Ghana’s cedi is world’s weakest currency

Read Comments Comments (102)

• CHA 9 years ago

NDC and Mahama must go

• AOV 9 years ago

What a shame. He must resign.

• Whatever 9 years ago

That fact that your cedi falls doesn't mean is good or bad. What determines whether is good or bad is your ability or inability to take advantage of it. If Ghana were to increase the volume of exports it will be good for if t ...

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

@Whatever: Clueless just like your paymasters. No wonder the country is in a nose dive. Baseless comment.

• OBAA YAA 9 years ago

Headline news like this “Ghana’s cedi is world’s weakest currency” amount to crime of betrayal
    Yes, a crime of betrayal because betrayal has a cruel sting. When you are betrayed, it is like your trust ring has been ...

• NEMESIS RADAR, UK!! 9 years ago

Ghana=1 medal Naija=30 medals and more to follow.

• Twum Barimah 9 years ago

What kind of wicked and cruel topic?
    Some of you are full of absurd and preposterous malice. Do you people want to say Ghana's Cedi is worst off than Zibabweans' currency, Sierra Leone's Leones, Guinea's Celi, just to mentio ...

• Moses 9 years ago

Your earlier point is more valid than the later lie that the cedi is doing better now than it did under Kufour.If you want to be taken seriously stick to facts and stay away from the gutters? You are absolutely right to point ...

• okofo 9 years ago

We're NOT under Kufour's gov't my friend. Stop comparing in this manner: Ghanaians moved on for the better from where Kufour left, so if NDC cannot move the country further from where Kufour left it, then the gov't is SIMPLY ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

If we maintain what? Quo? You can't even speak or write English and you don't seem to understand Economics either. IT'S STATUS QUO, meaning doing the same thing over and over.

The cedi depreciation is not good for Ghana a ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

When one is using a word within clear INFORMAL context, you don't need to pronounce the word in full so long as the person reading or listening will understand its coded meaning. That is what INFORMAL language entails. Commen ...

• GAbaa 9 years ago

In economics we have something call "in the long run" when all resources are variable, that's when you can take advantage in currency fluctuations but not in the shot run when all your circumstances are fixed.

• Baba 9 years ago

Just the few comments I read proved that Ghana has too many economists with divergent views and interpretations of economic theories. That is probably the reason we can't get the ecominy, sorry economy right.

• NII OTU 9 years ago

Blame our opposition parties for using the Cedi depreciation as their campaign messages.
    WHAT THEY SHOULD THAT THE CEDI MAY STABILIZED AND THEIR CAMPAIGN MESSAGES WILL BE DEAD.

• Kwasi Asante , Providence, R.I. 9 years ago

People like you are those who voted for NPP when you were drunk or bribed. The Cedi was a stabilized currency at 1.56 cedis to a dollar under Kuffuor. In fact the rate stood firm for the last two years of Kuffuor regime.
    Re- ...

• Mensah 9 years ago

If the cedi stabilized under Kufour, why should that be bad for people not to vote for NPP?

• SARPONG 9 years ago

The reasons for the cedi depreciation is numerous and that is why it is going to be difficult to get this problem under control.

First, the government has increased the volume of the cedi circulation by printing more than ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

CORRECTION

The reasons for the cedi depreciation is numerous and that are why it is going to be difficult to get this problem under control.

First, the government has increased the volume of the cedi circulation by pr ...

• QUEEN 9 years ago

FOR HEAVEN'S SAKE, FOR CHRIST SAKE MAHAMA NEEDS TO LEAVE THE PRESIDENCY. WHY SHOULD THIS INCOMPETENT, PATHETIC, HALUCINATING, CLUELESS MAN WHO APPOINTED IGNORANT, UNKNOWLEDGEABLE, ARROGANT SCHOOL BABIES WITH SHARP TEETH MAKE ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

How was the cedi performing under Kufour? it was so bad that re-denomination had to be done to hide some of the zeroes

• Nii Akwei 9 years ago

Don't go there.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Your comment shows how illiterate you are. No sense trying to educate a dog how to accept soap as food, it will never happen.

• Tibaa 9 years ago

Bravo!!!

• Coconuthead 9 years ago

I AM SORRY TO SAY GHANA'S CURRENCY IS NOT THE WEAKEST IN THE WORLD? On what basis was such a ridiculous and presumptuous conclusion reach?

• Botha 9 years ago

Reached not reach? Based on the percentage of depreciation?

