You are here: HomeNews2014 08 01Article 319329

Ghana is in crisis, says Dr. Bawumia

Read Comments Comments (68)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

CRAZY NDC SYCOPHANTS DOUBTED MY WORDS!! NOW THE REALITY HAS DAWNED!!!!-----MAHAMA AND HIS BUNCH OF CROOKISH INCOMPETENT CORRUPT MONSTERS CAN NEVER DO IT! NO! NOT IN A MILLION YEARS!!! NDC LACK THE BRAINS. JUST LOOK AROUND; CA ...

• moyo 9 years ago

Dr. Bawumia talks as if he has the midas touch Ghana's economy problems, but he is part of the problem govt is trying to deal with. Bawumia was at the Bank of Ghana when Kuffour redominated the currency. Issuing license to mu ...

• Theophilus Castro 9 years ago

Typical tuo saafi talk from this illiterate moyo.

• Whatever 9 years ago

That was the kind of horrible economy NPP left Ghanaians when they exited power

• Whoever 9 years ago

Whatever repeating NDC inanities as usual

• Whatever 9 years ago

What is inane about this? The reason Kufour gave in selling Ghana Telecom was that it was incurring losses. It was incurring losses yet Bawumia was sitting on their board as one of their directors. As a director, he couldn't ...

• JAH LOVE 9 years ago

BAWUMIA'S MOTHER IS IN CRISIS. FUCK

• Ibrahim Mahama; JDM's brother 9 years ago

Damn, whatever, the NDC has sold Merchant Bank and now wants to sell the Electricity Company of Ghana. What is strange about this clueless government is it's orientation a social democrat.

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 9 years ago

God bless you, Dr. Bawumia !

You saw it coming 3 years ago and you warned Ghanaians about the dangers ahead under an incompetent, clueless, corrupt kleptocratic NDC gangster regime.

Many ignorant Ghanaians and even some ...

• Baba 9 years ago

How did the cedi match USD 1 to GHC 1.1? Did NPP not steal our foreign currencies under the guise of redenomination? Poor boy learning the wrong politics.

• Whatever 9 years ago

That was the desperately incompetent formula Bawumia chose to apply to halt the rapid fall of the cedi which was going on in their tenure. No wonder the cedi shot up from 1.1 to 1.5 months later

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

AUTHOR: THE--------****---
    As for the argument about re-denomination coming from the camp of the NDC and their allies like Bernard Mornah l'll say these arguments are from little brains, lazy minds that don't think. They pre ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 9 years ago

Ignorance will bury you alive, if you continue to be a slave to the stealers' party, instead of making use of your lil brain,my stepson.

Are you not ashamed of the kind of governance that is being offered by the Mahama ad ...

• SGT ANAI FIADZOE 9 years ago

It is because of you stupid monkeys senseless utterances, which has today
    we are seeing our national economy so
    foolish.

It is upon your senseless and hopeless lies, deceit, robbery, dishonesty,
    and your arrogance made ...

• JOHN 9 years ago

NDC Government should not attribute the cause of Ghana's weakening economy to re-denomination. re-denomination has been done in many countries and it caused no economic crisis.
    Because of politics, people pretend to talk a ...

• Concerned Person 9 years ago

Moho, you are probably a corrupt, NDC foot soldier who has very basic education and no morals. Why do you support a give that steals from you, deprives Ghanaians of their basic rights and continue to destroy out nation. Shame ...

• SGT ANAI FIADZOE 9 years ago

Stupid monkey, do you find Ghana economical condition healthy under the most hopeless and useless Government led by such a senseless and womanizer Mahamsa who has used all our money fucking women every where in the country? A ...

• ASEM 9 years ago

Bawumia knows nothing. He is just talking because talk is cheap. Why did he do redenomination? He must tell Ghanaians.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Nana can go ahead and call for forensic audit of the biometric voter register, who cares? He will lose anyway. Npp means ?????, Nana personal property.

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana 9 years ago

Agya wagyimi a eya paa oo! You know and believe that what Dr Bawumia is saying is 100 percent right but because of your evil party so called NDC has just blindfolded your eyes and you see red as black. But l am telling you al ...

• osei darteh 9 years ago

i now understand why the cedi is falling. stop going for loans, cut your cloth according to you cloth,

• GHANAIAN 9 years ago

ABOUT TWO YEARS AGO ANITA DE SOSO SAT AT A GHANA RADIO STATION, IN LONDON, TO TELL GHANAIANS, IN THE DIASPORA, THAT THEE ECONOMY WAS BOOMING AND THEREFORE GHANA DID NOT NEED £/$ FROM GHANAIANS IN THE DIASPORA.

