You are here: HomeNews2014 07 12Article 316684

Reconstitute Council of State – Kufuor

Read Comments Comments (50)

• ATINGA FRAFRA 9 years ago

THANKS FOR YOUR WISE COUNSEL FORMER PREZ KUFUOR. WE THE PEOPLE WANT YOU TO COME BACK AND RUN THE AFFAIRS OF THIS NATION AGAIN. ALL THE PROGRAMS WHICH YOU INSTITUED FOR EXAMPLE THE SCHOOL FEEDING PROGRAM, NHIS, METRO MASS TR ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

wants to sound like a wise fool!!! very corrupt, self-seeking, parochial and visionless

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

As the days go by more and more people wake up to the reality of the ndc anti Akan hate agenda and their deep rooted corrupt dark souls of evil .This was first initiated by the Ewes and through Mahama and his brothers being c ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author: OBAA YAA
    ...So, the people around the president including his wife and those Team “B” staffers were aware of the president failing health. Therefore, who were they kidding when they ruin insults on whoever quest ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 9 years ago

An idiot to the bone is always an idiot to the bone, no change at all. Just get it straight here that the Ewes can also survive on their own in their own republic. Bastard.

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

very good so since we can live together in a healthy climate we just best separate . you ayigbes will surely fail in anything you do thats why you cling so desperately to us

• Dr.adumtumi nyansafuo 9 years ago

It is you eastern regional akans and northern brongs that are the scum of akan society. All you want is division. Only Asante is GREAT.

• Agyei Sikapa 9 years ago

Can Ewes seriously survive on their own?

Ewe government is in power now so why do you not get him promote the break?

• KOLA ,LONDON PROPER 9 years ago

Reconstitute Wo Na, a THIEF LIKE THAT, Why did you not do that during your tenure, thief kufuor?

A thief like you would want Ghanaians believe that your backward idea after creating the single spine which has become a prob ...

• Branaboy 9 years ago

Turn the National House of Chiefs into the second Chamber and add an elected Senatorial group of representatives, 2 from each region plus the supreme court judges to them to make up the second chamber.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

corrupt, visionless, parochial, and self-seeking

• Okponglo Guy 9 years ago

We need to reduce parliament to about 50. Government is too big

• Pelicles. 9 years ago

Our useless government is really too big and need to be reduced. A small nation like Ghana should not have that many MPs who are a drain on our scanty revenue.

• mohammed 9 years ago

This is true. 45 mps is enough. who will pay the second chamber and for what? parliament is yet to make a law in my opinion that make it worth its existence. no private sector will agree to invest what is paid the one yearpar ...

• Pierro 9 years ago

Wonderful proposition.

• Ben Abu- Praso 9 years ago

And Kuffour never saw this during his reign? Whenhe has packed his government with cronies (like any gov't will do) and now turning back to pretend he is wiser? May God forgive his sins? God will judge all of us of our HIDDEN ...

• olo Vivi 9 years ago

They are unnecessary

• UNBIASED THINKER 9 years ago

Those of you who are old enough to recollect an American politically embarrasing moment under Bill Clinton which led to an establishment of a public prosecutor's office under Kenneth Starr would admire its position of politic ...

• SOCCERMAN 9 years ago

What is sad about the Ghanaian situation is that we have experienced intelligent people who have been sidestepped in favour of unintelligent novices.

• OYIWA 9 years ago

WHAT IS EMILE SHORT SAYING - WE MUST CHANGE WTA BECAUSE IT IS THE CAUSE OF POLITICAL POLARIZATION...? BY EXTENSION THIS SIMPLISTIC RATIONALIZATION MEANS WE MUST CALL TIME ON CHIEFTAINCY BECAUSE ALLEGIANCE TO A STOOL PROMOTES ...

• Simple Simon 9 years ago

What does Emile Short mean by winner takes all? All of what?
    Our problem is simple - weak institutions, corruption and sleepiness on the part of Ghanaians (a very docile lot, we are). Why is that you don't hear of such seri ...

• Simple Simon 9 years ago

There should be no Council of State. Please get serious. What we need is to amend the constitution and abolish this ceremonial presidency dressed as an executive presidency, and revert to a Prime Ministerial system. At least, ...

• Nana Akyea Mensah, The Odikro. 9 years ago

OFFICE OF THE ODIKRO
    a companion of the black star!

We need a National Council of Elders, that is, adults who talk sense!

The Council of State is organically alienated from the good people of Ghana. What we need is som ...

• PAA NII 9 years ago

I never new that this loathsome pathetic old fool Atia gyimii Mensah got some sense under his fucked up head.

Akyea,keep typing.Maybe,someday,you'll randomly type something semi-intelligent.

• MENSAH. 9 years ago

I think what the former President is saying is not a bad thing at all.
    He made a statement that,our leaders should be very careful in the amendments they are trying to make in the constitution,to avoid future problems.
    He i ...

• MENSAH. 9 years ago

Freedom of information law:

Kufuor should have spoken about the momentum in addressing that law.
    I think,a nationwide demonstration,though peaceful,has to be effected on this,to compel these politicians to speed up the de ...