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

It is pathetic the cluelessness shown by this crop of leaders headed by Mahama. You have clueless leaders the country suffers. We are heading for the cliff and no one cares or has the guts to do what is right. What a shame!

• HolyGhost 9 years ago

Ghana's currency is the weakest, Mahama is clueless,is all in the eyes of npp suppoters, the party of sabotuers trying to bring the country down,all just because they failures

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

Making the wrong assumption that I support NPP, wait for the next administration to come and see if I let them off the hook. I support Ghana and that is it. Just saying the truth, that is all.

• George, Kumasi 9 years ago

Pls leave President Mahama alone and go and look for job.

• Theophilus 9 years ago

Where is that stupid akpeteshie trokosi Corney?

• MR MAN 9 years ago

Who will buy an Eurobond from a bankcrupt country with a worthless currency?

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Is that why Mahama wants to run to China with our begging cup for shylock loans? The Chinese are worse off when it comes to being fist-handed with with their money and have higher interest rates and conditions. Terkper admitt ...

• Baba 9 years ago

Bank of Ghana should keep an eye on the operations of those mushroom banks that sprung up when NPP came to power. They are syphoning all kinds of currencies they can lay their hands on in order to put blame on NDC.

• Germany 9 years ago

See a Fool, will always be a Fool, he can Never learn Or change cause is inside Ur useless Patents dna and u were Born with it. U assholes NDC will Even vote for a DOG Or CAT be President. I know u nasty NDC are people are NO ...

• Coconuthead 9 years ago

Wow, you really have a problem, don't you. Did you get the chance to make a point in that posting of yours.

By the way, what are you doing in Germany? Your "brilliance" should suffice to lead you home to Ghana to correct ...

• Baba 9 years ago

Just write German! some of us won't understand a thing but it will be no different from the English you have written. Sorry.

• moyo 9 years ago

President Kuffour allowed these mushroom banks in the system and they are the one undermining govt effort to stabilize the currency. Govt should review the activities of these banks to ensure they operate within banking regul ...

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

You need your brain to be check. Lack of LEADERSHIP on NDC part is the cause of it. There are too many MORONS in NDC decision making.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Have you considered the level of corruption, mismanagement and irresponsibility going on now? How much has this government borrowed and how much was paid to serve those debts. Mahama has put many squared pegs in round holes. ...

• Frank Dodam 9 years ago

Fellow country the world economy woke up to the challenges that came to be known as economic melt down , recession etc the world did not go around blaming leaders .
    When faced with a difficult situation one needs to step ba ...

• Tibaa 9 years ago

Trust me, if Mahama is not careful, psychological factors structured around our weakening currency will set it to lead Ghana into a collapsed economy.

When the basics are wrong, self-reinforcing tendencies will assume logi ...

• Tibaa 9 years ago

The PRESS in GHANA must be careful in their reportage on Ghana's currency. If they continue to portray a picture of irreversible collapse, the world will act in that direction and hasten the eventual currency meltdown.

• BALLOT PAPER 9 years ago

And instead of the Mahama NDC gov't putting in place measures to boost confidence in the economy and the currency to prevent capital flight, they are rather using "macho measures" to keep FX in the country. What a tragic joke ...

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

Those of us who have NO REAL understanding of Economics should just KEEP their mouths SHUT and at LEAST listen to those who have an understanding of it !!!
    Mahama ALONE CANNOT "raise" the VALUE of thre CEDI!!

• Tibaa 9 years ago

"Raising" the value of the cedi is not a physical activity that demands all hands on deck: it is through good policies and strategic financial management to which the bucks stop with the President.

• yaw 9 years ago

that's true, if 200 euro is 10 million old Ghana cedis, it's a shame at large, i support NDC and full kotoko man but it's time they let the seat to another party so the nation could move forward and if the nation goes on in ...

• Kwadwo Dwumor 9 years ago

Opposition to NDC had tried energy,the "Dumsor" is gone, they have tried Water, and water is back,they've tried strike/demonstrations,Mahama is MAHAMA. now the CEDI - GHANAIANS !!! THE cedi will rise soon,from Europe we are ...

• G. K. Berko 9 years ago

We should not overlook the possibility of a unified concerted effort to drag our Currency down, and with the NDC Administration. I know this may sound idiotic to many who are conspiracy averse.

But despite the fact the ...

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

My friend we are doing it to ourselves, no conspiracy theory here. You sound like the bad workman who complains about his tools.