SUCH PEOPLE ...

• HolyGhost 9 years ago

Unlike kufours government that stole from people in diaspora NDC doesn't, During kufours reign the cedi to a pound was 1.5, at the same time the cedi to the pound at the British high commision was 2.8 cedis to a pound, so how ...

• Kwasia bi nti 9 years ago

You have said it all. Ghana is in the wrong hands now. Ghana needs you guys to safe it from total collapse.

• Meh 9 years ago

" in the abundance of water the fool is thirsty" Bob Marley. Eh Mahama, why do you rely on the desert of NDC when the likes of Kuffour, Nana, Bawumia, Ndoom, etc are available

• Kwaku Addo 9 years ago

the 'mmotia' (dwarfs) theory of exchange rate determination.
    A good one there. Well said Dr.

• gyan 9 years ago

He should go and look for our one pesewa. Fool. 5 pesewas. Stupid.

• seidu 9 years ago

Licking nana ass RUBBISH.

• Ebibiman 9 years ago

Lost country

• Whatever 9 years ago

2008, Kufour dubiously sold Ghana Telecom to pay unpaid workers. Where was Ghana then? Nirvana? Incidentally, Bawumia was one of the directors of Ghana Telecom at that time? Indeed he was accused by PC Appiah Ofori for taking ...

• Nana Yaw 9 years ago

Does this stooge thinks he knows more than Dr. Wampah? What a sore loser!!

• mahama 9 years ago

Only fools will support this government, just look at how stupid NDC supporters look like in ur societies, they beg for money, they are jobless, alcoholics, criminals, liars and fools. with all this signs of hardship people a ...

• GhanamanOriginal 9 years ago

What is the real value of the Cedi?
    To answer this question, let us examine the value of the Dollar. The Dollar is backed by goods and services. The USA is a center of ingenuity and practical applications. The US has a big i ...

• Phille 9 years ago

There is no denying the fact that Bawumia is a pro at what does.The issue now is ghanaians are thirsty for result!If he has all these theories,what prevents him from helping Mahama's government to gain solid grounds??? We mus ...

• MOI 9 years ago

THIS MAN IS BEGINNING TO BE VERY IRRITATING. HE IS TALKING TOO MUCH.

• 0243578657 9 years ago

ADMISSION INTO SHS 1, 2 AND REMEDIAL SCHOOL FOR 2014/2015 ACADEMIC YEAR.

It is announced for the information of prospective applicants that Cambridge Senior High School is admitting students into SHS 1, 2 and the Remedial ...

• Kojovie 9 years ago

Bawumia,Bawumia,Bawumia ! How many times have I called you! Your message is like a pin in the ass of NDC so they pretend not to see and hear.but as your name (Bawumia) I understand means "They have heard". So they have clear ...

• Kwame, New York 9 years ago

Rubbish !!! Bawumia. You are becoming irrelevant.
    when you were in the Bank of Ghana the best you could do was to remove zeroes to play deceit on Ghanaians that the Cedis is stronger than the U.S dollar.
    Shut up !!! Mr. th ...

• Maame Dokua 9 years ago

Thank u Kwame,NY ghana is in crisis becos the money was changed & ghanians are gnorant about it. JJ said but npp knew they were exposed so they were loud to cover up. bawumia & napo where were u when kuffour chged the money? ...

• kwasi 9 years ago

Hi kwaku Bawumia, you are too young to be politically misused. please be careful, the area is slippery.

• Imani 9 years ago

The pair of Bawumia and Nana are speaking as if they have already be chosen or elected by the delegates of the big Party NPP.
    They now have to concentrate on passing the test why the party should reposed their confidence in ...

• KWAME NKRUMAH 9 years ago

If you are broke, one easy way to reverse your poor situation is to sell off some your priceless assets (if you have any) and use the proceeds from the sale of the asset to bail yourself out. The NPP encountered the same poo ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

Ghana is not in crisis.

A crisis occurs only when conditions defy solutions. It aint so in Ghana, people.

• HE`S NOT AFRAID 9 years ago

GHANA IS IN CRISES,SAYS BAWUMIA

• Alah 9 years ago

Dr. Bawumia, please stop playing politics with the current situation. You could not have saved the cedi if you were the sitting president today. Everything started with the government of Kuffour. All you talk about day in day ...

