You are here: HomeSports2013 01 21Article 262727

Akaminko takes no blame for penalty

Read Comments Comments (40)

• wilson 11 years ago

before akaminko was invited into the blackstars, i was one person who was routing for a call up. but when he played his first match for the blackstars in kumasi i told myself he is not up to the standard.
    There is no way he ...

• POW, The Prince of Walewale 11 years ago

Camera no dey lie. Na so your face be, na so you go appear. Akaminko, Onyame ehu woooo. This reminds me of an advert on Ghana TV few years ago which talks about "PASIGUARD" a metal protecting door. In the ad, thieves were att ...

• RAS-VULTURE 11 years ago

The guy was left dead.What a nice dribble.Anyway the referee was very fast to see it.The action was closer to the assistance referee but he saw nothing.

Jerri should have taken a blame what a woeful defending.So if MBOKANI ...

How 'bout that?

• Kofi Asante 11 years ago

Auto- reaction, like infants do. That is why he does not want to take the blame.

• Gt. Olympics 11 years ago

Somehow I felt the BStars were not sharp enough. Something to do with the altitude? I am not sure. BUT maybe we should have trained and stayed in SA to get used to the climate! We need an organised and disciplined midfield! B ...

• wilson 11 years ago

nice

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

GH HAD A PENALTY IN THE DR CONGO 18 YARD BOX FROM A HANDBALL, BUT THE REF DIDNT CALL IT. AKAMINKO RETALIATED BY PULLIN THE SHIRT OF THE DR CONGO PLAYERS, AND SEE WAT HAPPENED. WAT DOES THAT TEACH US MY GHFUO. TIT FOR TAT IS N ...

• don aristotle 11 years ago

my brother,I did not see the ball touch the hand of the drc's defender,from what i saw on gtv it was rather part of his upper part around the belly area.
    If we want to progress,then some few changes has to come in the next m ...

• Mark 11 years ago

There was a handball BUT it was the ball to the hand not the hand to the ball. Refs are likely to overlook ball to hand!

DO U KNO HOW MANY TIMES IVE SEEN MAN U GET A PENALTY FROM SUCH CALLS? THE BALL WAS A PENALTY. THE REF OVERLOOKED IT. AKAMINKO WANTED PAYBACK. HE WENT IN FOR SHIRT PULLING NO WHERE BUT ...INSIDE THE 18...NOT A GOODLOOK. IGNORE ...

I guess every hand ball is a foul these days? Nothing like ball to hand anymore. Can somebody help?

POW there've been nothing like ball to hand or hand to ball in fifa rules govern ASSOCIATION FOOTBALL .As soon as the ball hit ones hand, IT is a foul.Yet even though the rule is there the referee is to interpret the rule on ...

If you watch a lot of these South Americans matches, you'll realise that they have a way of kicking the ball to hit somebody's hand for penalties and so on. This happens quite often and how do you make of that?

POW the referee have to apply the rule and use his discretion.That's why the officiate rule is the most shortest rule in-terms sentences but have been one of the most controversial rule in soccer.

The referee have to use h ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

There is nothing in FIFA rules like ball to hand/hand to ball since EVERY single time it's the ball that moves to the hand.
    The only decider is whether the "active" hand OTHERWISE HINDERED the ball's MOTION.
    The implicatio ...

IF THE BALL TOUCHES THE HAND OR ANY FOUL OCCURS IN THE 18YARD BOX. AUTOMATICALLY, IT BECOMES A PENALTY AND THE REF MUST CALL IT. WHY THE REF OVERLOOKED OR BU HIS EYES ON THE BALL TO HAND AGAINST DR CONGO BEATS ME....

thank you mark for correcting me,maybe my set was in black and white,have a great day my bro.

the blacks stars were actually phantomed by the physical presence of the drc players.our midfielders should be physical enough in the next game.the defenders should be free flowing,they shouldn't panic or rush. thumbs up gyan ...

