You are here: HomeSportsSoccer2013 01 20Article 262670

Five debutants start for Black Stars

Read Comments Comments (54)

• Ei ALAJI 11 years ago

Jus hope it's a joke ,,,, 1 of Ghanaweb fab

• Chilled Soft Relaxing vibes 11 years ago

You are right, hmmmmm, play a minimum of 3 matches and go home, or play maximum of just six matches and win the cup.

Guess who is manning the the Stars technical staff:

Coach: Jimmy Appiah

Assist Coach: Max Konadu

• flo 11 years ago

the line up is on gfa website as well.

• Alugu 11 years ago

Gyan is just missing the golden opportunities

• ganaba 11 years ago

if this how a sold out stadium looks like, the i don't know how an empty one will look.

• Excellence in Strategic Planning? 11 years ago

Check this headline:

Kwesi Pratt: "Is Ghana's Army Psychologically Prepared For The Malian War?"

_______

However, if you supplant Army with Black Stars, that could have been said about the pending Thursday's remat ...

• Alugu 11 years ago

Agyeman Badu scored first goal of the tournament.

• Alugu 11 years ago

Kwadzo Asamoah headed a corner home

• Alugu 11 years ago

Mputu dribbled Dauda

• Alugu 11 years ago

Congo has been playing a better game. Black Stars must not be swollen headed in the lead.

• Alugu 11 years ago

Penalty for Congo

• Alugu 11 years ago

It is time to change Asamoah Gyan

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

GHANA VS CONGO DR
    SOMETIMES, I DONT KNOW WAT AA IS THINKING
    PLAY THE 5 3 2 FORMATION. PLAY BREAK N PASS BALL. 2/3 TOUCHES ONLY FOR EVERY PLAYER...AT ALL TIMES
    IN THE FIRST HALF, U COULD VISIBLY SEE THAT GYAN NEEDS HELP. HE ...

• Bond 11 years ago

good line up :-) make us proud black stars

• POW@ Sarsko on the atlantic 2 S/A 11 years ago

And they'll deliver today. Go Ghana go

• VICE RESSIEN 11 years ago

---ghana can go home after 2 weeks. with mostly ashantis - and the worst selection as such - do not expect anything from this incapable trainer's selection.

• Sule Bisa 11 years ago

I dont believe Mubarak and Fatau are Ashantis. And even if they are what on earth is wrong with that.

• NANA ADO 11 years ago

Christian Atsu is not Ashanti either, i doubt if John Boye is an Ashanti, so it will be wrong to suggest the team is Ashanti made one. Besides most of the names might not necessarily be Ashantis because most Akans have simila ...

• Klutse 11 years ago

John BoyE is a GA, Jerry Akaminko is an Ewe. The ones with AKAN names does not mean they are Asantes. John Painstil is a FantE so where are the Asantes?

• Okainjah Cowboy 11 years ago

What is wrong if they are all ASHANTIS and can win the trophy for GHANA?.And what are all these coming out from young guys these days?.

• The Stallion 11 years ago

...they are Ashantis, is this politics?
    Let me enjoy the game, am already into it -- one liter bottle in front of me. Any challenger?

• Samarin-BOLGA 11 years ago

just don't mind this guy,it will be better if ASHANTIS can win the cup for GHANA than all inclusive who can not do anything;let us THINK POSITIVE and THINK GHANA

• TAMROCK DP 1500 i 11 years ago

Are you not sure that you are the type we don't welcome here on this medium?
    Let us be co-ordial in all things we do here in Ghana. Ghanaians are being divisive too much these days all because of this democracy of peace we h ...

• PAA JOE 11 years ago

IT WILL BE BETTER TO PLAY WITH ASHNATIS AND WIN THAN YOUR USELESS TRIBE WITH NO PRESTIGE TO LOSE.FVCKIN IDIOT

You are very dangerous,just bury yourself and don't be a treat!

• Ei ALAJI 11 years ago

Harrison afful shud be playing,,,, he's alweiz bin a bench warmer

• POW@ Sarsko on the atlantic 2 S/A 11 years ago

Make us proud guys. All da best

• KojoLee/MRAA@WalatuAfcon 11 years ago

This Is It.

