana's journalists, maybe because he did not even finish secondary school. He will fuck his own mother if it will bring him money. He is a shame on his father's proud legacy.

• Floyd Banner 10 years ago

Oracle,deity or whatever your name is,its people like u who spend hours in the bath house masturbating,do you want me to say more,what did u do to your sister when u were kids;guy,remove the log in your eyes before you deal w ...

• Y3nte_Gyae 10 years ago

For contempt,and so I take it that he will defy this order in the mistaken belief that his so-called 'legal-luminary' friends will come to his rescue if and when he is cited for contempt. We are all waiting to see see what he ...

• npp boi 10 years ago

please mind you speech!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Anything that comes out of gina blay's gutter paper must be taken with a basin of salt. The vulgarity in the paper speaks volumes of the editor behind the paper. Lies, vulgarity, promiscuity,, you call it!

• DASAANA 10 years ago

Hmm, that has being them.

• richard m. 10 years ago

do the right thing and face the facts,

• KOMOO FRANCE. 10 years ago

This pro NDC judge will incur the wrath of God if he plays any monkey tricks.

• ORACLE 10 years ago

Stupid idiot. There is no god.

• Lorgo Ligri 10 years ago

The oracle of old is, not to trust or believe the gods because they are of the making of man. The same oracle invokes the name of GOD of which no one should call in vain. Even the devil which you believe and trusts, shivers a ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

This threat sounds hollow indeed. What punitive sanctions can the Sc impose on the journalists and the media houses? The Ghanaian lawyers do not abide by the principle of sub judice. Gloria Akuffo and Ato Dadzie have been ru ...

Yes, order in court is indeed too late.

Just encourage gina blay and her gutter paper to make a move in the wrong direction and you will know what powers the SC has. Don't forget this is Justice Atuguba the savannah boy talking! These northerners warn a man before ...

Don't worry, Buddy. The Daily Guide outfit is not my page. Give the order and I will torch the damn place into some beautiful inferno myself before Justice Atuguba brings in his savannah squad.

• nii 10 years ago

Your nakedness is out in public for your partial representation.

• appiah 10 years ago

No! the journalists will continue to do their work to the best of their ability. The judges will have to do their best and stop worrying about the reporters.
    If you want us to consider your criticism of others you will have ...

• STANLEY MILLS 10 years ago

I AM HAPPY ABOUT THIS DEVELOPMENT. A TYPICAL SUSPECT IN THIS REGARD IS SCHOOL DROP OUT,MALIK KWEKU BAAKO, AKA MR DOCUMENTS, COMMANDANT OF THE LABADI COFFEE MAFIA,BLACK POLYTHEN BAGS AND SPECIAL ADVISER TO MR DEAWUO. HARDLY A ...

• STANLEY MILLS 10 years ago

BECAUSE WHO BUT FOR MR DEAWUO K4 AND THE NPP, HE WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN WHAT HE IS TODAY'

Do you realize the foams in the corners of Malik Baako's mouth anytime he speaks? O.K watch him next time and please look for a know wee smoker and watch his/her mouth when the latter speaks. Do you also know that JJ killed h ...

• Floyd Banner 10 years ago

hey,where are your S.S.C.E. results(the one that you doctored with the aid of a passport forger),where the hell is it.how much have u been paid so far to puke out this piece of pig feed,..."a typical suspect in this regard bl ...

The people must be allowed to exercise their rights to free expression of ideas. They may not be plausible or factually acceptable but the constitution protects them.

For one justice to curtail such right it becomes an un ...

• CAB 10 years ago

The judge can in his discretion stop people from twisting and turning this sentitive case.

The judge should have issued a Gag
    order on this case a long time ago.

Democracy does not mean that we should
    fabricate sto ...