• Daniel, Kenyasi 11 years ago

we were lucky to have drawn with DR Congo.they played better than us and our players did not show much commitment during the later part of the game.
    the players need to be talked.that is, if they want to go far

• Kofi Sammy 11 years ago

Do not worry about the panaty, it happened in football. Just be bold and learn from your mistake next time. Do not let the critizism dumped your spirit, but take them as an advise, pleas and well done to you guys.

• katongo 11 years ago

Yes there was a pull of jersey but as well there was a big dive. Sir Alex Ferguson said it point blank last week, that foreign players are to be blamed for diving in the premier league.. that is true.. just watch out for thos ...

• Kofi Yankey 11 years ago

I think this Akaminko is not a complete player. The coach probably selected him because he is good at set pieces. I don't think he has the right midset of a player, much more a defender for the Black Stars. Just listen to wha ...

• Yao 11 years ago

Can we go far with this performance. Akwasi should be careful with his team selection.

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Do you remember the mistakes he made when we played Swaziland in Kumasi,the AFCON one is just a repetition.He's just not good enough.

• abc 11 years ago

PULLING SHIRTS IN BOX IS A DISQUALIFIER

• DR. AMPONSAH 11 years ago

VERY SOON NOBODY WOULD BE PREPARED TO PLAY THE BLACKSTARS. WE ARE IMPATIENT AND UNUNDERSTANDING. WE MUST KNOW THAT WE ARE NOT THE BEST IN THE WORLD. KUDOS TO KWASI APPIAH AND HIS GALANT MEN AND SHAME TO YOU EVIL CRITICS. I AM ...

• Kofi Yankey 11 years ago

For such poor performance, it will be better people refuse to play so we don't have a team. After all, the team costs Ghana a lot of money, over $7M. The country is foregoing other much needed priorities for this team.

• SASABONSAM 11 years ago

Some of the players were not falling back to defend, they seemed to be tired. When Dauda moved to the right post, there was supposed to be somebody to cover him on the left post but there was none, and that led to the first g ...

• AMARIYA 11 years ago

They lack stamina to outrun, the Congolese.

• kofiannan 11 years ago

Not his fault??? Nonsense!!! How about owning up to the mistake and redeeming yourself by performing better in the next match. That is what a leader does, that is what a team mate does. The lack of accountability in our natio ...

• FUSEINI 11 years ago

A whole professional player, in the year 2013. Who the hell pulls a jersey like that in the 18 box? What the pain me sef be say the congo guy no dey near the pole sef.
    Them for lose this guy quick. Kai

• Flabbergasted 11 years ago

It just honourable to admit a mistake and move on. Ghana did not play well at all and were lucky to draw.

• Victor A. Young 11 years ago

Drop the guy for a better man to take take the place. We cannot afford to make such silly mistakes. The midfield wasn't that efficient; some changes need to be made. We have to have a well drilled midfield, which is the engin ...

• Nyorkopio 11 years ago

This game is over folks. The coach and players will obviously take a look at the film and make changes as needed. The next match will be against a different country, requiring a unique approach. Akaminko and the rest of the S ...

• Apia 11 years ago

Well it is about his inexperience in handling such situations given the fact that it was happening in the 18. What would John Mensah or Isaac Vorsah have done?

• Mohammed Awuni 11 years ago

the picture clearly shows Akaminko pulling the shirt

• Paapagyamfi 11 years ago

Why is Kwamsi Appiah not using Isaac Vorsah instead of Jerry Akaminko?

• Richard Tinkham 11 years ago

Akaminko got caught in the red hanad,and thats shame on him and stop lying to ghanaains.Where ia Vorsah and Jonnathan mensah?

• Kojo 11 years ago

There was no other defender to cover him (no team effort), at the moment he was "Mbokanized". He was the last defender between Mbokani and the keeper. Without cover from the other defenders, and once he was beaten, he had to ...