Rawlings, two others to be honoured

Read Comments Comments (120)

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

awards are not needed

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

unnecessary and undeserving awards

• KOLA ,LONDON PROPER 10 years ago

JJ Rawlings, the Giant without blemish and who liberated Ghana from Poverty, Militarism, ethnocentrism and Neo-colonialism should have been awarded by this institution long time ago.

At the end of the Day, It was JJ Rawlin ...

• SHAMU 10 years ago

Honouring Great Rawling is a must. The guy really deserved it. Since ever independent of most African countries, no single of them produce a leader like Great Rawlings. So, I don`t see it as something big deal. The only peopl ...

some people from the ndc when they hear the truth about their genocide and racist tribalism go into a stupefied frenzy foaming at the mouth thinking that will make their lies and propaganda true . The fact remain the Akans ar ...

• kofi afeti akankye3 10 years ago

JJ RAWLINGDS:-Dr.of Murder,sorcerey,killings,corruption,wickedness,evil,indifference,destruction,stealing,sabotage.

• GHANAVIA 10 years ago

Kola, gbemelawo fe fia. The cesspit of calamity of sufferings Ghanaians live in since the arrival of Rawlings is nothing good to talk of. Rawlings can be honoured by insensitive and callous NDC governments each time they fin ...

Open your eyes to see because the great Giant got you civilization yet it looks as if you still live in those rat holes and caves in the thickest of the forest.

Too Long.

• Quartey 10 years ago

honoring the murderer. who killed innocent people for his greedy ideologies. A broken nation which cant find their priorities

• Jumbo 10 years ago

Kudos to the intellectual luminaries at the University of education,Wenniba for their apt decision to honour chairman Rawlings for his(JJ)contribution towards the development of education in particular and, in the other spher ...

• Kankabi nyankyere 10 years ago

DR.of ILLITERACY & SLEEPLESS NIGHTS

• The Truth Floats 10 years ago

True ooo! Only Rawlings could create the University for Development Studies in Northern Ghana. Only Rawlings could forego his hard-earned award (that ahe shared with Nku-Lenu) to the UDS Library.

Rawlings very much deserve ...

• NO NONSENSE TAKER 10 years ago

"Anything free is not good and free SHS education is not feasible" Infact KOLA or Mumuni Atinga's president maybe said it well because such education produce foolish idiots as are giving to them only in the north and the Maha ...

• NOT AN INSULT 10 years ago

The term "Pepeni" or "Pepefuo" was.never intended as an insult to Northerners. On the contrary, it was to compliment them for being honest and fair in their dealings with their fellow human beings. The word "P3p3'" or "Pepe" ...

You can try your best to elaborate "pepeni" but, I'm also akan and never share your thought. Akan's can refer to "pepeni" as "Porto ni" meaning strange people or unfamiliar people. Ok, "nana minim," can you help us with, PEPE ...

• FIFI WILLIAMS 10 years ago

JJ Rawlings is a murderer. Don't you get it? J.J. Rawlings killed innocent people just because his revolutionary boys demanded that "let the blood flow".

You are destroying the meaning of honor. Don't honor this unrepentan ...

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

What is your problem here ? I thought you were going to give a different definition of the word PEPENI. the word 'potoni' means somebody who speaks another language with an accent , What is the insult here.People insult other ...

• BE WISE 10 years ago

Oportonii as you put it simply means person of unfamiliar language .It can be applied to english or whoever .PEPENII IS PERSON BELIEVES EQUALITY AND HONESTY PERIOD

The point is the same and not what you intend. Meaning of Pepeni from any angle just like Portoni is different mentioning but similar meaning. A language kan only spoke by people and for that reason my meaning of unfamiliar p ...

• ....... 10 years ago

JJ #9 KANKANYAME. KOLA ,LONDON PROPER(TONY KUMAH)JJ SHRINE BOY.HOW MANY HIGHER INSTITUTIONS HE BUILT AT #9 LAND. HE LED INNOCENT KIDS IN THE BUSH WHILE HE LED HIS KIDS TO BE EDUCATED IN EUROPE.HE TREATED VOLTA REGION AS WORTH ...

• PAA NII 10 years ago

Awards to this bastard are like hemorrhoid,sooner or later,every asshole gets one.

• Tilapia 10 years ago

Thank you Zoobie.