• Atuah U.S.A 11 years ago

Appiah is smart to drop Kwarasey

• kellss 11 years ago

i hope its a joke

• Ghana 11 years ago

Asamoah Gyan plays better off the bench

• Ama 11 years ago

Anyone who follows the Blackstars avidly knows that he has picked the team based on form, not names!!!!!!!!!

• Mark 11 years ago

GO BLACK STARS!!

• hasan 11 years ago

we should stop the ashanti matter and pray for the players please know tribal,we are one nation,one home,god bless mother ghana.

• TT 11 years ago

In the absence of Anan and Dede not in camp, I see Agyeman Badu over working himself. Our game is going to depend on this guy. Lets pray that he is not injured or receive yellow or red card in trying to cover up for his mates ...

• CEREBRAL 11 years ago

We the fans have our favorites. We the fans can make our own selection at our various homes and locations. We can prescribe the best team for this match, but how can we be accurate if we are not in South Africa, and have not ...

• KojoLee/MRAA@WalatuAfcon 11 years ago

Nice talk my brother.

• Ghana midfield rocks 11 years ago

Time to support Akwasi Appiah.

• YAYA TOURE 11 years ago

ASHANTI GFA BOSS
    ASHANTI COACH
    ASHANTI ASSIST COACH
    ASHANTI CAPTAIN

When Abedi became the captain they made life uneasy for him but anytime Ashanti man is the captain things go easy for them to rule.Check the history of ...

• kdk 11 years ago

Kwasea look at the team how many Ashantis are playing accept K Asamaoh . Kwasea tribalist man . Ashantis will continue to rule your fvckin father

• nyb 11 years ago

just as they are making it easy for President Mahama

So where from this nonsense,? from politics to sports,...and what next?

• abc 11 years ago

very good...it puts very player on notice...if Essien and Muntari return for the World Cup qualifiers, they will only be selected to play if they are in form...not by name recognition..GOOD FOR BLACK STARS AND GHANA....that w ...

• mekao 11 years ago

why should kwadwo asamoah be select to play in defence, hey hmmm, has he play that area before, Let look at his playing record and find out.

• Menu meho 11 years ago

what is wrong with Our players, it looks as if they are scared. The passes are not getting through at all and our defends is weak.

• Menu meho 11 years ago

Asamoah has thrown a golden goal away. Oh my God!

• Busumbru 11 years ago

Ghana 1 congo 0

• Menu meho 11 years ago

No 10 and 13 are really a waste. I have truly missed Dede Ayew

• Menu meho 11 years ago

No 10 and 13 are wasting their positions. I don't know why they are in the team at all. I have really missed Dede. Now we don't have ball handler. The only one who can hold on the ball is being used at left fuul back. The mom ...

• SHADY BLUE niagara falls, ontario 11 years ago

U ARE A HYPOCRITE. I AM A SON OF GOD. IF U THINK U WILL HE=ARM ME N GET AWAY WITH IT, THEN U ,MUST LIE BAD.

KASA MUST BE USED AS AN ATTACKIN MIDFIELDER TO CREATE SCORING CHANCES FOR STRIKERS..

• banana 11 years ago

one goal up but ghana is not impressive...more possession for congo...hope for improved performance 2nd half...good luck

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

WHY ARE THE NAMES ON THESE FOOLISH TYE N DYE PUMA JERSEYS IN SMALL CAPS. I WANT TO KNOW WHY? GFA, DID PUMA GIVE US A DISCOUNT TO HVE OUR NAMES IN SMALL LETTERS OR NOT? ATROCIOUS JERSEYS FROM PUMA. AFCON HAS TURNED INTO A PUMA ...

• Kate .D 11 years ago

I believe in asoamah gyan....yall should leave him alone and remember u brought us this far .. Learn to move on frm the past

• Appletus 11 years ago

dumb coach,
    How can you start 5 new guys inamatchlike this?Is a trial match? Stupid coach. he looks idiotic