• slow 9 years ago

ghenyame don't even mind that low thinker. he is a typical African who will always blame his woes on external influence when in fact he has never had leaders but rulers who simply are imbeciles.Africans are always blaming e ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

WORLD'S WORST CURRENCY DROP AS GHANA PULLS BACK FROM IMF AID

By Moses Mozart Dzawu and Robert Brand Jul 30, 2014 4:03 PM GMT+0200

Ghana’s cedi, the world’s worst-performing currency this year, weakened as the gover ...

• Ishimoto 9 years ago

Nation reckers

• Sea 9 years ago

If Ghana's cedi is the weakest currency in the world, who caused it? Knocking off four zeroes from the old cedis by NPP wicked economists has caused all this. SHAME UNTO ALL NPP WICKED ECONOMIST WHO DID THIS.

• VIOLA 9 years ago

They knocked off 4 zeros, so add the 4 zeros and viola, it is fixed. What a joke!!!

• Say the TRUTH 9 years ago

LET THEM REMAING IN THEIR ECONOMIC STUPIDITY ON THE ZERO THEOREIS PROPOUNDED BY THEIR GOD FATHER JJ AND OTHE STUPID ECONOMIST/FINANCE EXPERTS THEY HAVE!!!!

NO WONDER THEY ARE IN THE DEEP SHIT AND WILL CONTINUE TO REMAIN TI ...

• frenest 9 years ago

So how were you going to manage the situation where you had carry a bag load of notes to buy simple items like bread and other provisions from the market?

• Tibaa 9 years ago

“We are not considering an IMF loan at this time,” Deputy Finance Minister Mona Quartey said by phone yesterday.

Will this bank-teller turned minister shut-up for a moment? What do you know about development economics, ...

• Ebibiman 9 years ago

Funny people

• foolish man 9 years ago

foolish man mahama

• Whatever 9 years ago

Those NPP unschooled traders who won't produce but prefer to travel to China and Dubai week in and week out buy and import all manner of things into the country should cut down on the imports

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Idiot, what is the government there for? If what they import is not wanted, the government can ban them as it did on used refrigerators.

• Joe Pasaasa 9 years ago

Mahama is an epic failure. He must go to save Ghana from imploding.

Anyone who votes for Mahama and NDC is a wicked enemy of Ghana's progress.

Mahama and NDC are urinating on the faces of Ghanaians telling them it is ra ...

• kaketonti 9 years ago

What did you achieve by insulting the President,Mr Mahama?Politics is the competition of ideals.Just read the orderly comment of others.Be wise and responsible.

• TEE 9 years ago

INCOMPETENT LEADERLESS LOOT AND SHARE PERIOD

• TEE 9 years ago

CLUELESS USELESS VISIONLESS. MAHAMA PERIOD

• Kanawu 9 years ago

Mahama & Co can you lot see that you have failed Ghanaians.

• Brobbsnet-U.S.A 9 years ago

You cannot mention the word FAILURE and MAHAMA in the same sentence.

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

This is exactly what happened to Nigeria when they had the oil boom in the 70s.Everything went fine for a while,then all of a sudden everything came to a halt followed by "Ghana must go".My question is that,why is the CFA alw ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

unbelievable, incompetent leaders, currency devalued (3% in months), to such an extent and the ruling party does nothing to remedy it? lol! Ghana is in a depression! keep fighting each other whiles the country economy burns!

• Brobbsnet-U.S.A 9 years ago

Anytime the president opens his mouth ,the country SINKS in economic tsunami and the more the president and NDC keeps
    talking. it's like an Addiction.

• SABA 9 years ago

I'm not one of the NPP/NDC fanatics, I just want objective answers to this question: Has the NDC moved Ghana further forward from where Kuffour left it? If yes, what areas have they improved. If no what areas have they destro ...

• Joe 9 years ago

I hope NDC is accepting this because they seem to deny the economy is in shambles. Let them listen to Bawumia who keeps advising them but they do not accept it.

• ADONGO 9 years ago

STUPID COUNTRY,STUPID ECONOMY ,STUPID LEADERS!!!

• Kwamr Oeusu London 9 years ago

Only fools don't realise the cedi is sinking. Idiots like Mahama anf his cabinet.

• Jean claude 9 years ago

hahahahahaahahah.........the most useless country in the world is ghana. For you to have all the resources and still be poor shows how backward people you are. always want to compete with the whiteman but you dont have nothin ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

Only a fool will believe this stupid story.Thank you.

