You are here: HomeSports2013 02 18Article 265223

No Black Stars return for Essien

Read Comments Comments (142)

• Pasasa 11 years ago

Never leave your life in the hands of those who need you for their selfish gains. Do it when you want to, not when you are forced to.

• Odeneho Wiafe Ampah Gyan I,Rennes,Fra 11 years ago

This man have aging for the pass 10 Yrs.At 38 yrs the bones have make mre.I know him personal and Euro passport he get for lyonnaise too make him dey rush.Essien you are retire soon but remember ya ruts.We Ghanas-french peopl ...

• Polish your english. 11 years ago

People like you would sit down and insult others for nothing. You that can`t write correct English. Go back to elementary school to polish your English. You don`t take care of Essien and he doesn`t take care of you so leave h ...

• Outrageous Monday News !!!! 11 years ago

Hey Mikey Bison, how 'bout we will only call you when we qualify for the 2014 WC?; is that a deal?

Think about it.

Think about history and your place in it.

By the way, some have maintained that the Stars need a br ...

• Odeneho Wiafe Ampah Gyan I,Rennes,Fra 11 years ago

My fruend,I am born in France here in the 60s.Same hospitals as Dede Ayew.I speak the true but it hurt.I hold France passport since 2 yrs.I am France ghanas.hold the fire

• The Stallion 11 years ago

Are you sure you are not GH FUO? You sound completely fucked! Total illiterate, no matter where you were born!!!

• OSEI TAWIAH 11 years ago

Essien's comeback is no guarantee for the AFCON cup. Like everything in life success only depends on hardwork and luck. Essien has had his time, and so was Abedi Pele and Appiah, none of them received any cup for Ghana. Let's ...

• OWUSU 11 years ago

Why did you want to bring his age into the forum in the first place. Roger Miller was playing at the age of 40 in 1990. I think he is making a wise decision to pave way for the youngters, to succeed he dont want jump in the n ...

• Sam 11 years ago

Essien I do not blame you. Even if you put your life on the line and win the World cup for Ghana in 2014, whateever promise the Ghanaian authorities will promise you they will not honour it. I remember that before the Ghana ...

• DEE 11 years ago

i perfectly agree with Essien with all your excuses.Ghana will abandon you when you are injured .stay there quietly and play ur last games and make some money.GFA IS CORRUPT AND OPPORTUNIST.

• Africanus 11 years ago

While you are saying that don't forget that Ghana gave him the platform upon which he (Essien) rose to fame. It is an issue of ONE GOOD TURN DESERVES ANOTHER. We used tax payers money to develop your talent, when you become a ...

• Avogadro 11 years ago

I think we should all agree that Michael Essien has by now paid back Ghana in whatever Ghana has invested in him. How many times hasn't he been injured playing for Ghana? All his injuries at the club level are actually aggr ...

• Africanus 11 years ago

You make it sound like Essien will become impoverished upon retirement if he plays for Ghana. These are people who make more money per month than the president of Ghana. If any of them retire into poverty it won't be because ...

• Avogadro 11 years ago

I am not saying playing for Ghana is terrible, but Essien has borne the brunt of all the mishaps that happen when football injuries occur. If any club signs him and he spend his time recovering from injuries he sustained els ...

• Ghanaba 11 years ago

Africanus, the last time i checked the platform was still intact and Solomon Asante and others are using it. there is no shortage of players in Ghana so please continue to use the platform for the several local players and ho ...

• Africanus 11 years ago

Why don't the GFA leave all the international players alone??? How about that??

• Esi 11 years ago

Dee you are right, one good turn deserves another, some times we easily forget our past which is very bad, and as you perfectly put it he is sending bad message to the rest who have their country at heart. Essien wisen-up, be ...

• sexy bear 11 years ago

is this guy saying essien is wrong to say this bcos his talant was developed by ghana.....ghana gave u what u needed i guess ,,, what have u done in return ,,,why is it that some peoplehate to know d truth... come on brother ...

