You are here: HomeNewsCrime & Punishment2014 04 21Article 306832

K. Poly student jailed 30 years for robbery

Read Comments Comments (67)

• Joyce Abeo 10 years ago

At least we have one good justice not the kind hearing robber woyome case.

• Kabokabo 10 years ago

Attempted to rob with fake pistol in Ghana is a big crime than the crime itself. I dont know how the law works in Ghana but I doubt if there is a law.

• Joojo 10 years ago

that is plain damned bizarre. 30 years fro attempted robbery with a toy gun, 20 years for stealing $500 worth of cassava whilst the BIG THIEVES go free and often rewarded and honored. What a county!

• koffi parker 10 years ago

its death sentence by firing squad in Nigeria at least he is still alive next time he will run 440 when he sees a toy gun.

some people from the ndc when they hear the truth about their genocide and racist tribalism go into a stupefied frenzy foaming at the mouth thinking that will make their lies and propaganda true . The fact remain the Akans ar ...

• The mask 10 years ago

What is PROTOCOL LIST?

This is a criminal offence and these students must be prosecuted. Takoradi Poly has done well and must be commended.

There is a practice in this country which has become institutionalized in our t ...

• SAMO JEWELLERY 10 years ago

let samo Jewellery design yr engagement n wedding yellow n white gold rings for your occassion...call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 to send u latest designs to choose from......can follow us on Facebook/samo Jewellery......gor ...

• backfire 10 years ago

the guy should take things easy. it will come to pass like a dream.i cannot beleive myself that i am over 30yrs here in europe.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

How many years has these idiots so-called judges think they should give to Alfred Agbesi Woyome if a student thief can be given a custodial sentence of 30 years?

• Issah uk 10 years ago

Sentence is not proportionate to ooffence, how them will you sentence someone for murder . The criminal justice system in Ghana needs serious review.

Admitting the offence should reduce the sentence. The justice system is ...

• ayisi 10 years ago

Aaaaba!! mr judge this this was no robbery oooo, in fact this student has been jailed for 'Joking' even JEEMA the musician is free today. I believe GNUPS and NUGS should file an appeal. I suggest he should be sentence to 30 ' ...

• Kokonte 10 years ago

I agree with you. This sentence is ridiculous.

• ABOKYI 10 years ago

YOU MUST BE STUPID.COME TO NEW YORK AND PULL OUT YOUR WALLET ON POLICE,AND YOU WILL GET OVER FORTY BULLETS IN YOUR FUCKING HEAD

• Ghanaman4 10 years ago

These Ashantis and criminal activity. Hmmm.

• KANIBA 10 years ago

Do you know that the first PNDC Regional Minister for Ashanti Region by name KWADWO OWUSU was a VOLTARIAN? You better put on your THINKING CAP.

• tijani 10 years ago

im not an Ashanti, but I know they are hard working people, very accommodative, so pls mr pig next time talk sense

• Kofi Babone 10 years ago

Your mama and sister are still being kept prisoner in the trokosi shrine you were born at. Go look for them and stop talking shit.

• IkeOne 10 years ago

well educated don't do tribalism

• w3 10 years ago

Tolerance is civilisation

• w3 10 years ago

You stink

• w3 10 years ago

Titanic Tolerant Tribe on the planet

• kaketonti 10 years ago

Foolish judge Mr Boampong;30yrs for conspiracy to commit crime.Are you serious?Use your position to jail all the so-called politicians.They are the ROBBERS.Onye aye soomi.WO MAMI TWE KANKAN

• MANSON UK 10 years ago

At least is not mad as 10yrs in jail sentence for stealing a cassava worth of £100.00

• gh vi 10 years ago

oh God....what an idiot this Kaketonti is. the guy attempted robbing someone and this foolish man is angry that he was sentenced 30yrs by the judge, meanwhile he will be the same person to rain insults on the judge had he giv ...

• kaketonti 10 years ago

Come on.Is that justice for attempted robbing?The crooks,thief-politicians are roaming freely in the country and you feel proud!Satan should help you to tell your right from left.No doubt you simpleton apply different standar ...

• Araba Stamp 10 years ago

I hope such a thing had happened to you. The judge wanted to send a message to thiefs in Kumasi

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

Thanks for the life sentence

• Attaboy 10 years ago

Some people don't no how this robbers are bad "when they come to ur house. We have to thank GOd they going for 30 yrs is even small 100 yrs is good . If u care about them then u are an robber too

• Goateater 10 years ago

You sound so stupid I think ur last name is Dumbass. I pray that u face Judge Boampong someday so u can get the 100 years for urself.

• Oliver 10 years ago

Hahahah! Another rat shit eating idiot! Ghana would be a better place for us without these primitive ugly looking beast called Ashantis. The 30 years is too small. Dirty species!

• IkeOne 10 years ago

WELL EDUCATED PEOPLE DON'T DO TRIBALISM

• w3 10 years ago

Bad upbringing

• w3 10 years ago

What you call meat is from human fresh

• w3 10 years ago

Travel from your stinking zongo village and the name Asante stands out everywhere and that was not by chance but real hard work and dedication. Because of us instead of fucking cows you learn keyboard skills

• MAHAMAH MUMUNI DRAMANI. 10 years ago

ARE THESE JUDGES NORMAL IN THEIR HEADS?.WHAT IS GOING ON CASSAVA THEFT 10YEARS AND ANOTHER SHIT JUDGEMENT ATTEMPTING TO ROB WITH TOY PISTOL 30YEARS THEN HOW ARE YOU GOING TO JUDGE ME AND MINE CORRUPT GOVERNMENT WHO HAVE LOOTE ...