• mohammed 9 years ago

the upper chamber is still so partisan in Canada that many people are calling for its abolition. Kufour why do you want to imbibe an old dying horse. Bring innovation. establish rulers who have the heart to serve the people n ...

• GEO 9 years ago

FOR SALE (CALL 026 150 4701)

ALFA ROMEO 159 2.3L 4-CYLINDER TURBO ENGINE (AS NEW - IMMACULATE).

BMW X5 SPORTS 3.0L 6-CYLINDER ENGINE, HARDLY USED. LOW MILEAGE.

• Lord Tennison 9 years ago

The problem is not with the SYSTEM.It is the custodians of the system who must change their mentality.
    So long as they view public service as a priceless opportunity to amass illegitimate wealth to the detriment of us all ,n ...

• Judgement Day 9 years ago

It is an avenue to waste money. Imagine the benefits he was personally going to enjoy after exiting office. So will it be when people are sent there and are to be compensated when they exit office.

• Yaw Man 9 years ago

Mr. Kuffour idea is good but his constitutional studies of PPE have not shown how this idea will cure the bikerring and 'pull me down' attitude of the political parties for collaboration and good governance.

I disagree th ...

• tonga 9 years ago

You were busy smelling women ass so you forgot there is some thinking to be done.
    Now you can see how easy it is to talk outside the box.

CASSAVA PRESIDENT

• YAKUBU 9 years ago

Much as the Esteemed Ex President Kufuor has also added his voice to the proposition about the way our democratic architecture is presently constructed, I don't think we need another chamber ie an upper chamber to further scr ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

Kufour should spare as this inapplicable advice. Do we have a queen of Ghana or king of Ghana? Stop this bad attempt to infuse monarchy into democracy. The two are opposed to each other

• Harrison 9 years ago

How came you did not implement those things when you were in office? Get lost, you corrupt NPP leader

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Is this an original idea our ideal that can be expected of a so-called Oxford educated ex-president? Most of our fellow Ghanaians who did get schooling and work experiences in the Diaspora seem to return home still uncouth, ...

• KWAME, BELGIUM 9 years ago

Why did President not do this why he was at the Presidency? The eight was enough for him changing the system we have now.

• Flowerman 9 years ago

Non-partisan Council of State will fight among themsellves.

• OWEN.NEW YORK. 9 years ago

Our woes as Ghanaians is as a result of the insults heaped on our elders by some of our youths.Most of our youths have short life-span because of the way they disrespect elders in the country.If a twenty -two year old boy can ...

• Yaw Manu 9 years ago

Mr. Kuffour idea is good but poorly thought of as his constitutional studies of PPE have not shown how this idea will cure the bikerring and 'pull me down' attitude of the political parties for collaboration and good governan ...

• kekkkf 9 years ago

Kufour is talking nonsense. The people voted for the president. Why introduce Asante system of government?

• Dakora Gilbert ( CAMBODIA ) 9 years ago

Vice President should be remove from our present governing system and replace that with Prime Minister .Also, the idea of Upper House of Members .

• ohene 9 years ago

Ghana should go back to Westminster system of government. A prime minister, and an opposition leader in parliament, and also a mechanism to vote the government out by a vote of (non)confidence. In this way most of the ills of ...

• Timeliness 9 years ago

Glory Be to the Father , the Son and the Holy Spirit. That men like JAK 4 can now see clearly because the rain is gone!! I pray the Good Lord sends down his ray of light of Wisdom to shine on all our leaders during their serv ...

• kaketonti 9 years ago

Sorry,did I read governance is not booty Mr Thief K4?Please mind your speech.For your past liability is our suffrance now.You sold state assets,took back-kicks etc without creating idem for jobs.Its good you copied and someho ...

• Glitters 9 years ago

Good and authentic,as it were coming from an ex president who had experienced the system.

• KWAKU 9 years ago

SOMETIMES I WONDER WHAT INFORMS SOME OF THESE SUGGESTIONS. HAVE YOU CONSIDERED THE FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS AND THE ADDITIONAL COSTS WHICH WILL ACCRUE TO THE STATE IF ANY FOOLISH MAN WERE TO BUY INTO YOUR IDEA?
    WHEN YOU DECI ...

• Yaw Danso 9 years ago

What is wrong with our leaders koraaaaaaaaaaaa?

This is so shameful!

• WATUP 9 years ago

THAT USELESS COUNCIL OF STATE IS A COMPLETE DRAIN ON GHANA.

IT IS NON-FUNCTIONAL, LAZY, POWERLESS AND USELESS.

• KWESI 9 years ago

WHY DID N'T YOU DO THAT IN YOUR 8 YEARS RULE AS PRESIDENT? YOUR PARTY IS DOING EVERYTHING TO MAKE MAHAMA'S GOVERNMENT UNGOVERNABLE. THANK YOU FOR YOUR ADVISE ANYWAY.IT IS LEFT TO NDC GOVT TO DECIDE.