• FUSIENI 10 years ago

THE SUPREME COURT MUST SUMMONS MR DOCUMENTS AND ALL KNOWING MALIK KWEKU BAAKO BEFORE THE COURT TO LECTURE GHANA WHAT HE KNOWS ABOUT THE LAWS OF THE COUNTRY. INFACT HE BEHAVES AS IF THE JUSTICES SITTING ON THE PETITIONERS CASE ...

• obiba 10 years ago

Talk to your brother mahama and your co national demonic congress to stop blowing the winning horn, because they were loooosers from the begining of DECEMBER 7,8

• Kwadzo 10 years ago

stupid fool nonsence, you can only hide behind abiba to spew nonsence like this fool. you think we are joking in this country ahhh nonsence again.

• Kwame Aidoo 10 years ago

Your highnesses, I humbly pray you to hold on to your high earned dignity and not let anybody propel you to throw away that dignity.As you know, there are many in the whole world watching and listening to you.Therefore, leave ...

• THINK STRAIGHT 10 years ago

MEDIA'S UNCONTROLLED POWER WILL BE HALTED-ATUGUBA

• mo 10 years ago

im soo disappointed in Atuguba, he started on a good note when he was addressing the public by warning the media but to my surprised, he only made mention of the daily guide, my question is, what about other news media that t ...

• alfred 10 years ago

Atuguba the ''dictator''

• KWAA 10 years ago

This guy seems to be enjoying the spotlight on him,and is using it to be a small Dictator.
    Just hurry up with the case and stop giving warnigs you cann`t enforce.
    The socalled power the Journalist are enjoying is enshrined ...

• Sweet Mary 10 years ago

The whole media is polluted by these Akyem and Ashanti kokoasi journalist, I sometimes get sick and mad when listening to that Adom and Asempa news readers , especially Adakabre the ugly NPP paid journalist with his ashawo gi ...

• K. Boateng 10 years ago

Is this shameless NPP mouthpiece reporting of what we all heard at the court today? The Presiding said nowhere that the powers of the media will be halted; where did this NPP media outlet get their additions from ? Below is w ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

The Daily Guide prejudicial reportage was completely misleading and I'll have no difficulty if they drag to appear before the supreme court for brazen contempt

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Uncontrolled power equals mafia,that's what Justice Atuguba is talking about.This mafias want the stupid petition to continue as long as they are getting benefit.Thank you.

• Issah London 10 years ago

Atuguba can u courtion Mr JDM, Mr Tsikata Mr Tony Lithor b4 the media, bcos the media like Deaily Guard is power dan Mahama.

• K Boateng 10 years ago

what at all are you trying to say? What is "courtion"? Please, spare us your ignorance.

• BK 10 years ago

Often in US and Canada some judges put a publication ban on the proceedings of some cases to avoid this type disgraceful journalism from Daily Guide.

• inspector asempa 10 years ago

YOU KNOW NOTHING, YET YOU WANT TO INSULT A SUPREME COURT JUDGE,,,EIIIIIIIIIII...GHANA.

• K Boateng 10 years ago

He is one of the pathetic, ignorant NPP "yenta gyae" fanatics.

• Ataa Nyamekye Jnr 10 years ago

U said it right! Some journalists exaggerate and blow issues out of proportion. Such a warning I hope will deter most of them from such unprofessional behavior.

• FRANCIS 10 years ago

Not on this alone but should be on all matters,in Ghana

• Patriot 10 years ago

This judge is an illiterate in lessons of democracy and needs some education. Judges cannot aid in clipping the wings of the media as a means to stop improper reporting. If he is not aware the court can only warn the media an ...

PLEASE CHECK WELL...COS THATS NOT TRUE. YOU JUST LOST IT......