• abba 9 years ago

THE SPIRIT OF JUNE 4TH 1979 REVOLUTION IS TOTALLY DEAD BECAUSE MAHAMA LED NDC HAS LOOTED THE COFFERS OF THE NATION. NOW IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE BLOOD OF GEN.I.K.ACHAMPONG AND THE OTHERS WHO WERE EXECUTED ARE INNOCENT.

• abba 9 years ago

EVEN THE OIL DESCOVERY HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINALS AND THAT HAS CONTRIBUTED TO THE AILING ECONOMY.

• STAFFORD 9 years ago

Let us reconsider a free port, because most of these imported goods are resold to our neighbouring countries to strengthen the cedi.

• STAFFORD 9 years ago

Let us boost both local and private businesses, attract foreign investors by smoothing out land acquisition and disputes.

• kofucius.wordpress.com 9 years ago

Singapore and Dubai do similar things, it would make Tema more competitive vs Abidjan.

Good idea put forth, Tema is more advanced of a port than most in Africa, but its high prices make it prohibitive for those interested ...

• ANKOBEA-HENE 9 years ago

So why is China not crying over weak Yuan? they even wanted to dilute it to go down had America not been watching them. Let's turn a misfortune into a blessing.

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 9 years ago

Ankobea-Hene, not only Chinese had wanted to devalue their currency, but with their established industrial base which many multi-million dollar companies are operating there with their cheap labour, hence America raised conce ...

• SAARA-MENSAH 9 years ago

We have great minds.

• K.A 9 years ago

Bawumia predicted this less than 24hrs ago.

• ANKOBEA-HENE 9 years ago

what did he do in the previous gov't? they pegged the cedi to US dollar. Ghana and US are not equals in terms of economics. So Bawumia did more harm than good. he gave Ghana the wrong drug that's why he is sure we are doomed.

• Enoch. O 9 years ago

This is not a MAHAMA made disaster. Why on earth did Kufuor value our currency as 1to1 against the American Dollar. It does not make sense. Apart from Cocoa whose price we do not control, what else do we have, we have sold aw ...

• FIFI GBEVE 9 years ago

NPP owned banks have ganged up with people like KESSBEN to cause the Cedi to depreciate and make the country ungovernable. Heavenly Father will expose all the wicked plots of NPP and bring the SATANIC LEAGUE to shame.

• STAFFORD 9 years ago

What is needed now are ideas and solutions from you and me, abuses and criticisms get us no answers.

• FOFFIE 9 years ago

BLESS UP

• No fear 9 years ago

Mahama & Terkper: IMF bailout is in your future. TUC: retrenchment is in your future.
    Cedi: NDC school boys will not save you, 5 cedis to 1 dollar is in around the corner.

• nkem 9 years ago

Hhhmmmm.....i advise ur president to come discuss dis una economic issue with nigerian president b4 hunger blow una head ....no need of shame..rollings nd john kufor asked 9ja for help.

• nana bronya 9 years ago

MAHAMA IS A DOG EATING IDIOT

• Peter Pan 9 years ago

Don't believe story about the Cedi being the weakest currency in the world. The enemies of Ghana are using psychological warfare to weaken our resolve in order to demoralize. Turn perceived weakness into srength.

• francis sam 9 years ago

simple put increase your exports and
    tariffs on imports why should Ghana
    import tomatoes and onions STOP TALKING ABOUT CORRUPTION AND START
    PROSECUTING PEOPLE
    take a lesson from RWANDA

• Mr Tee 9 years ago

President Mahama has done nothing wrong to this economy why am i saying that,the change of currency by the previous government

• Shaz Aku 9 years ago

I agreeMr Tee, the previous Government have alot to answer for. Kuffour managed to get some of our creditors to wipe some of our debts then they overspent with no much to show for it. Where is the evidence that the Cedi is th ...

• Opinenhof 9 years ago

I can prove you wrong that the cedi is the weakest currency in the world. Even in some of the European contries like Poland,Latvia and others .why ? The. System was rotten for long now that is smillimg. Dead things smell ...

• allexisse 9 years ago

Pls Prez. Mahama are u watching all this? Pls dont look like Eyadema from togo who dont listen to anything

• Isaac 9 years ago

Does this Gov't concern about Ghanaians? Please Mr Prez, why?

• asdad 8 years ago

fuck the government!