You are here: HomeNewsRegional2014 04 02Article 305081

Kumasi Library got only 900 cedis for 2013 operations

Read Comments Comments (53)

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

How do you develop a brain without reading?

• SARPONG 10 years ago

The money doled to Woyome and other thieves including Mahama vote buying scheme of providing free computers to university students should have been directed to our public libraries.

• Naa-Sei 10 years ago

I didn't see any improvements to the Kumasi library under JAK so what is your point here?

• Wisdom Ablade 10 years ago

His point is your stupidity that we voted for Mahama and ndc to do better. Go and grow a brain.

• jOE 10 years ago

LAZY ASHANTES

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

SINCE 1951 TO NOW. HOW MANY LIBRARIES HAVE U BUILT IN THE REGION/CITIES? WAT ADDITIONAL REVENUE GENERATING PROGRAMS HVE U DEVISED?? U HVE BRAINS IN UR HEAD, DONT YOU? CANT YOU RESERCH WAT WESTERN LIBRARIES ARE DOING. TO INCRE ...

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

So should the next government after Mahama also do the same thing and on? Just think about what you wrote and you will realize how stupid you are, that is, even if you have the ability to think. JAK made a fool of himself so ...

• Close Observer 10 years ago

Stupid Koku Anyidoho and his stupid question on Nana Addo's free SHS. POLICY. Has he asked the president if he is going give free sanitary pads for the ladies to use at school during their menstrual period; and if they will w ...

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

The government of Ghana is dysfunctional. Politicians will not even think about libraries in Ghana because that would not bring quick money to the Ahwoi Brothers, or the 3 wise men, or Mahama, who would spend the working day ...

• Nokware 10 years ago

Kumasi who cares this is our Ieaders we have.always praising people for their stomach

• bashings 10 years ago

so the managers of the library can not innovate?????? if i were in the library i will buy a copier and operate it there! i believe there are other ways funds can be raised and therefore to stop depending totally on government ...

• tijani 10 years ago

you said it all, my brother, they can even organise extra classes and charge small fees, reading competitions, seeking donor fundings from local entrepreneurs,teaching of English, involing some private schools to use the prem ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Do my people even bother to read after the fufu and the bush meat? LoL

• sulamana 10 years ago

HOW CAN WE RESOURCE LIBRARIES WHEN WE SPEND MILLIONS PAYING OFF JUDGEMENT DEBTS? THE CORRUPTION IS JUST INCREDIBLE. GOVT OFFICIALS HAVE BECOME WEALTHY BY ALL KINDS OF CORRUPT PRACTICES. ONE-TENTH OF WHAT WE LOSE TO CORRUPTION ...

• COS 90 10 years ago

NANA AKUFFO ADO SHOULD ASK WONTUMI. WONTUMI DON'T VISIT THE LIBRARY, LEAST I 4GET, ASHANTIS DON'T LIKE SCHOOL SO DE LIBRARY WILL BE UNDER USED. CHECK OTHER REGIONAL LIBRARIES U WILL A MASS DIFFERENT. LET THE GOVT INNOVATES WI ...

• BBC NEWS - BIG BLACK COCK . 10 years ago

DO YOU KNOW HOW MANY ASHANTI GRADUATE IN GHANA , LONDON AND US AND FOOL , DON'T YOU SEE MANY ASHANTIS IN GHANA POLITICS ? STUPID THINK BEFORE COMMENT .

• sulamana 10 years ago

WOYOME, THE AHWOI BROTHERS, TSATSU TSIKATA, NANA KONADU, KUFFUOR, RAWLINGS(OF SCANCEM FAME), SIPA YANKEY, SEIDU AMADU DR ATO QUARSHIE ETC

• Tibaa 10 years ago

Our gov't continues to mortgage the future of Ghana on the alter of political expediency.

I guess the assumption is that we can always borrow from abroad: no need to develop brains at home.

• GHANAVIA 10 years ago

Are NDC sympathizers listening?
    Is there any hope for Ghanaians under the NDC; and yet the NDC followers are so deaf, so dumb, and so blind about all these negative developments.

This is the situation JJ Rawlings imposed ...

• Objectiveman 10 years ago

are you kidding me? a whole regional lib.

• NANA YAW 10 years ago

Otumfuo has failed to stress the importance of reading in the kingdom. Every Asanteni must read well, Nana!

• Kwame Joe 10 years ago

Why blame Otumfuo? Moron .

• Osagefo 10 years ago

What are the "forgotten rights of the poor"?

The rights of the poor should be the same as the rights of the rich: the core, inalienable rights that started with the language of the Declaration of Independence, including th ...

• CN 10 years ago

As much as we sympathise with you , you need to be up and doing. You could organise fund raising including play acting competition on examinable books; appeal to corporate bodies, Otumfuo fund etc.

• Kwame Pee. 10 years ago

When I was in high school in Kumasi, the Ashanti Library and the British Council made me what I am today. In those days my friends and I made sure in a competitive way that we read a book every two weeks. It was our effort to ...

• mama ceci 10 years ago

Kwame Pee, well spoken. But why not take the initiative and begin the fund raising? Not only of money but of books too. Some of us in the diaspora have a lot of books we could donate to the library. I have many books on Engli ...

