I hope that the fundamental aim of IHEU is realized.
This is going to be an uphill battle especially, in Africa where 'laws' made to protect people from abuses(be it religious or political) are flagrantly abused or overlooked depending upon the interpretation of who is in charge of the "community".
kwesi 9 years ago
There is no need raking in christianity into this. The blaspheme campaign is being champion by muslim leaders who want the UN to guard against criticism of Islam, but are too shy to be say what exactly what they want and for that matter make it appear as though they were against criticisms of all religions.
the truth 9 years ago
Actually the Holy Bible is written for black people just like the quo ran for the Arabs,all those characters in the Holy Bible were black people including Abraham,Moses Mary Jesus n the rest of them.Islam is not for black people:revelation.1-14.
Odurose 9 years ago
Mr Leo Igwe,
"Blasphemy laws exist in many states across Africa" you assert without evidence. Please give us some of the names of countries in Africa with such laws.
Seriously though, your views are not only poignant b ... read full comment
Mr Leo Igwe,
"Blasphemy laws exist in many states across Africa" you assert without evidence. Please give us some of the names of countries in Africa with such laws.
Seriously though, your views are not only poignant but also highly welcome in a world riffled with bigotry and intolerance on the part of religious leaders and followers.
In traditional African religions there are no blasphemy laws because it is the view of the believers that God or the gods can take care of themselves by visiting the blasphemer with divine retribution and NOT through the agency of man. Rather it is the imported religions that because they are unsure of themselves need the agency of man to punish the so-called blasphemers and protect God or Allah.
It is time for governments and nations to support the IHEU to get rid of superstition and ignorance by getting rid of blasphemy laws.
Mathias Korbla Agbanyo 9 years ago
Very good I support it with my whole body
gidi 9 years ago
leo wonim nyasa ketwa bi sei abi blasphemy against religion shoul b encourage do u think we are western people think de afrocentric way and stop deceiving ur self as emancipating ur so called crap kwasia panyin
Bebeb 9 years ago
People of Africa you have your own tradition and roots don`t try to monkey Europe and Arabss old thinking from mid-el ages that religion have some answer, it dosen`t it only oppress people to make what they other wont to you to do. Be free Africans make your laws to live free in peace and harmony with your tradition and concentrate to build your lives with true goals like own strong country and free people educated and rich.
Blasphemy laws are for the intolerant!
Not a Ghana or Africa problem
This is going to be an uphill battle especially, in Africa where 'laws' made to protect people from abuses(be it religious or political) are flagrantly abused or overloo ...
There is no need raking in christianity into this. The blaspheme campaign is being champion by muslim leaders who want the UN to guard against criticism of Islam, but are too shy to be say what exactly what they want and for ...
Actually the Holy Bible is written for black people just like the quo ran for the Arabs,all those characters in the Holy Bible were black people including Abraham,Moses Mary Jesus n the rest of them.Islam is not for black peo ...
Mr Leo Igwe,
Seriously though, your views are not only poignant b ...
People of Africa you have your own tradition and roots don`t try to monkey Europe and Arabss old thinking from mid-el ages that religion have some answer, it dosen`t it only oppress people to make what they other wont to you ...