• WORWUI-BROWN 10 years ago

I WILL PLEAD WITH ALL MEDIA HOUSES TO BE DECORUOS IN THEIR REPORTAGE. IT WOULD BE GOOD FOR THIS LOVELY COUNTRY OF OURS. WE MUST ALL LEARN TO FEAR GOD A LITTLE. GOD BLESS OUR HOMELAND GHANA AND MAKE OUR NATION GREAT AND STRONG

• AKONFEM ERROR PREZ 10 years ago

OH USELESS NDC,SHAMELESS NDC,INCOMPETENTS NDC,CRIMINALS THIEVES NDC,EVIL DWARFS NDCMGANGANTUAN NDC,EMPTY HEAD NDC,GAY ATOPAHENE WOMANIZER NDC,DEPTS

NPP MUST STOP THIS BLOCK-HEADEDNESS AND RUBBISH.LETS SAY IT LOUD AND CLEAR,AKUFFO ADDO LOST THE ELECTIONS.AHAHAAAAAA

• Private Mensah 10 years ago

NPP media must be stopped

• Kwaku Ampofo 10 years ago

Mr President let me tell you this is overdue. We have heard too much nonsense from selfish interests and it behoves the court to cut this out.

EVERYONE IN GH IS A JOURNALIST. WITH YOUR JHS CERTIFICATE AND SOME LITTLE GOOD ENGLISH AND A LAPTOP,YOU AUTOMATICALLY BECOME A JOURNALIST...HMMMMM......ATUGUBA AND CO PLEASE JUST GET ONE OF THOSE GUTTER JOURNALIST AND USE HIM ...

• Bastine 10 years ago

Focus on the case and give Ghanians a quick ruling and put an end to these unethical write ups which solicits such unnecessary warnings. You cannot and are not in position to keep watch over the media. Just stick to your resp ...

• PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI- McA 10 years ago

PEACE REQUIRES JUSTICE============
    WE MUST WATCH OUR WORD=& MAINTAIN OUR STAND ===THINK PEACE=ACT PEACE = SPREAD PEACE== EMBRAECE PEACE==
    LIFE PATRON================
    PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI ===
    RIGHT-TO -LIVE ...

• Kwasi A. Asiedu 10 years ago

The court's job is not to punish the media. Its job is to control its court room, if it sees a violation of any of its rules.

In a democracy with free speech, unless there is some real, present and serious danger resultin ...

• KWARNING,NJ 10 years ago

WELL SAID.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

The concern citizens of Ghanaians abroad such as America, Canada, London, Germany, Italy, Australia and Holland, is appealing to the highest court of our country to throw the petitioners foolish and diabolical case that is ha ...

• KWARNING,NJ 10 years ago

THIS JUSTICE IS BIAS.

• Abeeku Kroanteng 10 years ago

His Lordship Justice Atuguba is doing well to exercise his authority. I think I do agree with him to establish discipline in our courts but it should no be one way I suggest President Mahama and his party cronies must be sto ...

• Justman 10 years ago

THIS SMALL ONE YOU ARE CRYING. NOW YOU CAN APPRECIATE WHAT RAWLINGS HAS BEEN GOING THROUGH UP TILL NOW.
    JUDGES IN GENERAL IN GHANA LEFT MUCH TO BE DESIRED HENCE THINGS ARE THIS WAY.WE CAN BLAME THE MEDIA MENANCE AND PUBLIC C ...

• HOO-YAH 10 years ago

WHAT IS WRONG WITH JUSTICE ATUGUBA HE IS ALWAYS GIVING WARNING BUT NO ACTION JUST TALKING HE IS A REAL JUDGE SOMETHING IS WRONG

• Kk 10 years ago

Do it and stop the empty threat.ye abre!

• Atia, USA 10 years ago

If you stop being bias, you will enjoy the media's work!

• THE TEXAN 10 years ago

Hello?,is Atuguba behind civiliazation/"DAMN",FOOLS, are we DEMOCRATIC or practising DEMOCRACY,.MAHAMA is starving"FREE of SPEECH",this concludes DICTACTORSHIP in Ghana and its never tolerated in the civilised world.BOOM deed ...

• THE TEXAN 10 years ago

Correection for persociation is "persuasion"

• kontor 10 years ago

I think this guy don't understand the meaning of freedom of speech. He want to use his power to bully Ghana media. Too bad