You are here: HomeNews2014 04 02Article 305074

KB Asante pushes for constitutional dictatorship

Read Comments Comments (143)

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Casely hayford was talking through his nose. We needed Nkrumahs leadership and stability. Nkrumah did not have to be fighting his vice as well as external enemies of NLM, CIA, M15 . We owe the divisive NLM no apology

• SARPONG 10 years ago

Asante is going senile. Anything with a dictatorship insignia will not be accepted in Ghana. If Kojo T and his blabber mouth Ewe zealots think the 1966 coup was wrong, I want them to lead the crusade to have the Kotoka Intern ...

• KWAKU 10 years ago

I believe you can disagree with him and not go tribal way. He never said anything that borders on tribe but being the chief tribalist on Ghanaweb, you always want to give issue a tribal slant. We need to stop this and unite. ...

• SARPONG 10 years ago

Idiot, Ewes like Kojo T cannot have it both ways, you moronic fool. The same Ewes condemning the 1966 coup are the same people who opposed the change of the Kotoka International name because they like one of their own having ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

If it was that great for Ghana then why did it fail? We have been there, done that, we are going forward and not backwards just like Nkrumah's said. JJ was in power for 20 years and what did he achieve? Even China is moving t ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

Thank you Gye Nyame. China has overhauled its economic policies and are now practicing capitalistic economic model because dictatorship has never worked anywhere.

• mojingles 10 years ago

Nana Yaw, you sure don't know anything about the political system in China, right, young man? China is a dictatorship, pure and simple....it is in essence a one party state....the communist party controls everything and there ...

• hermit 10 years ago

Now, KB is clamoring for 'constitutional dictatorship'. Mahatma Ghandi once said "the only acceptable form of dictatorship, is the silent voice within". Ghana is not lagging behind because of democracy, it's due to the poor g ...

Yea though we walk through the valley of pepeni death we shall fear no ayigbe evil for the Lord stands by the children of Akan and Israel always . We shall forever remain blessed and despite the trials and tribulations served ...

• FACT 10 years ago

ONE-PARTY DID NOT FAIL IN GHANA. NKRUMAH WAS FORCED OUT OF POWER BECAUSE THEY WANTED TO CONTROL OUR RESOURCES AS IS HAPPENING NOW. IT IS NOT TRUE THAT CHINA IS MOVING TO THE SO-CALLED DEMOCRACY; CHINA HAS JUST EASED ABOUT 20% ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

Of course the one party system failed in Ghana, why do you think that the 1966 coup was so successful? It was because the people were becoming unhappy with the dictatorship and the failing economic system. You see my own fat ...

• Kosoko 10 years ago

Ok, we have had democracy for the last 20yrs, what is the results? Are we better than China, are we better than, UAE, Saudi Arabia, Zimbabwe, Gaddafi's Libya?

Please, lets try to understand the Geopolitics of the world. L ...

• DOGO 10 years ago

My brother you seems to be logical. You make a lot of sense with your analysis. Some of us lack the ability to analyse issues to make the best out of it. Our educational system has really failed us. Graduates these days can't ...

• Kosoko 10 years ago

Thanks brother. The painful truth is most people on this platform; not only on this forum but Some African intellectuals and leaderships still don't have any degree of understanding regarding how deep the 'Whiteman' plunged o ...

• Solomon 10 years ago

But Rawlings did 18yrs straight and failed us, those who surrounded him bought state property.
    If he had not failed, we would not have been where we are

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

This is 21st Century and there is no need for Constitutional Dictatorship. Other countries have developed with the same system of four year term and a maximum of two terms. The argument that four or five years terms are insuf ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

We live in a Country where it is a political tradition for incoming president from a different political party, not to continue to complete projects started by his predecessor
    to the extent that,on-going projects irrespecti ...

• francis 10 years ago

so which party? ndc or npp? i guess your party is power so you'll ought for your party? useless party!

