You are here: HomeNews2014 04 17Article 306545

Who succeeds Afari-Gyan?

Read Comments Comments (45)

• sammy 10 years ago

WHY NPP NOW MAKING FALSEHOOD AND IN PANIC MOOD

• clement 10 years ago

No, 'rev father'. Dont get into tribalism. Catholics dont do that. You know the essence of confession in the church?

• facts 10 years ago

THE BEST CHOICE IS THE EX- ATHORNY GENERAL MARTIN AMIDU.

• Kay 10 years ago

And too money conscious. As for the rest, they are non-starter. Sulley has no shame.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Because of the failures in the 2012 Elections, all the existing Commissioners are tainted and should not be appointed to chair the Commission on the retirement of Dr Afari-Gyan. The real problem is, whether whoever is appoint ...

• Senyo Kwawo 10 years ago

Martin Amidu or Justice Appau

• KWADWO TAMALE 10 years ago

I don't understand why some foolish Ghanaians especially the 'Jake brothers' blame Afari-Djan just bcos he refused to suspend the declaration forgetting that he didn't take part in the counting of votes at the polling station ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

If you have the right mechanisms in place then usually the system polices itself. Ghana needs a technologically savvy person in place who can find and remediate all the glitches and "got yous" in the present system. They shou ...

• GURUNDA 10 years ago

CANT WE HAVE A NEUTRAL MAN TO TAKE THIS VERY IMPORTANT POSITION- A MAN OF INTEGRITY IS WHAT WE NEED

• ANCIENT MAN 10 years ago

FOR NEUTRALITY, YOU WILL BE AN IDEAL CANDIDATE, SINCE NOBODY KNOWS YOU APART FROM YOU MOTHER!!Haahaa!

• GURUNDA 10 years ago

..AND I WILL BE FAIR, POLITE AND HONEST

• Hp 10 years ago

Good !

• ...... 10 years ago

GHANA NEEDS ELECTORAL BOAD AT EVERY COSITUANCY.THESE COMPRISE A DELIGATE FROM EVERY PARTY IN GHANA PLUS TWO AFFILIATE TV STATION, WILL REPRESENT THE BOARD WILL CROSS CHECK AND RELEASE THE VOTES. THE ELETORAL COMMISIONER WILL ...

• VOTER 10 years ago

The question of who succeeds Afari-Gyan requires very broad and wide consultations, judging from what the Commissioner and the commission itself has had to endure, in the conduct of elections in the country, with the 2 major ...

• HE WAS ON BRITISH PAYROLL 10 years ago

ANYONE ELSE WILL BE AN AUTOMATIC IMPROVEMENT TO THIS TONGUE SUCKING,CHAIN SMOKING IDIOT WHO TOOK HIS ORDERS FROM THE BRITISH.

• Tetteh 10 years ago

I always suspected by his actions that Afari Gyan had some foreign government pulling his strings.His careless behavior and callous language which almost tore the country apart was the result of assurances made to him by some ...

• Financial Freedom 10 years ago

www.abundance4allteam.com/?asaseaban

• KONADU AGYEMANG OLD FACE 10 years ago

IT IS BETTER TO ENRICH YOURSELF AND FAMILY FIRST WITH YOUR 419,A HUNGRY FOOL SOLDIER,NDC HAS TURNED YOU TO DO WHAT YOU NEED NOT TO DO,NEXT TIME VOTE WISELY AND ENJOY GOOD LIFE.

• KONADU AGYEMANG OLD FACE 10 years ago

UNFORGIVEABLE IRREGULATIES AMOUNTS TO FRAUD,SO DO WE HAVE A FRAUD GOVERNMENT OR WHAT WENT WRONG?.

• isaac 10 years ago

why is he still the commissioner after causing this deliberate cheating on election? do you want to give him millions on his retirement, hence, keeping his job? you must all be ashamed of yourselves. vicky got fired though sh ...

• Yaw. ed 10 years ago

How

• ASARE 10 years ago

THE BODY OF AN INDEPENDENT ELECTORAL COMMISSION CAN NOT BE POSSIBLE IF ITS CHAIRMAN IS APPOINTED.THE LEADERSHIP MUST BE VOTED INTO OFFICE BY THE PARLIMENT FOR A PERIOD OF TEN YEARS OR MORE.THE PARLIMENT MUST ALSO RETAIN THE R ...

• STAPH-PHILADELPHIA 10 years ago

Going by what you are saying Government of the day with Majority in Parliament would always have the EC boss they prefer so what is different if the President appoints one? The framers of the 1992 Constitution thought of it a ...

