You are here: HomeNews2017 06 16Article 548920

Ghana ranked 3rd in marijuana use in the world; leads in Africa

Read Comments Comments (61)

• kofi adu 6 years ago

if you have had a president and a current president who smoke, what do you expect?

• Onipaba of Akyem Maase 6 years ago

The smoke features of mahama is not hidden. Can you see his dark lips? Mills (RIP) was a heavy spokesman. Hope you are aware. Now mention any other presidents who smoked? Korku vi ahroris abi?

• MASAWUDU 6 years ago

Nana Addo & Asante Bediatuo account for 73.1% of Ghana's consumption of the good stuff!!!

Ghana!!!!!! These two ntampi heads together at the Flagstaff House is a recipe for a looming national disaster

• FALSE UN REPORT 6 years ago

ENERSTINA ADJEI YOU ARE LIAR!WHEN IT COMES TO MARIJUANA SMOKING,GHANA IS NO WHERE NEAR NETHERLANDS,DENMARK,CANADA, AUSTRALIA AND THE ENTIRE UNITED STATES.IRONICALLY THESE COUNTRIES ARE ALL DOING BETTER IN THEIR ECONOMY THAN G ...

• Hohoho, montreal 6 years ago

Well said and, thank you

• Shahid 6 years ago

??????????

• ICANTBREATHE 6 years ago

Dumb ass Kofi Adu again . Getta life . You suck in your pronouncements . Go get back to your village and tell ur village chief to teach some sense before you post anything else on here .Tired of the low iq pronouncements. Am ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 6 years ago

LEGALIZE THE GANJA BECAUSE ITS GOING TO GENERATE MILLIONS OF DOLLARS IN GHANA.

• SIMON 6 years ago

HOW GOOD IT IS A LOT OF RETARDED ASS THE USE OF GANJA. BUILD A LOT MENTAL INSTITUTIONS IF THIS IS LEGALIZED

• Johnny klass 6 years ago

Mother Ghana please legalize ganja and I'm ready to advertise it free of charge.

• Mark, South Afr 6 years ago

I live and work in South Africa and I want to say that is research is never true. Are they saying Ghanaians use marijuana than South Africans? No way. It's a lie. Marijuana and other drugs are nothing on the streets of SA. Th ...

• Nana Malik 6 years ago

You're absolutely right,Mark.This woman is peddling falsehood with a fake UN report.Eiih,how can Ghana be third in the whole world? Where's USA and the European countries?

• Mt 6 years ago

Siasem if u kmot US Columbia Cuba UK Russia and some countries from the Caribbeans where comes Ghana to make it to the 3rd List?

even with for US alone. siasem you allow some stupid people to get on a platform and speak t ...

• Fredua 6 years ago

We ve seen the performance of your so called intelligent university students in the university quiz, and its nothing to boast of. What do Ghanaian students know? Its only academic theft that they know. If I may ask, do you w ...

• Mark, South Afr 6 years ago

Fredua or whatever.....come to South Africa n u will see for yourself.

• mary j advocate 6 years ago

Fredua u don't know shit, this analysis is not accurate, cos taking into consideration the population of both countries, u will realize they smoke more Mary j than Ghana n I have been to SA n truly truly the cops don't follow ...

• Man 6 years ago

This is definitely bogus, I've traveled across all continents, I've seen lots of drug usage everywhere. To my astonishment Ghana rather has the least of drug usage including marijuana. Go to Indonesia, Malaysia, Tanzania, Net ...

• Duncan Wilmot 6 years ago

Who are the authors of this so called report? How can you sit your countries and do a research on Ghana? Stop kidding yourselves.

• Mallam Amotia JINNI Powers+2335471222 6 years ago

, Hello people all over the world this is your number 1 spiritual consultation and problem solving center..Anybody out there whether in Ghana or any where in the world who is encountering any problem,difficulties,spiritual si ...