• francis 10 years ago

correction: it should be read "opt" not "ought"

• KWAKU KWAKU 10 years ago

What some of you do not realized is that sooner someone like MUGABE gone the continent woulb be lost gone like when our own NKRUMAH was gone plus some of the most visionary we have lost and gone by the invissible fighters who ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

Sarpong, don't go astray. I personally insisted in one of my postings two years ago that if that airport should be renamed, well and good. I even maintained that if my stock took umbrage at that, it was their own business and ...

• SARPONG 10 years ago

In the spirit of the my friendship with my Ewe friend, I will let you get away with this one. You should not use Ewes, do not rape, in the same sentence because your kind rape anything that breathes whether on two legs or fou ...

• william 10 years ago

My brother just cure yourself of negativity and come with us moving forward!

• Kalashnikov AK47 10 years ago

So Mr Sarpong, how will changing the name of Kotoka International Airport help to move Ghana forward economically.
    Why do people concentrate on irrelevances when the real issues lie untackled?

• AGYA MUNKO 10 years ago

Oh wofa Kutu, wo buo nie.After going in circles for decades, some one has echoed your words.Party politics is destroying us as a people.

• Tuy 10 years ago

This old man is suffering from dementia. Checks and balances are needed. Chinese citizens are executed for criticizing members of the politburo. Is that what Mr. Asante is advocating for in Ghana?

• Komla 10 years ago

What has being an Ewe got to do with the name change.I am an Ewe and a staunch Nkumaist and have been advocating for the name change for some time now.The airport should be renamed after Nkrumah.Kotoka is the reason why Ghana ...

• Voice of Reason 10 years ago

ONE WONDERS WHETHER NKRUMAH WAS
    GIVEN GOOD COUNSEL FROM THE LIKES OF K.B ASANTE.....HIS COMMENT ON CONSTITUTIONAL DICTATORSHIP PUTS INTO PROPER PERSPECTIVE NKRUMAH'S ONE MAN SHOWMANSHIP

• Soho 10 years ago

Give it up.

• Ohene 10 years ago

How can you insult such a man?

• gretchy 10 years ago

Dat bastard got a hole in his brain.he is ready for da hole in da ground ummm.Nope, ghanaians do have great educated personals but are too frightened cos they cud be picked out by the police and charged for unlawful freedom o ...

• Mo, yendi 10 years ago

I have always believed that developing democracies need constitutional dictatorships, until the system is developed to be handle strong dissenting views. Examples abound the world over, China, Singapore, Malaysia, Algeria, In ...

• Son of man 10 years ago

Im not impressed with this Democracy thing, we looked lost and confused. Chaos everywhere.

• gyan 10 years ago

We need democracy and stop the abuse of power. Dictatorship will lead the country to more chaos. It is painful to lost but allow the man.

• SARPONG 10 years ago

Do you guys want the same thing Yahya Jammeh is doing in Gambia to happen in Ghana?

Do you want a government that will not tolerate any form of dissent and criticizing its policies will led to your imprisonment or being ...

• Komla 10 years ago

Certainly not. However, Ghana needs to development its own form of democracy and government whatever form that might be.

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

Kutu Acheampong will be smiling in his grave now. Africa is not sophisticated enough for this Western democracy just like the Arabs. We have copied the wrong system which puts the interest of the governing party ahead of the ...

• Son of man 10 years ago

"Africa is not sophisticated enough for this Western democracy just like the Arabs."

That is the problem facing Ghana and the rest of the third world copying this Western Deocracy crap!

I dont support Mugabe, Castro, K ...

• Kosoko 10 years ago

The most important question is: what is dictatorship and therefore who is a dictator? Does Nkrumah's style of Governance fits into this definition?

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

Because he will not live to see its adverse effect. He will die soon

• Pelicles 10 years ago

You are right. That man will not live to see its adverse effect be it good or bad.

• FACT 10 years ago

NKRUMAH REMAINS THE BEST LEADER WHO HAS EVER PRESIDED OVER GHANA.THOSE GHANAIANS WHO LIVED UNDER NKRUMAH ENJOYED THE BENEFITS OF OUR NATURAL RESOURCES. NKRUMAH'S PRO-POOR POLICIES BAILED MILLIONS OF GHANAIANS OUT OF POVERTY ...