• Slimzay**The Unshakable Shaker** 11 years ago

Wise decision but bad, or let me say, flimsy allegation. If Essien and Appiah are bringing in this stupid speculations then I don't see their love for the country. I'm saying that because there wouldn't be Stephen Appiah or E ...

• Great Olympics 11 years ago

Dada ba.. Stay with your "Daddy".
    You have served Ghana well enough and I guess your legs cannot do the job much more Thank you!

• SMART FREMPAH, LONDON 11 years ago

Pasasa's comments are right. Very difficult and genuine reason to say goodbye. He will be greatly missed but our destinies are in our own hands, sometimes......

• Kwakusei 11 years ago

WISE DECISION INDEED, AT LEAST FOR NOW.

• .. 11 years ago

NO NEED TO DIE FOR AN UNGRATEFUL COUNTRY. SEE THE WAY OLELE WAS DUMPED AND FORGOTTEN LIKE USED TOILET PAPER AFTER ALL HIS SACRIFICES FOR GHANA !! FOCUS ON MAKING YOUR MONEY, MY BROTHER. GHANA WILL DO NOTHING FOR YOU IN YOUR O ...

• anokwale 11 years ago

I think it is a good decision but not because the country is ungrateful. I think every player has their time on the national team and his time has passed. Let the young ones prove themselves. Speculations about Essien, Men ...

• Slimzay**The Unshakable Shaker** 11 years ago

You took the message right out of me. Therefore, there is no need of me adding any. Their time is gone and should give way to the young ones coming. This will help both the old players and the new ones. They have done their p ...

• Mr.N 11 years ago

Michael Essien to me is no more a fact in The Ghana Black Star so why plan your matches around him.

I am total against running around and chasing players who had either put their international play on hold or who have mad ...

• Nokwarehene 11 years ago

Watch him carefully and you will see that he now plays non-contact football; he is very scared that he will be injured again. Let's appreciate him for his past and allow him to retire.

• Kobriko 11 years ago

I give benefit of doubt to Essien. However i think one of the reasons he is alleged to have stated concernig old players smacks of intrigue. Since nothing compelled the GFA to add non-staff old players to the technical bench ...

• JB....USA 11 years ago

Mo ne kasa.My Brother Essien,You've paid your dues.There is no need to kill yourself for any ungrateful human being or country for that matter.

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

TO COME N PLAY FOR AKWASI APPIAH? TWEAAA, HW3. I URGE ALL THESE FOREIGN BASED PLAYERS, ESPECIALLY TO BOYCOTT THE TEAM. NYANTAKYI TALKS AS IF HE OWNS THE GBSTARS.HE IS POWER DRUNK. HW3, THIS FOOL DOES NOT REALISE THAT WITHOUT ...

• Charles-Illford,Essex-UK 11 years ago

AS LONG AS NYANTAKYE REMAINS THE HEAD OF GFA,GHANA WILL NEVER SEE THE LIGHT OF DAY IN SOCCER.HE IS A CASE OF A SQUARED PEG IN A ROUND HOLE.THE MAN IS SIMPLY HIDING BEHIND FIFA TO ARROGATE ON GHANAIANS FORGETTING THAT HE WAS P ...

• WORST FA IN THE WORLD 11 years ago

Well said.

• BJ 11 years ago

Ghana Black Stars is certainly returning to the period when many Ghanaians refused to even watch their matches.

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Perfectly right when you have a GFA who cannot take good care of local players this is what happens.The Black Stars at its present state is not attractive notwithstanding the huge bonuses.The Essiens and the Muntaris are awar ...

• cornell 11 years ago

Who really wants to play under these corrupt, bureacratic, egotistical personels such as Kwesi Appiah and so called Mr. Nyantakyi whom I might add has never played professional soccer in his life. This is just the beginning, ...