Is Rawlings being honored for almost 20 years of political failure or what? It was Rawlings who single-handedly destroyed the once prestigious, meaningful and proud educational system in this country. Ha ...

• MACOSA 10 years ago

Well said bro !!!

• TWEAA 10 years ago

PASSION AND LOVE FOR EDUCATION INDEED....RAWLINGS CLOSED GHANA'S UNIVERSITIES FOR MORE THAN A WHOLE YEAR AND YOU CALL THIS PERSON PASSIONER AND LOVER OF EDUCATION? SOME AWARD IN THE MAKING!

• KOKOTAKO 10 years ago

I CHALLENGE YOU ALL TO ADD YOUR DATES OF BIRTH TO YOUR CoMMENTS: WERE YOU THERE WHEN WE USED ROTTEN YELLOW CORN FOR KENKEY,WHEN MAKOLA ILLITERATES USED THEIR ASSES FOR GOLF CARS(fa-wo-to-b3gye-Golf-)etc??when we shouted at jj ...

• hunour 10 years ago

Honouring Rawlings as mass murder in Ghana, the one who put up that building and named ideological institude is dead long ago and you people giving this education to honour the killer in Ghana. fools

• ....... 10 years ago

do you remember rawllings bokiti abaa or rawshit chain.tweaaaaaa kwasea bi nti

• FREEDOM AND JUSTICE 10 years ago

HONOURED FOR THE BLOODY COUP DE TATS?
    LET'S CHECK IT OPUT AND THINK AGAIN, THEN REMOVE THE INDEMNITY CLAUSE THAT SHIELDS RAWLINGS.

• hi Rawlings. 10 years ago

They are honoring criminals without shame and repentance for their evil deeds..These are the last days indeed.????

• Senyo Kwawo 10 years ago

A guy who murdered innocent citizens without trial has to be honoured??????????

• kwame no1 10 years ago

FULL OF IDIOT IN GHANA OH GOSH THIS MONKEY COUNTRY LIKE GHANA WHEN YOU GUYS CAN LEARN?

...this award of JJ Rawlings for Kuffuor.Npp will surely bribe some university somewhere to also award Kuffuor to make him also look equally important, poor Npp Thieves and 'skin-Pains'.

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Do you even live in London? A world class university like Oxford has bestowed on Kuffour an honoured doctorate and doesn't need an honour degree from this mushroom university honouring murderers like Rawlings and Abubakar.

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

"Bribe some University"?

Dumb illiterate, correct your grammar.

You are not worthy to point out anything to do with English Grammar to anyone so better find your seat, You Hear Me?

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Shut up, you illiterate watchman, go and correct your grammar now, I mean right now or you can't figure out what is wrong with it?

• ILLITERATE APONKYI SARPONG 10 years ago

The Plank in your eyes are too big to remove someone else's, Mr. Carcinogical Poison Sarpong.

• ILLITERATE APONKYI SARPONG 10 years ago

The Planks in your eyes are too big

• KOLA,LONDON PROPER 10 years ago

Hahaha, see how difficult you are having constructing simple sentence.

• TILAPIA 10 years ago

Where did you school not schooled.

Advancing yourself from snake eating to cat does not make you that of london proper. Why should pepeni or efo the capinter try to use london proper instead of using Mumuni Atinga or Djato? It's sad when papeni stop using the ...

• Npp Buulu 10 years ago

that midget will never be president

• ....... 10 years ago

The University of Education, Winneba (UEW), IS EQUAL OR LESS THAN PRIMARY SCHOOL IN ADVANCED COUNTRY.THOSE GRADS ENTERING USA ARE WORKING AT NURSING HOME IN USA.

• aRAB sPRING 10 years ago

KUFFOUR IS MISSING IN ACTION HERE..THE WICKED PRESIDENT EVER RULED!

• OSAGYEFO 10 years ago

KUFFOUR IS A THIEF, WICKED... BUT NOT MORE THAN RAWLINGS. ONLY THOSE WHO DONT KNOW THE HISTORY OF THE YOKO GARI BORROWER SEE HIM AS GOD.

• PHILIP LONDON 10 years ago

Awarding a murderer a coup maker rawlings, a leader who is the cause of all the problems Ghanaians are going through now.Ghanaians are we just cowards or the most stupid people on earth.Ghana politics, anything goes; no ru ...