• GHANAVIA 10 years ago

Kodzo Tamakloe (Torgbui of Whuti), you have become an empty barrel. How are you more knowledgeable than Casely Hayford? Enugo like you.

• Kojo T 10 years ago

One think is certain and that is I am not a school dropout

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

This thing caled 'democracy' is an evil ploy by the West meant to create confusion, distrust, hatred and destruction among Africans so that they can control our resources. Do you think that most of the crazy things going - to ...

• Anne 10 years ago

Too much of our resources are being wasted on election every 4 year/2yr, we need a way out now

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

YOU ARE THE BEST.

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

Until we revamp our institutions, it does not matter how long a leader stays in power, we will not move forward. In countries doing well, the emphasis is on the institutions in place and not so much who the leader is, though ...

• Nii 10 years ago

What we should call for is rather two thirds of parliamentarians should approve any proposal that is sent to parliament for approval. If you have leaders like JDM who will just borrow and spend our money bassists as we have ...

• THE TRUTH 10 years ago

Now they want JJ :)

• kwame dublin 10 years ago

nobody wants JJ -he was there for 19 years and what development did we get

• 123 10 years ago

Who needs that son of a cheap whore Rawlings ?

what on earth is he saying -- when we had Rawlings for a long time -- what did we get -- we lagged behind in economic gains --so what is he talking about

• Obenfo 10 years ago

That is Ghana's misfortune. Jerry was charismatic but not a visionary. If Nkrumah had had Jerry's stability, we might have had a different Africa by the turn of the 20th Century.

• Obenfo 10 years ago

Unique situations call for unique approach. On the surface, Dictatorship is not a good thing. However, if a generation finds itself under a genuinely patriotic and a Visionary Dictator, the future of such people becomes far b ...

• Amoah Wade3 10 years ago

ghanaian are not ripe for democracy

as long as we vote on tribal line and NOT on ideological ideas, we are doomed to fail.

so what this wise man is saying is the right thing for us

we need JJ( the next best after N ...

Kuffour did better than JJ even with only 8 years as compared to JJ's 19 years -- NDC is just wasting our time and by the time they leave office we might be back to HIPIC

• AFEVIA 10 years ago

KWAMI, WHAT YOU KNOW BUT INTENTIONALLY LEFT OUT IS THE GROUND WAS PREPARED BY RAWLINGS SO IT WAS EASIER FOR KUFFOUR TO PERFORM. DO YOU THINK KUFFOUR WOULD BE ABLE TO DO ANYTHING IF HE WERE TO BE PRESIDENT IN THE EARLY 80S? IF ...

• GHANAVIA 10 years ago

Listen to yourself, Fiifi Kwetey.
    Rawlings prepared which ground for Kuffour for all his achievements; are you serious? Why couldn't Atta Mess Mills and Dumsor the exceptional corrupt Mahama continue where Kuffour left it an ...

• Grace 10 years ago

I couldn't agree with this article more! Africa is not ready for democratic governance. We don't need the excesses but a constitutional democracy will be perfect!

• Paa Kweku 10 years ago

Four years under a bad president is bad enough.We may not be that lucky if we opt for constitutional dictatorship.It is even worse when they exit prematurely.Look at Venezuela.

• RETIRED MAN 10 years ago

IT HAS TAKEN MORE THAN 40 ARDUOUS YEARS FOR 'AN OPINION LEADER' TO STICK HIS NECK OUT TO ACKNOWLEDGE OPENLY THAT GHANAIANS WERE WRONG TO GET RID OF FORMER PRESIDENT NKRUMAH AND I AM HAPPY THAT IT IS MR. K.B. ASANTE. ON THAT ...

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY 10 years ago

Malaysia and Singapore are typical examples of what qualifies as "Constitutional Dictatorship". These countries broke through the mold under dictatorship and are now some of the countries that we look up to.