• Jojo 11 years ago

wHY DO WE HAVE COACH LKE KWESI APPIAH WHO DOES NOT EVEN HAVE THE MENTAL ALERTNESS AND VISION TO CHANGE THE MINDSET OF PLAYERS LIKE ESSIEN AND KEVIN PRINCE BOATENG? oF COURSE IS THE DUTY OF KWESI APPIAH TO ENSURE THAT SUCH PLA ...

• frenzy from nsawam 11 years ago

I pray one day when GFA official call for player non will be present, GFA = MAHAMA.GOD HELP GHANA

• Zangina 11 years ago

One cannot forget how John Mensah was also treated by taking the captainship away and not even inviting him to be part of the scheme of things.Kwesi Appiah and whoever is supporting him in the GFA is leading Ghana football in ...

• Mark 11 years ago

GFA CANNOT FOOL ALL THE PEOPLE ALL THE TIME! ESSIEN IS WISE!!

• Issah Mohammed Abubakar 11 years ago

Your decision is right but remember ho me is home know matter what happened to you for the past decade.

• black soul 11 years ago

Thats very good idea the Gfa is very ungrateful at least they geting in touch with our ex players, Gfa you have to learn out from this be greatfull

• Quophie 11 years ago

Essien should know that he is where he is today because of the platform given by the Black Stars. He should be grateful and not ungrateful. Complaining about pitches in Africa, what has he done personally to improve upon pitc ...

• Fellow citizen. 11 years ago

You people talk as if you control others. If you were to be in his position, you`d understand him. He rose to his present position due to the chances given to him to serve his nation and he did. Do you expect him to use all h ...

• Tet 11 years ago

What have you done for Ghana? Can't you find anything in Ghana you can improve?

• teejay 11 years ago

who is he? Is he a messi?and why did ghanians always bordering them self about him?

• sinke 11 years ago

essien is damn selfish he should go to hell!!!! after europe has made him all that his inferiority complex will permit, he'll still wake up to realise that he's still a black african and a black ghanaian and never succeeded t ...

• Amin Thomas 11 years ago

You just a fool. How can u say that. Ask yourself where essien injury start. What has gfa done about it. U just hate essien. He was treated by cheese. U fool think again

• sinke 11 years ago

you idi amin haven't changed! you are the same old fool. can you try to change a bit???? i repeat!!!! essien is selfish!!!!!! AND YOU ARE A STUPID FOOOOLLL

• lalas 11 years ago

WEL SAID ESSIEN,THINK ABOUT YOUR FUTURE AND UR CAREER, THE GFA HAS NOTHING BUT JUST LIES,WEN THEY SEE LATE U CAN,T GIVE WAT THEY WANT THEY WILL JUST IGNORE U AS THEY HAVE DONE TO OTHER PLAYER,THINK ABOUT UR SELF,I WISH U ALL ...

• JAMES Y 11 years ago

Essien can stay in the comfort of Madrid, but he should know that there are others who are working laboriously to help Ghana achieve fame in the football by playing on fields which he (Essien) appears to say are not conducive ...

• Joe 11 years ago

Boycott Akwesi Appiah's Black Stars. Ignorant Akwesi Appiah and Nyantakyi are the problem with the Black Stars today. Even our mothers know that if you want to find the rot in a fish you start from the head. A rotten Fish sta ...

• Busumbru 11 years ago

Not a bad decision. But stop calling Mourinho 'Daddy' You have a FATHER. All the best

• Nana Asare 11 years ago

I THINK HE IS RIGHT, IF YOU DON'T GET LOOKED AFTER BY YOUR COUNTRY YOU SERVING, THEN YOU HAVE TO LOOK FOR YOUR INTEREST FIRST WHICH IS YOURSELF.

• Solomon 11 years ago

Which everway Essiens decision is interpreted, I will say well done ESSIEN, you have paid your dues

• maxwell asante 11 years ago

from a close unnamed source is a nonsense case. A.A should call him for next month's assignment and let him refuse himself if he wishes.
    The reasons given by the so called source are FOOLISH, to come from the mouth of a GHAN ...