• Humanity 9 years ago

Ghanaians NEVER take responsibility for their actions, the sitting Gov't in any reasonable country is held responsible for economic performance, but in GHANA, the opposition, who've been out of POWER for 5yrs or so ar held RE ...

• Zennman 9 years ago

Where did this Bewumia guy get his PhD in economics from? Most laymen know that if a country does not manufacture and export goods and services, but relies solely on export of natural resources, without processing and adding ...

• olu 9 years ago

Where from this Bawumia?. How can an economist say they shore up cedi by injecting 2.6 b USD? Is it the way to make the economy resilient. Bawumia should be ashamed of himself.

• kofi anamo 9 years ago

bawumia is just a conman like his mentor and tin-god, akuffo. why did he and his npp deleted the Gye Nyame symbol from our former strong and spirited cedis and inflicted this current weak and spiritless cedis on Ghanaians? th ...

• Baka 9 years ago

DO THE AMERICANS TRULY BELIEVE GOD?

• Baka 9 years ago

DO THE AMERICANS TRULY BELIEVE IN GOD?

• Elias 9 years ago

God richly bless u

• Janet - Tema 9 years ago

How much debt did NPP leave in office. How can you run a government on debt. Just like TOR. When TOR took over the importation of crude and market of products from GNPC in 1986, there was no working capital and that has co ...

• Kwame Canada 9 years ago

Irrespective of the political party you subscribe to, Ghana cannot afford to continue sinking under Mahama's leadership

• Kofi Mensah 9 years ago

Give them the and they will take more than 5 years to come up with a solution,blaming NDC for the trouble. It is the same merry-go-round method of politicians.

• Kofi Mensah 9 years ago

Give them the chance and they will take more than 5 years to come up with a solution,blaming NDC for the trouble. It is the same merry-go-round method of politicians.

• Baka 9 years ago

U are not Kofi Mensah but rather Akakpo.We the Akans are planning to disconnect u voltarians from the main land Ghana.Remember u are from Trans Volta-Togoland that's why they call u inward looking people-meaning NATION WRECKE ...

• MENSAH. 9 years ago

CRISIS ALWAYS OCCURS AT THE CURVE OF EVERY CHANGE.
    We need sustainable,meaningful,viable measures to curb it.
    THE PROBLEM WITH THE NDC IS:

THEY LACK THE ACUMEN TO ADDRESS IT,PERIOD.

BAWUMIA,came up with the prescripti ...

• kofi pra 9 years ago

interventions to prop the cedi is wastage.The money is better spent in the productive sector.

• KWESI KRAMER 9 years ago

OH, THIS IDIOT AGAIN. AFTER HE HAS SWALLOWED A BOWL OF TOUZAAFI, DOWNED A POT OF PITO, THIS IS ALL HE HAS BEEN SAYING, NOTHING NEW. SHUT UP BOY

• ASH 9 years ago

Too much noise and saying what people want to hear does not solve the problems of a country. Your rather clueless vision is the potential failure you are arranging for the country. Nana is not a leader. He cannot rule Ghana

• Bone Shaker - BS 9 years ago

Wow NDC come again, you are confused,corrupt and incompetent. Dwarfs(mmoatia) economy of NDC is just plain stupid.

• AMB 9 years ago

Dr Bawumia I love your effort to eventually lead NPP. I am however unhappy with your shallow defence on the redenomination exercise. In economic theory, are there any benefits other than convenience? Is Ghana operated in a vo ...

• YawZa 9 years ago

Dr. Bawumia is economic giant of Africa, we must listen to him.
    He can single handedly save Ghana from her economic crisis we currently find ourselves in.

• Rocky 9 years ago

I think NPP economy is in trouble now that all the money they looted was used to purchase all the $ in the system and was transferred illegally to foreign country.
    How they going to repatriate it back for campaign come 201 ...

• Dready 9 years ago

Shame bawumia. You should have said the election results not election petition.Your master just realised that election is won at the polling station not at court with pinksheets. He pushed you to sit there sheepishly answerin ...

• ASEM 9 years ago

Dr. Bawumia and his NPP collapsed Ghana and quickly did redenomination to deceive Ghanaians that the economy was stable. Dr, go find out why and when redenomination is done and come again. You can't fool us all.

• Lord Tennison 9 years ago

Only NPP beliefs can salvage Ghana from her pathetic economic situation.
    Ghana montie:vote for Nana Akuffo Addo and Dr. Bawumia in 2016.