• SARPONG 10 years ago

Malaysia and Singapore did not become successful because of dictatorship but rather through sound economic policies unlike Nkrumah whose policies by 1962 was failing and the economy was going the opposite direction compared t ...

• Ghanavia 10 years ago

You have said it all. Nkrumah's economic policies were failing unlike the countries mentioned here. Ghana would have been like Zimbabwe by now if Nkrumah was not removed.

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

where does this "constitutional dictatorship" come from?; never heard of it

- what is known is 'elective dictatorship' (Lord Hailsham)

- with respect, it is still funny to say Kwame Nkrumah was a dictator

Osei Wusu-K ...

• GOLD COAST 10 years ago

Sarpong(aka Catalyst, Cardinal, Houdini,Sam,Teacher,Ghanavi),stop showing your ignorance here.Tunku Abdul Rahman,the Founder and prime minister of Malaysia,passed PREVENTIVE DETENTION LAWS after independence - in order to cut ...

• Kosoko 10 years ago

Good to share that vital information. Those leaderships never have the luxury to imprison those seeking to throw their countries into chaos. They killed them.

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY 10 years ago

I don't think this noisy guy read this statement by K.B. Asante.

"there was nothing wrong with having one president govern for a long time if that is what it will take a country to leap forward. “I’m not saying that y ...

• NANAKATA 10 years ago

SYDNEY CASLEY HAYFORD WAS SO WRONG,BUT THAT DOES NOT MEAN THAT DICTATORSHIP BY ANY OTHER NAME CAN BE TOLERATED.
    CORRECTION,INDIA AND MALAYSIA DO NOT HAVE DICTATORSHIPS;THEY HAVE GOVERNMENTS THAT HAVE BEEN VOTED TO POWER MANY ...

• Sammi 10 years ago

YOU ARE OUT OF YOUR MIND

• BBC 10 years ago

I LIKE THIS, MR. K B

• Kwame 10 years ago

Queen Elizabeth of England,Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Folkland and Gibraltar has been the head of state of Great Britain since 1952. This is the reason why the saying that it is only Britain which can have dictatorship, ...

• Pontius Pilate 10 years ago

Completely out of touch Mr. Asante must rethink again. What has Africa gained from dictatorship regimes. Look at Cameroon, Zimbabwe, Uganda, and all the rest. Instead of addressing the root causes of the problem, he is lookin ...

• BLACKMAN 10 years ago

THE BLACKMAN IS CAPABLE OF TAKING CARE OF HIS OWN AFFAIRS!!!!! LOOK AT MAHAMA GOING TO ALL OTHER COUNTRIES BEGGING FÖR MONEY TO SUPPORT GHANAS BUDGET, EVEN WANTING TO BORROW FROM A RUSSIAN BANK TO SHARE AMONG THEMSELVES, T ...

• TROJAN 10 years ago

WHAT A CONFUSED OLDMAN.THIS BUGA BUGA SYSTEM CAN'T WORK."ÏAM NOT SAYING"BUT YOU HAVE FINISHED SAYING IT,THESE NKRUMANISM AND THEIR DICTATORSHIP.KWAME SAID FORWARD EVER SO WE ARE NOT GOING BACK AGAIN,IT DID WORK AND IT IS NOT ...

• TROJAN 10 years ago

IT DIDN'T WORK AND IT IS NOT GOING TO WORK.

• KWADWO 10 years ago

TROJAN,PLEASE TELL US THE WAY FORWARD FOR GHANA,BECAUSE NOTHING IS WORKING NOW.LOOK STATE HOUSING COMPANY HAS JUST STARTED SELLING GHANA'S ASSETS TO THEMSELVES.WHERE IS GOOD CORPORATE GOVERNANCE AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST FOR T ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

If K.B ASANTE,is still bewitched in NKRUMAISM,that is unfortunate and archaic,for the modern day GHANA.

Nkrumah was an icon,if industrialization is in the whole equation.
    But in governance:
    THE WORST,SO FAR,BECAUSE OF DI ...