• tumbor 11 years ago

I don't know why people are getting so worked up on a fabricated report without any quotes from Essien. Are we that shallow minded? Our journos these days are so unprofessional that we need to take whatever they write with ...

• Nana T 11 years ago

I agree with u, I don't believe d source of this info. Let's wait till he is invited then... any' can comment.Thank u.

• Boss 11 years ago

Enough is enough Michael. If you wont play for Ghana again enjoy your peace. But remember that others like Paintsil are determined to die for Ghana even in the face of insults. Football fans have never been grateful whenever ...

• wilson 11 years ago

in our 1st match against cote d'ivoire, milo placed essien, djan, haminu, sapei, on the bench and allowed rahim, nari, badu, dede, afful, opoku agyemang, to go and wallow against the ivorians.it was only when the coach brough ...

• Qwesimickey 11 years ago

dont even think of coming back to the team again it your own carrier dont let Ghanians menupulate your destiny like the way they did to agogo.stay bless bro

• uriah 11 years ago

if you talk about what is going on wrong in the national team, the G.F.A president will say bring your evidence...all i want to tell them is that observers are worried. wish you all the best Essien and will follow you to any ...

• Ohene 11 years ago

Essien is very right. Just consider these players as your family members who send monies ocassionally to support other children's education and upkeep. They come and play for Ghana, get injured and are ignored by the state. J ...

• Reality 11 years ago

Dede Ayew and Jordan Ayew should tow the same lines as Essien has done. They may be very young, but I will advise them to use their young and nimble feet and legs for their own selfish interests rather than those of the FA an ...

• qp 11 years ago

WELL SAID. THESE SO CALL LEADERS ONLY THINK OF THEIR POCKET.
    LET THEM GO AND PLAY FOR GHANA.
    THE KWESI APPIAH'S CORRUPT TRIBALISTIC MEN

• KARL ROBERT 11 years ago

THE FA EXECUTIVE ARE ONLY INTERESTED IN THEIR SELFISH POCKET RATHER THAN THE NATION.SO I SUPPORT ESSIEN FOR HIS DECISION.THE FA MUST BOW THEIR HEADS IN SHAME.THUMPS UP ESSIEN.

• DEPORTEE 11 years ago

RUBBISH!!!!

• darifu 11 years ago

Wise decision boy. Don't come until they change captain and sack the coach

• haruna umar babagnankye 11 years ago

i.think Micheal esseine deserve to be praise and all those who considers his current stand against the black stars as betrayal and lack of commitment should reflect very well in their thoughts.this gentlemen has suffered unwa ...

• Chobo 11 years ago

Is Michel Essien even needed in Black Star?
    He go away! We don't even need him!!

• Athlete 11 years ago

With the type of personalities in charge of sports, like the GOC, there is no point dying for the country. Francis Doodo n co have hijacked GOC n Ghana sports is greatly in pain. Essien, I support ur view

• Kofi Asamoah 11 years ago

He has done enough for Ghana, so leave him alone.

• Frank Mensah, Tikobo No. 2 11 years ago

Essien can go to hell. I am tired of getting tired of all this bluff. From stack poverty, they ride on the wings of Ghana to get out of poverty. That is the only time they think about shabby treatment - just as shabby as wher ...

• Rasheed. 11 years ago

I am glad you are out of grips of those vampires.

• Koku 11 years ago

Essien is very correct the Ghanaian FA must be ashamed of themslves if they understand what competitive football is about these FA suckers are only about how to scheme and play their various 419 games to feed themselves.If no ...

• Koku 11 years ago

This where the human relations and managerial and man management skills of the coach should come in to play if he wants excellent results. Mr coach go ahead and meet these guys who will give you the result the world needs to ...