• OwusuP 10 years ago

Mr.Asare and Staph I think you both have a point so how about a compromise.An equal number of parliamentarians from each party selected to form a committee which will investigate, vote for and supervise the actions of an inde ...

• K. K 10 years ago

CORRUPT EC, CORRUPT SUPREME COURT. NOW THERE WILL BE NO MORE ATUGUBA'S SUPREME COURT AGAIN. THEREFORE GHANA IS IN DANGER TO FACE RWANDA TYPE OF WAR IN 2016 ELECTIONS IF............

• monsieur kunkpewuo 10 years ago

All Ghanaians should revere Mr Afari GYan for the role he played in the democratic dispensation of this country, called Ghana. The controversial issues raised after the 2012 elections were not new. We only did not do the righ ...

• ADWEN 10 years ago

It is a very very good news this nation-wrecker and corrupt individual who nearly sent Ghana into the doldrums is retiring.
    Just look at the result and concomitant of his fraudulent decision on Ghana (supported by the Frauds ...

• GERMANY 10 years ago

afari gyan you have left a very bad legacy to the E C,just go!!Wish you well with ur shameful Family, awei balawo

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

The teacher asked her students to use the word "fascinate" in a sentence. Ursula said, "My family went to the Accra Zoo, and we saw all the animals. It was fascinating." The teacher said, "That was good, but I wanted the word ...

• Kwaku Azar 10 years ago

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/ANNOPINIONPOLLONECREPLACEMENT

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

WHAT DOES THE CONTITUTION SAY ? IF we don't agree to that, then lets make an AMMENDMENT !!

• Public Interest Citizen 10 years ago

I would recommend Prof E. Gyimah- Boadi of CDD to be the next Chairman of the EC.
    He has shown how to manage a successful non- profit organisation. Most importantly, he is fiercely independent, incorruptible and has the cool ...

• ...... 10 years ago

MAHAMMA WILL APPOINT MORE DANGERIOUS PERSON THAN AFARI GYAN.MAHAMMA HAS STACHED GHANA MONEY SO HE IS NOT GOING ANYWHERE.LET US GET JUSTICE OYINA

• ...... 10 years ago

OPANIN BOA OPANIN KWASEA OPANIN A WANENE HO WOR COURT.ANIMUGUASE OPANIN BOA MAY HE DIE WITH LIVER CANCER.ANY GHANAIAN WHO DIES/WILL/HAS DIED UNDER HIS CORRUPTION JUDGEMENT HE WILL DRINK THEIR BLOOD.

• FINGER OF GOD 10 years ago

His sins will follow him into retirement and into his grave. He will never know peace. Mark it on the wall.

• Balawo President 10 years ago

Afari Gyan knows that his retirement is timely and the disgrace he heaped on himself in the Supreme Court would hasten his departure from the commission. Good riddance, anyway.

• MALAM CIDI 10 years ago

The priest went too.He must also resign if he had ever broken his oath of celibercy.He must be truthfull to GOD.

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

Any replacement to Afari Gyan with NDC biases or background should already be disqualified for lack of neutrality. Ghana is dangerously making mistakes at every opportunity it gets. One of these days a mistake will lead to to ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

I nominate Martin Amidu for the EC Chairman!

• WAHALA 10 years ago

Afari Gyan the thief of Bagdad must be dis charged without any honours.You will soon go to your grave with your coffin stuffed with the bribe money Mahama stole from Ghana coffers to buy you out. YOU SADISTIC IDIOT.

• Whatever 10 years ago

The stature of Afari Gyana. None of those there can ever bring half of the man integrity. I think RAWLINGS Should be consulted because he seems to identify men with incredible integrity easily.

• Sitco Ltd. 10 years ago

It's high time individuals and companies like us began to shape Ghana and deliver it from the hands a bunch of fraudsters who have no sense of credibility than making wealth overnight.
    We are entreating the Youth in Agricult ...

• Wankanoyie 10 years ago

And have Dr. Afari stay on for another two years past his madatory retirement age. Being of sharp mind,he is the best to deal with the 'intimidation' that has reared its ugly head. The Catholic Clergy craving for the 'prematu ...

• high quality backlinks 9 years ago

ikzUNT Awesome article post.Much thanks again. Cool.

• crorkz matz 9 years ago

OWfMG2 I think this is a real great blog.Really looking forward to read more. Will read on...