• Say the TRUTH 10 years ago

ONLY FOOLLLLLLLLSSSSSSS MANAGING A COUNTRY WILL DISTRIBUTE FREE LAP-TOPS TO PEOPLE DURING ELECTION CAMPAIGN PERIOD MEANHILE SCHOOLS,PUBLIC LIBRARIES AS WELL AS GOVERNMENT OFFICES WERE SHORT OF THESE VITAL EQUIPMENT FOR THE RU ...

• ------------ 10 years ago

NOW WHERE IS THAT WUNTOMI GUY OR WHATEVER HIS NAME IS OF NPP. HE CAN PUT HIS MONEY WHERE HIS MOUTH IS. THIS IS A CHANCE FOR HIM TO FURNISH THAT LIBRARY AT KUMASI.

• Nii 10 years ago

Instead of investing in changing the books into soft copies, here u are shouting about libraries! What do the libraries do?

• i ad 10 years ago

Where are the rich in Kumasi.contact them please

• Public Interest Citizen 10 years ago

This tells you education is NOT high on the Government's Priority list!
    As a nation, we would rather spend millions on questionable and dubious judgement debts.That is Ghana for you.
    Shame on all of us!

• Even plight of Librarians 10 years ago

It is even more pathetic when you have qualified librarians working in the Ghana Education Service where the very teachers see librarians as threat to their existence and are therefore treated with contempt and vilified all ...

• Ewe nation 10 years ago

That's a good thing that they only got 900 cedis.This is Kumasi afterall,the heart of ashanti greed,fraud and all kinds of evil.You can't trust these greedy ashantis with money so the less they get,the better.

• i and i 10 years ago

Look who is talking here scumbags ewe's

• Agyeman 10 years ago

Ewe man,you on the other hand,is the heart of evil.Very hateful tribal idiot with a pea brain.

• Nii Lartey Lamptey 10 years ago

On the whole the average Asante does not like going to school. They don't see much need for education. The Asante would prefer things that brings money instead to wasting time in going to school to gain and exchange knowledge ...

• paul 10 years ago

narrow minded people like you are the reason why Ghana can never develop as it should be. how does your stupid comment brings innovation to the library. How many books or resources has your so called Ga mantse contributed tow ...

• Samuel Oduro 10 years ago

Hi Paul, you have proved my point. You see if you had really attended school you would have not made such a shallow response. I am not surprised that you decided to play the tribal card. Whether I mentioned secondary school o ...

• paul 10 years ago

Though i partly i agree with what the Liberian is say but i think time has come for them to seek for other forms of sponsorship rather then relying on gov't. They can be more innovative by writing proposals to private organi ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

The library authorities may not be allowed to seek alternative funding by government.

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

Otumfuo please give some financial assistance to the library.

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Will someone go to Ho, the Regional capital of NDC and ask about how their library is being funded? It will be revealed that they have adequate money to run it because starve that Region and NDC will be dead the next day.

• Atonsu Bokoro 10 years ago

Menuanom please just try to use the library. And stop Nana Nana. Education is the key

• HABLUTA SENYO 10 years ago

SOCIETY MADE UP WITH TOO MANY SHOE SHINE BOYS AND DOG CHAIN SELLERS HOW CAN THE LIBRARY MAKE PROFIT.

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Ask Woyome!

• KING LOMOTEY 10 years ago

Asantefuo munsorio oh !
    This is a disgrace to Oseikrom !

• BBC NEWS - BIG BLACK COCK 10 years ago

OUR SCHOOLS AND LIBRARY DO NEED MAJOR REPAIRS THAT PREZ MAHAMA WANT TO PASS THAT AND BUILD 200 NEW SHOOLS WHAT A DUMB MISCALCULATIONS .

• Agyeman 10 years ago

In USA they say homes of the rich have big libraries and small TV's while poor homes have big TV's but small libraries.Looks like Ghana is following the unfortunate latter model of the poor.

• RESEARCH & DEVELOPMENT 10 years ago

THE LIBRARIAN SAID THE PROBLEMS AT THE KUMASI LIBRARY PERTAIN IN ALL THE REGIONAL LIBRARIES. THIS MEANS IT IS A NATIONAL PROBLEM. ASHANTI REGION IS THE LARGEST REGION IN GHANA, WITH PEOPLE FROM THE OTHER REGIONS. THE KUMASI L ...

• Concerned Thinker 10 years ago

Sorry, sir! Much condolence for that disappointment. It is because you are operating what is "hidden" for many Ghanaians, especially, our politicians. If you want any idea to be hidden for many Ghanaians including our politic ...

• Jonas Ababio 10 years ago

What is Asantehene's bogus Otumfuo Education Fund doing about this library ? I hope SARPONG(CARDINAL) will give him a phone call.

• RINGO 10 years ago

The bogus Otumfuo Education Fund which has no financial statements, and the millions of pounds the Asantehene spent to buy mansions in England and South Africa should be investigated by those Ashantis who don't regard him as ...

• kwame adjei 10 years ago

i sitting in a library writing this rightnow but its in kumasi kwasia its London u scumbags fuck otumfuo