• Koku 11 years ago

This is where the human relations,the managerial and man management skills of the coach should come in to play if he wants excellent results. Mr coach go ahead and meet these guys who will give you the result the world needs, ...

• issaka 11 years ago

Well said Essien. Leave the Black Stars and the Greedy GFA bastards to continue disgracing senior players. The use of JUJU/BLACK POWER/ "MIRACLE WORKING" PRIESTS, PASTORS, PROPHETS by some of the players to destroy hardwork ...

• oyoko 11 years ago

he is oldman he cant play

• tHe DaRk StAr 11 years ago

When it is essien everyone understands but when it comes to KPB refuses to play for the same reason everyone is so quick to judge

• ABAN 11 years ago

Why are you still thinking of "ESSIEN"? Is he the only player who can help Ghana to victory? After all he has never ever believes in his country.OBONIAYE NI ESSIEN.But at the end of carrier he will come and ask for COACHING j ...

• Alah 11 years ago

Black Stars, forget about Essien, he is just a maradona (deceiver) like the Negerians say. After all he is having problems with his knees and some other parts of body that we do not. I believe he has a secret about his deci ...

• Pastor Osofu 11 years ago

Its the wisesst thing to do Bro. Kwesi Appiah and Kwesi Nyantakyi, the two marfia, have joined forces and killing Ghana football.

I dont know if Essien is an Ashanti. If you are not, then dont try to come cos you will be u ...

• jb 11 years ago

What do these former or retired players want from the GFA? to kiss their ass with daily phone calls? make no sense.. they are not the only former Black Stars players... Polo, Jones, Kwesi Owusu, Adolf Armah, Razak etc all pla ...

• who cares 11 years ago

yes i said it, you go fuck your self

• omanbeye 11 years ago

You cuckoo with bull head, what the old players just want is just a show of appreciation...for they've been ungrateful for a very long time!

• Good riddance 11 years ago

Good riddance!!!

• Onipa Bone 11 years ago

All the world's a stage,
    And all the men and women merely players;
    They have their exits and their entrances,...

The time has come for him to leave like Baba Yara, Osei Kofi, Agyeman Gyawu, Adolf, Kyenkyenhene, Abedi Pel ...

• WATSON 11 years ago

Essien should know that he started on the same park where now he is afriad to play again so he should not make an excuse of the parks in ghana,he may be right with other excuses. So he should not be an hypocrite and he can co ...

• CCTV 11 years ago

Ghana was there before you came. i'm sure you will go and leave Ghana. you will obviously leave a footprint. who good or bad it is depends on how you handle it. the greedy basters might be there, but fight for your beloved na ...

• OGOGLO QUARTER 11 years ago

IF J MENSAH.R OLELEY KINGSTON.S APPIAH AND OTHERS ARE GONE,WHY DONT GH SAY BYE TO THOSE WHO WANT TO SAY BYE TO GHANA?BCOS THE SIZE OF A MAN'S MANHOOD CAN NEVER BE MEASURED BY HIS BODY NOR SHOE SZ.ALL M SAYING IS THE NAME ESS ...

• TJ Hooker 11 years ago

Essien has the right to his own decision and nobody else. Whatever is good for your Mr Essien proceed with it and good lick.

• TJ Hooker 11 years ago

Essien has the right to his own decision and nobody else. Whatever is good for you Mr. Essien, proceed with it and good luck.

• JAH 11 years ago

Back in the day's polo, razak & others die for their country but today Essien coo love money than their country,That's why he don't get along with his father.

• Kwame Adu-Gyamfi 11 years ago

What? Stephen Appiah retired from the black stars, why would he get a call up?
    Also, I didn't expect Essien to come back and even though he's good, he's too old and slow to be used in Ghana's traditional explosive counter- ...