• unpredictable 6 years ago

God will punish you for making me see this stupid message more than twice today..

• Nana 6 years ago

I am sure this is right. Also, the spread of smoking weed went up in proportion within the last 10 years. The last time I visited Ghana, I was very surprised to see all these boys smoking it. They have also taken alcohol as a ...

• Wahabu 6 years ago

Next time, make sure you educate the general public. Apart from mentioning that Ghana is in the third position, school going children and the general public should be informed about the two countries in the lead. That I guess ...

ENERSTINA ADJEI YOU ARE LIAR!WHEN IT COMES TO MARIJUANA SMOKING,GHANA IS NO WHERE NEAR NETHERLANDS,DENMARK,CANADA, AUSTRALIA AND THE ENTIRE UNITED STATES.IRONICALLY THESE COUNTRIES ARE ALL DOING BETER IN THEIR ECONOMY THAN GH ...

• Kwaku Single 6 years ago

Let us play the Ostrich game. Call the woman names that is all what we know in Ghana.

THIS WOMAN IS A LIAR,THOSE WHO WANT KNOW THE TRUTH GOOGLE OR YAHOO COUNTIRES WITH THE HIGHEST NUMBER OF MARIJUANA SMOKERS.USELESS WOMAN SACK HER ASAP!SHE IS A DISGRACE TO HERSELF AND GHANA.

• Animals Kingdom 6 years ago

Majority of the youth are on hard drugs, being at 3rd place is an insult, Ghanaian youth do not respect the elderly because of smoking of marijuana, even some elderly in the society are masters of their own, Eastern and Ashan ...

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 6 years ago

HOW CAN GHANA BE HIGHER THAN NIGERIA IN WEE SMOKING? THIS IS A VERY STUPID SURVEY! THE QUANTUM ALONE DOES NOT SUGGEST THIS FIGURE! PLEASE TALK WELL OK!

• ICANTBREATHE 6 years ago

I say hell ya , why not , it's da funk , the sticky icky , da tree , mary jane , ganja . The research is definitely flawed . The shit is legal in many parts of the U.S and in the just ended election that saw Mr. Trump in offi ...

• Freeman 6 years ago

@ICANTBREATHE I appreciate your deep insight about marijuana use in the US. Ghanaians should be free to smoke the innocent herb in our own nation. That's our freedom and our inalienable right. Thanks, buddy!

• APONKYE 6 years ago

Even his cousin, Otchere Darko confirmed it and the America Embassy has a full file on NANA'S wee smoking.So what do you expect?

• John Ghanaba 6 years ago

Terrible shame! How did it come to this? Something must be done by concerned citizens engaging in concerted action because the authorities are useless,I'm sure it got very bad under the wicked ndc administration.

• Serilo 6 years ago

No 1 in africa is not bad...we have to smoke all the way to the No 1 in the world...where my Ganja people dey,this is a challenge to us to make Gh great and famous...

• Hanson, UK 6 years ago

This is the so called Christian country where church goers like agbesi kwesi don't allow others to have their peace of mind. Apart from mob action, linching, rape, corruption, we top again in "ganger". Shame unto us, I'm off ...

• Henry 6 years ago

The outreach and educational as recommended by the police shld rather start from their door step because about 80% of them are weed users.

• Boat 6 years ago

This is true because nowadays they have marijuana toffee ,biscuits, alcoholic drinks ,soups and soooo many stuffs apart from the smoking.

• KK 6 years ago

The west is doing so, why not we?

• Amoah freeman 6 years ago

Is a lie come to Nigeria here and see .from now I will not u people serious cos u don't know what u are doing. Indeed

• RAS 6 years ago

fools, dont you people promote guns that kills,,,
    its a plant, medication,,you need to take a likle snif mi bredren,,,,
    this plant liv pan this earth by the BIG MAN UP there,,,,jaahhhh rastafari,,,,,
    decline ciggar rather, ...