• KnYc 10 years ago

You are right on that, every projective development in the country is been washed away by morons in power. Now they are awarding a murderer an doctorate degree for killing people. The chew and pour chancellors.

• KOKOTAKO 10 years ago

I WANT TO CALL SOME NAMES FOR YOU SMALL BOYS & GILRS WHO MISSED ACHEAMPONG'S GOVT:Gen Akuffo- Back-stabbing deputy; Gen Kotei monthly coup_foiler;Gen Yaw Boakye Air Force selector of unfit recruits;Brigadier Utuka,no northern ...

• PHILIP LONDON 10 years ago

RAWLINGS; A PERSON WHO NO ONE ACCEPTED HIM AS THEIR SON EVEN THE SCOTTISH WHOM RAWLINGS WAS NAMED AFTER,HAS DENIED BEEN RAWLINGS FATHER.BECAUSE LOOKING AT RAWLINGS PROPERLY,YOU COULD EASILY SEE THAT HE {RAWLINGS} LOOKS MORE ...

• okofo 10 years ago

Hmmm... you're making a point: careful observation confers credibility to your point. This son of a Korean wanderer has been allowed to mess up Ghana.

• JJ 10 years ago

Keep insulting me .

• Ghana 10 years ago

Actually he looks like a dirty homeless sick person.

• KnYc 10 years ago

You being an moron.

• yd 10 years ago

Only fantes university that will honour murderers.

• TELL ME MORE 10 years ago

MAYBE RAWLINGS NEEDS TO BE COMMENDED BECAUSE HE DIDN'T ALLOW THE ACCIDENT OF HIS BIRTH TO A PROSTITUTE PREVENT HIM FROM RISING TO WHERE HE REACHED.OKAY SO HE GOT INTO POWER THROUGH THE FORCE OF ARMS.SO MURDERED SOME INNOCENT ...

• Npp bufoon 10 years ago

cos after flushing u down the toilet. u still managed to survive to write this thrash

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

You've forgotten the speech he made in the Volta Region about someone very corrupt who had to go. It is not true that Rawlings does not make speeches that are insensitive to the families of those who he killed.

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

Ghanaian universities should, voluntarily, stop this nonsense of honoring pathological coup makers and murders; it gives incentives to others to do the same. What contribution has Jerry Rawlings made to education in Ghana? Co ...

• okofo 10 years ago

My friend, I try to understand the mindset of a greater percentage of Ghanaians... My conclusion is that DOCILITY is pushing us to our doom.

• Adjoa 10 years ago

Are you serious about rawlings and development ???

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

As a trucker stops for a red light, a blond catches up. She jumps out of her car, runs up to his truck and knocks on the door. The trucker lowers the window, and she says: "Hi, my name is Heather and you are losing some of yo ...

• Tiffiny Ablorh 10 years ago

The guy is dying from diabetes and hypertension so one more honour is in order. You killed others for no reason and you confer useless degrees onto your stinking self.

• ONIPANUA 10 years ago

Busia also died from diabetes.Like him or hate him Rwalings is not everything negative.

• BEN 10 years ago

AFTER ATTAH MILLS RAWLINGS DOES NOT SEE ANYTHING WRONG IN GHANA.

HE SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF HIS PROBITY AND ACCOUNTABILITY

• OKO IN SUPPORT OF AKADU 10 years ago

Tweaa!

• Nantwi,BSEd,MSEd(ece),MSEd(sas) 10 years ago

For killing supreme court judges or for making a Coup which has led to the downfall of Ghana?

• kaketonti 10 years ago

IF YOU ARE LIVING/ALIVE UNDER THE 4 REPUBLIC;JUST SAY HALLELUJAH but don't throw stones.

• UNEMPLOYED ATOVI LAYE DAMBA 10 years ago

THIS COUNTRY PAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!! I MEAN ...JESUS!! MOHAMED!!!! MEN WOMEN SHIT!!!

WHAT A MODA FUKA CUM GAY FUKA COUNTRY!!! THIS CRIMINAL MURDERER!!!

• COSMOS 10 years ago

BOOT LICKING PROF.AKWESI ASABERE A.RAWLING WITH HIS RECORD OF BRUTALITY,KILLINGS,AUTOCRATIC RULE DOES NOT QUALIFY FOR HONOUR ,UNLESS YOU ARE ENCOURAGING THE YOUNG ITS OK TO KILL,DISTRUPT DEMOCRACY AS LONG S YOU LIVE TO HAND O ...