• hercules adu 11 years ago

no Essien se vas a jugar para ghana tu no vas a jugar para madrid mas piensa Essien eso es tu vida

• Antoinette 11 years ago

Last time I cheked they were not playing for free. If GFA does not call them its only right. How many people retire from a company and receive calls. GROW UP

• Joe Solo - Accra 11 years ago

Hopes...has received?

Nkrumah, where are you?

Shame!

• MARCUS AMPADU 11 years ago

Do everything humanly possible to bring bring Essien, Kevin P Boateng, Muntari, Quincy Abeyie, Dede Ayew, and Frimpong to train for the World Cup in Brazil.
    Combining them with Atsu, Asante and Wakasso can produce a more pot ...

• J J BEN 11 years ago

Now you are fit but why you don't want to play for ur country.But think that u was started football in GHANA.

• DELOVE 11 years ago

MY BRO DON,T COME TO BLACK STAR AGAIN THAT IS WHY SOME PEOPLE DON,T WANT TO PLAY FOR GHANA I BET U THEY SHOULD SACK KWESI NYATEKYI EVEN KELVIN BOATEN REGRET PLAYING FOR GHANA

• FUFUO DADESEN 11 years ago

97% OF GHANAIANS REGRETED HAVING TO PLAY HIM.GERMANY DISSED HIM IN THE SENIORS AND REPRESENTING THE JUNIOR SIDE.HIS STINKING ATTITUDE-HIS BROTHER IS PLAYING FOR GERMANY.I RATHER HEAR ESSIEN SAY I'M DONE WITH HARD WORK OF PLAY ...

• Asomani 11 years ago

Why don't you leave this methuselah footballer alone. Those days he was wonderful. Now Chelsie won't even have him. Watch him in Spain. He is not playing kpendjweh. Organize the young ones who made it to CAP 2013. Give them a ...

• Patapaa 11 years ago

Kwesi Nantakyi is the reason behind all the discontentment of the older Black Star players. He thinks he made the Black Star reach where they are today. He is so self-assured and cocky that I can hardly stand him. I sat in a ...

• Mahama 11 years ago

Essien is ungratefull fool to his father and nation

• kwakuyaw 11 years ago

I FULLY SUPPORT YOU , YOUR CARREER IS MORE IMPORTANT , THAN ANY GLORY . PLEASE KEEP YOOUR STRENGHT FOR MADRID . GOD BLESS YOU FOR ALL U HAVE DONE FOR GHANA FOOTBALL , OTHERS DESERVE A CHANCE .

• JUSTICE 11 years ago

WISE SON, I WILL DO SAME IF I WERE YOU, TO ME YOU PAID YOUR DUES.

• prof 11 years ago

Essien is right,ignore the judases and concerntrate on your job. shame on unto gfa and ndc,u will never ever win african cup again. ungreatful people

• cocky overreacting gh football fans 11 years ago

essien deserves a break given his previous injuries

• FUFUO DADESEN 11 years ago

Appiah did not get a call from GFA.Appiah is not the only fine player not invited.I don't think he's given up the priviledge to play for GHANA. OK.GFA will call you after you get to play for Ghana.I'l will volunteer to fix yo ...

• ras 11 years ago

ok

• monicuq 11 years ago

Past is prime in football.

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 11 years ago

WE ARE ALMOST WIN THE GOLD BUT BECAUSE OF TUNISIA REFREE,SO WE ARE OKEY,ONLY KEVIN BOATING WE NEED.WE WILL MAKE IT NEXT YEAR 2014,WE HAVE ,ASU,DEDE,JORDAN SOLOMON ASANTE,WARI,KWADWO ASAMOAH,ADIYA,THERE IS MORE BOYS TO,N ...

• lukeman 11 years ago

He is too old plz

• Mohammed Ibrahim 11 years ago

F..k o..f you are finished you are not even wanted at Chelse.

• who cares 11 years ago

fuck you again.

• omanbeye 11 years ago

Essien has already made his name..so what your worries?