I hope those criticising KB will stop comparing Ghana with Malaysia AND Singapore. Mahathir Mohamad,1981-2003. Lee Kwan Yew, 1965-1990. Kwame Nkrumah, 1957-1966.

• Kwame 10 years ago

Thank you Dr. Nkrumah after all this years they understand you now. RIP

• Kwaku Amexo 10 years ago

Yes Africa and Ghana need to seriously think about what type of governance can take them to a different level.
    For faster development we need benevolent dictatorship that can allow free economy. Africa is not ready for "demo ...

• Kofi Dubai 10 years ago

Old age is usually associated with knowledge but here we are with an exception. Mr Asante we're no more in the dark age. what impact has Mugabe made so far with this stupid ideology.Never again in Ghana.

• Bugov 10 years ago

Dictatorship is never helpful in any shape or form. Nkrumah could have achieved more for Ghana, had he not resorted to dictatorial tendencies. Our longest dictator, JJ, messed us up by destroying our private sector. Entrepren ...

• JAMIL MOHAMED 10 years ago

OLD FOOL RAWLINGS WAS THE LONGEST SERVING DICTATOR HE MESSED UP OVER 17 AND YEARS GHANA WAS UP SIDE DOWN HE ONLY BROUGHT DISRESPECT , STEALING PILLAGING , BULLYING AND CORRUPTION. SO MR K B ASANTE SHUT UP !!!!!!!!

• Kwame 10 years ago

Fellows , what happened to libya in he long run????

• ' and Jesus wept ' 10 years ago

Amen! If that's what it takes. Houphet Boigney ruled for 35 years and took over the cocoa production from Ghana plus other development for Ivory Coast. Some push for democracy just to steal from the people.

• Victor 10 years ago

The aftermath is usually unpleasant to most countries that follow that path. Soviet Union, Ivory Coast, Libya, Congo, Uganda, Cambodia, Liberia, etc. Can't you compare Ghana' s 19 years under Rawlings and 8 years under Kufour ...

• ' and Jesus wept ' 10 years ago

Putting politics aside, if Nkrumah had been left alone, we wouldn't be facing all these difficulties and that's what KB is talking about. He knows cause he's been there.

• Kwame 10 years ago

What has museivinni done for uganda after 28 years in power.Absolute power corrupts, simple!!!

• OSIAHENE Darko-Obiri 10 years ago

The man is 90 yrs old. All he can think of is that under Nkrumah's constitutional dictatorship he s was among the previledged few. No matter if the majority was being frogmarched like zombies to nowhere.
    This man ought to b ...

• TROJAN 10 years ago

I THINK HE IS BECOMING LIKE A CHILD OF 5YEARS ONLY HIS THUMB IS NOT IN HIS MOUTH,HE WANTS US TO GO BACK TO NKRUMAH BUGA-BUGA GOVERNANCE.THE MAN IS DREAMING OF HIS YOUTH WHEN YOUNG PIONEERS USED TO BETRAY THEIR FAMILIES.OLDMAN ...

• Victor 10 years ago

Why crave for something which has failed the world over? All the examples you have given changed from the dictatorship . Good governance can never be substituted for any form of dictatorship.

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

All we got were, murders, thievery, unlimited and unrestricted corruption, PV Obeng Konadu Rawlings, Kodzo Tsikata, Ahwois. Oh, and we have trash-talking Asiedu Nketia. How good are these for Ghana?

• Nyamekye 10 years ago

At the end of his vist to Europe, the Chinses president said that, they have for decades, practise democracy, federalism, monarchy and the rest but none have worked for them than what they have in place now. A bit of dictato ...

• Tribology 10 years ago

Until we have a strong man?
    Are you sure?
    And even then what makes you think that the people in china were happy until recently when they started practising democracy?
    When you finish come back so that we can talk about ...

• Brobbsnet-USA 10 years ago

Thinking Voters who can punish the president by allowing ONLY 4-years for all BAD-CORRUPT leaders will set the country free.

• GHANABA 10 years ago

The price of democracy is costly and we will fight for it just as we fought in the Second World War.