• Tetteh 6 years ago

What abot Gambia this is a big lie the is Gambia before any country in west Afric.I have been to all the west africa states but no place smoke like Gambia mother and son share a joint father and daughter get high together you ...

• 21st century boy 6 years ago

That's why Ghanaians are doing things
    This mad things in the country. Stupidity everywhere.

• BERNARD 6 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).
    You can call /whatsapp me on 0572174551
    (1). USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA have ...

• Nicodemus 6 years ago

Mad you and your UN people are liars. Do you know the Whole World? They Carribeans like Jamaica, Costa Rica, Venezuela, Trinidad and Tobago, Haiti, etc. Do you know Africa Lawless Regions like Nigeria,DR Congo, Liberia, South ...

• Hohoho, montreal 6 years ago

Jamaica, South Africa, Nigeria, Brazil, US, Columbia are ahead of Ghana when it comes to smoking "wee ". In Nigeria, old ladies of 80 years and above smoke it.

• Nicodemus 6 years ago

That your report is frivolous and bogus and has no room in Ghana a peace loving Country. If you want such Countries in the world, go to the Caribbean Countries like Jamaica, Venezuela, Costa Rica, Trinidad and Tobago, Haiti e ...

• kenneth 6 years ago

Is not bad as people think once in a while is okay Ghana should find a way of marketing it and trust me we will make good money out of it and also education is important so let get it right

• kwaku 6 years ago

Mark i doubt ud u really studied in UCT Or Wits what are saying. U might as well be living in Hillbrow.

• No Mercy 6 years ago

Create jobs for the youth.Marijuana talk talk is nonsense.In Amsterdam you can buy it on the Street

• Wale. 6 years ago

Smoking weed till my lungs stuck off .

• Koo 6 years ago

Shatta movements contribution

• NOLLE PROSEQUI 6 years ago

Please the insult will not solve our problems let us use a strategic ways and plans to tackle this alarming issues in the country.

• KEKELI 6 years ago

I don't believe this kind of information. who and who did the study before coming out with this disgraceful information? Which research instruments did they use to arrive at such result.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 6 years ago

Another achievement for the drug lord Nana Akufool Addict.
    What a president. .Mr short man president, u do all..more vhim.

• Puffy 6 years ago

Congo Taaba is good for asthma, glaucoma and schizophrenia. You can even boil it, mash some into your ital stew with the kontomere, not forgetting the dandelion.

Great song by Zion Healer on the use of marijuana aka Congo ...

• Ali Sylvester 6 years ago

Let me rectify the guy saying in the streets of SA smoking weed is nothing,yes is true but in Ghana is massive,go to the high schools and in the bushes of Ghana and compare,maybe is a long time you left Ghana but am also leav ...

• Weeder 6 years ago

Oh masa. Weed is good. If u don't like it don't mean u shld stop people from doing it. It's soo stupid. Ghana third in the world? Wey fucking lie that? Even the US kraa, they smoke weed nd do coke nd shit like crazy nd yet t ...

• King M 6 years ago

This headline caught my eye quite recently and has brought on a lot of mixed reaction from my fellow country men and women most of who think it is bad press, which isn't surprising since most of my fellow citizens never look ...

• King M 6 years ago

I am only bringing the issue to the table for discussion it is time we considered all other posibilities for addressing the issue because current stance on the issue is not yielding any gains it is time we research and reasse ...

• Proff Gh 6 years ago

hmm......! Ghana,we have gone too far...!!!!

• Johnny klass 6 years ago

Please mother Ghana ! Legalize marijuana and I'm ready to advertise it free of charge.

• JH New York. 6 years ago

Liars. This report is not the truth. They sit in the Offices to write bogus reports and Spew nonsense/trash about venerable 3rd World African Countries; b'cos Official there will not Challenge anything.How many people Smoke e ...

• Moro 6 years ago

Mamobi