• KOFI 10 years ago

2&3 BEDROOM AIR-CONDITIONED APARTMENTS WITH MODERN AMENITIES LIKE SATELLITE LINKS,POP CEILINGS WITH CHANDELIERS, OPAQUE/TINTED GLASS WINDOWS/BURGLARY & MOSQUITO PROOFED DOORS/WINDOWS,WATER HEATERS IN BATHS ETC.FOR RENT IN TAN ...

• K -DE -K 10 years ago

Ghanaians are jokers.Our universities are worse than the word itself. What is the criteria for awarding a honorary degree to somebody? How did he come to power? After 19 years rule we joined HIPC. Who spoiled our educationa ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

The plain truth is,Rawlings destabilized Ghana.
    Killed some Military top brass men.

Required those who had 50,000 Cedis at time,to prove how it was acquired.
    Authorised military men to Stripped some Market Women Naked in ...

• mame 10 years ago

Honoured for killing in years. l think he deserve it.

• fredsaid 10 years ago

HUMAN RIGHTS ABUSES

In addition to the 3 judges (who were not proven to have committed any crimes in a court of law) the following also were, innocently killed and today the innocent (from all tribes) blood ; still speaks ...

• Samir 10 years ago

I was a former admirer of JJ at the beginning but no more because I feel like he betrayed us and also fooled us because we all saw how he came in initially as a Junior Jesus who did not want material things but ended now with ...

• dan 10 years ago

THAT IS WHAT HE IS WORTH (GOOGLE)

• Sam 10 years ago

You are part of the problem.

• Nana Akuffo Addo-Npp Flag bearer 10 years ago

Foolish Man

• KOKOTAKO 10 years ago

I AM A VICTIM OF WHAT HAPPENED IN 1979/1982.I WILL REVEAL MY REAL NAME SOON, BUT SOME OF US LOST EVERYTHING,NEARLY OUR FUTURE. BUT NOW I SEE WHAT JJ DID.HE CLEARED GHANA OF SO MUCH RUBBISH.

• dan 10 years ago

INSTEAD OF HONOURING THE BUTCHER OF GHANA (courtesy of fredsaid)

In addition to the 3 judges (who were not proven to have committed any crimes in a court of law) the following also were, innocently killed and today the inn ...

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

No academic institution worth its name and mission should confer such honor on Rawlings.

The man is a murderer, fraud, criminal, and committed treason.

He should be languishing in a maximum security prison for lif ...

• chokor 10 years ago

This is becoming an annoying trend! These cheap universities conferring honorary degrees to people who have accomplished nothing significant. They are just creating personality cults in the Ghanaian society.How have these ind ...

• BRANDY 10 years ago

HAS ANY VARSITY IN GHANA HEARD OF MARTIN AMIDU AND HIS LEGENDARY FEATS TO SECURE THE PURSE OF OUR DEAR BUT POOR COUNTRY CALLED GHANA?.....

• Yaw. ed 10 years ago

How

• ONIPANUA 10 years ago

Even Busia, the terrorist has been honoured.

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

Listen to this ignoramus, Busia earnesd his Ph.D from a reputable University- Oxford - not these nyamanyama high schools they call universities in Ghana

• i ad 10 years ago

S

• okofo 10 years ago

Which part of Rawlings' life deserves hounour?

The coup part?
    The firing squad part?
    The the selling-off of state owned institutions to his wife and foreigners?
    The destruction of educational system part?
    The use of ...

• MARK A. 10 years ago

THE 3 JOHNS, THE 3 BANDITS, THE 3 CROOKSM

• Arizona 10 years ago

Asabere, you are way past your retirement age, now get......

• Nana A Dankwa. 10 years ago

Re JJ honour. U like it or not he remains the greatest man in Ghana. He deserve respect. Long live Rawlings and his family.
    God bless Rawlings. God bless all past and present leaders of Ghana.

• okofo 10 years ago

Look for the definition of "GREATEST" and come again.

• NII ARMAH 10 years ago

SO GHANAIANS WILL HAVE PEACE OF MIND.

• Pancho 10 years ago

Look at him. He's aging like Justice Kpegah.