• O.B Obiba 10 years ago

I think Mr Asante has some form of Dementia. What we need is for the people of Ghana to rise up against corruption in Government, stupidity in Government, nepotism and tribalism. Mr Asante, I believe served Ghana well, but ...

• jojo 10 years ago

The Asian countries are doing well because religion has played a minor to no role in their government.

Blame religion for the problems of America.

A black man bowing to the God of a white man...

• Einstein 10 years ago

Amen, but we are in the twenty first century.

• Dan Kosowah 10 years ago

Lets face it, this whiteman's democratic bullshit does not work for Ablackaman. As a matter of fact it is only practiced in very few countries. The Majority go by the way Nkrumah did. One president. Look around you Mubarak, G ...

• Akomadan Adjei Nkansah Belgium 10 years ago

TWEAAAAAAAAAAA,APUUUUTO,CRIMINALS,CORRUPT MAHAMA COLLAPSING,SINKING NO NO NO,

• Bomfaboy 10 years ago

Clearly KB has passed his prime, and not see to understand the 21st century well. Probably in early dementia. It's about time he just rest at home and dictate to his grand children. Have we not known and seen what dictators ...

• Sam 10 years ago

Why would any right thinking human being want a dictatorship? Obviously this man was a beneficiary under Normal so he does not see anything wrong with being under a dictatorship.

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

I strongly disagree with our nonagenarian.
    What we need is a democratic government, with a strong non-insulting opposition ready to form the next government if the reigning government is denied the mandate to rule.

For th ...

• DR. ALLONTEY JONES 10 years ago

You forgot to mention a well educated press and discerning citizens.

• GHANAVIA 10 years ago

For some years now, I have followed your contribution on this web site. There is no doubt on mind that NDC and their Leaders are absolute failures; yet over the period you supported them and sometimes vilified the NPP and the ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

Thank you Ghanavia for not lacing me insults as is predictably done by the unthinking people who don't share your views.

For your information, I don't subscribe to the views of the NDC, neither do I blindly tow the line of ...

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

Oh , your only problem is the insulting opposition ? How about the winner takes all syndrome we have , the abject illiteracy and poverty of the masses , which are taken advantage of by these so called political parties and yo ...

• chims 10 years ago

what a constitutional IDIOT !!!!!!!!

• bontua 10 years ago

That's dangerous. Can you ever trust such a person?
    I thought this man was smart but had no idea he could make such a crass statement.
    Why not compare and discuss a system such as federalism and the Ghana chieftancy syste ...

• AGYABA 10 years ago

What is Mr KB Asante saying? Rawlings ruled for almost 20years and what was his Legacy? HIPC and tribalism supported by late Kofi Awonnor and his TRIBAL BOOK. There is nothing like constitutional Democracy.

• Kwaku A. Danso 10 years ago

And so how do we ensure the person elected will love Ghana as Kwame Nkrumah did, despite his mistake?
    The best way is to have a decentralized system where local town and district and regional leaders are elected as well as n ...

• Bell Nono 10 years ago

Sydney Casely-Hayford is another confused elite of our dear country, who is misusing what he learn.

• Akwasi 10 years ago

Got to North Korea! You're a big beast. You need to die now. Fuck you again!

• F A Akosah 10 years ago

If u have this old men pushing this dirty agenda at this times somebody greediness has landed the country into this mess then we have problem.Can u explain to us the way John Mahama spent the country money on last elections i ...

Exactly

• KKO 10 years ago

Wofa KB,
    North Korea is looking for gereatric fighters in its people's army. Why don't you send an application? Neareer home, Yahya Jammeh is looking for retired men and women who will carry him around town once in a while. ...

• The truth 10 years ago

Omg we will be screwed. This idea will only work if the leader is good

• Whatever 10 years ago

I prefer a constitutional dictator which brings up tangible progress to people than a democracy which brings nothing

• Tribology 10 years ago

And you really think you'll find such a person in today's world? And when you get bullied and beaten into a submissive state to earn little and have everything owned by the state, who you gonna call? Oh! Yes,.. lets call KB A ...