• Lolulou 10 years ago

Totally disproportionate sentence yet again! Oh Ghana!

• KWABENA MANU 10 years ago

OH WHAT A SHAME,BUT DONT FORGET THAT IF HE SHOULD HAVE COMPLETED THE SCHOOL,HE WILL NOT GET A JOB TO DO.

• BlamePepefuoPresident 10 years ago

Kai, this is a fake name! Where did this pepeni thief get an Akan name? We know those who are thieves, terrorists and murderers.....they are President Mahama's northerners!!!!His true name is Ali Baba Bawumia and not this bea ...

• KAY 10 years ago

Really? All Pepepfuo are thieves? How about Bawumia and Afoko? How about your much celebrated Dombo and Tolon Naa? All of them thieves as well? i guess then that the founding fathers of NPP are also thieves. You see how triba ...

• mayor 10 years ago

thank you.

• ayisi 10 years ago

in fact i want to hear from the so-call human right activist, are judges now allowed to use their discretion to determine the jail-terms for offenders? no wonder a farmer steals 500ghc worth of cassava and he is given 10 year ...

• ayisi 10 years ago

In fact this judge MUST be allowed to handle the WOYOME and SADA cases

• Kesi 10 years ago

The president himself is a thief so what do you expect of the youth?

• nii 10 years ago

how long did U jail Seky-Huges for stealing from the state. How long did U jail Jake 4 stealing state property. U jail a poor student 30 years????? for WHAT????????????????????????????

• NII ARMAH 10 years ago

PENDING RIGHT? LAUGHABLE?

• Amensco Techno Services 10 years ago

Toner and Ink Refill at Abeka. Call 0244523451
    Quality Toner and Ink Refill at affordable price at Abeka-Lapaz
    We refill all type of Toner and Ink Cartridges.
    We also sale and repair office equipments like:
    Laser printer ...

• Kokonte 10 years ago

Is there no sentencing guideline within the judicial system in Ghana?

I don't care what the crime is, but it appears that judges impose sentences as they deem fit, and this is outrageous. How can you sentence somebody to ...

• Kokonte nua ne Abetie 10 years ago

I will not be surprise to hear that you are one of the arm robbers in the Kumasi metropolis or you own a gang that robs people on your behalf. Do you know how long it takes the owner of that vehicle to purchase it?. Wo egyimi ...

• nsem pii 10 years ago

No wonder arm robbery still persist.The bigger fishes left off the hook?

• Kwasi Adjei 10 years ago

We need more judges like this.

• Lolulou 10 years ago

Totally disproportionate and the big thieves walk around free!!! So unfair, unjust!

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 10 years ago

POOR HIM,MAHAMA AND HIS WIFE,BROTHERS,WOYOME,ANITA,ASIEDU NKATIA ALL ARE EVILS CORRUPT AND GOOO FREEEE,HMMMM EI GHANA PAAA NIE??

• nii tegoe-holland 10 years ago

WHAT A GOOD JUDGE

• J.M. MAHAMA KOFI DUBAI 10 years ago

cross them

• Thommy 10 years ago

You're right for changing his sleeping place, but hard work should added

• Agyenim boateng foster 10 years ago

oh bad boys have to be careful

• Wuorfei 10 years ago

He earned every second of the 30yrs.

• AbasZ 10 years ago

This is a good sentence but not the judge over stolen cassava.

• YEYE 10 years ago

so unfortunate ....al dis can be attributed to the hardship in the economy...Jah save ghana

• IkeOne 10 years ago

THIS IS NOT A CASE EVEN SOME GHANAIANS MEDICAL STUDENTS WHO WERE ON SCHOLARSHIP TO STUDY IN CUBA ENGAGED IN ROBBERY HOW MUCH JUXT A NORMAL GHANAIAN. IS A BAD ACT THOUGH.

• Natural Mystic 10 years ago

Well if you reckon it's no crime, why don't you take a toy gun (and should you manage to pass through security at any airport in any country)and attempt hijacking a plane and see what happens to you later? Cheap man!

• King 10 years ago

I very dearly wish all such persons would be removed from society but I also think 30yrs is too inconsiderate.

• w3 10 years ago

This animal is a disgrace to higher education. Well done Judge

• Ato K. 10 years ago

I need to be educated on this. Are there any guidelines on length of imprisonment for crimes committed? At times I am at loss at some of the length of imprisonment given to some offenders. Though I support the clampdown on c ...

• Kwame Peter 10 years ago

The legal system in Ghana only target weak in the society 'o to speak'. I can strongly understand the severity of the crime, 30 years of a young person wasted in prision is completely out of proportion. The politicians who mi ...

• Kwame Peter 10 years ago

The legal system in Ghana only target the weak peoples in the society 'so to speak'. I can vehemently understand the severity of the crime, but I am shocked by the unilateral decision scolled down by the Judge for sencenting ...

• NATHANIEL 10 years ago

IS NOT TRUE. HE IS NOT A STUDENT OF KUMASI POLYTECHNIC. FREDRICK KWADWO OWUSU IS RIGHT HERE ON CAMPUS.