• jamp62 10 years ago

Ghanaians are cowards honouring a killer is a disgrace to humanity what a shame to we all bad idea.

• Ugly Akufu Addo 10 years ago

Akufo Addo will die by 2015

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 10 years ago

jj IS FAKE,EVIL CRIMINAL CORRUPT IN GHANA HISTORY,jj IS THE MOST EVIL MAN IN GHANA,GOD WILL PUNISH HIM FOR GHANIANS

They are all sick seriously

• Millionnaire 10 years ago

In what way has Rawlings contributed to education in this country? Was he not the guy who instigated Obuasi miners to go and attack university students at UST (now KNUST) and murdered university students like Kyereme Gyan in ...

• Kwasi Owusu-Afriyie, Offinso 10 years ago

People dont know the contribution of Rawlings to the formation UEW/UDS so they open their mouth and talk anyhow. I think the honour is in the right direction and long overdue.

• Who born dog 10 years ago

Ghana paa we are not serious. This foolish man killed a lot of people and not some idiots want to honour him. God will punish who ever brought this foolish idea,

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

All this emptiness and stupidity will one day end for the Rawlings, the illiterate academicians in Africa and the self doubting public when he is dead. It will surely come

• kabobo 10 years ago

Whoever decided to "honour" the killer Rawlings with an academic degree should have their heads examined.

• Natural Mystic 10 years ago

Check the latest rankings of African Universities (using various indicators) and see where these Ghanaian universities are before writing your comments

• Revjay393@yahoo.co.uk 10 years ago

THERE ARE THOSE WHO DREAM OF A BETTER LIFESTYLE
    AND
    AND THOSE WHO LIVE THEIR DREAMS
    THOSE WHO WONDER WHAT TOMORROW WILL BRING

• Emmanuel 10 years ago

Some of Ghanaians lack moral standard he deserves it shame to you all

• Kwabena Ansa 10 years ago

It is pathetic that at times the so called intelligentsia could make such a stupid decision that do reflect very poorly on them and give people cause to question the way they think.
    How in the World, could so called intelli ...

• ....... 10 years ago

OW THE OMANHENE OF ABURI DISAPPEARED UNDER RAWLINGS
    The Story Of BB Bismark
    Yours truly, The Crusading GUIDE has discovered how Benjamin Brako Bismark, under the stool name Nana Osae Ntifo Ababio, the Chief of Aburi and Ado ...

• ....... 10 years ago

KORTEWUYE NE ETWE MONO
    JJ KORTEWUYE(UNEDUCATED)=ETWE MONO(PHD,HON)TWEAAAAAAKAI NKWASEAFORBI NTI. GHANAIANS EDUCATED FOOOOOOOOLS MMOA MMA!

• Holala 10 years ago

Tweaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

• Bibii 10 years ago

Kill,conduct a coup,sit on the throne for 19 year,sodomize state coffers and you shall get a doctorate degree from a respected institution in Ghana.
    Ei Ghanaian adults you are REALLY setting good standards for the youth.
    We ...

• GYAKABRAM 10 years ago

Waste of limited resources indeed but there is a SINISTER PLOT behind this. Rawlings has always used the thieving Nigerians Ibrahim Babangida and Abdulsalami Abubakar to fund the NDC. As well known, Nigerians like titles. Raw ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

JJ fuck you.

• Owuraku - Yonkers, NY 10 years ago

Fools! Think about the failing economy and find solutions to the many problems people are facing. Honoring individuals does not put bread and butter on peoples' table. Nkwaseafo!

• Meshack 10 years ago

Dr Rawlings...ouch...the Sahara Desert has flooded due to a torrential downpour.

• Millionaire 10 years ago

The university would have done all of us a favour if they had rather enrolled this ignorant, Rawlings, as a student to learn, and also to realize that the academia isn't bad after all. This is a guy who deamonized academician ...

• Akans Prophecies 10 years ago

These private universities must stop disgracing our educational institution. How could they market an arm robber with PHD ? This jewish bastard is a simple rainbow in the dark !For years, we have had his true colours. He has ...

• BRO DAN- TRC 10 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, PRECIOUS ONES OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, -OF A TRUTH, NO CROSS NO CROWN, NO PAIN NO GAIN, AS THERE IS THE REWARD FOR EVIL, SO IS THERE THE FRUITS OF RIGHTEOUSNESS. THEREFO ...