• Mike Gizo 10 years ago

This man is a tribal bigot n a biased political commentator-always talking for ndc n fueling tribalism against Ashantis.
    Drop that Asante name youve borrowed m give us peace of mind!!!

• Georgee 10 years ago

It can never happen. Any such attempt will bring disintegration. How can this cross your mind. The days when some of you behave like black Europeans at Flagstaff house is gone with the wind.

• Nana Yaw Koram 10 years ago

I THINK KB IS COMPLETELY OUT OF ORDER.
    IF HE THINKS EDUCATION IS TOO EXPENSIVE TRY IGNORANCE. WE DO NOT NEED A DICTATOR. WE NEED THE RIGHT PRESIDENT AND THE RIGHT PEOPLE TO GOVERN THE COUNTRY AND FIX THE PROBLEMS.

• Enoch. O 10 years ago

I quite agree with K B Asante. Here in the western world, it happens all the time, and nobody says anything. In Canada here one of the most progressive and rich provinces has had a one party rule forever. That province drives ...

• Kofi Mossi 10 years ago

These are the same men who advised Nkrumah wrongly and badly

• JACK 10 years ago

I think K.B Asante is out of Mind. Why should he insinuate and make such an abominable suggestions.He should be sued for blasphemy and evil Insinuation

• IDI AMIN DADA 10 years ago

I TOLD YOU SO!

• GH-Atheist 10 years ago

His views are old and backward.

Stronger Democracy and Free Press now.

• VICKY LEE BENTON 10 years ago

HIS BRAIN IS SQUASHED.

• Abrekyie ba UK 10 years ago

Now is Emmanuel Akwasi Kotoka ewe man that lead Nkrumah overthrown but not an Ashanti-ni AKWASI AMANKWAA AFRIFA,

• mensah abrampa 10 years ago

The native americans say"when you talk too much your tongue makes you dumb". K. B.is struggling to legitimize Nkrumah's dictatorship. Perhaps Malaysia, Singapore, India andthe few others are the exception more than the rule. ...

• francis 10 years ago

what is this man talking about? what did jj achieve after 20yrs dictatorship? achaempong's 7yrs? what have zimbabwe, togo, cameroon, etc, you name them, achieved?

• KK Andrew 10 years ago

Well KB is a 90 year old mind that belong in the old world

• koffie 10 years ago

WHY WHY WHY WHY

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

Oh Ghana! We dont finish with one process and then we move on to the next. Just playing draught with our time. UK has parliamentary and monarchy, Germany has chancelor and president, USA has presidency, every where in the wor ...

• Samuel Asare-Nkansah(USA) 10 years ago

The root causes of the problem(s) in Ghana are 1)LACK OF LEADERSHIP.The presidents we have been voting into the castle of flagstaff house are more of managers and ceremonial presidents. They come into office just to enjoy the ...

• KA 10 years ago

Rubbish talk!!! If this theory holds true, then Zimbabawe will be the richest country in Africa, and indeed the World. On the contrary, Mugabe has made that country one of the poorest nation on earth.

• ROCKET PROPELLED GRENADE LAUNCHER 10 years ago

Imagine a clueless, visionless, incompetent, thieving NDC looting brigade led by John Mahama operating under a constitutional dictatorship for life?
    In just 6 years of the NDC gov't, Ghana has been buried on the back of thi ...

• ABUSUA PANIN 10 years ago

Why we revisit these debates at all suggests to me that this country is not going anywhere in a very long time. This Asante coot should stop his nonsensical diatribes and should go the way Kpegah has gone:keep quiet. Why can' ...

• Igp 10 years ago

Your time has run out. We applaud your service to Ghana. The dictatorship will be over our dead bodies. This is how recalcitrant pick up arms to overthrow dictators. Never again in Ghana after Kutu and Rawlings.

• Oheneba osei Yaw Akoto 10 years ago

his ancestors were slave trading middlemen. he is an idiot.