• OGOGLO QUARTER 11 years ago

ESSIEN AND KPB WILL PLAY FOR GH ON EUROPE FEILD.GET A GAME BTWEEN GH AND SPAIN IN MADRID CALL THESE GUYS AND SEE IF THEY'LL SAY NO.APART FROM AFRICA COUNTRIES BAD PITCHS THE AIR TRAVEL IS ANOTHER TROUBLE FOR THEM.HOW SAFE IS ...

• OPANIN KWAKU ATTA 11 years ago

MR ESSIEN,YOU HAVE PASSED YOUR PRIME TIME,SO GIVE US A BREAK.

• charlesey 11 years ago

Asamoah gyan is the best guy and very patroitic n no matter what he would come and play for ghana. He is such a lovely and happy person n look at the way he was so free with guys in london during his time with sunderland. Ess ...

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

A bunch of pampered moneyed people!

• snrbritt 11 years ago

As much as I'd love to see talented players like Essien to compete in international events like the world cup, his decision to opt out is a good one. The handlers of the Black Stars are so naive and irresponsible. They are on ...

• Parker J. 11 years ago

Never break the pot that once fed you.

• Paa Pee 11 years ago

Which pot fed him? Who fed who????

• kwame 11 years ago

u are shit anyway

• who cares 11 years ago

never leave ur clab for a nation who don't give respect to their ex players

• George osei kwbena 11 years ago

I hope when he come balck it will help us

• Koby 11 years ago

This article is poorly written.
    Hard to follow and enjoy the reading.
    Please consider polishing your sentences next time.

• Yorkeshire 11 years ago

shut up Essien and others 38yrs expired u Essien always given us ploblems when u were good remmember Ghana make u became today can we do some thing to our nation reguardless difirences u dont need money play for love like Br ...

• classpeter 11 years ago

am in total agreement with the bull (essien)but that shouldnt be the case.this is the time we need the senior men back to the team. i strongly agree that the young ones coming into the team are in a way manipulating the leade ...

• ABIE 11 years ago

WISE DECISION INDEED MY BROTHER

• namuuk solomon 11 years ago

remember that a decorated monkey is still amonkey.change ur mind big bro.

• namuuk solomon 11 years ago

good decison,but a decorated monkey is still a monkey.wo ye ghana nii.

• Iwan 11 years ago

Soon this player will retire and come and sit in TVs pretending to be a hero that he is not. When he sits there he will prefer to be called former Black Star player (not chelsea). mark my words.

• CLEMENT RICKSON ANNAN 11 years ago

I do not agree with Essien for taken such decicion.The holy book says we are from the dust so dust we shall all return.The national team he is now rejecting was the same team that prepared him to the level he is now.HE SHOULD ...

• Football Coach 11 years ago

My advise to the GFA and the National Team Body is; the should always respect and remember the the Ex-players who played for the Nation and try to include them in some activities which will inspire the others playing now. Man ...

• fiifi benjamin acheampong 11 years ago

i totally agree with THE BULL for his decision not to play for the national team the black stars again.The authorities in the GFA and most Ghanians do not respect and appreciate our players a bit, but rather throw insults on ...

• owusu boaheng 11 years ago

GFA are not being fair to black stars ex- players

• Kwesi Antwi boasiako 11 years ago

Just look at the pitch for a semi final match in a tournament like Afcon. Good decision massa

• Trust Jesus centa 11 years ago

Ghanaians,stop insulting our heroes at the least opportunity.Ghanaians and insults,that's why we are in the stae we find ourself.Ask Zlevin,he is shunning the black stars because of toon many insults perpetrated by so..called ...

• justice 11 years ago

Yes I do agree with essien he has made a wise decision and am very happy for him god punch the gfa authorities.

• A Richard. 11 years ago

President Mahamah please invite Essien and all the Black Star players both old and new at a reception and have a chat with them to boost their confident and moral support for the country

• Cooler 11 years ago

100% Michael Essien